Food › Re: The Worst Food you Have Ever Eaten by Holyfield1(m): 12:19am On Aug 31, 2015 |
The OP is as foolish as his thread  *Scraps thread* |
Food › Re: The Worst Food you Have Ever Eaten by Holyfield1(m): 12:19am On Aug 31, 2015 |
The OP is as foolish as his thread  *Scraps thread* |
Jokes Etc › When Your Village Witches Are Flogging You Spiritually by Holyfield1(op): 11:22pm On Aug 30, 2015 |
Phones › Re: Why I Will Never Use Tecno Phones Again (good Reason) by Holyfield1(m): 3:23pm On Aug 30, 2015 |
lezz: 1gb inbuilt memory. Slim and sleek in built. Nice device with a good display. Dual core snapdragon processor. nice audio quality with headphones. Exactly,everyone respect me just seeing me with this phone....nd they always like,''Guy u be rich man o"..the problem z just that it does not use memory card nd I can't even open the battery |
Phones › Re: Why I Will Never Use Tecno Phones Again (good Reason) by Holyfield1(m): 2:55pm On Aug 30, 2015 |
I use HTC One S and I'm happy with it |
Celebrities › Re: Cynthia Morgan Displays Side-Boob, See the Sexy Shot! - by Holyfield1(m): 11:27pm On Aug 29, 2015 |
California30: I wouldn't fucck her with someone's dick. Just saying. Where is ur brain?  |
Celebrities › Re: Cynthia Morgan Displays Side-Boob, See the Sexy Shot! - by Holyfield1(m): 11:26pm On Aug 29, 2015 |
mouaue: cool Wickedness and stinginess is when you create a thread and you are FTC on that same thread  |
Education › Re: Olabisi Deji-Folutile: I Was Also A Victim Of Sexual Harassment In UNILAG by Holyfield1(op): 1:18pm On Aug 29, 2015 |
The authorities of UNILAG should eat their humble pie. Denials will not convince the public otherwise. How did Baruwa become a supervisor to students if he is not a staff? How did he gain access to the faculty, department and office at that early hours of the day if he is an outsider? Is he a ghost or a UFO? Every university should develop and adopt a Gender Policy which will include issue of sexual harassment as recommended by AAU. |
Education › Olabisi Deji-Folutile: I Was Also A Victim Of Sexual Harassment In UNILAG by Holyfield1(op): 1:17pm On Aug 29, 2015 |
UNILAG: I was also a victim of sexual harassment - Olabisi Deji-Folutilehttps://punch.cdn.ng/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/Olabisi-Deji-Folutile1.jpgI am a product of the University of Lagos and proudly so too. I feel good when I introduce myself as an ex-Akokite. I naturally align myself with anyone working for the progress of my alma mater and resist anything that could tarnish its image. That was why I joined other great Akokites to resist the unpopular decision of former President Goodluck Jonathan to rename the university. And I’m glad we succeeded.
For me, securing admission to the ‘flagship’ of Nigerian universities was no mean feat. I did not only burn the midnight oil, I tried ‘burning’ some in daylight just to get in. My cousin who was a UNILAG student then had told me that the university was very competitive. He said I needed a minimum of nine points in my Advanced Level result to qualify for admission. God’s grace coupled with my hard work helped. I got 11 points. So I had a smooth cruise to my dream university.
However, whatever fond memories I have of my alma mater now are sometimes marred by the ugly incident of sexual harassment I was forced to endure on campus. Of course it is always good to bury our painful pasts in the ocean of forgetfulness, because that is where they actually belong, I sometimes struggle to do so. I feel a gush of disgust whenever I hear about cases of rape or attempted rape on any campus in the country. So you can imagine how saddened I was when I read reports of a teenager raped while seeking admission to UNILAG.
To think that an innocent teenager could be defiled within the walls of a university community is sickening. And seeing that all that the university could do in this case was to simply disown the lecturer alleged to have perpetrated the heinous act is shocking. Shortly after the university’s denial of any deal with the rape suspect, another lady, now married, accused the same lecturer of attempting to rape her.
It is ridiculous that at a time when universities across the world are thinking of better ways to handle cases of sexual harassment, the best UNILAG could do to protect its own students is to engage in unnecessary defence almost to the point of stupidity.
