Stats: 3,153,057 members, 7,818,171 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 09:25 AM

How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News (20930 Views)

I Was Criticized During The Civil War But I Succeeded - Gowon Encourages Tinubu / Had Biafra Succeeded Would It Have Been Successful / REVEALED: How APC Succeeded In Islamising The South West - See The Gory Details (2) (3) (4)

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by helinues: 4:56am On Jan 18, 2022
Lexusgs430:

Let's see how much would be paid by July 2023 !!!!

It has started accumulating already.

No time
Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by Lexusgs430: 4:57am On Jan 18, 2022
helinues:

It has started accumulating already.

No time

And their tracking tools are ?
Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by BruncleZuma: 4:57am On Jan 18, 2022
Reads like something Lai Mohammed wrote. Well done Nduka.

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by safarigirl(f): 4:57am On Jan 18, 2022
There is not one shred of actual FACT in this entire write-up

Everything is just baseless speculations and assumptions that cannot be substantiated. BBC and junk journalism, peddling hilarious lies to massage the ego of the less informed.

Twitter has 'agreed' to everything, but has not done anything it allegedly agreed to, but government ran to unban the app? BBC must think we are all as unintelligent as those who run this administration

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by dogmart(m): 4:58am On Jan 18, 2022
blackaxe78:
What a whole Trump and Republicans could not do in America, His Excellence, President Mohammadu Buhari (GCFR) achieved it without blinking!

A dogged leader!

You mean a dogged dictator!
Keep decieving yourself.

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by helinues: 4:59am On Jan 18, 2022
Lexusgs430:

And their tracking tools are ?

How would you believe it if I tell you? You are not even aware of this new tax generating before dropping your first comment

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by seunfly: 5:02am On Jan 18, 2022
It is the hypocrisy of the west and naivety of Nigerian youth that gives me concern, the west locked up somebody that uses social media to exposes human right abuses, promote destabilization of other countries through social media and then turn around to claim other countries should not have laws pertaining to social media.

Then the naive youth support the total destruction of the country by use of social media that promotes violence, hatred and division just because they don't like the government, they forgot that the government they like will also suffered thesame thing.

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by Realpain: 5:02am On Jan 18, 2022
I will rather go and read my Bible than read all that
Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by CSTRR: 5:06am On Jan 18, 2022
These buhari fanatics no dey tire?

They are basically like ants searching for any hint of news that favours buhari.

They are not even concerned about what their fellow Nigerians are passing through under the weight of bad governance.

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by Sanchez01: 5:13am On Jan 18, 2022
post=109463650:
Children of hate, frustrations and perdition cannot believe their eyes reading this report from BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation), they rather believe fake reports from Sahara reporters and ipob radio.
Mad people dem.

God bless all Nigerians that stood with our darling nation in all these.
We came out victorious.
Only the some miserable souls that call our darling nation a Zoo, (cos they see themselves as animals are in sifia pains... Anuofias dem tongue)

These ponmo boys will never read. If you did, you would have found out that the article, more than anything, rubbishes your useless daddy and excellently took him to the cleaners. You only read the title and dropped a few posts when in fact you don't understand how damning this is to Nigeria. Expect the 'Lie' minister to react to this.

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by Sanchez01: 5:16am On Jan 18, 2022
safarigirl:
There is not one shred of actual FACT in this entire write-up

Everything is just baseless speculations and assumptions that cannot be substantiated. BBC and junk journalism, peddling hilarious lies to massage the ego of the less informed.

Twitter has 'agreed' to everything, but has not done anything it allegedly agreed to, but government ran to unban the app? BBC must think we are all as unintelligent as those who run this administration
The 'everything' Twitter agreed to, even though unknown to the BBC team, has to be included to push their junk journalism.

This is what happens when one has to write but does not understand what truly happened.

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by Crafteck1: 5:19am On Jan 18, 2022
techmo:
A regulated social media would be beneficial to all, both elite and masses

Elites have several means of putting word out of which enforcement is pRt of it, masses only have social media

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by kingthreat(m): 5:23am On Jan 18, 2022
For you to support a tech company of less than 1000 people over your country definitely means you can support another man over your own father. Betrayal is in their blood. On this Twitter issue, I wholeheartedly support Nigeria.

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by Nobody: 5:23am On Jan 18, 2022
techmo:
A regulated social media would be beneficial to all, both elite and masses

Regulated indeed. Try to understand the difference between covering incompetence and trying to cow down citizens and regulations. Buhari and the entire APC are super incompetent, the only way he felt he could do something was flagging twitter. It's democracy and not sharia law we run, I would personally step down if people say I wasn't doing well, basically that's what this your foolish president would have done. Fighting social media companies, to you is regulations, to me it's the biggest stupidity so far. I'm happy the world now sees your president as an idiot he is.

