Stats: 3,151,593 members, 7,812,937 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 11:02 PM

Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring (1320 Views)

Gbajabiamila Denies Ownership Of Maitama Building Where BVAs Machines Were Found / Rahama Sadau Denies Been A Member Of Tinubu Women Campaign Team / Gbajabiamila Denies Comparing IPOB, Yoruba Nation Agitators With Boko Haram (2) (3) (4)

Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by Kwanza: 7:06pm On May 14, 2021
https://www.nairaland.com/6553608/lawan-gbaja-blast-southern-govs

…says 9th House committed to reviewing 1999 constitution

House of Representatives has refuted some media reports that the Speaker, Femi Gbajabiamila was opposed to the call of southern governors for restructuring.

A statement by the spokesman of the House, Hon. Benjamin Kalu on Friday, instead, stated that the 9th House of Representatives was committed to reviewing the 1999 constitution.

It will be recalled that the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan had alongside the Speaker granted interview to the State House Correspondents after observing the Eid prayers on Thursday at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Recalling the speaker’s exact words, Kalu’s statement emphatically stated that nothing in Gbajabiamila’s words spoke of opposition to the governors resolutions.

The statement titled “The Speaker did not say He is opposed to the Southern Governors’ calls for restructuring”, read thus: “The attention of the House has been drawn to several publications on online and traditional media claiming that the Speaker, Rep. Femi Gbajabiamila, is opposed to the Southern Governors’ call for restructuring.

“The House gathers that this allegation was attributed to statements made by the Speaker at a recent interview seeking his opinion on the issue. The House states clearly and unequivocally that the publications are false and misleading.

“For the avoidance of doubt, below is an accurate reproduction of the statements made by the Speaker at that interview;

“This is not a time for name-calling or blaming one person or the other. If truth be told, we all have equal shares in the blame and whatever challenges we have, we all must come together. In the same way we all have equal shares, we must all come together to make sure that we resolve whatever issues there are. Like I said earlier, the greatest nations have gone through challenges worse than this and I believe that it is that spirit of oneness and that spirit of togetherness and unity and love that will take us through this. You know sometimes there are many things that people have said here and there and you never know where these things are coming from. Sometimes God even puts you through challenges so that you can come out of it stronger, bigger, better, bolder.

That’s what I believe is gonna happen to Nigeria. We’re all put together in this one geographical space for a reason. It wasn’t by happenstance or coincidence or by chance. It was ordained by Almighty God and He doesn’t make mistakes, He doesn’t go wrong. What He decrees is what will be and I believe He put us all together. No matter your religion, no matter your ethnicity, talking about over 250 ethnic groups in one country, it is that diversity that God had foreseen that I believe we should tap into as Nigerians. I have belief in the Nigerian resilience and in the Nigerian spirit; and in the spirit of Ramadan, we must continue to pray.”

“It is clear to objective reason that nothing in the above statement opposes the Southern Governors’ call for restructuring. Indeed, from the beginning of the 9th Assembly, the House under the leadership of Rep. Femi Gbajabiamila has reiterated its commitment to a thorough review of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as can be seen by the composition and activities of the Constitutional Review Committee of the House.

“The media is hereby cautioned to be mindful of peddling false news in the bid to misinform the general public. This is misleading and detrimental to our democracy as a nation. Like the Speaker rightly said, this is not a time to apportion blames rather this is a time for us to come together and deliberate on issues that have birthed the problem we are facing as a nation and to find a suitable solution to it.

“The House urges Nigerians to disregard this news and continue to pray for a peaceful Nigeria.”

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2021/05/gbajabiamila-not-opposed-to-southern-govs-call-for-restructuring-reps-spokesman/amp/?__twitter_impression=true
Mynd44
Lalasticlala
Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by sapientia(m): 7:12pm On May 14, 2021
Everything have scattered kpatakpata like Oga Okpatakpata of Nairaland

Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by helinues: 7:14pm On May 14, 2021
The fake news media are at it again
Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by festacman(m): 7:14pm On May 14, 2021
Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by Ever8090: 7:23pm On May 14, 2021
According to Ortom, any person against the bill has a hidden agenda...

Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by ComrdDRS1: 7:28pm On May 14, 2021
Middlebelt is with South o

Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by limeta(f): 7:59pm On May 14, 2021
Nigeria. We’re all put together in this one geographical space for a reason. It wasn’t by happenstance or coincidence or by chance. It was ordained by Almighty God and He doesn’t make mistakes,

Not in the name of our Jesus christ
England put this together not God
England is not God
Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by Bayajidda1: 8:05pm On May 14, 2021
cheesy grin
cheesy grin grin
Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by Imsoblessed: 8:09pm On May 14, 2021
Gbaja they run for hin head.... Lol. The polity Is too hot for anyone to be fulish. He remember sonwo olu mama house during end SARS.
Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by Nobody: 8:21pm On May 14, 2021
But he didn't back them either ...which is as bad as opposing them

Anyone trying to be politically correct is an enemy of the south simple

Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by rdokoye: 9:48pm On May 14, 2021
limeta:
Nigeria. We’re all put together in this one geographical space for a reason. It wasn’t by happenstance or coincidence or by chance. It was ordained by Almighty God and He doesn’t make mistakes,

Not in the name of our Jesus christ
England put this together not God
England is not God

Nigeria wasn't created organically, it's was an artificial creation by Great Britain. If you say God created Nigeria, then you're saying God meant for Boko Haram to be created, and that he condones the genocidal civil war.
Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by makemoneywbsite: 9:54pm On May 14, 2021
That would be the 15th wonder of the ancient world if he supports anything anti- Fulani domination. No true Afonja opposes Fulani conquest.
Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by makemoneywbsite: 9:58pm On May 14, 2021
Yoruba traditionally want to rule as Fulani underdoga. Their only misgivings is that Fulani is turning around to send them on exile. No Yoruba man truly regrets empowering Janjaweeeds. Their objective has been to share war booty with the Janajaweeed. Steal the oil from the East, Fulani should grab the lion share and allow us eat the crunbs as long as the rest of the country are emansculated. They never reckoned with the larger picture which entails Ilorinization of Yorubaland.
Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by iwaeda: 10:28pm On May 14, 2021
Fear catching everybody.
Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by limeta(f): 11:59pm On May 14, 2021
rdokoye:

Nigeria wasn't created organically, it's was an artificial creation by Great Britain. If you say God created Nigeria, then you're saying God meant for Boko Haram to be created, and that he condones the genocidal civil war.

more like God put buhari there with lies and propaganda
this so call elites want people to think God put them there after so much juju and rituals
Re: Gbajabiamila Denies Been Opposed To Southern Govs’ Call For Restructuring by Aufbauh(m): 5:12am On May 15, 2021
Ever8090:
According to Ortom, any person against the bill has a hidden agenda...

Ortom is a bloody hypocrite! He's more guilty in those things he accused others of. Just good at playing to the gallery and whipping sentiment.

He'll also accuse Buhari of nepotism whereas most of his core appointees are his own people.

Since the formation of Benue state in 1976, no other ethnic group in Benue is deemed fit for Governorship except the TIVs. They too will still be crying about Fulani domination while they're dominating others in their state.

He's the worst Governor Benue state have ever produce. No payment of workers salary/ pension and no any project to his name.
His only achievement is the continuous press briefing about herdsmen atrocities.

Hijab: Yoruba Muslims Will Face Persecution On Creation Of Oduduwa Rep – MURIC / "Reverse Twitter Ban Immediately" - US Warns Nigerian Government / Architect Of Modern Oyo State. Ajimobi Or GSM (photos)