In my time, there were no official channels of reporting erring lecturers. All I could do was to ask some people to appeal to my lecturer to leave me alone. Unfortunately, some of the people I asked to help me told me to give my lecturer what he wanted. It was that bad.
Though I was not raped, I was seriously harassed if you consider what constitutes sexual harassment in universities in other climes. For example, in Harvard, any unwelcome conduct of a sexual nature that is sufficiently severe, persistent or pervasive, that it interferes with or limits a person’s ability to participate in or benefit from the university’s education or work programme or activities is defined as sexual harassment. My supervisor refused to guide me through writing my final year project because I did not allow him to sleep with me. Imagine that.
UNILAG was setting up a panel to investigate a case that it had technically denied existed. To help the university in facing reality for the sake of others who are probably suffering in silence, I would like the authorities to know that I was a regular student when I was sexually harassed on its campus. My lecturer then was a full-time lecturer. And despite being desperate for help, I couldn’t get any.
There is no point playing the ostrich in this matter. UNILAG cannot afford to bury its head in the sand. Sexual harassment is not peculiar to Nigerian universities. It is a well established phenomenon. It happens even in well-established universities all over the world. A recent survey by the Telegraph in the UK found that one in three female undergraduates has some experience of sexual assault while on campus.
Also, a survey of 2,126 students of Cambridge University by the Women’s campaign last year found that more than three quarters of the students had experienced harassment while 30 per cent said they had been sexually assaulted. At Egerton University in Kenya, at least two female students are said to drop out of school yearly due to the problem of sexual harassment.
The only difference between universities in the developed ones and the ones in Africa is that while they are taking pragmatic steps to solve the problem, African universities are pretending as if it does not exist. But the earlier the students are protected, the better for everyone.
Both Harvard and Cambridge have well documented policies on sexual harassment. They consider it a serious offence. Everybody is well-protected – both the lecturers and the students. Apart from their well- articulated policies, they also provide counselling services for traumatised victims. In spite of these provisions, their students are still complaining and they are asking for better policies. They think what the universities are using as working documents should be reviewed in conformity with the latest dynamics of the problem. To them, the policies are 10 years out-of-date.
Nigerian universities should emulate their counterparts in the developed world by formulating policies and procedures for responding to cases of sexual harassment. They should establish formal channels of communication where students can report cases of harassment.
Students should know where to go for help when they are harassed by randy lecturers. They should have access to names, emails and phone numbers of people that could be contacted when in trouble. Victims should also be assured of being protected and that they will not be victimised.
Nigerian universities should understand that those who engage in acts of sexual harassment are not likely to stop unless they are challenged. If the lecturers know that their jobs would be on the line if caught, they will exercise some caution. But as long as they think the system is there to protect them, they will continue to perpetrate this heinous crime against women. Source: http://www.punchng.com/columnists/frank-talk/unilag-i-was-also-a-victim-of-sexual-harassment/cc: lalasticlala |
Phones › Re: 6 Android Application You Must Have. NAIRALANDER by Holyfield1(m): 4:43pm On Aug 28, 2015 |
Debroslink: The greatest Android Apk in Nigeria is "Simple Android Server".
Hit "Like" if you agree pls what's it's function? |
Politics › Re: Goodluck Jonathan Still 'President" In Bayelsa State... See Photo by Holyfield1(m): 4:37pm On Aug 28, 2015 |
Utchgirl: Nt until Bubu stop being tribalistic in his appointments.
Mama Peace i support u in dis one.
