Stats: 3,325,000 members, 8,419,872 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 05:31 AM

Darkprime's Posts

Nairaland ForumDarkprime's ProfileDarkprime's Posts

1 2 (of 2 pages)

SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m):
My preferred 28 man list from the provisional list, if I had my way

GK
Stanley Nwabali
Maduka Okoye
Amas Obasogie

DF
Zaidu Sanusi
Calvin Bassey
Chidozie Awaziem
Ryan Alebiosu
Ola Aina
Igoh Ogbu
Felix Agu
Bruno Onyemaechi

MF
Ebenezer Akinsanmiro
Frank Onyeka
Fisayo Dele-Bashiru
Wilfred Ndidi
Alex Iwobi
Chrisantus Uche
Raphael Onyedika
Tochukwu Nnadi
Peter Agba

FW
Victor Osimhen
Samuel Chukwueze
Ademola Lookman
Akor Adams
Chidera Ejuke
Rafiu Durosinmi
Cyriel Dessers / Terem Moffi (unsure)
Philip Otele

I believe we'll have our best chance to go far with this team. It might not win the AFCON, but I expect to see much better football progress with the right combinations, and be guaranteed to finish 3rd at least.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m):
It's no surprise that Burkina Faso is whooping Ethiopia. This is the reason why I never included that game in the matches we need to watch out for below. I only included matches where I knew there was a chance of having favorable outcomes. Ethiopia have been abysmal throughout this qualifiers. So when I saw users here hoping on Ethiopia, I just shook my head. The people who would have really helped us were Sierra Leone, but unfortunately Burkina Faso beat them too. Sierra Leone are much better than this whack Ethiopian side. Same reason I didn't include DR Congo vs Togo. If DRC could only manage a single goal against Togo, I'm hoping Sudan will hold them to a standstill.

At any rate, kudos to Mali. At least those ones didn't fall my hand.

Emphasis below

Darkprime:
For those still hoping Nigeria will qualify:

Besides our own games, these are all the WCQ games we need to pay attention to for our best chances of qualifying

DIRECT QUALIFICATION:

Benin vs Rwanda >>> If Benin wins this game, especially with enough goals, then we're as good as done, even if we beat them, because they'll likely surpass us in goals scored. Therefore, we have to hope they either draw or lose to Rwanda.

South Africa vs Zimbabwe >>> I honestly don't believe South Africa will lose this game, but if they lose or draw, it will favor us immensely.

South Africa vs Rwanda >>> Same as above, except I'm more confident in Rwanda than Zimbabwe.

THROUGH THE PLAYOFFS:

Lesotho vs Zimbabwe >> We need to pray for a win or draw for Lesotho. Zimbabwe must remain bottom for our best chances to qualify through the playoffs when the points are deducted from the runner-ups.

Sierra Leone vs Burkina Faso >>> Burkina Faso will be playing away. Let's hope they lose or draw to Sierra Leone here. A draw would be the best case scenario.

DR Congo vs Sudan >>> Same as above. DR Congo losing or drawing may favor us.

Cameroon vs Angola >>> Cameroon are our brothers in underperformance. Let's hope they bottle this one too.

Gambia vs Gabon >>> Gabon to lose or draw hopefully.

Mozambique vs Guinea >>> Mozambique are on form but we need Guinea to pull an upset.

Algeria vs Uganda >>> We need Algeria to win here. I don't think a draw would be enough.

Tunisia vs Namibia >>> Same as above. Tunisia must win.

Comoros vs Madagascar >>> best case scenario here would be a draw. But if any team must win, I hope it's Comoros.

Mali vs Madagascar >>> Same as above. Mali to win if draw isn't possible.
Edited to correct misinformation.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 11:32am On Oct 12, 2025
This is all I'm going to say.

Our chances of winning against Benin is 85%. We'll most likely win the game. And it's not just because we have performed consistently well against them -- beating them a solid 14 times -- but because we have never gone a single game under Chelle without scoring at least 1 goal. We're going to score definitely. 100% in fact. Whether that goal will come in the first or second half will depend on how well we start the game. Although, based on antecedents, I'd advise you all not to hold your breaths to soon, because that goal may likely not come until the second half. Chelle's team have proven to be consistent second-half performers.

There are only two things here that may cost us the World Cup ticket. One is under our control, the other is not.

1) Defensive structure and discipline. This one is under our control.
2) South Africa's game with Rwanda. This one is not under our control.

Number (1) is very tricky because our defense has been absolutely atrocious. Bassey and Frederick are the only reliable members in our defensive unit. Zaidu is decent but I can ready guess that Chelle likely won't start him. The rest are ticking time bombs, most especially the goalkeeper, Nwabali. If we bottle this game, it will be down to these guys.

As for the South Africa game, it could go either way. Honestly I don't see either Rwanda or South Africa winning. If any team will edge it out here, my money is on Rwanda. Only reason is because South Africa's defense will suffer without Mbokazi. He was their Benjamin Frederick (sort of), before he got penalized. And Rwanda is a technical team as well. If they are given the opportunity, they will punish South Africa severely. But in all honesty, I'm going to call a DRAW as the most likely result, because South Africa, as technical as they can be, often lack precision when they're under pressure. And if Rwanda set up their defense the way they did against us in our last encounter, with their keeper Ntwari doing his thing, South Africa simply won't be able to break through.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 3:58pm On Oct 10, 2025
It's not looking good at all.

At this rate, getting in as group winners is looking like the more easy route. Whatever happens next, God is in control. Let's just win our games (with enough goals!) and see how it will all end.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 6:52pm On Oct 09, 2025
Darkprime:

Besides our own games, these are all the WCQ games we need to pay attention to for our best chances of qualifying

DIRECT QUALIFICATION:

Benin vs Rwanda >>> If Benin wins this game, especially with enough goals, then we're as good as done, even if we beat them, because they'll likely surpass us in goals scored. Therefore, we have to hope they either draw or lose to Rwanda.

South Africa vs Zimbabwe >>> I honestly don't believe South Africa will lose this game, but if they lose or draw, it will favor us immensely.

South Africa vs Rwanda >>> Same as above, except I'm more confident in Rwanda than Zimbabwe.

THROUGH THE PLAYOFFS:

Lesotho vs Zimbabwe >> We need to pray for a win or draw for Lesotho. Zimbabwe must remain bottom for our best chances to qualify through the playoffs when the points are deducted from the runner-ups.

