Stats: 3,330,899 members, 8,447,606 topics. Date: Saturday, 18 July 2026 at 03:52 PM

AfonjaFula's Posts

Nairaland ForumAfonjaFula's ProfileAfonjaFula's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 (of 9 pages)

CultureRe: Is Amanayabo An Ijaw Word? by AfonjaFula(op): 4:35pm On Jan 13, 2022
ChinenyeN:
Thanks for this confirmation. I’ve not personally encountered the name in my culture zone, so I’m unfamiliar with it.
So there's no saying in Igbo like ebe onye n'abo "place of two persons" ebe onye'a n'abo "place of this two persons".

What you instead are referring is abuo being two, which will be ulo onye aboua -being house of this two persons.

grin grin you 're an impersonator dear
CultureRe: Is Amanayabo An Ijaw Word? by AfonjaFula(op): 4:31pm On Jan 13, 2022
Ekealterego:
ChinenyeN, the chief defender of Ijaw affairs since the inception of Nairaland. It has gotten to the Igbo example, suddenly, you have developed amnesia but for some reason, you know all the etymology is of the complicated Ijaw word amanayabo.
PoliticsRe: Why Do We Have Obas In Yoruba Land? by AfonjaFula: 4:28pm On Jan 13, 2022
Oba is just a small Yoruba title Umu-Oba however looking at the name Oba tala something may be clicking in the mix.
Benin just overhyped the thing
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 4:21pm On Jan 13, 2022
christistruth01:
If you see how the Obi of Onitsha Court and Chiefs are organised you won't need anything else to prove that Eze Khime was a Benin Prince
Oba OKhime you mean
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 4:18pm On Jan 13, 2022
KingOKON:

, even in Annang Philip Effiongs village which name was changed after the war, being Aro-Ekpemiong. ........

I don't know the hole you crawled out of but when you go lying like DEMONS don't ever drag us into your gibberish

You don't have history stop concocting rubbish from ya mamas kitchen
You absolutely know nothing bro.
Even if I never get precise -I never forget anything history that I know no matter how many years bk. Formerly I wanted to say Akwaibom, bt just chose to say Annang instead since its Effiongs village.

Listen all the way to Ikom, are our relations.
In Enugu you will see Ama- Ekpe, Ikom even Ikwerre etc. How come all this villages.
This also is an answer to the guy above arguing there's no immigration relationship btw the northern Igbos and their southern counterparts.

PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 2:39pm On Jan 13, 2022
Idiko1:
What about the Eze portion of the name?
I heard it was the Igbo way of pronouncing Ozue
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 2:33pm On Jan 13, 2022
christistruth01:
Chima was the Igbo way of Pronouncing Khime
That is what I heard
grin grin grin grin grin
I heard it was the wrong way of pronouncing Ovsviama
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 2:29pm On Jan 13, 2022
Osagyefo98:
E pain am

You guys have been trying to do hard to jam Igbo history together, na only novice go believe such

Imagine such from Ebonyi state claiming nri history?lol

What a fallacy.
Lol, so whose claiming Nri history here.
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 2:28pm On Jan 13, 2022
Osagyefo98:
Fake history.

This piece u wrote doesn't exist.

Igbos don't have same migration history.

Fake
Am still wondering how a Benin Oba named his son CHIMA grin
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 2:25pm On Jan 13, 2022
mrvitalis:
Op please if u don't know history talk ...Eze Chima was an aro chief sent to Benin to establish trade link ...he was not the first neither was he the last

Like the typical Igbo man he became successful in Benin which drew hate n envy to him ( no be today this thing start ) so he left ...died on his way back home in the present day anioma so his people seeing it's Igbo land felt at home and settled
SENT TO BENIN BY WHO?
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 2:24pm On Jan 13, 2022
Osagyefo98:
Lolz

There is a particular town in Anambra state I know very well that doesn't have let slone harbor any single aro or aro settlement among them. Their history is devoid of anything that has to do with aro.