GEJ still remain d best ! hmm |
Politics › Re: NNPC slashes crude buyers from 43 to 16 by Holyfield1(op): 10:59am On Aug 28, 2015 |
konkonbilo: Make I mark register. Class register or nairaland register  |
Education › Re: List Of 57 Illegal Universities In Nigeria Released By NUC by Holyfield1(m): 10:48am On Aug 28, 2015 |
Education › Re: Ninety Percent Of Nigerian Students Are Guilty Of This! by Holyfield1(m): 10:44am On Aug 28, 2015 |
Politics › Re: Full List Of Appointments Made So Far By Buhari...north 18,south 7 by Holyfield1(m): 10:29am On Aug 28, 2015 |
Story |
Celebrities › Re: Empress Njamah Put On Blast For Eating Eba With Super Long, Artificial Nails by Holyfield1(m): 10:24am On Aug 28, 2015 |
Winchy winchy nails |
Education › Re: List Of 57 Illegal Universities In Nigeria Released By NUC by Holyfield1(m): 10:22am On Aug 28, 2015 |
What would be the fate of those who graduated from these schools  |
Family › Re: Man Seeks Divorce Because Wife Ran Mad After Extra-marital Affair by Holyfield1(m): 10:19am On Aug 28, 2015 |
Family › Re: Man Seeks Divorce Because Wife Ran Mad After Extra-marital Affair by Holyfield1(m): 10:18am On Aug 28, 2015 |
eiBADAn: SOPHISTICATED MAGUN A.K.A THUNDERBOLT Did u read the story at all? |
Family › Re: Man Seeks Divorce Because Wife Ran Mad After Extra-marital Affair by Holyfield1(m): 10:17am On Aug 28, 2015 |
k |
Politics › Re: '' If Fashola Wants The Pork, He Must Wrestle With The Pig'' Fola Ojo by Holyfield1(op): 10:07am On Aug 28, 2015 |
I knew Fashola already offended the godfathers of godfathers in Lagos since 2011 but he should just ignore them. They will surely fight dirty even more than the pigs. Fashola should just wear his cap of MA WO BE! They are all fighting him within APC, in PDP and outside party-lines because he didn't allow them turn Lagos into their abattoir. Na stomach ulcer and pig-fighting go kill all of them. |
Politics › '' If Fashola Wants The Pork, He Must Wrestle With The Pig'' Fola Ojo by Holyfield1(op): 10:01am On Aug 28, 2015 |
A swarm of the bigwigs of the All Progressives Congress were chaperoned to Osogbo, the capital of Osun State by their then presidential candidate, Muhammadu Buhari. It was November 27, 2014 during the second term inauguration of Rauf Aregbesola as governor. Standing on the huge stage, party top shots took turns to say something about their candidate and the March 28 presidential election.
I browsed around to see who was and was not present on the VIP stand. I didn’t see Babatunde Fashola, the then Governor of Lagos State; and I began to wonder why. About an hour into the pomp, a helicopter hovered in the skies over the stadium; and someone whispered into my ears that that was the Lagos Governor in the helicopter. Not long afterwards, Fashola showed up on the stand behind me calmly seated and modestly smiling. I was not surprised to see that he looked older than his age. That is what the pressure of government business in Nigeria and the surreptitious schizophrenia of party politics will do to you. Aregbesola the celebrator and celebrity for the day then began acknowledging the guests. When he got to the turn of Fashola, I marked the glowing superlative: “…my brother Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola of Lagos State, the best man for the job, the best man for the job”. The stadium erupted in a roar! For a brief moment, readers, ignore Fashola’s sporadic snafus when he was governor. When he became the governorship candidate for his party, there were other lush and capable hands in Lagos. Whether Fashola was the best or not doesn’t really matter; but the man did an awesome job as Lagos Governor. His BRT transport system, the waste management system, the land bureau, his mega-city move and the street beautification endeavours opened up for him a special place in the hearts of ordinary people. His zeal to get things done was equal to none. But now, the former governor’s testimonies are under severe assaults from furtive corners; and only God and time can reveal to us why.
Vehement voices of opposition and sometimes of deep hate are shooting out of the blues accusing Fashola as a corrupt and profligate character that cannot be trusted with public office. First, it was the N78m website “upgrade” project. I was outraged by the whopping cash involved, but some professionals here in the US later told me that Fashola may have even saved Lagos State a lot of money with all the configurations on the site. I had to drop my befuddlement. Fashola responded to the raging allegations in this manner: “As far as the website contract is concerned, yes, there was a contract. It went through procurement and was approved by the government agency authorised to do so… this has been distorted by the agents of hate and their suspected smoking gun.”
Then, again this week, Lagos State Government published a report listing projects Fashola embarked upon while in office; and they include two borehole projects that reportedly cost about N140m. The reason for the publication of the report by the government is still unknown; but it is rumoured in many circles that it is meant to tarnish the image of the former governor and prevent him from landing a ministerial appointment opportunity with President Buhari. Meanwhile, a civil society group has already filed a report to the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission alleging massive corruption by the governor while in power. But he is innocent until proved guilty.
