Stats: 3,151,308 members, 7,811,916 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 11:29 PM

Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state - Travel - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state (66507 Views)

BONNY ISLAND, Nigeria. A Beautiful City Many Don't Know Of.[history&pictures] / Nembe, Bonny, Bille Jetties in PH, ; An Embarrassing Eyesore. Pictures. / Bonny Island? What Is It Like? (2) (3) (4)

Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 1:00am On Mar 24, 2011
Somewhere at the edge of the Atlantic Ocean facing the Bight of Bonny sits the island of Bonny. This serene Niger Delta community has several historical and economic symbolisms for the Nigerian nation. It was the melting point of economic activities right from the 16th century. It serves as Christianity’s first port of call in West Africa. It is also home to so many illustrious sons and daughters of Nigeria. This significant constituent of the larger Ijaw ethnic nationality has her local dialect, Ibani spoken across her various communities. With a thriving traditional system and robust cultural heritage it stands out as one of the foremost local communities in Nigeria. Her traditional institution is headed by Edward William-Dappa Pepple who serves as natural ruler and Amanyanabo-in-Council and ably assisted by a Council of Chiefs headed by Reginald Abbey-Hart who is also chief and head of Captain Hart major house. Her political leadership currently rests on the shoulders of Nelson Ben Irimagha who bears the traditional title of Amasenibo.
The community is subdivided into two main segments – the mainland and the hinterland. The mainland is comprised of the Township, Sandfield, Iwoama, Orosikiri, Aganya, Ayambo, Akiama, Workers Camp, Finima and some outlying fishing settlements lying along the Bonny River’s coastline. The hinterland includes the villages that serve as home to indigenes of Bonny kingdom.

1 Like 3 Shares

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 1:04am On Mar 24, 2011
Bonny Island-Finima is surrounded on the west and south by long stretches of beaches. The beautiful beaches attract tourists and fun seeking inhabitants alike on sunny days and festive periods like Christmas and Easter. On 26th and 31st December of every year, thousands of people visit the Finima beaches for beach carnivals.

Bonny beach carnival!

the  biggest Beach carnival in the Niger delta holds @ Bonny Island

[flash=300,200]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DxniaPLPPI8?version=3&amp[/flash]

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 1:08am On Mar 24, 2011
Bonny Nature Park
Bonny Nature Park, being developed by Nigeria LNG is becoming popular for eco-tourism. The park covers the rain forest, mangrove swamps and area of sandy soil with fresh water ponds and tall timbers between the swamp and beach. It harbours some creatures like the pygmy hippo and reptiles including crocodiles, monkeys and some different bird species.

Finima Nature Park is a remarkable achievement on Bonny Island. -. It is also a lovely place to go and visit and get a sense of what the Niger Delta was like before,  everything. If you'd like to visit

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 1:11am On Mar 24, 2011
Bonny Nature Park--The hippopotamus, recognized by IUCN as ‘uncommon’, is also present in this area.

1 Share

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 1:19am On Mar 24, 2011
Bny Nature Park
Infant sea turtle monitored by Park Guards until it left the beach for the Bonny sea.

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 1:30am On Mar 24, 2011
The true island of rivers state

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 1:37am On Mar 24, 2011
KING Edward Asimini William Dappa Pepple ( iii) Perekule 11 --Amanyanabo and NATURAL Ruler of the ANCIENT Grand Bonny Kingdom
Rivers State , Nigeria

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 1:39am On Mar 24, 2011
west bonny-finima

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by mamagee3(f): 1:46am On Mar 24, 2011
ijaw_girl:

south of bonny-finima
tongue tongue tongue tongue tongue
Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 1:55am On Mar 24, 2011
Home to Nigeria's LNG
LNG BONNY - SECOND LARGEST OF ITS KIND IN THE WORLD

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 1:58am On Mar 24, 2011
lng

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 2:03am On Mar 24, 2011
lng

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 2:11am On Mar 24, 2011
lng-golf course

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 2:43am On Mar 24, 2011
also known for its vibrant culture

Today, there are several cultural groups in Bonny, for instance the "Nwaotam" carnival display which is a renowned and colourful display among men and women, young and old of the bonny community. Other cultural groups are also known in the communities which perform at various times in the year usually during the Christmas period.

