Stats: 3,327,174 members, 8,429,638 topics. Date: Friday, 19 June 2026 at 08:51 AM

Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries - Business (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralBusinessDangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries (36639 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by seunjungle1(m): 11:37am On Apr 13, 2021
Dangote dey mad! What will he explain or say to the four bags I bought last week at the rate of 3,950 per bag?
God sees you!
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by Tayeni(m): 11:38am On Apr 13, 2021
BluDesk:
I'm a scientist. We are no longer in 2000s

Gas powered turbine aren't as expensive as you would imagine and the volume of productivity it would facilitate isn't compared with its setup cost

That's why Redeem and Convenient University can afford it

Do you know with 5 Billion for example you can have 20 Gas powered turbine that backs industrial productivity.. AND THIS ALONE CAN SUPPORT LARGE VOLUME OF THE ENTIRE CEMENT PRODUCTION CHAINS DAILY AND CONSISTENTLY AND FOR. LONG?

PLEASE ALLOW PEOPLE WITH DEEPER INSIGHTS DO THE TALKING PLEASE.
Lol. Mr Scientist. You have no superior knowledge on this unless you can prove that those figures you pulled out of you @ss is verifiable and true. And only if you can prove that you are an electrical engineer.

If it were cheaper, developed economies would run their industries on in-house power plants.

While being deliberately obtuse, you can also
say tricycles are ccheaper than rails in transporting cement. Can't stop laffing.
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by blueAgent(m): 11:42am On Apr 13, 2021
Xdesign79:
This what happen when govt would not control the price of commodity in the country....everybody does what they like...its so sad.
Do you know what you are suggesting?

Communism.
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by Dharniel600(m): 11:43am On Apr 13, 2021
FOLYKAZE:
Show us the invoice.

DCP said the cost out of factory is ₦2,500. Deal with middlemen and retailers if cement is sold at ₦4,000 in Owerri. It is ₦3,000 in Ondo state
Oga, cement is being sold for 4300 in Delta state ughelli to be precise.
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by BluDesk: 11:43am On Apr 13, 2021
Tayeni:
Lol. Mr Scientist. You have no superior knowledge on this unless you can prove that those figures you pulled out of you @ss is verifiable and true. And only if you can prove that you are an electrical engineer.

If it were cheaper, developed economies would run their industries on in-house power plants.

While being deliberately obtuse, you can also
say tricycles are ccheaper than rails in transporting cement. Can't stop laffing.
Good

Begin by debating the salient points I raised intellectually, one by one. Then you'll be taken seriously.

Till then, enjoy
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by Tayeni(m): 11:45am On Apr 13, 2021
BluDesk:
Oliganomics isn't open business.

There are players that have expressed interest even with money weren't granted access. This point was buttressed by BUA chairman asking Dangote how much he truly needs that he is resisting the government opening up the sector and every sector he operates.

It's in public domain
Why would you "open up" the sector for importation? Nigerians want jobs and at the same time don't want a protected economy from external assault. Pick a fight and stick to it.
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by BluDesk: 11:46am On Apr 13, 2021
Tayeni:
Why would you "open up" the sector for importation? Nigerians want jobs and at the same time don't want a protected economy from external assault. Pick a fight and stick to it.
Trying to form intelligent.

Opening up a market in economics doesn't equate opening up the market for importation. Who ever lent support to importation here

When you don't know enough, keep quiet, be humble, so you can get educated

Even at that. If importation of any produce makes prices fall lower than locally produced commodity, then importation has greater benefits than local productivity.

Domestic productivity is only truly beneficial with high employment, good produce at excellent prices. If these factors are not in place together in any local production chain, it is economically disadvantaged to produce locwlly

Go and study to improve. I'm not your mate
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by Nobody: 11:47am On Apr 13, 2021
BluDesk:
Oliganomics isn't open business.
Dangote is not running an oligopoly...especially as there are two other companies.

There are players that have expressed interest even with money weren't granted access. This point was buttressed by BUA chairman asking Dangote how much he truly needs that he is resisting the government opening up the sector and every sector he operates.
So why is BUA operating freely...and Lafarge too?