This is not the first time Fashola will be in a bruising battle with men in his party. During his first term as governor, accusing fingers of financial recklessness were pointed at him. They alleged that he bought two helicopters with special expenditure without the knowledge of the state House of Assembly; he awarded a contract for Christmas decoration in Lagos at the cost of N280m. The talk eventually died its natural death when his predecessor, Bola Tinubu, waded in. But who is after Fashola, and why?
I had always thought that his problems hovered around a particular godfather or godmama; but according to my findings, it’s not about one man or woman attempting to switch off the microphone on Fashola, it’s a whole gamut of people. There are some irked principalities who are fathers to godfathers in Lagos State, some of the names you may have not heard, but their weights are heavier than one assumed godfather’s or godmama’s. The former governor’s problems with the powers-that-be may not necessarily be connected to any concern of corruption or profligacy, but to his personal attitude as a human being when he was governor and even after he left office. “Some people are telling Fashola that he is a political heavyweight and they are telling him that he can do anything he wants without respecting party protocols. They are lying to him; Fashola is not a heavyweight without us here in Lagos”, my source explained.
President Buhari’s love for Fashola is unhidden. The President at this time is in search of men and women who are above board and who can deliver. Buhari believes Fashola is one of the few ones in Nigeria today. Immediately after the President’s victory at the polls, I was told that the former governor began pitching a new tent with Buhari’s men and deliberately disregarding and slighting the team that brought him to fame and power. I heard that when Buhari asked Fashola to join him on the trip to Bavaria, Germany, for the G7 Summit in June, Fashola ignored party protocols and went with the President without the imprimatur of party henchmen who understandably got riled and ruffled up. When the National Assembly was boiling during the struggle for leadership, the former governor was said to have supported Yakubu Dogara as Speaker against his Lagos kin candidate, Femi Gbajabiamila. Fashola has since debunked the claim. Meanwhile, he has vowed not to engage anyone in the mudslinging fiesta now going on in Lagos about him and about some big shots. “When you wrestle with a pig, the pig gets happy and you get dirty,” Fashola sermonised.
Whether Fashola wants to wrestle or not, he’s already dirtied up. The pigs in a duel with him are not ordinary ones; they have dragged him into the gutters with his SAN suit on. As long as Fashola still has his eyes on politics and big-time appointments in Buhari’s administration, and as long as he wants to be his own man separate from hardcore politicians who live and breathe politics in Lagos, he will continue to deal with stubborn pigs. Fashola has eaten the “pork”; anyone who has eaten the “pork” must be ready to wrestle with the pig. If Fashola wants to eat more “pork”, he must be ready for more pig-wrestling. In the kind of business Fashola has found himself, he just can’t escape ferocious and feisty pigs upon which libation deserving of gods must be poured. Lagos pigs are downright wild, my friends!
Whoever the human pigs are, they should just leave Fashola alone. His testaments and achievements are also what the pigs can also claim as theirs. Maybe, he’s been a bit arrogant and standoffish, but very few people in life are able to put their egos in check when power and wealth come to them. In my opinion, Fashola was a good governor and posterity stands on his side. In the next seven days, I was told, Fashola’s war stories with the pigs will no longer be headline news. An APC governor told me; “we will settle it”. Bickering parties have been summoned to end all the drama. If Fashola is also riding a high horse, he needs to get off the ass. These Lagos pigs ain’t playing! |
Politics › Re: NNPC slashes crude buyers from 43 to 16 by Holyfield1(op): 9:52am On Aug 28, 2015 |
Free billion dollars don stop. Wailers keep wailing that nothing is happening, while PMB is forging ahead with his sanitation mission. Sai Buhari! Sai Baba! |
Politics › NNPC slashes crude buyers from 43 to 16 by Holyfield1(op): 9:52am On Aug 28, 2015 |
The Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation on Thursday said it had reduced the number of crude oil off-takers for the proposed 2015/2016 term contract from 43 to 16.
It said the move was part of measures to optimise the marketing of the nation’s crude oil and secure new market potential.
The corporation, in a statement signed by its Group General Manager, Group Public Affairs Division, Mr. Ohi Alegbe, said, “In a novel move to instill transparency and probity in the award of the annual crude oil term contract, the NNPC has mapped out measures to execute the 2015/2016 award of contract to companies for the evacuation of Nigeria’s crude oil equity from the various crude and condensate production arrangements.”
