Stats: 3,152,374 members, 7,815,795 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 06:31 PM

Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige - Health (9) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige (26614 Views)

Nigerian Nurses To Work For 2 Years Before They Can Practice Abroad - NMC / Amazing Transformation Of A Nigerian Who Was Sick For 9 Years / 447 Doctors Trained Abroad Failed Local Assessment Test (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by Henuell(m): 9:37pm On Nov 11, 2021
alphaNomega:
Doctors do not demolish medical schools before leaving Sir
Pls learn to read and understand ppls opinion

I gave that as an example
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by jonadaft: 9:51pm On Nov 11, 2021
Aconomy:

You can't disagree with someone without abusing him?
No, I can't.
Deal with it!
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by Jayrow08: 10:49pm On Nov 11, 2021
Henuell:

Yes
Guy I always think foreigners thinks Nigerians are jux jokes
I mean imagine what the government is doing.they'll be doing irrelevant things instead of facing the obvious.imagine free education jux for them to use it to better other countries
And here ppl are dying of hunger,bad roads killing ppl
Insecurity
Instead of them to do free training for Nigerian police that will stay

We are busy giving our professors out to other countries and I've never seen when other countries have ever giving us qualified personels to help us

May God help us
Bros u r on point!
Amen oooooooo but have we not prayed enough! Wetin dey happen self God??
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by Benwems(m): 1:08am On Nov 12, 2021
Theunbothered:

Are you dumb or can't read?

Do you understand the reason doctors want to run away in the first place?

Do you think this will help solve the doctor shortage in the country?

Please you foolish people shouldn't come into my mentions saying nonsense.

If I pay millions to earn a medical degree from a private school you will force me to stay in Nigeria for what?

No actual plans just emotional measures meant to punish doctors.

You’re the person talking nonsense.
They should increase the school fees to 3million per session. Who can’t pay should take government bond. If you want to travel abroad, go and study medicine abroad. There’s nobody stopping you there but don’t take advantage of the Nigerian system. What have universities and hospitals shown for the billions given to them throughout the years??

Be objective and not sentimental.
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by EagleNest(m): 1:35am On Nov 12, 2021
It's simple, if you don't treat well and give hope to your citizens after they graduate, they'll leave once they see the opportunity.
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by Theunbothered: 6:37am On Nov 12, 2021
Benwems:

You’re the person talking nonsense.
They should increase the school fees to 3million per session. Who can’t pay should take government bond. If you want to travel abroad, go and study medicine abroad. There’s nobody stopping you there but don’t take advantage of the Nigerian system. What have universities and hospitals shown for the billions given to them throughout the years??

Be objective and not sentimental.

Do you work in health care at any level?

Have you paid 18 million naira in fees before?

Do you think doctors with the current salary package will be able to repay an 18 million naira loan?

If they increase the school fees to 18 million and do absolutely nothing to doctor's salaries will that increase the amount of doctors available to Nigerian citizens?

Why would any Nigerian student want to study medicine in Nigeria when they can go abroad and do the same?

Do you think any Nigerian student will want to become a doctor in this country after seeing the conditions you stated?

These are basic questions that you clearly are not thinking about, you are just being emotional.

I'm sure if you were given these conditions you won't want to do it, but because you are too self centred and short sighted you want to punish others for practicing self preservation.
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by Henuell(m): 7:47am On Nov 12, 2021
Jayrow08:

Bros u r on point!
Amen oooooooo but have we not prayed enough! Wetin dey happen self God??
The thing dey vex me
Who knows if its our leaders' corruption and negligence that is even annoying God
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by alphaNomega: 7:52am On Nov 12, 2021
Henuell:

Pls learn to read and understand ppls opinion

I gave that as an example
It was a bad example
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by Henuell(m): 7:57am On Nov 12, 2021
alphaNomega:
It was a bad example
I didn't relate the house to the doctors
What I was saying is
Giving free stuffs to ppl who don't value it
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by alphaNomega: 7:58am On Nov 12, 2021
ignis:

FUT Minna
I guess medical students in FUT Minna do not pay for tuition.
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by ignis: 8:01am On Nov 12, 2021
alphaNomega:
I guess medical students in FUT Minna do not pay for tuition.

Not just medical students...
All courses in federal universities is zero tuition fee...
You only pay for other dues.
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by alphaNomega: 8:10am On Nov 12, 2021
ignis:

Not just medical students...
All courses in federal universities is zero tuition fee...
You only pay for other dues.

Have you ever looked at the breakdown of your school fees?
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by alphaNomega: 8:11am On Nov 12, 2021
Henuell:

I didn't relate the house to the doctors
What I was saying is
Giving free stuffs to ppl who don't value it

So you mean medical school is free in Nigeria? The medical students don't pay school fees? They must be selfish
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by ignis: 9:40am On Nov 12, 2021
alphaNomega:

Have you ever looked at the breakdown of your school fees?

I should be asking you that...
I graduated from the university 17 years ago.
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by dubaiprince: 11:23am On Nov 12, 2021
I feel it is just bad belle to say professionals should not leave when they have the opportunity to. If you say Education in Nigeria is near free by comparing fees abroad, then you have not considered some things. Do we spend pounds or USD in Nigeria for fees? with a minimum wage of 18k and most of the citizen living below poverty line, How many can afford sending their Kids to university where most even sweat to get money for JAMB form.

