Stats: 3,153,103 members, 7,818,296 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 12:09 PM

CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines - Business (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines (35159 Views)

E-Naira: Company Sues CBN For Trademark Infringement / Central Bank Issues E-Naira Guidelines, Charges And Transaction Limits / CBN Announces Plan To Launch E-Naira Wallet, Reveals CBDC Guidelines (2) (3) (4)

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Femmyfestus: 12:52pm On Aug 30, 2021
Crypto that cannot be embezzled by them, they ban it. The one that can embezzle, launder and divert easily, they want to create and approve it. Who cursed the nation Nigeria? Masses are suffering but leaders are balling using public funds. The wrath is coming upon this leaders and their generation

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Femmyfestus: 12:52pm On Aug 30, 2021
Ggeg
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Risingblue008(m): 12:52pm On Aug 30, 2021
H
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Lixusheng(m): 12:52pm On Aug 30, 2021
lwisee:

A lot of people will do bro, people with clean money will surely do.
Love ur response
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by chloride6: 12:53pm On Aug 30, 2021
FarahAideed:

One e naira can never be one Naira ...wake up

No dream to wake up from...

The e-naira is just a digital version of the naira simple...

A simple way to think about it is assume you have an account with the CBN. Just the way you hold banknotes issued by the CBN, you hold digital currency issued by the CBN....

Fair pricing mechanism will keep the e-naira equal to the Naira.....

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by PENNYSWAP: 12:54pm On Aug 30, 2021
After trading , convert my Bitcoin to E-naira and then deposit straight to my bank .

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by stasius: 12:54pm On Aug 30, 2021
If it is a Crypto currency am ready to buy.

But can it be exchanged with Bitcoin, Etherum and the rest
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by FarahAideed: 12:54pm On Aug 30, 2021
chloride6:

A simple way to think about it is assume you have an account with the CBN. Just the way you hold banknotes issued by the CBN, you hold digital currency issued by the CBN....

Most of the transfer you do are already just digital numbers ...This E naira is different trust me ...
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Trustedpronet: 12:55pm On Aug 30, 2021
No be Nigeria again! They will add witch hunt clauses that will make citizens go mad.
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Daniel2802(m): 12:55pm On Aug 30, 2021
lwisee:

This implies people doing crypto aren't using clean money. It's sad.

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by PENNYSWAP: 12:55pm On Aug 30, 2021
chloride6:

We are not buying it for value , we are buying it for convert btc to naira Straight to naija bank
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by jaxxy(m): 12:55pm On Aug 30, 2021
FarahAideed:

Na 1 E naira would have a different value and you will need to exchange more Naira to get one and as demand grows the values grow , but it should be an alternative to hedge on the naira outside USD

A CBN that cudnt mange a fiat naira wants to manage E naira? undecided

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by josephubah111(m): 12:55pm On Aug 30, 2021
Worst advise ever nothing in Nigeria increases in value.
kingscare1:
Buy dip when the e-naira commences when both the paper naira - e-naira are not the same value and hold it because it will appreciate in value due to day-by-day online business demands.

In the other way round, if the value of the paper naira and e-naira is the same don't buy because both of them would experience naira-dollar frustration respectively.

My 2 cent.
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by pickatyoubackup: 12:56pm On Aug 30, 2021
Real naira no get value na virtual naira wan come get value.

I no dey do if e come

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by PENNYSWAP: 12:57pm On Aug 30, 2021
stasius:
If it is a Crypto currency am ready to buy.

But can it be exchanged with Bitcoin, Etherum and the rest

That’s my point , once it can be exchanged with other big crypto’s then bye bye to physical naira .. convert your money to usdt, when you want to cash you buy e-naira then withdraw to naija bank ...

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by ShedrachU(m): 12:58pm On Aug 30, 2021
lwisee:

Exactly on blockchain technology, my concern is will 1 e-Naira = 1 Naira?It will make much sense if it has more value than the regular Naira.

It value will be higher than Naira, since it's a cryptocurrency and not traditional currency.
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by joyandfaith: 12:58pm On Aug 30, 2021
FarahAideed:

Na 1 E naira would have a different value and you will need to exchange more Naira to get one and as demand grows the values grow , but it should be an alternative to hedge on the naira outside USD

I fear DMBs will sabotage it. They should not operate e-naira services. New financial institutions should do that

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Seniorwriter(m): 1:00pm On Aug 30, 2021
Weselion:
Sacamanje..... Sulamania Tulamania

This present buhari led infested maladministration is anti people....always planning to milk her citizens.