Sierra Leone vs Burkina Faso >>> Burkina Faso will be playing away. Let's hope they lose or draw to Sierra Leone here. A draw would be the best case scenario.

Cameroon vs Angola >>> Cameroon are our brothers in underperformance. Let's hope they bottle this one too.

Mozambique vs Guinea >>> Mozambique are on form but we need Guinea to pull an upset.

Algeria vs Uganda >>> We need Algeria to win here. I don't think a draw would be enough.

Comoros vs Madagascar >>> best case scenario here would be a draw. But if any team must win, I hope it's Comoros.

Guinea doing the Lord's work.

SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 6:29pm On Oct 09, 2025
Amedino99:
mozambique 1-2 guinea.
I'm following the game boss. At least 1 thing is going our way so far.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 7:04pm On Oct 08, 2025
JohnBullMySon:
We are saying the same thing
You're saying that the team who topped their group will go to second. That's not what's going to happen.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 7:00pm On Oct 08, 2025
JohnBullMySon:
By precedent CAF and UEFA did it already so it expected that FIFA would do it that way.

Removing points from all groups is even more unfair cause someone who topped a group can drop to second.
The points deduction only applies to the runner-ups.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 6:19pm On Oct 08, 2025
Amedino99:
both away teams leading 0-1 at half time
Hmmm.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 11:39am On Oct 08, 2025
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 11:31am On Oct 08, 2025

DIRECT QUALIFICATION:

THROUGH THE PLAYOFFS:

SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 10:56am On Oct 08, 2025
I'm currently looking at our group table, the other group tables in the WCQ, the runner-ups table, and calculating our qualification chances, both directly and through the playoffs. We still have to win our last two games either way (for pride), but omo, to be honest, let's just prepare our mind for AFCON. Our probability of qualifying is less than 20%, even with the deduction of points from the runner-ups because of Eritrea. Too many mathematical variables are involved that we have absolutely no control over.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 9:47am On Oct 08, 2025
minfelix:
By this time next week Tuesday on this page when MD10 has been concluded there will either be Tears of joy or Gnashing of teeth and excruciating pains of wailing arising to the heavenlies onto the most high…
🥺😭😂
2026 WCQ thanks for the 2years long memories
Lol. It has arguably been far more dramatic than the 2022 qualifiers.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 7:05pm On Oct 07, 2025
M7even:
South Africa actually had a world cup qualifiers match replayed against Senegal where the Ghanaian referee in the initial leg was suspended by FIFA. So I guess that's why they believe there is a chance that can happen. This only shows they are tensed and uncomfortable in their camp. I'm banking of Zimbabwe to do that magic.
I just looked up the Senegal incident. And our case is not similar in anyway to it. I'll explain.

In the South Africa vs Senegal game, FIFA and subsequently, the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) did not overturn the result based on a subjective error of law or judgment. Take note of this. The match was ordered to be replayed after the lifetime ban imposed on the match referee, Joseph Lamptey, was upheld for match manipulation .

The CAS ruling concluded that the referee had intentionally taken two wrong decisions with the sole purpose of enabling specific betting outcomes. The keyword there is "intentionally." This "intentional" wrongdoing, corroborated by evidence of suspicious and irregular betting activities reported by multiple monitoring companies, was classified as an unlawful influencing of the result, which violates FDC Article 20. And that's why the Senegal case succeeded. It was because the infringement was classified as a violation of integrity and anti-corruption statutes, a statutory breach that overrides the protection afforded by the Field of Play doctrine.

For a replay to be ordered in the Nigeria case, the petition must prove that the referee's decision to allow the Bassey goal was not merely a human error, but a deliberate, unlawful act motivated by bias, malice, or corruption. The current alleged handball, being an error of perception, does not meet this legal threshold.

If you want to look at precedents, the best example is France vs. Republic of Ireland (2009). That's the one I'm working with, and the one that resembles our case the most. It was during the 2009 World Cup playoff between France and the Republic of Ireland, where a clear handball by Thierry Henry directly led to the winning goal.
Despite the gravity of the error, and all the overwhelming public backlash, and conclusive video evidence, the FIFA Disciplinary Committee reviewed the facts and ruled that the FDC "did not permit sanctions in this specific case." The result stood, and no replay was ordered. I would post links but I don't trust the spambot. The fact is that FIFA prioritizes the finality of the sporting result, even over correcting a demonstrably incorrect application of the Laws of the Game by the match officials. Overturning a sporting decision based on a missed call would require FIFA to abandon this established jurisprudence, a step it has consistently avoided to maintain the autonomy and global integrity of on-field decisions.

So road no dey for Bafana Bafana. They're wasting their time.

But like I said, let them keep having headache over the handball while we focus on taking over the group. At this stage of the game, mindset is important.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 8:27am On Oct 07, 2025
Amedino99:
a replay will obviously mean the match will be replayed on a standard pitch. They should know by now that if they get the replay request, the nff (hopefully) wont concede to play the match at a bad stadium and the reason they played that match in a bad stadium was strategic and intentional. They are aware of what will happen if the two teams play on an equal footing in that match.
There won't even be a rematch, FIFA will toss their filed complaints into the garbage.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 8:25am On Oct 07, 2025
Truidstarr:
South Africans are already planning for the worst in case they don't qualify. They are talking about the Calvin Bassey handball. According to them it should not have been given as a goal. They plan to request for a replay or get FIFA to dock us 3 points. Source:Online chatter.
They're wasting their time, if true.

In soccer, any protests lodged to deduct points solely on the grounds of a referee's missed call concerning the goal's validity will not stand. There won't even be a replay. The reason is because there is a crucial distinction established in global sports law: disciplinary sanctions related to administrative integrity are entirely different from those related to sporting judgment. Sanctions resulting in match forfeiture (a 3-0 loss) and point deduction are usually reserved for serious breaches of competition statutes, not for referee errors. As we all know, these breaches typically involve FDC (FIFA Disciplinary Code) Article 19 (of felding ineligible player) or Article 20 (of match manipulation). And these are often matters of administrative fact that lie entirely outside the referee's on-field discretion.