It said, “In the days ahead, we shall place advertisement for the 2015/2016 term contracts and the publication will run for one month in major national and international print media to ensure effective message penetration. Later, the guidelines for the selection of new off-takers would be published and subsequently a special bid evaluation committee would be constituted to conduct due diligence on successful applicants.”
The NNPC also clarified that apart from the earlier listed industry operators whose performance trajectory impressed the management of the corporation to invite them to bid for the proposed Offshore Processing Agreements, “the corporation is extending the invitation for competitive bidding to Forte Oil and Mobil, among others.”
It said, “We are throwing the tender process open for competitive bidding by strong industry players with track records of integrity and financial strength to execute the project.”
The nation sells its oil through annual term contracts awarded by the NNPC to a list of companies, both local and international and the firms are then eligible to buy crude throughout the year.
The list of the 2014-2015 crude oil term contracts, which was released in April last year and expanded in June, showed 28 Nigerian firms among the 43 winners. Source: http://www.punchng.com/news/nnpc-slashes-crude-buyers-from-43-to-16/cc: lalasticlala |
Politics › Re: ''PDP May Soon Die'' Says Doyin Okupe by Holyfield1(op): 9:50am On Aug 28, 2015 |
Politics › Re: ''PDP May Soon Die'' Says Doyin Okupe by Holyfield1(op): 9:44am On Aug 28, 2015 |
Politics › ''PDP May Soon Die'' Says Doyin Okupe by Holyfield1(op): 9:30am On Aug 28, 2015 |
The Senior Special Assistant to former President Goodluck Jonathan on Public Affairs, Dr. Doyin Okupe, says the Peoples Democratic Party may soon die.
The former presidential spokesman said the PDP might go into extinction soon except the party undergoes a complete overhaul.
Okupe said this in a Facebook post on Thursday.
He commended the PDP for the formation of a body headed by Chief Raymond Dokpesi to increase its membership. He, however, stressed that the PDP must embark on a complete overhaul if it must remain relevant in the next four years.
He said, “The time has come for the PDP, if it must remain politically relevant, to embark on a total overhaul and reform itself. It must engage Nigerians in a new coalition for the sole purpose of putting our dear country on the path to true, real and the enduring change that will, once and for, all establish us as a major global player, not pretenders that we presently are.
“The PDP must reform lest it dies, God forbids, a painful and insidious death.”
Okupe said he feared that the PDP might soon die due to its declining acceptability.
He, however, said the All Progressives Congress-led Federal Government had been able to twist the minds of Nigerians such that the PDP appeared as a corrupt party.
He noted that overtime, Nigerians would see that the APC and the PDP are the same.
He said, “The party (PDP) has suffered very serious bashing from the sustained avalanche of assaults from the gigantic propaganda machinery of the now ruling party — the APC.
“The credibility of the party as a veritable political alternative to the APC has been nearly irreparably damaged. Some of the recent disclosures and more that may come up from the impending probes will further damage the national acceptability of the party.
“At the end of the day, the APC may not meet the expectations of Nigerians or may, in fact, fail outright over time but the PDP, as it is presently constituted, will not be an acceptable alternative to the majority of Nigerians now or in the future.”
Okupe, who was one of President Muhammadu Buhari’s biggest critics during the run-up to the last presidential election, said both the APC and the PDP lacked ideologies and proper leaders.
He said while the PDP was created as a coalition to wrest power from the military, the APC was a merger of several interest groups set up to wrest power from the PDP. Source: http://www.punchng.com/politics/pdp-may-soon-die-says-okupe/ |
Politics › Re: Olufemi Olu-kayode Reacts To Abba Kyari's Appointment As Buhari's Chief Of Staff by Holyfield1(m): 8:01pm On Aug 27, 2015 |
Politics › Re: Ejigbo Residents Jubilate Over Road Construction by Holyfield1(m): 8:00pm On Aug 27, 2015 |
4reala: Oga, shey na because of FTC mak u dey type dis kain tin U dey book space abi Nooo he dey book source |
Family › Re: My Husband Maltreats And Subjects Me To Vaginal Test: Wife Tells Judge by Holyfield1(m): 7:54pm On Aug 27, 2015 |