Secondly Eze Chima was no aro chief. Stop pushing Abia and mbaise history down our throat. It won't work.
Lol, dude you have gone insane
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 2:22pm On Jan 13, 2022
Lol, Osagyefo98 you have gone insane
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 2:18pm On Jan 13, 2022
Omanambala:
You made it sound as if Aro settled in every town , except one in Anambra.
Umu Chima remain those Aro's.
Then Aro were like the Levites of the Bible who inherited no lands but pastures. Seeing this, the European called them colonies -I ask, were the Aro's colonizing themselves?

Asides from Aro-Ngwa in Ngwa, there's also UmuAro there. There's Arondizogu in Imo. Up to Izza, Nussuka and up north had most of the Aro settlements but their names lost one was Aro-Ndikechukwu and like the Ohafias, there, Ezza etc did their fights.
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 2:13pm On Jan 13, 2022
[quote author=Princeaniemeka post=109331000]OBI EZECHIMA WAS THE FIRST KING( AGBOGIDI) IN ONITSHA AND NOT ARO OR ANIOMA OR ANY OTHER PLACE. IF YOU KNOW YOUR HISTORY VERY WELL. STOP PEDDLING FALSE INFORMATION. EVEN THE FIRST PRIMARY SCHOOL AT AWKA ROAD WAS NAMED AFTER HIM (EZECHIMA PRI SCHOOL). IF YOU DON'T KNOW ASK. SHALOM

So how does this relate to the topic
/quote]
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 9:55am On Jan 13, 2022
mrvitalis:
Yes they are in anioma n Anambra but there true origin is aro ...there are aro community in every region of Igbo land from ikwerre to bonny in the south to nsukka in the north

Eze Chima was an aro chief it's not even up for debate
Idk where you are from, but at least you agree that there is Aro everywhere including in Ikwere Aro-Ikwere, even in Annang Philip Effiongs village which name was changed after the war, being Aro-Ekpemiong.

There also were existence of Bini Igbo business-relationship as was with Obi Olisa, even with the Nembes as was with King Boy of Brass. However, at least it's of no argument now that this my uncle being myself also an Aro was no Bini Prince.

Funny the Anioma Aro's where the most headstrong that led the Ekumeku, same areas gave birth to sons like Nzeogwu, Achuzie, Osadebe, Equiano etc, but today are not Igbo.

Funny how a Bini man named his son Chima
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 9:42am On Jan 13, 2022
Eze Chima was an aro chief it's not even up for debate[/quote]Idk where you are from, but at least you agree that there is Aro everywhere including in Ikwere Aro-Ikwere, even in Annang Philip Effiongs village which name was changed after the war, being Aro-Ekpemiong.

There also were existence of Bini Igbo business-relationship as was with Obi Olisa, even with the Nembes as was with King Boy of Brass. However, at least it's of no argument now that this my uncle being myself also an Aro was no Bini Prince.

Funny the Anioma Aro's where the most headstrong that led the Ekumeku, same areas gave birth to sons like Nzeogwu, Achuzie, Osadebe, Equiano etc, but today are not Igbo
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 9:36am On Jan 13, 2022
Perhaps he should had been, Oba Oviama grin
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 9:28am On Jan 13, 2022
mrvitalis:
Op please if u don't know history talk ...Eze Chima was an aro chief sent to Benin to establish trade link ...he was not the first neither was he the last

Like the typical Igbo man he became successful in Benin which drew hate n envy to him ( no be today this thing start ) so he left ...died on his way back home in the present day anioma so his people seeing it's Igbo land felt at home and settled
Lol -who told you all this.
Have you ever heard of the name Umu Chima still in existence today both in Anioma and Anambra grin
PoliticsRe: SINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 9:06am On Jan 13, 2022
gidgiddy:
A Bini prince with an Igbo name?
I tell you, it drives me craze grin
PoliticsRe: . by AfonjaFula: 9:04am On Jan 13, 2022
And still till today they still remain Igbo that they are
PoliticsSINCE EZE CHIMA WAS BININ PRINCE, HOW COME HIS NAME WAS NEVER Ovia Osas by AfonjaFula(op): 8:58am On Jan 13, 2022
Y u all argue so much I do not know.

