Stats: 3,325,433 members, 8,421,953 topics. Date: Sunday, 07 June 2026 at 11:27 AM

Gazuzz's Posts

Nairaland ForumGazuzz's ProfileGazuzz's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 (of 146 pages)

Car TalkRe: Are There Cheap Nigerian Used Cars? by Gazuzz(op): 11:17am On Sep 01, 2019
chosen124:
Don't forget to include Toyota highlander 2001 - 2007 seems to be the most common suv now
let's start with the 2001-2003 V6 front wheel drive.

Most Nigerians buy SUVs for the wrong reasons, why do you actually need all 4wheels driving? Do you go off road? Do you have bad roads? The onyibo man buys cars based on his climatic conditions, they get SUVs with 4x4 for wet muddy and icy conditions we just buy any jeep without knowing if it is front or 4wd.

That said the best deals on the Highlander if you don't have very muddy roads are the front wheel drive options, it eliminates all the drag and wasted torque from the engine being delivered to the front and rear differentials via the transmission , they are usually very good sprinters and very easy to maintain, as a standard the 1mz engine comes with a timing belt which should be replaced as a kit every 120,000
Miles also the engine design is prone to sludge and shorter oil changes are recommended. When abuse of the cooling fans and thermostat are present , sludge invades the engine much faster.

The 2004-2007 V6

The 3mz engine engine an improvement on the 1mz , much better power delivery less prone to sludge but mated to a more sensitive transmission (this is where you should be careful) The 5-speed U151E/F transmission aka 13pin gearbox , the same abuse on the Camry 2007-2009 plays out on this same gearbox , ensure you have transmission checked properly before purchase.

Highlanders are generally a very sturdy vehicles .

Also ensure you are not buying it's cousin the look alike Kluger from Japan which comes with a 2mz 2.5liter engine converted from right hand drive to left, that one will always come with air-conditioning issues and electrical issues.

Finally ensure it is not a former hybrid converted to regular Highlander, the conversions are usually not done well at all.

As for the 4cylinder options just check the vehicles vin tag, if vin starts with J the 2az engine was built in Japan and should not have much of an issue with oil burn if not already abused here.

AutosRe: Sold Toks 2009 Toyota camry Hybrid Pics And Youtube Video.sold by Gazuzz(m): 8:25am On Sep 01, 2019
olumzzz:
Oga Gazzuzz, biko what does "B" mean in this gear selection?
seems that's the spoil button cheesy
AutosRe: How The 80 Arrested For Fraud by FBI Will affect car sales by Gazuzz(m): 9:54pm On Aug 31, 2019
dannybrasky:
Less than 5k miles!!!! Minor impact,if price is friendly what are you waiting for? Jump on it baba.
Most importantly,u don't have to wait for 2 months to buy and ship from yankee.
enter WhatsApp make we discuss
AutosRe: SOLD! The Absolute Best Lexus GS350 RWD 2008 Model In Lagos by Gazuzz(m): 9:53pm On Aug 31, 2019
koboko69:
And the Fraudulent mileage?
you were asked if you'd care to wager .
AutosRe: How The 80 Arrested For Fraud by FBI Will affect car sales by Gazuzz(m): 9:31pm On Aug 31, 2019
dannybrasky:
Good mileage on both! Especially the red one! wink
Somone sent this to me on WhatsApp I'm seriously considering it.

Very friendly price and it's already in Lagos

A 2013

AutosRe: How The 80 Arrested For Fraud by FBI Will affect car sales by Gazuzz(m): 9:15pm On Aug 31, 2019
dannybrasky:
good price.
Omo I gock see two of my corolla wey de apapa now cry

https://www.copart.com/lot/26376039/

https://www.copart.com/lot/40758309/

Well last last we go sell am

AutosRe: Vehicle Required Toks RAV4 2005 by Gazuzz(op): 9:08pm On Aug 31, 2019
fuckboys:
dude you're wack, refer the buyer to amd.man. You're dead already on auto sales, maybe amd.man will give money for fuel
fuckboys do you have a rav4 for sale? Type something intelligent
AutosRe: SOLD! The Absolute Best Lexus GS350 RWD 2008 Model In Lagos by Gazuzz(m): 9:06pm On Aug 31, 2019
elshanAutos:
Features
3.5L V6 engine (303hp)
Shiftable automatic
Smart key entry
Push start
Alloy wheels
Leather int
Navigation
Cooled & heated front seats
Aux
Bluetooth audio & handsfree
Rear ac vents
Fog lamps
Turn signal in side mirrors
Auto folding mirrors
F sport badging
Rear spoiler
LED DRL (after-market)
Matte black hints
Comprehensive insurance
Duly Lagos cleared (all docs intact & complete)

Mileage-107k

Price-2.7m

Call/whatsapp: +2348139338897
rear wheel drive? Can an I drift with it? I need a new toy in my life
AutosRe: How The 80 Arrested For Fraud by FBI Will affect car sales by Gazuzz(m): 8:47pm On Aug 31, 2019
dannybrasky:
2009 Corolla won on copart by a Nigerian 2 days ago.
this car go enter market like 2.3 all inclusive
AutosRe: How The 80 Arrested For Fraud by FBI Will affect car sales by Gazuzz(m): 8:13pm On Aug 31, 2019
timifakay:
Some sales I saw this week...