Your problem is that you want cememt at a cheap price, not Dangote.
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by Tayeni(m): 11:49am On Apr 13, 2021
BluDesk:
Good

Begin by debating the salient points I raised intellectually, one by one. Then you'll be taken seriously.

Till then, enjoy
Where do I start to debate a barefaced lie? No one will take those lies you typed seriously too. Bye
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by BluDesk: 11:49am On Apr 13, 2021
Neutralobserver:
Dangote is not running an oligopoly...especially as there are two other companies.

Why did Rabin himself make this assertions

Why does Dangote not succeed in any enterprise where he doesn't have monopoly

Why is he struggling in flour, sugar, pasta?
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by BluDesk: 11:50am On Apr 13, 2021
Neutralobserver:

https://www.thecable.ng/dangote-questioning-buharis-authority-bua-fires-back-at-moves-against-sugar-factory
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by ebuclassic18(m): 11:54am On Apr 13, 2021
all I can say is dangote is using us to build refinery
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by BluDesk: 11:54am On Apr 13, 2021
Neutralobserver:

The problem is the sector is under oligarchy and not liberalised, hence market prices is controlled by oligarchs which takes the power from the citizens reducing them to dummies, working slaves of the oligarchs

https://www.thisdaylive.com/index.php/2021/02/09/bua-advocates-liberalisation-of-cement-policy-to-crash-price/

Are you aware that cement prices sky rocketed to 3500 Naira from about 2500 Naira because a complex equipment in Dangote got damaged... This created brief scarcity and triggered the cost to rise...

And that when prices shoots up economically, it hardly wants to go back down even after repairs because Greed is the key factor here not economics of demand and supply

This would have never happened in a liberalised economy because other producers would take advantage of market gaps to continue production without spike in prices
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by tonyson010(m): 11:55am On Apr 13, 2021
thesicilian:
When you consider the overall cost of doing business in Nigeria, including taxes, logistics, raw materials, etc, you'll actually agree with what Dangote is saying.
You believe the bad lie.....

These cost of Transport and logistics are not encountered in other African countries where he sells cement cheaperhuh

Denial up & down. The truth is that he makes loss in other place just to beat the competitors out of market. He then use the profit from Nigeria (being the largest market) to cover his loss.
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by Tayeni(m): 11:55am On Apr 13, 2021
BluDesk:
Trying to form intelligent.

Opening up a market in economics doesn't equate opening up the market for importation. Who ever lent support to importation here

When you don't know enough, keep quiet, be humble, so you can get educated

Even at that. If importation of any produce makes prices fall lower than locally produced commodity, then importation has greater benefits than local productivity.

Domestic productivity is only truly beneficial with high employment, good produce at excellent prices. If these factors are not in place together in any local production chain, it is economically disadvantaged to produce locwlly

Go and study to improve. I'm not your mate
Mr Scientist. Lemme school you. You protect you industries from product dumping from countries that want to wreck your domestic production so they can keep their own people employed even if they produce based on subsidies.

I suggest you go read on how Europeans and Asians keep you dependent on them for everything. You produce nothing, build nothing. But will consume whatever cheap products they flood your market with and still complain when companies shut down and your people get laid off.
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by ogwumgbe: 11:56am On Apr 13, 2021
Kabongo1:
Where can I buy cement for 2500 in Nigeria Please?
Lier
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by Nobody: 11:56am On Apr 13, 2021
BluDesk:
Why did Rabin himself make this assertions
Because Dangote is his competitior, and they are fighting very very hard.

See how Dangote is badmouthing him in the sugar industry.

Big men companies fight each other all the time. (Microsoft vs Ubunutu and Microsoft vs Netscape comes to mind)

Why does Dangote not succeed in any enterprise where he doesn't have monopoly

Why is he struggling in flour, sugar, pasta?
And he is succeding in cement where he does not have a monopoly...you can still buy BUA, LAFARGE and even Elephant cement, or imported cement.

You don't understand what a monopoly is.
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by studentofTruth: 11:57am On Apr 13, 2021
JEWELofHELL:
https://www.vanguardngr.com/2021/04/our-cement-price-is-lower-in-nigeria-than-other-countries-dangote/
A clear attempt at deceiving the masses.