Like, so as police steals from you as they have started again, and your government is incapable as usual, then we should cover their mess for them? Or whatever are you saying exactly? A president is commander in chief, as he's acting as vegetable, then you expect the citizens to be calm? What triggered EndSARS? Several years, people talking to your government to stop a particular issue, president kept on showing inadequacies, until it blew out of proportion. Should he have acted, would EndSARS be in wiki as at today? Haba, what are you even saying?

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by Advocate500: 5:28am On Jan 18, 2022
post=109463610:

[/b]
In all of these Twitterbrouhaha, this is the part We love most.
Thumbs up Twitter!

Slow and steady we will get to the nation of our dreams.

[b]God bless Nigeria.

Twitter made a statement in which they said they don't know President Buhari and which country he runs.

When you're blinded by hate and self imposed narrow mindedness, you will applaud someone who is clearly insulting you.
Most Nigerians who are sympathetic with Twitter today don't know how much of an insult this comment is to even them.
They see Buhari as the target here but there are two elements in this insult.
Twitter says they don't know President Buhari.
But they didn't stop there.
They also added that they don't know the country he is leading. In other words they don't know Nigeria.

Twitter is brazenly saying they don't know Africas most populous nation and the country with the highest concentration of black people in the world. Twitter is brazenly saying they don't know a country where over 11 billion dollars of their revenue comes from with over 40 million subscribers.

Some years ago Pastor Chris Oyakhilome chose to use twitter to communicate some prayer information to Christ Embassy members worldwide.
Within few weeks Pastor Chris broke the records of having the most amount of followers within such a short period.

In their arrogance, Twitter called Pastor Chris' twitter account to question and described the followership as bogus.

Simply put, Twitter believed that nobody from a place like Nigeria had enough clout to garner such followership within such a short time - a feat that no Hollywood star was able to achieve -.

Pastor Chris wasn't prepared for their drama, he pulled out of twitter and challenged his church tech people to design a platform that the church can use. That's what gave birth to Yookos.

Today Yookos is a formidable competitor with Twitter so much so that ex President Barack Obama acknowledged the giant strides made by the platform within such a short time after it was launched.

Eventually twitter confirmed Pastor Chris' account and "apologized" but it was too late.
Pastor Chris had moved his huge followership into Yookos.

Several years later Twitter is saying that they don't know the country that the same Pastor Chris comes from.
That's arrogance taken too far.

Any Nigerian who tolerates this insult is just a self hating sychophant.

Someone says you and your country don't matter and you're jubilating.
Is that not a serious sickness?

On a lighter note,
*We heard someone telling his landlord that his rent money for the year is trapped in his Twitter account*

*The landlord too is now abusing Buhari grin cheesy wink grin cheesy wink

Dem [/b] : AKA [b]DA truth in da building!
tongue tongue tongue
Truth is not bitter, just that some people are bitter to the truth.

We Rise!

True that!
Nothing to be added.....obviously!

You can say that again sirs.
You are two of the wise and intelligent members we have on this forum.
It is always good and refreshing to see we still have reasonable and sensible members like you on this forum.
God bless you sirs
dust

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by Advocate500: 5:30am On Jan 18, 2022
post=109463650:
Children of hate, frustrations and perdition cannot believe their eyes reading this report from BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation), they rather believe fake reports from Sahara reporters and ipob radio.
Mad people dem.

God bless all Nigerians that stood with our darling nation in all these.
We came out victorious.
Only the some miserable souls that call our darling nation a Zoo, (cos they see themselves as animals are in sifia pains... Anuofias dem tongue)

dust

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by ivandragon: 5:32am On Jan 18, 2022
In my opinion, the government has only succeeded in creating another opportunistic revenue stream that places the final burden on the masses... Twitter will simply pass the burden of the tax down the line.

It is however good that twitter & every other social media platform needs to be more responsible but so also does the FG which seems not to be able to stomach opposition but is quick to insult the sensibilities of Nigerians...
Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by BluntTheApostle(m): 5:36am On Jan 18, 2022
Buhari ni oko iya won.

Long Live President Muhammadu Buhari

Long Live Future President Bola Ahmed Tinubu

Long Live the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by Tumbulum: 5:50am On Jan 18, 2022
post=109463628:

You've said it all wise man.
Mr hustler keep hustling hard. Hope you are hustling to join the incoming administration? This money flow must not stop.

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by wman(m): 6:10am On Jan 18, 2022
post=109463617:

Why are you weeping?

They haven't paid you your monthly BMC N30k?

Re: How Nigeria Succeeded In Clipping Twitter's Wings - BBC News by wman(m): 6:12am On Jan 18, 2022
helinues:

New generating income through taxing Twitter..

Is that not clipping of wings? How many countries on this crust are generating income via Twitter currently?

Lmao. Generating which income from Twitter?
Taxing Twitter how? A company that has no physical office in Nigeria?

Keep on dreaming.

NIGERIA-UAE-DEAL: We Have Our Lives Back, Say Nigerians In UAE / Civilian JTF, Boko-Haram In Gun Duel / IMPEACHMENT: N250million Mobilization Fee Tears Adamawa Assembly Apart

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 45