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 2:51am On Mar 24, 2011
bny

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 3:13am On Mar 26, 2011
bumping
Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by AljUche: 10:06pm On Mar 27, 2011
i need to visit this place

@op

is it in nigeria territory

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by Shinatu: 8:53am On Mar 29, 2011
@ijaw girl

Thanks for sharing, it's indeed a beautiful place.
it's the news of violence coming from the South-South that scares people really.
Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by Nobody: 10:13am On Mar 29, 2011
How do I get there, I'm in Delta state
Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 9:15pm On Mar 29, 2011
about 1hr speed boat cruise from Portharcourt. If you have someone that works in NLNG, he/she could help you book a sit on their coy boat (which is bigger, comfortable, and safer)
Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by jason123: 10:48pm On Mar 29, 2011
It really looks beautiful. Most people don't even know its part of Nigeria's territory. I must visit there!

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by Nobody: 7:59am On Mar 30, 2011
Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 11:06pm On Apr 01, 2011
rare in Naija! There is regular power supply on Bonny Island. In fact, one of the two towns on Bonny Island, Finima, has free power supply from the Nigeria LNG Bonny Plant Complex. (no power outrage)

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 2:12am On Apr 03, 2011
Night life on point

Goodtimes night club

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by okoomoge2(m): 1:58pm On Apr 04, 2011
Goodtime Night Club I left Bonny is 2006. There was no Club back then
Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 4:18pm On Apr 04, 2011
The club opened in 2009

1 Share

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by corrall(f): 9:04am On Apr 05, 2011
i lived in bonny island for almost 15 years with my family, only left last year, looking at this brings back memories, lol nice one babe, I remember when Goodtimes niteclub started, wow, cheesy grin
Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by Nobody: 6:08pm On Apr 05, 2011
I love the South , unfortunately i haven't been there, Bonny now addds to Calabar as my Fav destinations.
Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by ijawgirl: 10:38pm On Apr 11, 2011
nnnnnn

Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by Odunnu: 11:47am On Apr 22, 2011
Even after boasting that I know every hotspot in Rivers and Bayelsa,I knw i'm not telling the truth.
Bonny Island is one hotspot i'v nt visited. I'm so afraid of the sea even as a Niger Deltan and watchn the activities at the bank of the river scares me too.
I once agreed to travel to Bonny with my elder brother some yearz ago but 'liver cut me' when I saw the large mass of water i'l travel on. I cowardly went back hom
Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by THEAMAKA(f): 6:40pm On Apr 22, 2011
Bonny is NICE!!! i never knew such existed in River State. now Obudu in Calabar, Bonny, Nassarawa, Taraba, and Plateau are on my list of places to visit in Nigeria.
Re: Bonny Island, Nigeria-The true island of rivers state by THEAMAKA(f): 4:40pm On Apr 24, 2011
Boboenjoy:

Bonny has been in existence as long as they has been a planet earth!, I guess
the place is organised and developed due to the purpose it serve ! its an oil & gas plant ! lol!
And to the person that said they have constant electricity duh!!! what do you
you expect? the Oyibos there will not tolerate living without electricity.

And in regards to visiting there, am i crazy? why would i want to visit an oil & gas plant sh***
unless i am working there or got business there i aiight gonna touch that place ever!!!

Oh i forgot, Its the closest thing some Nigerians will ever get to being in a "Sane Enviroment" a.k.a Abroad
o.k go ahead,  i guess it every aristo girls dream in rivers to visit lol!!!

As the picture below shows

Campus Babes/Aristo babes @ bonny lol!!!

damn, you're a hater. for one, I'm not in Naija so quit with the stereotypes. whats wrong with wants to see different aspects of Nigeria? who ever questioned if Bonny was in existence? I'm talking about what I'm seeing in the pictures.
and out of all things, those girls are aristo or campus babes? lol. so they can't just be girls hanging out to have a good time? maybe its YOU that has the naija mentality that you claim others are suffering from.
the only thing i will agree with is the oyinbo thing. why is it that Nigerians like to make oyinbo's so comfortable, yet the average Nigerian won't even see 1/10 of that. but do they go out of their way to make us comfortable in their land? SMH. we need to get it together.
a lot of nice areas of Bayelsa too, where only the oyinbo oil workers live.

Nigerian Air Force Plane Crashes In Kaduna State (Photos) / The New International Passport Will Commence On April 29 - Price & How To Apply / FRSC Chased BENZ Rider To Death, Two Others Died At Guru Maraji Road