@#380 per $, which is what baba is given exchange rates, #2500 is equivalent to $6.59 NOT $5.10!

You can't use the illegal parallel market to judge when you're covered @#380 per $.
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by BluDesk: 11:57am On Apr 13, 2021
tonyson010:
You believe the bad lie.....

These cost of Transport and logistics are not encountered in other African countries where he sells cement cheaperhuh

Denial up & down. The truth is that he makes loss in other place just to beat the competitors out of market. He then use the profit from Nigeria (being the largest market) to cover his loss.
God bless you. O

I was waiting for them to say transportation isn't added in Zambia, Ethiopia where he sells too.
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by Tayeni(m): 11:58am On Apr 13, 2021
BluDesk:
The problem is the sector is under oligarchy and not liberalised, hence market prices is controlled by oligarchs which takes the power from the citizens reducing them to dummies, working slaves of the oligarchs

https://www.thisdaylive.com/index.php/2021/02/09/bua-advocates-liberalisation-of-cement-policy-to-crash-price/
BUA and Dangote are in the same industry and are at each other's throats. It takes cooperation to establish an oligarchy. Abi has the meaning of oligarchy changed?
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by BluDesk: 11:58am On Apr 13, 2021
Neutralobserver:
Because Dangote is his competitior, and they are fighting very very hard.

See how Dangote is badmouthing him in the sugar industry.

Big men companies fight each other all the time. (Microsoft vs Ubunutu and Microsoft vs Netscape comes to mind)

And he is succeding in cement where he does not have a monopoly...you can still buy BUA, LAFARGE and even Elephant cement, or imported cement.

You don't understand what a monopoly is.
Oliganomics. Nonliberalised markets

I know you have your stance and you are emotionally sticking to it. I've been giving you facts by facts. Please debate my points fact by fact plz
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by BluDesk: 11:59am On Apr 13, 2021
Tayeni:
BUA and Dangote are in the same industry and are at each other's throats. It takes cooperation to establish an oligarchy. Abi has the meaning of oligarchy changed?
I've told you to go and read. Rather than try mud slinging or emotional arguing back and forth. I don't do such. I've given factual analysis throughout my discuss here. Go and read them and debate them one by one point by point. If you want healthy interaction

Good day
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by Nobody: 12:06pm On Apr 13, 2021
BluDesk:
In other words, all the cement companies should sell cememnt at government controlled prices...tried before, usually wrecks the economy long term.

Plus you are quoting one of the oligarchs to make your point.

Are you aware that cement prices sky rocketed to 3500 Naira from about 2500 Naira because a complex equipment in Dangote got damaged... This created brief scarcity and triggered the cost to rise.
And BUA and Lafrarge could not reduce their prices....

You can buy BUA and Lafarge. I daresay their cement prices are cheaper. It does not have to be dangote...

And that when prices shoots up economically, it hardly wants to go back down even after repairs because Greed is the key factor here not economics of demand and supply
Okay, so you think all the money dangote gets from cememt goes into his pocket.....a lot of that cash goes into worker's pockets too as salary. And workers of Dangote too need salary iNCREASES occasionally....also cost of doing business, maintenance of plants, upgrading...

This would have never happened in a liberalised economy because other producers would take advantage of market gaps to continue production without spike in prices
It would have...prices would have been much higher.
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by owobokiri(m): 12:06pm On Apr 13, 2021
GeneralPula:
2,500 factory price isn’t bad tbh..

I knew Dangote wasn’t the problem as people are attaching him to be..

Nnamdi said Dangote is part of Nigeria problem, ask him how, he will be foaming... Is Dangote the reason why south East is a total write off!

One dumbo said he bought cement for 4K in Owerri...How’s that suppose to be Dangotes problem?

Dangote will sell to retailers at Factory price, it’s retailers that will re-set their prices.

So if retailers in south east have added more than profit, then it because the people of south east are billionaires..
Once they throw the south East into the mix, your tribal quotent spikes to neptune levelz..
A very simple topic becomes complex and all of a sudden, you are ready to tolorate all evils and explain away all atrocities...
Part of the reason why your country is nothing but a fantastic shyt hole..
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by BluDesk: 12:07pm On Apr 13, 2021
Neutralobserver:
In other words, all the cement companies should sell cememnt at government controlled prices...tried before, usually wrecks the economy long term.