So if South Africa are really serious about achieving the desired 3-point deduction because of the handball, they would have to prove that Nigeria had committed an intentional statutory breach by deliberately manipulating the match beforehand (FDC Art. 20). Since the core of the protest is a referee's judgment call, the legal mechanism for point deduction is entirely inapplicable. Na dem do themselves. They thought they were wise taking us to play football in a farm and removing VAR, now it has come back to bite them.

On a lighter note, I would like them to keep wasting their resources and strategic focus on the handball incident. Lol. At least their focus will be shifted immediately from preparation for the remaining World Cup qualification fixtures and it might taint their mindset. So yeah, let them keep chasing shadows.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 7:25pm On Oct 03, 2025
QueenJazz:
Nigeria doesn't deserve to go to the World Cup abeg. Let's tell ourselves the truth. In fact, I hope Benin wins and secures the top spot. Nigeria isn't going to the World Cup. 🤣

If you like quote me later, but you'll just be acting foolish. The way our team is structured, we can't perform consistently. We'll have brief moments of joy, but we'll always flop when least expected. Until we sort out the virus that is NFF, nothing will change.

If a miracle happens and we go to the World Cup (we won't), the highest we'll get is 2 points (2 draws and a loss). We might win only one game if we're lucky to face a team that doesn't even know what a football is. We've seen this script play out over and over again.

Abeg make I go watch Big Brother Naija.

England for World Cup 2026. It's coming home this time. ✌🏾
I don't blame you my sister. It's enough to give up on the team completely.

I swear, the sheer administrative amateurism of the Super Eagles management is enough to drive any true fan to despair. We just got handed the miracle of the decade, and a chance to qualify for the World Cup, even if through the playoffs, provided we take six points from Lesotho and Benin. And what does Eric Chelle do? He rewards us with a squad selection that perfectly encapsulates the very rot that has stalled our progress for years: prioritizing administrative tourism over actual footballing merit.

The inclusion of Semi Ajayi is the most egregious example of this sickness. I surmise that the only reason Ajayi is being included is because he is deemed to have the requisite "experience", the code word for a collection of unnecessary caps.

We are going into must-win games against highly motivated opponents, and our defense needs pace, energy, and players who are absolutely flying high at their clubs. Ajayi’s profile and track record in the aforementioned doesn't inspire enough confidence. But the real kick in the teeth here is that the players who do bring that dynamism are the ones being sacrificed at the altar of "experience."

How do you justify leaving out a young, hungry, and talented midfielder like Chrisantus Uche? Uche is exactly the type of player who offers steel, energy, and a fresh perspective that the engine room desperately needs, especially when we have serious questions about Wilfred Ndidi’s lack of match sharpness this season. Instead of backing the youth who earned their place, Chelle cuts Uche, only to bring back someone whose primary qualification seems to be breathing the national team air before. It's a double standard that costs us crucial dynamism.
It’s infuriating because Chelle has proven he knows better. Just recently, he had the courage to bench the captain, William Troost-Ekong, and start the 20-year-old Benjamin Fredrick in a crucial qualifier against Rwanda, and Fredrick didn't disappoint. Why, then, does he selectively abandon that meritocracy when it comes to defensive depth? Why acknowledge the future with Fredrick but cling to the past with Ajayi?

We need six points to potentially qualify, which means aggressive, high-risk, high-octane football. But when I see a midfield core under pressure from Ndidi’s fitness and a defense still prioritizing known quantities over peak performers, I see a setup ripe for the kind of error that has plagued our qualifying campaign all along. My expectations are grim. We have the firepower up front with Osimhen and Lookman, but the team looks psychologically and structurally weighted down by decisions that prioritize sentiment over necessity. We needed pure aggression and tactical ruthlessness. We got half-measures. Get ready for two agonizingly difficult matches, because if Chelle's "experience" choices falter, we will watch our World Cup dream collapse for a second time this month.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 3:49pm On Sep 13, 2025
lovewins:
No, not with the current system of government we run. The lack of accountability that pervades the NFF isn't peculiar to them, rather they learnt it from those is power. You have to realize that this has some historic underpinnings. During the military regime when the general sentiments was angst against the government, sports was a tool for the military to do as they fit. It was the most effective tool they had to bring the nation together in times of crises. The current structure we have across all sports federation was developed during the military era.

To your question, today there are additional incentives for government to keep funding sporting association without necessarily demanding accountability. State government with teams in the NPFL for instance spends average 600M naira yearly to run those teams without the expectation of revenue. Players of those clubs who are by extension civil servants are one of the highest earners in the country (earning more than doctors and professors). They'll however continue to find them because many of these teams like 3SC for example have strong local support, and for weird reasons have some electoral value to those in power.

Also, the portfolio these infrastructures provide helps politicians to settle some of their loyal party members in positions of government. Solomon Dalung and Sunday Dare who were the last 2 ministers of sports had no sporting foundation whatsoever or the administrative intelligence to run it, but they got rewarded with those offices because they were simply rewards for party loyalty. The same sentiments applies at the state level.

So unless we have a government who will value competence above all else, status quo will likely remain the same.
Honestly, this sucks. It's infuriating how greedy and non-chalant our political structures are. They don't care about anything else besides using football as a tool for patronage, instead of a source of national development. It's enough to make me denounce the Super Eagles, except I can't realistically do that because as a Nigerian who loves soccer, I enjoy watching our national teams play, whether as a dedicated supporter, or just for petty hate-watching.

It’s absolutely mind-boggling that state governments are pouring hundreds of millions yearly into these clubs with no expectation of revenue. It's a slap in the face to a nation with so many pressing needs.

Is there no hope at all? I mean, we can't keep waiting for a benevolent government to come save us. From the look of things, it's going to be a mighty long time before that will happen. This thing goes beyond administration to Nigerian culture as a whole. The average Nigerian is willing to sacrifice everything for his selfish needs. There has to be a way to cut the cord on government funding and incentivize private investors to take over. Look at the rise of clubs like Remo Stars, owned by entrepreneurs who are building professional, sustainable institutions. We already know we can't fix a corrupt system. So do question now is, is there a way to bypass and it make it irrelevant by building a new, self-sustaining one from the ground up?
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 12:48pm On Sep 13, 2025
lovewins:
Good points raised but your suggestions sadly aren't practicable for a few reasons.