2006 Benz R350- $1,300
2002 Toyota Camry - $450
2008 Lexus RX350 - $3525
2011 Honda Accord - $800

Prices are cheaper than what I used to see...
fantastic observation , I thought I was the only one.
AutosRe: Vehicle Required Toks RAV4 2005 by Gazuzz(op): 7:56pm On Aug 31, 2019
Newbreed2018:
Please contact the king of Autos . Ammmd man and make a request.
Tenk u.
I can't wait 7weeks for a 14year old car. I have been paid and I will do point and kill here in Lagos
Car TalkRe: Are There Cheap Nigerian Used Cars? by Gazuzz(op): 1:25pm On Aug 31, 2019
Inception:
The XR has all wheel drive as an option. AWD is not standard.
modified accordingly
Car TalkRe: Are There Cheap Nigerian Used Cars? by Gazuzz(op): 11:12am On Aug 31, 2019
chosen124:
Let's take a message from our sponsors
cartalk no adverts, fewer views .
Car TalkRe: Why Are Canadian Used Cars Cheaper Than American Used Cars? by Gazuzz(op): 7:51am On Aug 31, 2019
AutoElectNG:
I know that I am late to the party ....but if we are going to avoid Canadian cars, then we might as well avoid American cars from the following States.

See image below.

For those who have images turned off, here is the list:

Connecticut,
Delaware,
Illinois,
Indiana,
Iowa,
Kansas,
Maine,
Maryland,
Massachusetts,
Michigan,
Minnesota,
Missouri,
Nebraska,
New Hampshire,
New Jersey,
New York,
North Dakota,
Ohio,
Pennsylvania,
Rhode Island,
Vermont,
Virginia,
West Virginia,
Wisconsin, and
Washington DC

And that is why absolute generalizations are a bad thing.

Now that that is out of the way.

There is more information to consider.

What kind of rust is it? Surface rust? Then go ahead and get the car. Structural rust? Then you may pause and consider. Can I afford the cost of repairs? Carfax has a nice article that differentiates between the two. I encourage you to read it up here: https://www.carfax.com/blog/inspecting-rusted-cars

I would like anyone interested in this topic to read the question asked by someone about a planned move to a Salt Belt State (Massachusetts) due to worries about the effect of rust on his car. His concern was how much time he has to plan to either repair or replace his car due to rust from the road salt? He mentioned 10 or 15 years? The answers given indicate that the rate of rust in a Salt Belt region and a non-Salt Belt region are not the same. They also indicate which components are likely to be affected by rust. What can be done to reduce or eliminate the effects of rust.

One of the commenters made the following observations that 'unibody construction, galvanization and rotisserie paint jobs' are some of the means employed by vehicle manufacturers to address problems from road salt. He added that if the owner abused the car (that is did not care to do all things necessary to stop damage from road salt) the car could still last 15 to 25 years. My understanding of that statement is that if the car is taken out of the Salt Belt and properly maintained, the car can still last those 15 to 25 years if not more, when taken out of that context.

You may check out the entire discussion here: http://www.city-data.com/forum/boston/1822914-drivers-how-long-can-car-last.html

This other article addresses common myths surrounding vehicular rust https://www.hotcars.com/10-things-people-mistakenly-believe-about-rust-on-cars-10-they-should/

I'll close out with a guide to deal with vehicular rust: https://shop.advanceautoparts.com/r/car-projects/how-to-remove-rust-from-a-car

Me thinks, if are going to avoid Canadian cars, then we might as well avoid, cars from

Connecticut,
Delaware,
Illinois,
Indiana,
Iowa,
Kansas,
Maine,
Maryland,
Massachusetts,
Michigan,
Minnesota,
Missouri,
Nebraska,
New Hampshire,
New Jersey,
New York,
North Dakota,
Ohio,
Pennsylvania,
Rhode Island,
Vermont,
Virginia,
West Virginia,
Wisconsin, and
Washington DC

So enjoy your purchases of Canadian cars, if you are so decided.

Wherever or from whomever you buy a car it is the course of wisdom to conduct an inspection to determine its state before purchase.

cc: AMDMAN
no insults just pure research and information shared. Excellent response very educational and to add to that free...

Question still seeking answers, why are they cheaper?
Car TalkRe: Are There Cheap Nigerian Used Cars? by Gazuzz(op): 7:14am On Aug 31, 2019
Nissan Altima 2005

Loading data .....

Car TalkRe: Are There Cheap Nigerian Used Cars? by Gazuzz(op):
Toyota Yaris 2007-2010

1.3-1.5 liter engine extremely cheap engine costs about 65-80k depending on what you are buying

Only issues to look out for is an abused air-conditioning system.

Car TalkRe: Are There Cheap Nigerian Used Cars? by Gazuzz(op):
Honda CRV 2007 - 2011

Vehicle does not just age gracefully when abused. The fuse box is very sensitive , suspension is what I call ajebo, engine mounts are very sensitive too. Not worthy to be called a CUV, engine transmission and air-conditioning are very sturdy by the way.

Finally if you have been Using 20w50 on this engine, don't bother switching back to 5w20 it will burn oil.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 (of 146 pages)