Stats: 3,151,125 members, 7,811,171 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 04:58 AM

2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others (21231 Views)

Wike Travels To France To Meet Tinubu - / Tinubu, Umahi, Bala Mohammed, Others Attend First Lady’s Iftar Dinner / After Tinubu, Umahi Informs Buhari Of 2023 Presidential Ambition (2) (3) (4)

2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by bennybuhari: 8:31am On Feb 08, 2022
President Muhammadu Buhari will in the coming days meet with all aspirants who are seeking to contest the 2023 presidential elec­tion on the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Daily Independent has gathered.

A presidency source, who dis­closed this to Daily Independent on Monday, said the president, who is the leader of the party, will meet with the aspirants “most likely af­ter the national convention when it is expected that all those who are intending to run on the party’s platform would have indicated in­terest”.

Among those who have declared their interest to run are Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, former Lagos State governor and APC national leader; Governor Dave Uma­hi of Ebonyi State and former Imo State governor, and now senator, Rochas Okorocha.

Among those who are ru­moured to be seeking to con­test on APC platform but are yet to declare are Vice Presi­dent Yemi Osinbajo; Rotimi Amaechi, Minister of Trans­portation; Governor Yahaya Bello and Orji Uzor Kalu, former Abia State governor.

President Buhari in a re­cent interview said even if he has a preferred candidate, he will not reveal his identity for safety reasons.

When asked how the rul­ing party will seek to manage the deluge of presidential as­pirants without a crisis, our source said the president will soon meet with all those seek­ing to contest the presidential election before the primary.

He also commended the president for not revealing the identity of his preferred aspirant, saying doing so would have dampened the morale of other aspirants.

“Yes, it is a major concern but we will cross the bridge when we get there. Our major concern now is to conduct a hitch-free national conven­tion where the next set of party executives will emerge.

“One thing I’m certain about is that President Bu­hari will meet with all the presidential aspirants. He is the father of the party and as a father, if your children are fighting over something, there is a way you talk to them and guide them so that it won’t degenerate into a battle.

“I must, however, com­mend the president for the maturity he displayed by not revealing the identity of his preferred candidate. Doing so would have led to more crisis in the party and discourage other aspirants. The presi­dent can only support one aspirant and he only has one vote on election day. But it is better he has kept it to him­self until now”, he said.

In a related development, members of the state Houses of Assembly across the coun­try on the platform of the APC on Monday endorsed Kogi State governor, Yahaya Bello, for President in 2023.

The endorsement was contained in a communiqué issued after the extraordi­nary meeting of the forum of APC State Legislators of the Federation held in Abuja on Monday.

The 365 legislators who attended the programme across the country also passed a vote of confidence in President Muhammadu Buhari for his sterling per­formance and cohesive lead­ership qualities.

Similarly, the lawmakers passed a vote of confidence in the Governor Mai Mala Buni-led Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Com­mittee for positively reposi­tioning the party and for his purposeful leadership that has attracted people of good­will to the ruling party.

Explaining why they threw their support behind the presidential bid of Yaha­ya Bello, the forum of APC legislators described the Kogi governor as a young perform­er who has the interest of the country at heart.

The lawmakers have also decided to embark on mobili­sation of support for Bello’s as­piration in their various states.

“We, the State Assembly Legislators of the Federation pass a vote of confidence in the President of Nigeria, Pres­ident Muhammadu Buhari (GFCR), for his sterling and cohesive leadership of Nige­ria through thick and thin and urge him to be relentless in ensuring that he leaves Ni­geria in 2023 a better place.

“We pass a vote of con­fidence in the Governor Mai Mala Buni Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee for its positive aggressive reposi­tioning of our great party, the All Progressives Con­gress, and thank the com­mittee for its purposeful leadership, which has at­tracted men and women of goodwill into the party. We, the members, further urge the committee to do more.
https://independent.ng/2023-presidency-buhari-to-meet-tinubu-umahi-okorocha-others/

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by Truthisunique2: 8:32am On Feb 08, 2022
To re-threaten them abi

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by Truthisunique2: 8:32am On Feb 08, 2022
“I must, however, com­mend the president for the maturity he displayed by not revealing the identity of his preferred candidate.

grin grin who says, baba has been doing so without giving a bleep

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by oluseyiforjesus(m): 8:32am On Feb 08, 2022
Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by donbachi(m): 8:35am On Feb 08, 2022
To leave the race for amaechi.

26 Likes 3 Shares

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by nairavsdollars(f): 8:36am On Feb 08, 2022
Do u know the best way to make good money now? Just gather 5 to 10 people and endorse Yahaya Bello for President. He will drop money sharply grin grin grin

58 Likes

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by Nobody: 8:37am On Feb 08, 2022
and tell them what exactly? pointless meeting

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by Truthisunique2: 8:40am On Feb 08, 2022
donbachi:
To leave the race for amaechi.
comrade we don't need to take them off the race

Of what relevance will the win be if you don't compete against them

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by Nobody: 8:40am On Feb 08, 2022
battle of 2023
Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by johnmartus(m): 8:46am On Feb 08, 2022
I hope Buhari talk sense to the contestants and made them support the man the cap fit.

Nobody among those contestants have the interest of youths in mind like his excellency Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

Go to Tinubu companies and see how youths dominated the organization.

Tinubu is not too old to positioning Nigeria to the right direction Tinubu is a very brilliant public servant that's what media don't want you to know.