1. Government sadly can't dissolve the NFF and FIFA is largely responsible for this. President Goodluck Jonathan tried to do this but he reversed course after 2 weeks. Sequel to the poor showing at the 2010 world cup, He had announced Nigeria's withdrawal from all competition for at least 2 years with the aim to rebuild from the ground up. FIFA intervened and threatened suspension. So you see, even if a government has great intentions, they'll need the buy in of the "corrupt people" managing the NFF for it to work because that's sadly how FIFA wants it because FIFA itself is corrupt.

2. The only incentive government really has is to totally divest from football. Stop giving them your money since they don't answer to you. It doesn't necessarily change anything, but it at least disincentivice crooks who vie for NFF office because of the free money they'll get from government. They are then limited to FIFA grants and money from sponsors which comes with some sense of accountability.

3. What government can again do is leverage on the money NFF collects from them to make certain demands top of which is to increase the NFF Congress to at least 100 voting members. That's the only way you can wrestle power from the politicians that manage the NFF currently. Let me explain further:

Out of the 44 members's vote that determine the leadership of the NFF, 37 of them are state chairmen (that is politicians) because the governors almost always choses them (even though they have a flawed election too). So there's really no way for any competent outsider to become president of the NFF because the majority of the voting bloc are politicians. It's just not possible.

What government can do now is find a way to influence these same corrupt people to change the constitution to accommodate non partisan voters. Increase the voting bloc to at least 100 to dilute their influence by giving more votes to journalists, ex players etc who are more likely to tow the line of competence than politics in choosing a leader. That's the only way change can begin to happen. Once the foundational issues are sorted, the other points you highlighted are easily achievable.
Thank you for this. Perhaps I was too idealist with my points. But you've brought up interesting arguments here that I must consider. You're correct in asserting that the most effective leverage the government has over the NFF is financial. Cutting this umbilical cord of "free money" is a powerful way to make the NFF accountable to a different constituency which are corporate sponsors and private investors who demand professionalism and transparency for their money.

But the question now is, can we trust the government to make such a bold move? Given past antecedents, isn't it safe to say that this idea is a logical dead-end?

As for Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, it's a real shame. That man had so many good intentions for this country, but given the way we treated him, sometimes I wonder if Nigerians truly deserves good leadership at all.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 10:29am On Sep 13, 2025
At this point, we need to do something about the NFF. We just have to. It's glaringly obvious that they are the absolute rotten core under the disasters that keep surrounding our national teams. I think it's very easy to get distracted by little flashes of brilliance like our recent win at the Women's AFCON, or our Unity Cup victory, or our AFCON finals finish two years ago. These are just flashes in a pan that ease the symptoms of a core disease that we still haven't recovered from for a mighty long time. Sure, even the biggest teams have their ups and downs, but over the past 5 years at least, it's clear that we're on a drastic decline. For those of us who have lived through the dizzying highs of the Super Eagles, the present reality is a source of profound heartbreak. It's not fun watching the slow, painful decline of a team with such a rich history and an endless reservoir of talent.

What happened to our national pride?

The draw with South Africa was just another bout of the endless frustration we're used to. I was fully expecting us to lose, so I'm even thankful we got a draw. We can talk about a lot of things here that made us not alto achieve a victory that day. We can complain about the players. We can complain about the pitches, we can complain about the coach. But if you want to get to the root of the problem, you have to look at the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF). These bunch of clowns are the weapon fashioned against us, and I wonder how long they'll keep messing with us before we take decisive actions as fans. Who is really competent in that organization that deserves his spot there? Where are the technocrats? Why is there so much political interference? If you're not a professional with mandatory sports-related qualifications, you shouldn't have any business with the NFF! And this pervasive political culture is directly responsible for the federation's financial mismanagement and lack of transparency. They keep relying on government subventions like a crutch. There have been so many serious allegations of financial impropriety that would make your head spin.

That's why I don't blame private investors who look at us and turn away their faces. Anybody who sees this opacity and the pitiful state of our stadiums that fail to meet CAF and FIFA standards, has little incentive to invest in our domestic league. Instead, they’d rather spend their money on expensive sponsorship deals with European clubs. Can you blame them?

Just imagine NFF's own communications department issuing statement blaming our own players, Troost-Ekong and Dessers, for a crucial 2026 World Cup qualifier draw! Just imagine the rubbish! Okay, some of you will say they later disowned the statement. But of what good is that denouncement when it perfectly illustrates a culture that is quick to single out individuals and lacks professional conduct? It's no wonder our players and fans are left feeling frustrated and unsupported. There's no motivation. No passion for the team.

First of all, the NFF is not supposed to be focusing solely on the senior national team because it allows the very roots of Nigerian football to rot. In a normal world, the NPFL is supposed to be our engine room for talent. But how can talent be produced when the state of our football infrastructure is catastrophically inadequate? Imagine teams playing on pitches that would shame amateur clubs in well-organised leagues. We keep patting ourselves on the back over substandard facilities that not only compromise the quality of play but also serve as a major deterrent for corporate sponsors. Dem swear for us? We keep celebrating mediocrity. Nepotism everywhere. It's like the Nigerian brain is wired for short-term processes instead of prioritizing long term gains through hard work and dedication. Nobody wants to put in the work and it's freaking sad.

Clubs are financially unstable. You don't even pay your freaking players. Yes, we need private investors, but who'll realistically want to invest in this mess?

I remember when we had vibrant school championships at both secondary and tertiary levels. These competitions used to be crucial pathways, identifying and nurturing young players who would later graduate to professional football. The systematic dismantling of these school sports programs has created a talent drought that the NPFL has stubbornly refused to address. Consequently, the league is now left with a shrinking pool of players who are technically deficient, tactically naive, and psychologically unprepared for the rigors of international competition. You need to look for no further evidence than the treacherous results we keep getting with our Super Eagles B squad (CHAN). This is a damning indictment of a system that has allowed its most fundamental structures to crumble.

Why should government be having over 80% ownership of football clubs in Nigeria? How can you be the regulator and the major financier at the same time? That's why the gross inefficiency, nepotism, and abuse of power we are used to in everyday Nigerian politics have manifested in our sports as well. The mindsets of the players, coaches, and even some of the fans, have been deeply shaped by this dysfunctional system.