Look it up here -Igbos are made up of first the aboriginal Igbo and the later immigrants call them Hebrew whatever.

Remember in the myth of Eri where Awka was talked about. Here, the Awka's had been b4 the later.

This later Igbos first sojourned in Igala b4 coming down.
Calling them Igala while they are Igbo instead is what I do not understand of this people that want to here anything else asides the name Igbo, in fact for them let Igbo disappear into tin air; name is choking them lol.
Again remember the changing of Igalas capital from Amagedde to Idah(Igbo).

Dude, Igbo history is complex

Igbo came to our current location through a Northern direction.
But at Kogi, there was a split. One group took the direction of Edo and the other took the direction of Benue and then Cross River.
The groups that took Edo direction gave rise to the Indigenous Igbo tribes in Anioma, those who took Benue direction ended up in Ikwo, Ezza,Izzi. Those who took Cross River direction ended up forming Bende, Arochukwu, Ututu,Ohafia, Abiriba.
Others moved straight from Kogi to Anambra River area and formed the Nri and Nsukka groups.
All these groups now kept pushing down until they all met each other again within Abia and Imo state.
Kept pushing until they reached the coasts (Bonny).
I believe during these journey, many Igbos were left along the way, and they settled with their non Igbo neighbors and lost their Igbo language.

When you listen to Abiriba, Bende history, you hear of origin from Cross River direction, yet the name of their ancestors were all Igbos.
For example the ancestor of Abiriba was called "Nnachioke"
So I came to the conclusion that these ancestors were Igbos on the move who had to pass through non Igbo territories, settled amongst them, acquired wives and friends from there who joined in their journey, until they settled to where they are currently stationed. They also in typical Igbo manner acquired cultural practices of these people.

That's my rational explanation of the Igbo migration and the irreconcilable stories of ancestors who were said to be Edo, Cross River, Igala , etc, yet all bore Igbo names and have their descendants speaking Igbo.

Yes that is it.
Just the the biblical Moses story and they also intermarried with the old aboriginal Igbos, like Awka and AmaIgbo.

So now about EZE CHIMA grin grin grin grin grin

PoliticsRe: SIR LOUIS ODUMEGWU OJUKWU'S Port - Harcourt House, Saro Wiwa Sized And Lived- by AfonjaFula(op): 12:27pm On Jan 12, 2022
aribisala0:
Do you have evidence? Were you around in 1952? How do you know this

All i know is wat I responded to
Those killed were not solely Eboes
Yes and I remember reading years bk in a biographical account of a solider then.
It even happen that a particular state in the north lets assume Kano wasn't greatly populated by southerners of Igbo origin rather Yorubas -do know what happened, the effect of the riots were less there than every other places. Also things like looks and tribal marks were used in identification.
Southerners lived in Sabon Gari mostly Igbo, and that made them easy target
PoliticsRe: The True Identity Of Bonny/Opobo(UBANI) People Facts Versus Fiction by AfonjaFula: 9:03am On Jan 12, 2022
Igboid:
Ututu is not an offshoot of Arochukwu.
They are independent group of their own, but as expected, they are related to Arochukwu.

I have a hypothesis that the Igbo came to our current location through a Northern direction.
But at Kogi, there was a split. One group took the direction of Edo and the other took the direction of Benue and then Cross River.
The groups that took Edo direction gave rise to the Indigenous Igbo tribes in Anioma, those who took Benue direction ended up in Ikwo, Ezza,Izzi. Those who took Cross River direction ended up forming Bende, Arochukwu, Ututu,Ohafia, Abiriba.
Others moved straight from Kogi to Anambra River area and formed the Nri and Nsukka groups.
All these groups now kept pushing down until they all met each other again within Abia and Imo state.
Kept pushing until they reached the coasts (Bonny).
I believe during these journey, many Igbos were left along the way, and they settled with their non Igbo neighbors and lost their Igbo language.

