Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,152,739 members, 7,817,038 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 12:16 AM

Should I Quit My Teaching Job? Advice Needed - Nairaland / General - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Should I Quit My Teaching Job? Advice Needed (283 Views)

Should I Quit My Job, Of 60k For NYSC? / Help! How Can I Quit Smoking Weed? / Should I Take DSA Job At Union Bank And Leave My Teaching Job (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Should I Quit My Teaching Job? Advice Needed by Spark2: 11:04am On Oct 14, 2021
Hi guys,
I trust this meets you well?
I am 25 years old, I'd soon be 26.
I'm a graduate, I served in Kano and stayed back after service doing a teaching job. I am paid 35, 000 naira per month. The 35k finishes on transportation and feeding even before the month ends.

I started learning a skill in tech about a year and half ago, I've gained some confidence already in web development, I can call my self a Front-End Developer now with some knowledge of back end development... I have made up my mind to keep learning everyday. I have a dream of going fully into tech and at this point in my life, I need a job that will offer me the opportunity to learn what I'm personally interested in. I want to work in a team that will help me to grow, not a teaching job where I am overworked and get home tired everyday and have little time to code.

After sitting and considering all these, I made up my mind to resign my teaching Job by the end of December. I'm going back to my hometown (a state in the North central) where I hope to go down to Abuja in search of a better life or better still if I get one in my state.

The thing is that I'd need to take this bold step now while I'm still a bachelor before I get married and unable to.