The media keeps pointing to an "entitlement mentality" among footballers who reportedly boycott training over delayed allowances or bonus disputes. But let me be frank: this mentality is not a moral failing. It's a direct consequence of a broken system. Nigeria lacks the robust unionisation and structured athlete transition programmes that are commonplace in other footballing nations like Morocco or South Africa. In the absence of a formal safety net or institutional guarantee for their future, players are paid in bursts of ad hoc generosity. Obviously they will feel compelled to "get theirs" while the opportunity lasts, as the system provides no assurance for their financial well-being after retirement. Who can blame them? The lack of a professional structure fuels the very mindset it critiques.

Things need to change. Things MUST change. Look at Senegal and South Africa. There was a time when facing these two teams was a guaranteed 3-points. Facing these teams nowadays feels like a death sentence, or a struggle for dear life. The only teams we used to fear in African football were Egypt, Cameroon and on few occasions Ghana. Now we'll be lucky to get a win over Cape Verde. Yes we have Osimhen, yes we have Lookman. Of what use are they when the team as a whole lacks structure and identity?

I no go fit talk this talk finish because Nigeria's problems are overwhelming. We need action. In my humble opinion, these are some game-changing decisions that I believe will be a solution to the decline that is currently plaguing our football. This one na my 6-point agenda for what I believe we need to do to get things right. And patience is key to achieving it. That's the biggest problem we have. Even the fans too. We lack PATIENCE.

Anyway, I'm calling this one the Things Must Change (TMC) Agenda:

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Agenda 1: Scrap the current NFF and restructure it completely from the ground up. Out with the old and in with the new. No ifs, buts or howevers. I propose a new name here: The Nigerian Eagles Football Foundation, or the NEFF, and it MUST be an autonomous body led by qualified technocrats with dynamic progressive football knowledge and philosophies. They must also have mandatory sports-related qualifications. And its leadership MUST be held accountable for competition results, with clear consequences for failure to meet performance benchmarks.

Agenda 2: The domestic league must be unshackled from government control and a new, autonomous NPFL board, with a clear mandate for commercial viability and professionalism, must be established. Of course it will require a clear roadmap for the privatization of clubs, with the government offering clear policy incentives and tax breaks for private investors and corporations to acquire and run clubs professionally. This will not only address the financial instability and salary issues but will also create a more competitive and attractive product for sponsors and fans.

Agenda 3: Nigeria must adopt a dual-track system, like they do in Japan, where school sports are revived as a central pillar of talent development.

Agenda 4: It's high time we developed a consistent, scientifically grounded football philosophy that dictates a clear tactical identity across all our national teams, from the U-17s to the senior side. Some will argue that we already have a philosophy, but its clear from the last decade that it's not properly defined. I'm tired of endless back-passing, selfish football and ball-crossing without defined objectives. Every player who comes through the system should be trained in the same style of play, from attacking principles to defensive organization. Our local coaches must be trained in this philosophy too. It will definitely eliminate the need for constant coaching changes and the tactical confusion that has plagued the team for years.

Agenda 5: The unsustainable reliance on government bailouts must end. Nigeria should expand and formalize models like the Nigeria Football Fund (TNFF). It would be dedicated to investing in infrastructure, club financing, and grassroots development. Government can contribute. Investors can contribute. Even the fans can contribute.

Agenda 6: The NEFF will also implement a mandatory program for all national team players to lecture them on financial literacy, investment training, and career transition counseling, so that players are not only financially literate but also have a clear plan for their lives after their playing careers end.

I know I'm just one unknown fan typing endless words into a void, but whatever I the case, these aren't ideas that are entirely unrealistic or impractical. I know there are people here who have access to the chiefs and higher ups at the helm of affairs. The only thing this agenda I've written will require patience and determination to reap the rewards. We have to desist from this shortcut mentality or "I'm just after the money" mentality. That's our biggest problem.

Well, like they say, he who has ears....
TV/MoviesRe: BBNaija 2025 (Season 10) Live Update Thread by Darkprime(m): 3:47pm On Aug 05, 2025
Dannyxy:
so as a business owner you will take away ability to choose from the viewers and give it to who? Housemates? Because they don’t have their own sentiments? Viewers o, housemates o, random selection, the winner does not necessarily affect an interesting season, interesting personalities, and creativity from organizers in terms of the content is what gives an entertaining season.

You can’t be using sentiments so pick same type of housemates, do same types of games and don’t expect people to get tired, like me for 3 seasons now I watch sparingly and don’t really enjoy it, but it seems I might enjoy this season because of a lot mix up and different set of personalities, which should be.

You people keep blaming the winners just because your particular idea of entertainment or what entertains you does not appeal to the larger audience.

You pick a rich kid, an I just got back, a big bbl Lagos babe, then a poor lapo kid every season, then you expect Nigerians to not appeal to the lapo kid who is their reality?

But when you pick all lapo kids one season, with different personalities, nepo kids one season with different personalities, middle class with different personalities then another season you mix them up, their realities would offer different entertainment.

You guys should stop heaping blames on winners, no winner was dashed the money, they, at some point worked for the win. And sometimes admit that you are getting older, diminishing return even on your most favorite food happens, let the winners rest, every year people keep blaming the winners for winning their seasons, instead of blaming organizers for doing same thing every year, same type of housemates. grin
I'm afraid you're talking off-point and misunderstanding the debate here. The argument is not about the "type" of winner, but the "method" of winning. The issue isn't that a "Lapo kid" or any other contestant wins, but that they win by appealing to a sentiment-based majority, rather than by outplaying their opponents in a strategic game. The reality is that a strong season isn't just about personalities; it's about how those personalities are challenged by the game's rules. If the rules of the game make it easier to win by being popular rather than by being an active player, then the organizers are failing to create a truly competitive and entertaining season.

I won't advise the organizers to remove viewer voting completely, as it will be off-brand for BBN. But we can definitely up the ante in terms of competitiveness and entertainment. I think this will be a good time to revisit a list of suggestions I made for the show after last season. Here:
Darkprime:
I believe there's a couple of things that can be done once this season is over to make the show look fresh, and feel more intense and highly competitive, while maintaining the spirit and vibes of Big Brother as a show, as well as letting us see more emotions and strategies from the housemate.