When you listen to Abiriba, Bende history, you hear of origin from Cross River direction, yet the name of their ancestors were all Igbos.
For example the ancestor of Abiriba was called "Nnachioke"
So I came to the conclusion that these ancestors were Igbos on the move who had to pass through non Igbo territories, settled amongst them, acquired wives and friends from there who joined in their journey, until they settled to where they are currently stationed. They also in typical Igbo manner acquired cultural practices of these people.

That's my rational explanation of the Igbo migration and the irreconcilable stories of ancestors who were said to be Edo, Cross River, Igala , etc, yet all bore Igbo names and have their descendants speaking Igbo.
Yes that is it.
Just the the biblical Moses story and they also intermarried with the old aboriginal Igbos, like Awka and AmaIgbo
PoliticsRe: SIR LOUIS ODUMEGWU OJUKWU'S Port - Harcourt House, Saro Wiwa Sized And Lived- by AfonjaFula(op): 7:51am On Jan 12, 2022
ugo4u:
After declaring the war No victor no vanquish by Gowon in order to facilitate reconcilation you still think it is right for people's property to be seized by the same govt that want to integrate the country then. We like been dishonest to ourselves. Ojukwu is no Saint same for Awo, Zik and co we have to come to terms with that. Had Aburi accord been respected we wouldn't be talking about all these. That's by the way sha, if you excuse Awo for the starvation policy what about the 20pounds issue? Make we dey talk true for this country, the "Heroes" we like to deify are humans and are prone to make mistakes.
You know, this guy's think they are somehow better smart
PoliticsRe: SIR LOUIS ODUMEGWU OJUKWU'S Port - Harcourt House, Saro Wiwa Sized And Lived- by AfonjaFula(op): 7:49am On Jan 12, 2022
IGBOSON1:
Thanks for this detailed and heartwarming post! It filled me up with a rollercoaster of emotions....from elation down to melancholy!

When some wonder at the motivation for people from outside the then Eastern (and probably Mid-West) regions taking the decisions they took during and immediately after the uncivil war...and why some daft saboteurs within the Eastern Region helped outsiders to wage war on their own neighbour (and in some cases, their own kinsfolk)....beside crass stupidity, another or the main reason was envy and unbridled hate born out of the belief ‘the East can’t be allowed to surpass us in development or use all that oyel for themselves’ !

A major reason why ‘one Nigeria’ is still stuck in a rut is envy! Being too much of a busybody at what your ‘competition’ is doing, and ensuring that the resources God blessed them with are appropriated by the centre for sharing based on conditions like worthless landmass and population! Envy, greed, laziness and covetousness are the primary reason Nigeria WILL NEVER BE MENTIONED IN THE SAME BREATH AS THE LIKES OF UAE, RWANDA AND EVEN GHANA....NEVER MIND MORE INDUSTRIALISED COUNTRIES LIKE SOUTH-KOREA, JAPAN AND SINGAPORE! Igbos can NEVER THRIVE AND REACH OUR FULL POTENTIAL IN NIGERIA, and this is why i want us out of this god forsaken country!
Very good
PoliticsRe: SIR LOUIS ODUMEGWU OJUKWU'S Port - Harcourt House, Saro Wiwa Sized And Lived- by AfonjaFula(op): 7:48am On Jan 12, 2022
aribisala0:
Well think before jumping into other people's conversations
We do not agree that it was anti Eboe riots because we never discussed that

The only thing that happened is someone said those killed were solely Eboes and I corrected him and you just jumped in and interjected yourself and started talking ignorantly
What we agree is that NOT ONLY EBOES WERE KILLED in the 1952 riots as evidenced by the link you provided yourself

Learn to think before talking or jumping into other people's conversations
No. The attacks were targetted on Igbo settlements and so if any other tribes man unfortunately falls to be living anywhere around possibly falls victim.

