Stats: 3,194,141 members, 7,953,521 topics. Date: Thursday, 19 September 2024 at 05:53 PM

Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones - Music/Radio - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Music/Radio / Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones (11056 Views)

2015 Top 20 Richest Nigerian Musicians, See Their Net Worth / Where Are These Nigerian Musicians? (Pictures) / Why Are Nigerian Musicians Forever Copying African American/jamaican Artistes? (2) (3) (4)

Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Korrection(m): 12:45pm On Jul 01, 2012
Help me compare these musicians and choose who is better

Timaya vs Sunny Okosun

Christy Essien Igbokwe vs Tiwa Savage

Alex O vs M I

Shina Peters vs Nice

Chief Steven Osita Osadebe vs Flavour

Oriental Brothers vs MAVIN Records

And the winners are......
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Korrection(m): 12:52pm On Jul 01, 2012
choosing the old ones over the new ones...old time musicians makes more sense than recent ones..prove me wrong

Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by martyns303(m): 2:16pm On Jul 01, 2012
U may as well compare Nas Vs Soulja boy

Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Chanchit: 5:24pm On Jul 01, 2012
Shina peters
chief osadebe
and the oriental brothers, for me r still better than their vs, but i fink d remaing new generation artists r also better than their vs
As for 9ice and sunny okosun, sunny okosun seems to have a slight edge, cos people still request for his songs on radio, and same might not apply for 9ice in d nxt 10-15 yrs....
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Korrection(m): 2:52pm On Jul 02, 2012
well said....so the old timers are winning...
Chanchit: Shina peters
chief osadebe
and the oriental brothers, for me r still better than their vs, but i fink d remaing new generation artists r also better than their vs
As for 9ice and sunny okosun, sunny okosun seems to have a slight edge, cos people still request for his songs on radio, and same might not apply for 9ice in d nxt 10-15 yrs....
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by cyril83(m): 6:14pm On Jul 02, 2012
Old time musicians are the best

Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by musty1987(m): 6:17pm On Jul 02, 2012
i think the old musicians win cos their musics are more sensible though that is not to deny the fact that some new musician are gud also cool
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Afam4eva(m): 6:19pm On Jul 02, 2012
The old musicians were more talented.
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by executinal(m): 6:25pm On Jul 02, 2012
and ? ? ? ? vs Psquare cheesy cheesy
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Korrection(m): 6:37pm On Jul 02, 2012
Junior and Pretty..do you know who they are?..I think one is late now
executinal: and ? ? ? ? vs Psquare cheesy cheesy
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by ACM10: 6:44pm On Jul 02, 2012
executinal: and ? ? ? ? vs Psquare cheesy cheesy

Trendy Boys vs Psquare grin
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by cichella(m): 6:47pm On Jul 02, 2012
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Blackteeth(m): 6:52pm On Jul 02, 2012
The old naija musicians produce different sounds. I mean each artist has his own distinct sound. But today's naija musicians produce music that have similar sound and singing pattern.
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by KayDee4: 6:54pm On Jul 02, 2012
Korrection: Junior and Pretty..do you know who they are?..I think one is late now

Ha ha ha, 'Junior and Pretty' with that Monica song. cheesy cheesy cheesy
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by KayDee4: 6:56pm On Jul 02, 2012

Evi Edna Ogholi vs Omawumi
Onyeka Onwenu vs Chidinma

I dont think there's any clear basis for comparison as the trend of music has totally changed.
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Nobody: 7:08pm On Jul 02, 2012
Prince Ijogz K is simply d best Old skool artist..
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Nightshift(m): 7:11pm On Jul 02, 2012
How can one compare Nigeria Originals with Bumper to Bumper musicians? They aren't even in the same category! How about ' Dem papa, Dem mama? Tufiakwa!! Please give me Ali Chukwuma or Mr. Bubble Adewale Ayuba! The real groove is on ....
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Nobody: 7:13pm On Jul 02, 2012
New School is better than Old school. Who wanna listen to phonograph sounds ?
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Koolking(m): 7:13pm On Jul 02, 2012
There is no basis of comparison. Old musicians were undisputed talents compared to the media-hyped type of musicians now. The like of Bongo Igwe and a host of others are incomparable to our present generation of musicians.
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by sarutobie(m): 7:14pm On Jul 02, 2012
Korrection: Help me compare these musicians and choose who is better