@SENIORWRITER

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by KingOfAllIgbos: 1:02pm On Aug 30, 2021
FarahAideed:
I actually did a presentation on this to the Nigerian BIAFRAN Mint & Print last year , E naira driven on Block chain tech

We know your origins...don't deny. angry

2 Shares

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by tempest01(m): 1:02pm On Aug 30, 2021
E sure me die say dem go hack this e naira

modified- - I can see they used a technical partner - Bitt Inc
and it leverages blockchain technology. Hopefully they have done enough in terms of security. If it was a CBN projrct itself, I would stamd by my initial post now I can say about 5% hacking chance.

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Ancecoker(m): 1:02pm On Aug 30, 2021
Does E-Naira means End Naira now grin
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Pondabrown: 1:02pm On Aug 30, 2021
lwisee:

The real question is, the people at the top did they acquire their wealth legally too? Why I am skeptical is because this present govt is always looking for a way to collect from poor citizens just to enrich themselves.
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Nobody: 1:03pm On Aug 30, 2021
lwisee:

So why did they ban crypto in the first place?

It’s no more money from thin air as said by the cbn man himself?
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by KaluwisxPRO: 1:03pm On Aug 30, 2021
FarahAideed:

It is a stable coin Mr, stop thinking you lot can pump and dump it, CBN is not dumb. If they can peg stock market daily profit at %10 no matter the market movements, what makes you think this government will release an electronic currency that isn’t a stable coin?

Even Chinese e-yuan is a stable coin, the same people your government copied.

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Niangollan42: 1:04pm On Aug 30, 2021
Dia fada
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by chloride6: 1:04pm On Aug 30, 2021
FarahAideed:

Most of the transfer you do are already just digital numbers ...This E naira is different trust me ...

Nope...it's not...

Let me break it down for you...

There are currently only 2 TRUE forms of Naira...

1. The banknote in your pocket....
2. Current account balances of banks with the CBN (Banks have accounts with the CBN. That's how they transfer funds to one another and settle debts using RTGS).

Your bank account balance is not really the Naira as you don't have a direct link to the CBN. Unlike the Naira in your pocket which is directly issued by the CBN, your mobile app account is between you and your bank.

That's why you can't use your Zenith Bank app to withdraw from First Bank.

Now, the new digital currency is a direct link between you and the CBN....just like your Naira note...no third party involved..

The e-Naira is not a good idea in my opinion...

It will operate just like Blockchain account meaning payments will be final and irrevocable...

I could talk all day but...no time..

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by effort1: 1:05pm On Aug 30, 2021
lwisee:

They banned crypto and then laucnehd a cryrocurrencies. Does that sound reasonable or transparent to you?

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Coldie(m): 1:07pm On Aug 30, 2021
Waste
Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by MAURI: 1:08pm On Aug 30, 2021
FaraAideed and other supporters of the currency,
What backs up the eNaira considering the inconsistencies of the Nigerian monetary regulators, the monoeconomic situation of Nigeria, the political and economic instability of the country?

Thanks for this question, you can use all blockchain tech and fintech tech you like, but there still has to bean underlying value (in this case, the Nigerian Naira). Where the underlying fundamentals remain unstable, the level of volatility will still remain high.

Someone mentioned that this will act as a good hedge against USD, would you be kind to educate us on this?

So long the underlying remains Naira, which in unstable and volatile, I do not see why anyone would want to keep positions in this as against the USD or other stable currencies. Except the CBN intends to create electronic currency without backing, which will lead to higher inflation. Even if the CBN resorts to this, the E-Naira will be majorly used to buy foreign goods (since we are a highly net import country) flooding the market with the E-Naira which will result in drop in value.

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Foreign231(m): 1:08pm On Aug 30, 2021
I’m sure it’s failed even before launching. *Spits.*

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by Nettybrown(m): 1:08pm On Aug 30, 2021
Wicked people! Why not adopt inknation's pink coin? That will have been so good but they wont bcus no be dem get am. Na wa o. sad

Re: CBN To Launch E-Naira Soon, Drafts Guidelines by sherozy(m): 1:09pm On Aug 30, 2021
Femmyfestus:
Crypto that cannot be embezzled by them, they ban it. The one that can embezzle, launder and divert easily, they want to create and approve it. Who cursed the nation Nigeria? Masses are suffering but leaders are balling using public funds. The wrath is coming upon this leaders and their generation

Oga u spoke my mind. After gaining audience dem go crash the site. Thank God the people are now wise.

Billionaire Businesswoman, Bola Shagaya Is 60, Shares Lovely Pictures / "Away From The Storm In Lagos" - Femi Otedola Speaks From Paris / Naira Scarcity: Commercial Sex Workers Count Losses, Decry Low Patronage

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35