Now here are my pitches:

- Go on a break for at least one or two or even three years, with the promise of a return. Hardcore fans will feel the show's absence and will be eagerly awaiting the show's resumption. Casual viewers, people who have lost interest, and even haters of the show will take notice of the show's absence. When the show returns, I believe it will be a major topic of the summer for a great portion of the population. The following changes to the game structure can then be made.
- Encourage nominations to be discussed among the housemates throughout the season, not just a couple of weeks. Let the housemates talk in groups and come up with plans on who they want gone, whether for personal reasons or for game reasons. Let it become a part and parcel of the nomination process. Many people don't know the amount of drama that can be realized from this change alone lol.
- Limit the number of housemates nominated every week to just three. I don't know why Biggie loves putting half the house on the block. With fewer people on the block, it will be a bit more clear who the house targets are, and with fewer targets or spots on the chopping block, the housemates will have to think strategically about who to nominate and why. We might be seeing more calculated moves and blindsides, making the game more exciting.
- Following from my second point, there should be a tough competition among the nominated housemates and three other housemates selected by random draw on Wednesday every week, two days after the nomination ceremony. The winner will have the power to either save and replace a housemate with someone else on the block, or leave the nominations intact. Tactically genius housemates can exploit this to their advantage. Voting by the public will start on Wednesday night after the competition and close on Saturday night.
- Introduce brand new twists that can stir up the pot and potentially even lead to conflict in the house in the early weeks. For instance, the recent face to face nominations that Biggie did was cool, but I honestly feel it would have produced a stronger effect in the house if it was done much earlier in week 1 or 2. Housemates are just getting to know each other in those weeks and a twist like that can set the tone for the nature of the relationships inside the house. Production should watch and learn from the British and Australian versions on how to implement creative twists to shake up the house.
- Speaking of twists, they should try as much as possible to avoid twists from previous seasons of BBN.
- Also, and this is just a personal annoyance of mine, I feel like the number of sponsored tasks are too many. Production should either reduce, or if you asked me, completely remove them. I prefer the BBA era where it was all about arena games and wagers.
- With the exception of the wager (which Biggie should be making very difficult to win especially if the house wagers 100%), tasks in the house should always come close to putting the housemates on edge. Test their mental resolve, physicality, endurance, and even their trust in their fellow housemates. There are challenges designed to do just that.
- Less table shaking from Ebuka. I feel like he does too much these days. Or even if he must, it shouldn't blow up anybody's game outrightly. He can make loose references without calling names, or ask interesting or ambiguous questions that can make people second-guess their strategies.
- Let evicted housemates know who nominated them. For the life of me, I don't know why this element of the show was abandoned. It's another good setup for conflict when they want to do their reunion the following year.
- I don't know if this is the case already but I feel like housemates who make it to the final week of the show should be guaranteed some cash as a reward, like a small fraction of the ultimate prize money. It will incentivize them to work harder to make the final five.
To the vocal detractors of Osimhen, I empathize with your sentiments. His departure to Galatasaray is a tad bit frustrating knowing the type of player he his, and I'm one of the people who isn't fully satisfied. but please let's take it easy on the Galatasaray slander. It's unfortunate that they're in a league that isn't as competitive or impressive as the EPL, La Liga, Ligue 1 etc, but they're not a terrible team on their own by any means. We're talking of a team that was as big or arguably bigger than Real Madrid in the early 2000s. And they seem to be cooking something mean this season with their recent strategic player acquisitions, so let's not count them out of the UCL just yet. Who knows? Osimhen might even be able to propel them back to the heights of glory they used to enjoy in the 2000s.

Conversely, to the ardent supporters of Osimhen, I should probably remind you that value in sports is not rigidly defined. The perceived value of a player is always being influenced by a myriad of factors, including but not limited to age, injury propensity, market timing, club wage structures and so on. For this reason, I don't disagree with the idea of Osimhen being more conservative with his wage demands, but I guess he knows what's best for himself at the end of the day. I am certain, without a doubt, that Abrahamovich's Chelsea won't bat an eye twice for Osimhen, before bringing him in. The reluctance of certain clubs to meet the stipulated price tag does not necessarily denote a lack of appreciation for the player's abilities, but rather a calculated assessment of their financial and strategic priorities.

So let's try and be balanced with our takes here please.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 3:28pm On Jul 16, 2025
TheLoneCitizen:
ADL accept Al Ahli offer, Osimhen rejects
ADL accept Chelsea offer, Osimhen rejects
ADL accept Al Hilal offer, Osimhen rejects
Manu acknowledge release clause, approach Osimhen, rejected

But blame ADL cause Osimhen is my countryman
First of all, I will appreciate if you don't put words in my mouth and try to strawman me. I never said Osimhen is blameless. I simply alluded to the fact that Osimhen's rejection or acceptance is inconsequential when you consider that Napoli, under Aurelio De Laurentiis, has been unyielding on the €75 million release clause. While Galatasaray has agreed to meet this figure, Napoli's current demands for payment terms (e.g., €40M upfront, €35M by end of 2026, and a 20% sell-on clause) are what is causing the current stalemate. All these details should have been hashed out much earlier. It's very disingenuous to keep making Galatsaray jump through hoops and presenting new requirements whenever they meet one requirement.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 10:28am On Jul 16, 2025
Given the recent news involving Napoli and Galatsaray, I think it's safe to conclude that the biggest issue here is not necessarily Osimhen's demands, nor the reluctance of English or Spanish teams to bid for him -- even though arguments could be made about both. The biggest issue I can see here is the devilish obstinacy, greed and wickedness of Di Laurentis. In a fair and just world, there should be FFP FIFA regulations to put an end to the kind of nonsense Napoli is doing, but oh well...

Osimhen's drama with Napoli should definitely be a cautionary tale for all upcoming stars and their agents.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 9:22pm On Jul 13, 2025
lovewins:
1. No one is forbidden from having an opinion on the subject. But just like you are afforded the right to speech on Osimhen's potential transfer to Turkey, others are also afforded the right to criticise your submissions. That's literally what's happening. It's also important to clarify that I personally do not have a problem with expressing concerns about this move, but don't do so assuming Osimhen's motive. Things like "he doesn't care about legacy" or "he's just money driven" is bringing into question his intention which none of us knows.

2. Perception of legacy is not the same as legacy. And legacy quite frankly is personal for the most part. We don't live our lives for others but primarily to fulfil what we perceive as God's purpose and what brings us joy and fulfilment. Some women get married, have children yet still pursue a corporate career as that is what brings them fulfilment. Another with the most degree and qualification possible resigns her job to raise her children as that is what she finds fulfilling. Both pursuing legacy though on different paths and neither is superior or inferior to the other.