Timaya vs Sunny Okosun

Alex O vs M I

Shina Peters vs Nice

reomove timaya and replace him with say..Lagbaja
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by KayDee4: 7:17pm On Jul 02, 2012
What of Pasuma wonder and KWAM1 ? I no dey hear their voices again. wink
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by kokoye(m): 7:17pm On Jul 02, 2012
Old timers had no choice but to use raw talent. These news guys have things easier with a lot of help (Mr. machine, lyricists, collaboration, technology, etc)
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by adevicks(m): 7:26pm On Jul 02, 2012
The lyrical composition of the oldies is definitely unique and more sensible. I doubt if there would ever be better songs than those of Ebenezer Obey, King Sunny Ade, Ayinla Omowura, Orlando Owoh, et al.
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by bsteadfast: 7:59pm On Jul 02, 2012
Plantashion Boiz Vs Tuface
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Ruq: 8:02pm On Jul 02, 2012
the old one's are good no doubt, but seriously outa trend to some people.
what do you mean dat you don't see 9ice's music being requested ten years from now??
don't you get? our generation is lucky to meet decades or even centuries of music performance and still enjoy and decipher its meanings.

the new ones will only have 9ice, d'banj nd the rest as their own old time artists, by which when you become grandparents flavour,wizkid,davido etc will be your own oldies.

except for kids who like older genres of music, these are the ones who will listen to okosun,sunny ade etc for history.

all in all i kinda prefer most of the old music genres not the musicians except Fela Yusuf Ayinla and a few, cuz the new gennies got m.ad as.s vibes the old ones can't give.

history is just taking turns.
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by ukpaku: 8:11pm On Jul 02, 2012
bongos ikuwe vs terry g
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Korrection(m): 8:14pm On Jul 02, 2012
I just want to thank the Nairaland moderators for bringing my Topic on the frontpage....I wish i could do anything but right now i want to be a little bit selfish..I am going out to have a bowl of Nkwobi and A.C.B (Any Cold Beer)Lets make Nairaland a place we all can be happy...in this country of unexpected happenings...Thank you very much everyone that contributed to this...just listen to this song...youll know why i posted this....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQRryNzHOks
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by sarutobie(m): 8:19pm On Jul 02, 2012
Korrection: Help me compare these musicians and choose who is better

Timaya vs Sunny Okosun

Alex O vs M I

Shina Peters vs Nice

Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by Integrafamoo: 8:23pm On Jul 02, 2012
Could talent disappear with trend? We still have many talented musicians but people appreciate them not. People are no more ready to listing to lyrics but rather go for noise. How many of u have Beautiful Nubia, Asha,African China's albums...do u have? Could talent disappear with trend? We still have many talented musicians but people appreciate them not. People are no more ready to listing to lyrics but rather go for noise. How many of u have Beautiful Nubia, Asha,African China's albums...do u have? Could talent disappear with trend? We still have many talented musicians but people appreciate them not. People are no more ready to listing to lyrics but rather go for noise. How many of u have Beautiful Nubia, Asha,African China's albums...do u have?
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by baslone: 8:35pm On Jul 02, 2012
Nice is better than Shina Peters, Sony T ãήϑ kollington
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by LesbianBoy(m): 8:45pm On Jul 02, 2012
Nigerians and hypocracy! See them ''old artist are better than young artist'' but if davido's dami duro or wizkid's pakurumo or terry g's free madness comes on now na una go dance pass!
Re: Old Nigerian Musicians Vs Recent Ones by pofolo(m): 8:57pm On Jul 02, 2012
Oldies all d way......except for 9ice vs shina peter because he's got more idioms dan clarence papa.
Beautiful nubia is keeping n repin oldy in our time......

Download: Nicki Minaj – Anaconda (official Track) / Davido's 'Nwa Baby' Video Set To Be Released Tomorrow / Tiwa Savage - "All Over" (Video)