Stats: 3,151,244 members, 7,811,687 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 05:14 PM

This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) - Science/Technology - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) (63883 Views)

Black 555.55-carat Formed 2 Billion Years Ago Sells For $4.28 Million At Auction / Fisherman Captures 'Sea Monster' With Terrifying Razor-sharp Teeth (Photos) / Fish With Human-Like Teeth Caught In Malaysia (Photos) (2) (3) (4)

This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Nobody: 2:06pm On Nov 22, 2021
A wide-mouthed fish has astonishingly got over 550 teeth that grow just as quick as they fall out.

The terrifying Pacific lingcod has hundreds of teeth lining its mouth with them all being razor-sharp.

A new study has revealed the toothy-beasts to actually lose those teeth at a rapid rate of 20 per day.

The Pacific lingcod is a predatory fish that is usually found in the north Pacific.

When it reaches adulthood, it can reach about 50 centimetres but there have been reports of some reaching as big as 1.5 meters.

The fish does not have teeth like a human but has near-microscopic teeth that are razor sharp, covering every bony surface of the mouth.

Their mouth is also filled with tiny dental stalactites and has a second set of jaws, called pharyngeal jaws.

Speaking to Live Science, Karly Cohen, a doctoral candidate in biology at the University of Washington, and study lead author Emily Carr studied the bony fish to calculate just how much they lost.

They collected teeth from 20 Pacific lingcod at the University of Washington laboratory.

Because the Pacific lingcod's teeth are so small, researchers had to think differently as they would not be able to spot them if they fell to the bottom of the tank.

Instead they introduced a red dye to the tank, which stained the teeth red. They were later moved to another tank with a fluorescent green dye to stain the teeth again.

Overall, Carr counted over 10,000 teeth across the captive fish.

Speaking to the website, Carr said: "I had to work in a dark room, looking at teeth under a microscope

"Karly [Cohen] says she stuck me in a closet and I came out with a paper."

The study also tried to find out if feeding them more made any difference to the teeth being replaced.

According to Carr, feeding the fish showed no increase in tooth replacement and is therefore still a mystery.
Source: https://www.dailystar.co.uk/news/weird-news/terrifying-fish-555-razor-sharp-25474375

2 Likes 5 Shares

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Lavisha(f): 2:10pm On Nov 22, 2021
Preys go suffer

62 Likes 9 Shares

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Kosoco(m): 2:14pm On Nov 22, 2021
Lalalala Animal kingdom. FP

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Freestainworld(m): 2:21pm On Nov 22, 2021
This teeth will make heaven

11 Likes 3 Shares

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by WibusJaga: 2:54pm On Nov 22, 2021

That will not stop people from using it as fish pepper-soup if it trespasses into Nigeria waters.

224 Likes 6 Shares

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by billynoni(m): 2:57pm On Nov 22, 2021
I recommend this type of fish be allowed, to give BJ to convicted rapists(all gender) all over the world... This is my judgement, ccccccccooooooooouuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrtttttt!!!

242 Likes 16 Shares

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Righteousness2(m): 3:00pm On Nov 22, 2021
A wide-mouthed fish has astonishingly got over 550 teeth that grow just as quick as they fall out.

The Wonder working excellent Almighty CREATOR is just tooo much.
BABA GOD! Your little boy de Hail you.
You are too much

128 Likes 7 Shares

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by temitope27(m): 3:23pm On Nov 22, 2021
V

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by beeblack: 3:23pm On Nov 22, 2021
Everybody with his own security

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by dareyking(m): 4:32pm On Nov 22, 2021
?

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Harrykn: 4:54pm On Nov 22, 2021
Lala doesn’t eat fish

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Specyano(m): 5:14pm On Nov 22, 2021

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by LifeOfTrigga(m): 5:16pm On Nov 22, 2021
Righteousness2:

You are too much

So you self Na street grin

65 Likes 3 Shares

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by CAPITALBEE: 5:20pm On Nov 22, 2021
Op... Bring that fish first make I roger am. I want see something. cheesy

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Nobody: 5:21pm On Nov 22, 2021
Righteousness2:

You are too much
'My son, My son, My son, you are doing well...I dey see your work for Nairaland, your reward dey wait you here, when are you coming home' wink

25 Likes 3 Shares

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Optimistguy1969: 5:30pm On Nov 22, 2021
Who count am?

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Bobotic(m): 5:48pm On Nov 22, 2021
Lala savagely reponse to the unknown gigantic teeth fish cheesy once i see you my food is done sad

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Burger01(m): 5:48pm On Nov 22, 2021
smiley

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Alivater: 5:48pm On Nov 22, 2021
Na only Oyibo go time to count the teeth of fish.

Nigeria man will never bother to count the teeth of fish before turning it to pepper soup.

16 Likes

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by chaseblack(m): 5:48pm On Nov 22, 2021
Which fish

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by gressie(m): 5:48pm On Nov 22, 2021
that an oviviparous fresh water fish
Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Nicklaus619(m): 5:49pm On Nov 22, 2021
Imagine say Nah so person teeth dey, we no go sabi wetin be blow jobs, try it and loose your man hood grin cheesy

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by chigoziri2403(m): 5:49pm On Nov 22, 2021
Innocent on the inside
Deadly outside

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by oluwasegun007(m): 5:50pm On Nov 22, 2021
Predator aiye

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Sonnky09(m): 5:50pm On Nov 22, 2021
Interesting

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Prechgold1180(m): 5:50pm On Nov 22, 2021
Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by bigdammyj: 5:50pm On Nov 22, 2021
Noted
Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Samiah33(m): 5:51pm On Nov 22, 2021
Eja aye

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by BuddhaPalm(m): 5:51pm On Nov 22, 2021
Terrifying?

We are the TERRIFYING...

We eat everything and keep lions as pets and objects of amusement.

Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Fyie: 5:51pm On Nov 22, 2021
Re: This Terrifying Fish Has 555 Razor Sharp Teeth Covering Its Entire Mouth (Pics) by Murphyenemuwe: 5:51pm On Nov 22, 2021
Aswear you be werey lol
Macsjebs:

'My son, My son, My son, you are doing well...I dey see your work for Nairaland, your reward dey wait you here, when are you coming home' wink

Young Hunters Kill A Python In A Bush (Photos) / Bird With Cipher Ring Falls From Sky In Ondo, Causing Confusion (Photo) / Man Captures Crocodile In Lagos Island. Drags It On The Ground, Police Spotted

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 25