Stats: 3,151,781 members, 7,813,576 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 02:20 PM

UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 - European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 (14023 Views)

Poll: Who Wins This Match?

Chelsea: 79% (42 votes)
Napoli: 20% (11 votes)
This poll has ended

Coppa Italia Final: Juventus Vs Napoli (0 - 2) On 20th May 2012 / UCL: Bayern Munich Vs Napoli (3 - 2) On November 2nd 2011 / UCL: Man City Vs Napoli (1 - 1) On 14th September 2011 (2) (3) (4)

UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by mukina2: 12:59am On Mar 14, 2012
Chelsea captain John Terry is hoping to write a new chapter in the club's European history with what would need to be a famous victory over Napoli tomorrow night.

The Blues go into the match at Stamford Bridge trailing 3-1 from the first leg in Naples three weeks ago, and now without a permanent manager as Andre Villas-Boas has been sacked and replaced by caretaker Roberto Di Matteo since that match.

Their hopes of advancing to the quarter-finals have been widely written off as they would need to become only the fourth club to overturn a first-leg deficit of two goals or more in the Champions League.

However, Terry still believes his side have a chance.

"If it all goes well, it could go down as one of the great nights of Chelsea's history,'' he said.

History is well and truly against the Blues, who have not won any of their past five home Champions League knockout matches.

Terry said: "It'll be very tough. Seeing their last game, too, when they won 6-3, defensively, we need to be really solid.

"It'll be a balance, and communication will be key. They'll have watched videos of us and know we can open teams up.

"We can break teams down and be solid ourselves. But an early goal and a good start would be great for us.''

While they may hold all the aces, Napoli have arrived in London determined not to fall into the trap of over-confidence, having watched Arsenal almost overturn AC Milan's 4-0 first-leg advantage last week.

"It's important we don't do anything different to what we usually do,'' coach Walter Mazzarri said.

"If we changed the way we played, that would be a risk.

"But I don't think my team can underestimate the importance of a game like this.''

He added: "When we don't have the ball, we must be like 11 lions, attacking them constantly to get it back. When we have the ball, we must do everything we can to put them under pressure.''

Star striker Edinson Cavani, who scored a controversial goal in the first leg, said: "We know what to expect and what they can do.

"It'll be a tough match and a very difficult match for us.

"We saw in the Arsenal against Milan match that a team full of champions can change a tie in a few minutes.''

Chelsea were abject defensively in Naples but caretaker manager Roberto Di Matteo has revitalised them in the past week and a half.

Mazzarri said: "The fact they've won two out of two since Di Matteo was in charge is a big morale boost for their team. That worries me.

"But I'm confident that, if we play the match we're capable of, we'll have nothing to fear.''

Napoli also enjoyed a boost today when Mazzarri was given the green light to sit on the bench after the Court of Arbitration for Sport agreed to study an appeal by the club into their manager's two-match touchline ban.

Match
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by chelseabmw(m): 8:50am On Mar 14, 2012
We are winning this today. . Predictions coming through soon
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by timbros(m): 9:50am On Mar 14, 2012
Tough match but.....we will scale through...

I see us grabbing this match in extra time. 5-2 final score after 3-1 in 90mins...
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by olawalebabs(m): 10:39am On Mar 14, 2012
Chelsea will only win if Torres and Mikel scores. grin grin
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by Homar(m): 10:47am On Mar 14, 2012
Another chance for lavezzi to destroy chelsea .Up napoli una sabi ball . Up maggio . Inler . Hamsik . Cavani . Aronica . Go destroy whats left of chelsea.
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by Homar(m): 10:52am On Mar 14, 2012
Go napoli [color=#000099][/color]

Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by IRAPADA(m): 11:00am On Mar 14, 2012
2goal to nil in favour blues
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by airmark(m): 11:13am On Mar 14, 2012
How will chelsea score and Napoli won't?
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by Fissyblue: 12:06pm On Mar 14, 2012
Up chelsea! We r winning 2day cheesy
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by chelseabmw(m): 1:20pm On Mar 14, 2012
We are winning today. . . I just dnt know but I know we are winning this
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by Debroslink: 2:08pm On Mar 14, 2012
Epl fans sucks. Dey won't accept defeat even wen itz glaring @ dem. Chelsea kor, Ogogoro ni... Napoli all d way joooooor!!!
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by Debroslink: 2:09pm On Mar 14, 2012
[quote author=olawalebab]Chelsea will only win if Torres and Mikel scores. grin grin[/quote

CLASSIC!!!
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by badmrkt(m): 3:07pm On Mar 14, 2012
Napoli mek una complete wetin una don start already.no send any caretaker destroy them all. angryangry
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by otokx(m): 6:19pm On Mar 14, 2012
Football is not played with mouth, see what Marseille did to Inter yesterday.
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by FRANKLINTON(m): 6:33pm On Mar 14, 2012
Napoli will knock out Chelsea. It's a pity- no English team will play the quarter final
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by Nobody: 7:05pm On Mar 14, 2012
With a lot of determination and patience we will win by 2 goals to nil. cool
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by dadicvila(m): 7:05pm On Mar 14, 2012
:PForza Italia :PForza Italia
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by edoyad(m): 7:39pm On Mar 14, 2012
Im a Chelsea Fan tonight.

[size=16pt]CHELSEA! CHELSEA!! CHELSEA!!![/size]
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by MeGaStReEt: 8:27pm On Mar 14, 2012
Sturridge again
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by FBS: 8:41pm On Mar 14, 2012
I believe in miracles. cheesy
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by KayDee4: 8:47pm On Mar 14, 2012
FBS: I believe in miracles. cheesy

taking inspiration from the gunners cheesy
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by FBS: 8:49pm On Mar 14, 2012
Kay-Dee:

taking inspiration from the gunners cheesy
no sir. NO WAY! They eventually lost out. thanks but no. tongue cheesy
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by KayDee4: 8:52pm On Mar 14, 2012
FBS:
no sir. NO WAY! They eventually lost out. thanks but no. tongue cheesy

Okay nah sad sad

Do it your way, your case will be worse, like losing home and away. tongue tongue

Go Naps !!! cheesy
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by switch47(m): 8:58pm On Mar 14, 2012
useless chelsea will die tonight' they are going to kick mumu chelsea out of champions league tonite
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by FBS: 8:58pm On Mar 14, 2012
Kay-Dee:

Okay nah sad sad

Do it your way, your case will be worse, like losing home and away. tongue tongue

Go Naps !!! cheesy
story story. I dont want. abi na by force. tongue
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by FBS: 9:00pm On Mar 14, 2012
Chelsea gast to be aware of Napolis counter attack. Can be very dangerous.
Can someone tell DD to please stay on his feet? damn!
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by KayDee4: 9:01pm On Mar 14, 2012
LOL !! grin grin

knocked out in spectacular fashion. These Napoli devils scored 6 last weekend, i expect them to get even more today.
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by Roland17(m): 9:01pm On Mar 14, 2012
Chelsea don't even look different, Napoli is controlling the game and would definitely score even if the hosts score. Napoli all the way!!!
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by mukina2: 9:14pm On Mar 14, 2012
goal
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by KayDee4: 9:14pm On Mar 14, 2012
he he , them don come

Chelsea goal - DiDi cool cool cool
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by switch47(m): 9:14pm On Mar 14, 2012
Chelsea will definitely lose this game, The team is a small team and is not in same class with Napoli. Chelsea is a very weak team and they are going Out tonight!
Re: UCL: Chelsea Vs Napoli (4 - 1) On March 14th 2012 by Roland17(m): 9:14pm On Mar 14, 2012
Not surprised with that goal, that has always been the story.

What Chelsea Fans Should Expect On Sunday Against Liverpool / Manchester City Captain Ilkay Gundogan Joins Barcelona On Two-year Contract / Arsenal Vs Stoke City (3 - 0) On 1st April 2018

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 25