Now this being that there also were other tribes affected, it doesn't disprove that Igbo was the target.
PoliticsRe: 1958 Minorities Grievances. *south-south Nigeria, "The Willinks Commission Repor by AfonjaFula(op): 4:58pm On Jan 10, 2022
gidgiddy:
But you are the one thanking Gowon for creating states. At least, the 4 Regions controlled their resources during Ironsi's time

Then Gowon came and started creating states. What Gowon didnt tell the so called minorities was that the states would not control their resources. So Gowon transferred control of resources to the Federal government then gave them states that would be powerless

Till today, they are still crying for restructuring and resource control
Absolutely. I see sense in what you saying.
The states were created just to spike the Igbos, but tue minorities mumurism didn't allow them see that.
PoliticsRe: 1958 Minorities Grievances. *south-south Nigeria, "The Willinks Commission Repor by AfonjaFula(op): 4:56pm On Jan 10, 2022
IGBOSON1:
If Nigeria wants to not only survive as a country, but equally thrive and prosper, it just has to overcome this insane fear of Igbo ‘domination’! There’s a negative attitude towards Igbos from certain ethnicities in Nigeria that manifests in different forms....from disdain to outright hatred!

Can any neutral reading the OP and seeing what all this envy, bile and hate has cost the Igbo race honestly say we aren’t justified in our agitation!?
Thats all of their mistake, that fear.
PoliticsRe: 1958 Minorities Grievances. *south-south Nigeria, "The Willinks Commission Repor by AfonjaFula(op): 1:41pm On Jan 10, 2022
COMMENT BY revolt

well one thing remains certain.... the so called igbo land grabbing was actually igbos buying land with their money. I have never seen or heard of any official complaint by ANY of your leaders of, how Michael okpara or zik forcefully took your lands and gave to igbo. Our fathers bought all their lands ...They didn't get them as gifts. Your fathers sold land and became envious at the sucesses of the igbos and when the opportunity came..they happily sided with the north..naturally the retreating biafran army would vent anger when informants from ogoni WHOM HAVE ALWAYS BEEN THEIR KITH AND KIN, whom married a lot of our daughters vice versa would rather go giving info to the northern back military to destroy and kill biafran forces.

PoliticsRe: 1958 Minorities Grievances. *south-south Nigeria, "The Willinks Commission Repor by AfonjaFula(op): 1:37pm On Jan 10, 2022
DubaiLandLord:
[.

Nigeria have been treating Ibos fairly.
Your last modified, can you expound?
PoliticsRe: 1958 Minorities Grievances. *south-south Nigeria, "The Willinks Commission Repor by AfonjaFula(op): 1:34pm On Jan 10, 2022
mrvitalis:
Someone bring out the report for western region abeg let's compare

Igbos were fair to south south but what did we get ...they stole Igbo oil that's part of the state created for them and marginalized igbos ...ijaws mostly ... obigbo , egebema ndoni, etche and omuma produce 70% of rivers oil ogoni produce 20% andoni opobo ,bonny and the belle ( ijaw ) produce the rest

But obigbo , egebema ndoni, etche and omuma are among the least developed area in rivers State ...

But ijaws have mouth to talk about marginalization in the old eastern region even when an independent body said nothing of such ?

The next generation of Igbo leaders need to put igbos first
Now, they are so enjoying like UAE.
You want prove? grin grin
PoliticsRe: 1958 Minorities Grievances. *south-south Nigeria, "The Willinks Commission Repor by AfonjaFula(op): 1:32pm On Jan 10, 2022
mrvitalis:
Someone bring out the report for western region abeg let's compare

Igbos were fair to south south but what did we get ...they stole Igbo oil that's part of the state created for them and marginalized igbos ...ijaws mostly ... obigbo , egebema ndoni, etche and omuma produce 70% of rivers oil ogoni produce 20% andoni opobo ,bonny and the belle ( ijaw ) produce the rest

But obigbo , egebema ndoni, etche and omuma are among the least developed area in rivers State ...

But ijaws have mouth to talk about marginalization in the old eastern region even when an independent body said nothing of such ?

The next generation of Igbo leaders need to put igbos first
grin grin grin grin grin

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 (of 9 pages)