Someone will now graduate and get peanut as salary. Salary not enough for upkeep talkless taking care of the parents to recoup the fruit of their labour. For the few fortunate ones that get good jobs, they are treated like slaves even in their own so called fatherland. Everything is just a mess.

Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by alphaNomega: 12:06pm On Nov 12, 2021
ignis:

I should be asking you that...
I graduated from the university 17 years ago.
Did you look at it?
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by ignis: 12:23pm On Nov 12, 2021
alphaNomega:
Did you look at it?

Sure
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by Benwems(m): 1:06pm On Nov 12, 2021
Theunbothered:

Do you work in health care at any level?

Have you paid 18 million naira in fees before?

Do you think doctors with the current salary package will be able to repay an 18 million naira loan?

If they increase the school fees to 18 million and do absolutely nothing to doctor's salaries will that increase the amount of doctors available to Nigerian citizens?

Why would any Nigerian student want to study medicine in Nigeria when they can go abroad and do the same?

Do you think any Nigerian student will want to become a doctor in this country after seeing the conditions you stated?

These are basic questions that you clearly are not thinking about, you are just being emotional.

I'm sure if you were given these conditions you won't want to do it, but because you are too self centred and short sighted you want to punish others for practicing self preservation.

I like way you replied me, you seem civilised. Now to the main issue. Consultants in federal hospitals in Nigeria earn between 450,000 - 800,000 depending of years of service and department. Now a baby consultant who just became a fellow earns 450,000 per month that’s 5,400,000 per year this is excluding private practice and hustle. And they are a lot of visiting specialists to private hospitals in Nigeria. They make at least 200,000 per month for only that. That’s 450,000 + 200,000 = 650,000 per month. In 3 years 23.4 million. that’s enough to offset the medical school fees. The truth is that doctors are just greedy and it’s mostly these young doctors. They study medicine and surgery for money not for passion or to render service. Cuba have a lot of very good doctors and they are not well paid, are they migrating

The truth is that, most Nigerians shouting doctors are poorly paid don’t even know how much doctors earn. They are illiterates who feel because senators and politicians earn and steal money, every other Nigerians should enjoy such nefarious acts.

Again, young doctors make a hail of noise of no been paid well because they aren’t yet consultants. Instead of them to read their books and wait for them to before consultants when the would earn higher and would be in high demand they are making noise.

I know a consultant Ophthalmologists making at least 1.2 million per month as profit. Or is it an OandG running fertility clinic? You young doctors just go and read their books and stop complaining. Become a consultant and earn money simple.
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by Theunbothered: 3:31pm On Nov 12, 2021
Benwems:

I like way you replied me, you seem civilised. Now to the main issue. Consultants in federal hospitals in Nigeria earn between 450,000 - 800,000 depending of years of service and department. Now a baby consultant who just became a fellow earns 450,000 per month that’s 5,400,000 per year this is excluding private practice and hustle. And they are a lot of visiting specialists to private hospitals in Nigeria. They make at least 200,000 per month for only that. That’s 450,000 + 200,000 = 650,000 per month. In 3 years 23.4 million. that’s enough to offset the medical school fees. The truth is that doctors are just greedy and it’s mostly these young doctors. They study medicine and surgery for money not for passion or to render service. Cuba have a lot of very good doctors and they are not well paid, are they migrating

The truth is that, most Nigerians shouting doctors are poorly paid don’t even know how much doctors earn. They are illiterates who feel because senators and politicians earn and steal money, every other Nigerians should enjoy such nefarious acts.

Again, young doctors make a hail of noise of no been paid well because they aren’t yet consultants. Instead of them to read their books and wait for them to before consultants when the would earn higher and would be in high demand they are making noise.

I know a consultant Ophthalmologists making at least 1.2 million per month as profit. Or is it an OandG running fertility clinic? You young doctors just go and read their books and stop complaining. Become a consultant and earn money simple.

You just brought figures out of your ass.

What percentage of Nigerian doctors are consultants and specialists?

Here is a study which shows less than half of all doctors surveyed earned less than 3.9 million a year.

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s12134-021-00898-y

You are also throwing these figures around as if doctors don't have any other expenses and put 100% of their salary into repayment of the loan.

If doctors were to put 25% of their salary into repayment of the loan with 0 interest it would take 18 years to repay it all.

Cuba have a lot of very good doctors and they are not well paid, are they migrating

Cuba is also a communist dictatorship, do you want Nigeria to be a communist dictatorship?

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.nytimes.com/2017/09/29/world/americas/brazil-cuban-doctors-revolt.amp.html

Because a dictatorship is treating it's citizens badly Nigeria must do the same?

Why not go and live in Cuba since you love it so much.

I said it before that these measures are not backed by reason but emotional nonsense.
Re: Doctors Trained For Free In Nigeria To Serve For 9 Years Before Leaving - Ngige by Henuell(m): 4:12pm On Nov 12, 2021
alphaNomega:

So you mean medical school is free in Nigeria? The medical students don't pay school fees? They must be selfish
Dats what's I've been trying to say

(1) (2) (3) ... (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply)

DELSU Graduate Who Went Mentally Deranged Is Now Back On His Feet / Caring For Yourself And Baby As a First Time Mum / How Some Private Hospitals Mistreat Patients

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 37