3. While the quality of opposition helps, it isn't the only only criteria to determine performance at national team level. At the last world cup, Vincent Aboubakar was Cameroon best player, yet he played in Saudi Arabia..

4. Market Economics almost always indicates respect in sports and athletes know that. This is a business and the rules of business applies for the most part. Businesses generally have no problem paying for assets the consider valuable to their operations and human assets have learnt also not to sell themselves short cause these billionaires won't have a problem cutting them off should they not benefit their business any more. Recently Lakers fans were angry with LeBron James on social media because at 40+ he exercised his max $52M.player option for the 2025 season leaving the Lakers with very little to work with this off-season. Fans expected him to take a pay cut so the team can have enough money to sign better players to join the roster, but he didn't cause it's a business. Ronaldo recently signed a new deal with his Saudi club earning significantly more than he previously got. During COVID, Barcelona players refused to take a pay cut even when their club was in a financial mess. For many years Barcelona had tried to get Frenkie de Jong to take a pay cut and he wouldn't budge. Even when he wasn't getting playing time and opportunities came for him to get sold consequent upon him agreeing to a wage decrease he refused. That's business.
Thank you for your nuanced and measured responses. I should probably point out/assure you here that I'm not on a warpath, and that I'm just trying to get a better understanding of what is at stake here.

Just to be clear, I am not trying to imply that Osimhen "doesn't care about legacy" or is "just money-driven." I too, reject such blanket assertions as irrelevant or unproductive. There is a perception though, that moving to a less competitive league would be a consequence of English clubs not rating him, and that it is a decision that has no bearing on his long-term footballing legacy. I'm trying to focus more on the implications of that decision here, not Osimhen's personal motives. It's true that legacy is personal in many walks of life. But for a footballer at the very highest level, it is also inherently public and defined by objective, external achievements. The "corporate career" versus "stay-at-home mother" analogy, while powerful for a personal life, doesn't fully translate to the global stage of competitive sports. In football, a player's legacy is directly tied to a public, quantifiable record of success: trophies won, individual awards, records broken, and performance in elite competitions like the Champions League. It's the difference between a life of personal fulfillment and a career judged by universal benchmarks. Besides, if we accept that legacy is supposed to be personal and subjective, how do we reconcile this with the accusations that certain clubs "don't rate" him? Isn't that also making assumptions about club intentions? And if legacy is truly personal, why does the respect/disrespect from clubs matter at all?

The example of Vincent Aboubakar is a good one, but it may prove the exception rather than the rule. A player's ability to shine in a brief, high-stakes tournament can sometimes transcend their club form, but what about the consistent grind? Playing week in and week out against the best defenders in the world, with teammates who demand the highest level of play, is the kind of daily pressure that sharpens a player's skills and resilience in a way that simply isn't possible in a less demanding league. We can't flippantly brush aside this fact because there are exceptions to the rule.

Also, for a player of Osimhen's caliber, business extends far beyond the immediate salary. A move to a top-tier English or Spanish club, even at a slightly lower initial wage, could open up exponentially larger long-term opportunities in branding, endorsements, and global marketability if he performs as expected. These opportunities, often tied to a player's status as a champion or a top player in a prestigious league, can far outstrip the value of a higher-paying contract at a less visible club. It's a strategic decision between short-term financial security and long-term brand building. And even if it's just "business", then shouldn't clubs also be expected to operate within their financial logic, just as players do? Why is player financial pragmatism acceptable but club financial pragmatism seen as "disrespect"? To follow the logic of the pro-galatasaray camp, why should English clubs be criticized for not wanting to break the bank for Osimhen?

FOLLOW UP QUESTION:
Given that Osimhen is 25 and likely has 6-8 peak years remaining, is there a difference between maximizing earnings early in one's career (like going to Turkey now) versus establishing elite-level credibility first and then pursuing maximum compensation? The business examples you cited (LeBron, Ronaldo) were largely of established legends making pragmatic moves - is the calculus different for someone still building their ultimate legacy?
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Darkprime(m): 7:50pm On Jul 13, 2025
I've been following the Osimhen-Galatasaray-EPL debate both here and on Cybereagles for close to a week now, and so far I have for a few choice words and/or questions for Pro-Galatasaray and "Leave Osimhen alone" gang.

1. Granted, Osimhen is his own man and has his own choices to make. But does this forbid fans and supporters from having an opinion on his career choices, especially if legitimate concerns about the impact on his legacy or the sport (from a national perspective) is involved?

2. I want to believe that Osimhen's legacy is not defined by playing in England or Spain, but don't you think the overwhelming investment of fans and pundits (like Rio Ferdinand and some others I might be forgetting) into his potential move to the aforementioned countries above contradicts that claim? Is it not more likely that perception of legacy in itself has a lot to do with which club you're based in?

3. Somebody here implied that we should be more focused on Osimhen's performance within the SE, and I agree! Given that many of the Super Eagles' opponents feature players who compete at the highest level, isn't it more crucial for a key player like Osimhen to consistently test himself in the most demanding and tactically rigorous leagues to maintain the sharpness and physical resilience needed for international success?
3B. If club football truly doesn't matter for his national team impact, then why does the entire debate about avoiding "disrespect" at certain clubs even exist?

4. Market economics is not always indicative of respect in sport. If Osimhen's primary concern is how he is being valued or treated and respected, then why do you guys think choosing a club based on who pays the most demonstrates that respect?

5. Does a move to a less scrutinised league truly solve the underlying challenge of dealing with pressure and public opinion, or does it simply delay the inevitable confrontation with the scrutiny that every player must face to be considered a true icon of the sport?

Thank you!
TV/MoviesRe: BBNaija 2024: Live Updates Thread by Darkprime(m): 11:53am On Sep 12, 2024
Oshokhai69:
So you sat down and wrote this epistle on top big brother matter. I no know who is more jobless in you wey siddon type this essay or the person wey siddon to read am. Hmmm 🤔
It's not joblessness. It's love for the game as a fan.
And nobody forced you to read by the way. If detailed analysis of any basic topic easily bores you, that your problem, not mine.
TV/MoviesRe: BBNaija 2024: Live Updates Thread by Darkprime(m):
So a lot of people have called this season out to be trash in many ramifications, and honestly speaking, I couldn't agree more.