Plus you are quoting one of the oligarchs to make your point.

And BUA and Lafrarge could not reduce their prices....

You can buy BUA and Lafarge. I daresay their cement prices are cheaper. It does not have to be dangote...

Okay, so you think all the money dangote gets from cememt goes into his pocket.....a lot of that cash goes into worker's pockets too as salary. And workers of Dangote too need salary iNCREASES occasionally....also cost of doing business, maintenance of plants, upgrading...

It would have...prices would have been much higher.
Another emotional reaction

If you listen more patiently in life, you can give fitting answers. You will also. Improve and increase knowledge while at this.

Proverbs 25 vs 11

Rushijg to comment and fight with words is the first sign of choosing a side before properly evaluating facts. Which means, you are not as neutral as you imagine. Mr. Neutralobserver
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by Ochoiho: 12:08pm On Apr 13, 2021
The op justifying this exploitation of the populace with 'higher cost of production" can post these costs per bag to justify such claim. Is Dangote not making profit in the country where this same cement is sold at #1800 per bag? Cost of export as well as local transport is inclusive in the 1800 price. How can the op explain this.
Dangote cement posted a profit after tax of over 300billion For 2019 YOA.
Nobody takes anything from this world. We are all going to die and leave every thing behind.
There is no reason why a bag of Cement should be more than 2k in Nigeria is competition is effective.
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by BluDesk: 12:09pm On Apr 13, 2021
Ochoiho:
The op justifying this exploitation of the populace with 'higher cost of production" can post these costs per bag to justify such claim. Is Dangote not making profit in the country where this same cement is sold at #1800 per bag? Cost of export as well as local transport is inclusive in the 1800 price. How can the op explain this.
Dangote cement posted a profit after tax of over 300billion For 2019 YOA.
Nobody takes anything from this world. We are all going to die and leave every thing behind.
There is no reason why a bag of Cement should be more than 2k in Nigeria is competition is effective.
God bless you o my brother.

If excess profits is made in business at the expense of high product cost, what is a rational mind supposed to do?
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by Nobody: 12:10pm On Apr 13, 2021
BluDesk:
Another emotional reaction

If you listen more patiently in life, you can give fitting answers. You will also. Improve and increase knowledge while at this.

Proverbs 25 vs 11

Rushijg to comment and fight with words is the first sign of choosing a side before properly evaluating facts. Which means, you are not as neutral as you imagine. Mr. Neutralobserver
Okay, Comrade Lenin.
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by BluDesk: 12:11pm On Apr 13, 2021
Neutralobserver:
Okay, Comrade Lenin.
Is cost of electricity. Or transportation in Zambia free?
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by Konafas: 12:12pm On Apr 13, 2021
FOLYKAZE:
Control price price as how? You mean they should subsidies cement like they are doing to petroleum? Dangote and the retailers is running a profit oriented business. If you want cement to sell for ₦500, you can open your own plant and sell it at lose
We're will you get the license to operate
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by TOPCRUISE(m): 12:12pm On Apr 13, 2021
Only Dangote cement price is lower in Nigeria. All other cement is lower. Besides all other countries don't depend on Dangote
Re: Dangote: Our Cement Price Is Lower In Nigeria Than Other Countries by BluDesk: 12:14pm On Apr 13, 2021
TOPCRUISE:
Only Dangote cement price is lower in Nigeria. All other cement is lower. Besides all other countries don't depend on Dangote
That's why the market needs to be liberalised

Do you know if you had 10 Billion Naira today the government won't give you access to produce cement.. Are you aware?
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Reply

Ex-gov Amosun Demolished Our Cement Plant In Ogun Twice — DangoteWhy Exactly Is The Cement Price Going Up This Way?BUA: No Increase In The Price Of Our Cement234

Man Makes N150,000 Daily From Selling 'Fura Da Nono' In KadunaMohammed Indimi & Daughter, Adama Cry At Their Birthday Party In SpainStates Where The Wealthiest 20% Of Nigerians Can Be Found