In Tinubu government igbo standout to be most beneficial let say 85% igbo live in southwest doing their businesses without any problems is that not enough for them to stop criticizing the man we don't ask you to support him but stop tarnishing his good image.

In case Buhari failed to declare his unflinching support for Tinubu note that north have their agenda purely looking for weak dude they can control Tinubu is not someone that will bow down for power to be.

25 Likes 3 Shares

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by johnmartus(m): 8:51am On Feb 08, 2022
grin leave that dude let him continue wasting money.
They said they need youth yahaya is a youth with
brainless and greedy.
Youths are more greed than old people.
nairavsdollars:
Do u know the best way to make good money now? Just gather 5 to 10 people and endorse Yahaya Bello for President. He will drop money sharply grin grin grin

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by johnmartus(m): 8:55am On Feb 08, 2022
You seriously need a rigorous rehabilitation. Well I'm not blame you when you are still feeding fats from your parents all you thinking about is to steal sum for from your parents for your phone subscription and come Nairaland to spewing nonsense and slander someone that none from your region can match his achievements.
Truthisunique2:
comrade we don't need to take them off the race

Of what relevance will the win be if you don't compete against them

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by McOluOmo: 9:01am On Feb 08, 2022
Thieves

Guys wey no get girlfriend get peace of mind

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by BIZNess123(m): 9:02am On Feb 08, 2022
embarassed

Nice one

Like for Tinubu

Share for others

31 Likes 12 Shares

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by Gbagura: 9:03am On Feb 08, 2022
Senate presidency, that's what yeebos deserve. Aso villa is too big for dem...
Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by Yankiss(m): 9:04am On Feb 08, 2022
Neither APC nor PDP will produce a credible president. All the new young-people controlled parties should fuse together to create a formidable opposition. We need new names. We are tired of the recycle and purge process.

5 Likes 7 Shares

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by BlaqJosh: 9:04am On Feb 08, 2022
What sense would the meeting make...
Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by mach7(m): 9:04am On Feb 08, 2022
I wonder what is the point of the meeting.....

Is he trying to tell them to step down for one particular candidate or is he trying to intimate them of his preferred candidate in the meeting?

Methinks the president(cy) should be focused on ensuring that:

1. Ticket goes to the south for purpose of equity
2. That he does not impose one person over others

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by steveneche(m): 9:05am On Feb 08, 2022
Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by Truthisunique2: 9:05am On Feb 08, 2022
johnmartus:
You seriously need a rigorous rehabilitation. Well I'm not blame you when you are still feeding fats from your parents all you thinking about is to steal sum for from your parents for your phone subscription and come Nairaland to spewing nonsense and slander someone that none from your region can match his achievements.
so much pains with no point made regarding the topic

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by ButterBurger: 9:05am On Feb 08, 2022
Tinubu thought they would dash him, later he thought they would consensusly stage a plea for him to run, if he like make he fly, he's not gonna get the ticket even on a platter of wood

19 Likes

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by LilyColin(f): 9:05am On Feb 08, 2022
johnmartus:
I hope Buhari talk sense to the contestants and made them support the man the cap fit.

Nobody among those contestants have the interest of youths in mind like his excellency Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

Tinubu is not too old to positioning Nigeria to the right direction Tinubu is a very brilliant public servant that's what media don't want you to know.

In Tinubu government igbo standout to be most beneficial let say 85% igbo live in southwest doing their businesses without any problems is that not enough for them to stop criticizing the man we don't ask you to support him but stop tarnishing his good image.

In case Buhari failed to declare his unflinching support for Tinubu note that north have their agenda purely looking for weak dude they can control Tinubu is not someone that will bow down for power to be.

TRASH

14 Likes 1 Share

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by blamingthedevil: 9:06am On Feb 08, 2022
Another fake news

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by 0timeku: 9:07am On Feb 08, 2022
Fůck APC
Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by eedimo(m): 9:07am On Feb 08, 2022
Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by Truthisunique2: 9:07am On Feb 08, 2022
johnmartus:

[/s]Don't you think if Buhari had any plan for tilumbu since 2015 it would not be at the 11th hour

The decision has been made, I am happy you are not shying from the enormous power of the president

Tilumbu and Akande have been going together to meet buhari in every strategic meeting before and after he became president until the last most strategic one where tinubu went alone like an orphan grin grin to beg for presidency

Don't you think something has been decided that Akande already doesn't want to beat a dead horse

14 Likes 1 Share

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by OBALOLA55(m): 9:07am On Feb 08, 2022
Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by Curious346: 9:08am On Feb 08, 2022
Good one.

They should All step down for amaechi or osibaba

Re: 2023 Presidency: Buhari To Meet Tinubu, Umahi, Okorocha, Others by wenbostag: 9:08am On Feb 08, 2022
Back in 2015, You voted an incompetent dunce a.k.a Mannequin at 21 years old, by 2023 you will be 28 years old with no meaningful progress in your life. Continue.

If you like vote old cargos like the frog eyed drug baron from Iragbiji i.e Mannequin 2.0 with no vision, you will regret it.

Your 30s will be wasted and at 40 you will have nothing to show for it.

Don't waste your life... Be warned.

Nigeria Road Shame Makes Yahoo Homepage. / Fayose Paid Ozekhome From His Share Of Dasuki’s Loot – EFCC / Ilorin Emirate: Lai Mohammed Reacts To Criticism Trailing Comments, Slams Saraki

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 40