I believe there's a couple of things that can be done once this season is over to make the show look fresh, and feel more intense and highly competitive, while maintaining the spirit and vibes of Big Brother as a show, as well as letting us see more emotions and strategies from the housemate.

I'm pretty much done with housemates coming to the house to eat, snooze, look pretty and do low effort or low stakes tasks, then come up with forced showmances.
Money and prizes should be a luxury in that house and not something you are likely to get at least twice in a week.

Now here are my pitches:

- Go on a break for at least one or two or even three years, with the promise of a return. Hardcore fans will feel the show's absence and will be eagerly awaiting the show's resumption. Casual viewers, people who have lost interest, and even haters of the show will take notice of the show's absence. When the show returns, I believe it will be a major topic of the summer for a great portion of the population. The following changes to the game structure can then be made.
- Encourage nominations to be discussed among the housemates throughout the season, not just a couple of weeks. Let the housemates talk in groups and come up with plans on who they want gone, whether for personal reasons or for game reasons. Let it become a part and parcel of the nomination process. Many people don't know the amount of drama that can be realized from this change alone lol.
- Limit the number of housemates nominated every week to just three. I don't know why Biggie loves putting half the house on the block. With fewer people on the block, it will be a bit more clear who the house targets are, and with fewer targets or spots on the chopping block, the housemates will have to think strategically about who to nominate and why. We might be seeing more calculated moves and blindsides, making the game more exciting.
- Following from my second point, there should be a tough competition among the nominated housemates and three other housemates selected by random draw on Wednesday every week, two days after the nomination ceremony. The winner will have the power to either save and replace a housemate with someone else on the block, or leave the nominations intact. Tactically genius housemates can exploit this to their advantage. Voting by the public will start on Wednesday night after the competition and close on Saturday night.
- Introduce brand new twists that can stir up the pot and potentially even lead to conflict in the house in the early weeks. For instance, the recent face to face nominations that Biggie did was cool, but I honestly feel it would have produced a stronger effect in the house if it was done much earlier in week 1 or 2. Housemates are just getting to know each other in those weeks and a twist like that can set the tone for the nature of the relationships inside the house. Production should watch and learn from the British and Australian versions on how to implement creative twists to shake up the house.
- Speaking of twists, they should try as much as possible to avoid twists from previous seasons of BBN.
- Also, and this is just a personal annoyance of mine, I feel like the number of sponsored tasks are too many. Production should either reduce, or if you asked me, completely remove them. I prefer the BBA era where it was all about arena games and wagers.
- With the exception of the wager (which Biggie should be making very difficult to win especially if the house wagers 100%), tasks in the house should always come close to putting the housemates on edge. Test their mental resolve, physicality, endurance, and even their trust in their fellow housemates. There are challenges designed to do just that.
- Less table shaking from Ebuka. I feel like he does too much these days. Or even if he must, it shouldn't blow up anybody's game outrightly. He can make loose references without calling names, or ask interesting or ambiguous questions that can make people second-guess their strategies.
- Let evicted housemates know who nominated them. For the life of me, I don't know why this element of the show was abandoned. It's another good setup for conflict when they want to do their reunion the following year.
- I don't know if this is the case already but I feel like housemates who make it to the final week of the show should be guaranteed some cash as a reward, like a small fraction of the ultimate prize money. It will incentivize them to work harder to make the final five.
Christianity EtcRe: Why I Believe Atheists Are Not Good People by Darkprime(m):
jamesid29:
Turns out that the definition of atheism as "lack of belief in god(s)" is almost non existent in the field of philosophy itself.
In almost all the encyclopedia & dictionaries of philosophy and amongst philosophers and in academia the standard definition of atheism is " the belief/view that there is no god(s)" or put in another way "The proposition that God(s) do not exist."

You can check
Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy( one of the most cited encyclopedia of philosophy)

Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy

Internet encyclopedia of philosophy

Encyclopedia Britannica

ismbook.com/ism-list/

The oxford companion to philosophy

oxford dictionary of philosophy

Blackwell dictionary of western philosophy

Cambridge dictionary of philosophy (the only dictionary to include the none-standard definition in a positive light but it itself holds to the standard definition as it's preferred one)

and so on

And it's what noting that the standard definition in this dictionaries/encyclopedias are written by atheist philosophers themselves.

So amongst the vast majorities dictionaries of philosophy and within philosophical discourse itself, the standard definition is used.

That I think begs the question why the vast majority of people on the internet and atheist activists still chose to insist that atheism is simply " the lack of belief in god(s)"? A definition that's almost none existent in academia itself.
Hi there. If you look up "begs the question" in those same philosophical dictionaries, I think you'll find it doesn't mean what you think it means!
Christianity EtcRe: I Am Leaving Christianity :-) by Darkprime(m): 10:49am On Oct 27, 2021
JideJordan:
Hello guys, so I've been lurking around this section for a few weeks now. I've got a lot of questions on my mind and I am not getting satisfactory answers.
Does God exist? I don't know. At this point, I can't keep deceiving myself. I don't think I can call myself a Christian any more because I am starting to doubt a lot of things. If you are a Christian/believer, I have nothing against you, neither I'm I here to "deconvert" you or something.

Anyways, I just wanted to post this here, because I don't have anyone to talk to at the moment. Have a nice evening.
That's how I went about it. Do it until there are enough valid reasons to simply not do it anymore. Never looked back with any regret!
Foreign AffairsRe: American Democracy Being Destroyed By Theocracy by Darkprime(op): 8:46am On May 20, 2021
HbJ2:
As long as the Democrats are in power the US is screwed. Future generations of Americans will still be stuck trying to pay off their national dept. What would you rather have, christians running the country, or the the party that founded the KKK?
They will have the right to take part in democratic elections,.. as well as the present generation, so I'll suggest you try and grasp the idea that sometimes democracy doesn't return the result you'd hoped for.... then teach that simple fact to them.
Foreign AffairsAmerican Democracy Being Destroyed By Theocracy by Darkprime(op): 11:50am On May 19, 2021
The RepubliKLAN party has been taken over by trump and his evangelical base. They are the ones that stormed the capital with their Jesus signs and confederate flags and the gop is now the Qanon party of white domestic terrorists. I have been watching a CNN program about how this all started back in the 1950’s and christianity played an important role in their takeover. Does anyone think we will ever get religion out of politics? Or is democracy dead? What is your opinion of the future of America?

1 2 (of 2 pages)