Stats: 3,151,254 members, 7,811,704 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 05:41 PM

General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction - Properties (2498) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction (4374062 Views)

Discuss Anything Property And Lets Make Money In The Process / Residential Building Construction Mistakes In Nigeria You Need To Avoid / General Topic Thread - The Roforofo Thread Of Construction Activities (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (2495) (2496) (2497) (2498) (2499) (2500) (2501) ... (3663) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by topsy23: 6:36am On Sep 30, 2021
EgunMogaji2:
Question for the electrical gurus. I have NEPA light that’s adequately rationed in my area. The issue I have is low voltage, I get served around 80 to 110 volts.

Will the attached solve this situation? Any direct experience on this specific device?

Thanks.

It will but confirm the range of voltage before you buy it ooo

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by topsy23: 6:39am On Sep 30, 2021
EgunMogaji2:
Question for the electrical gurus. I have NEPA light that’s adequately rationed in my area. The issue I have is low voltage, I get served around 80 to 110 volts.

Will the attached solve this situation? Any direct experience on this specific device?

Thanks.
Again what is the total load of your building . Is tye AVR a 3-phase or single phase?
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by bolu1986(m): 6:44am On Sep 30, 2021

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by n3xt(m): 7:05am On Sep 30, 2021
Born2conquer:

Won’t it be expensive though?
Badgers14:

How cost effective is this?
That is, in relation to plastering, exterior wall finishing vs just using this sidings/cladding?

Which of the two options is more cost friendly?
rotecch77:

Yes it will replace plastering
But what about the cost

Maybe it’ll cost a little more but at N3,000 / 0.6sqm (excluding studs and installation cost which is considerably reasonable), I think the cost would be cheaper than plastering/screeding/painting or plastering and applying tiles to achieve same result in the long run.

And the real beauty lies with the person that would be fixing it.

The pics below are naija installs. Currently working on one, would share final looks here and on kobocity.

A normal wall plaster would come out nice without screening if the bricklayer is very sound.

I agree completely but it can’t be compared with the benefits of a material that offers more in terms of value.

1. Low maintenance
2. Durability (doesn’t crack or warp)
3. Aesthetically pleasing
4. Waterproof / Fireproof

The issue with new designs like the one you shared above is that Nigeria artisan are not too calm to learn and to fix correctly

Not new though. @dominionng has been using this for years.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by UC92: 7:21am On Sep 30, 2021
n3xt:

Maybe it’ll cost a little more but at N3,000 / 0.6sqm (excluding studs and installation cost which is considerably reasonable), I think the cost would be cheaper than plastering/screeding/painting or plastering and applying tiles to achieve same result in the long run.

The pics below are naija installs. Currently working on one, would share final looks here and on kobocity.

I agree completely but it can’t be compared with the benefits of a material that offers more in terms of value.

1. Low maintenance

What is the material composition of this particular one?
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by bukolo: 7:22am On Sep 30, 2021
Good morning all. Trust we had a pleasant night.
I have been refraining myself from writing this, but I think I have to do this now.

Can we please stop this name calling and allow peace to reign.

I am a silent observer here and I know what i have learnt so far. I hardly comment unless I have to do so.

I think is only we women that do this stuff but I was surprised to see matured men and fathers doing this. How do we talk to our children or settle misunderstanding when they have one.?

Please I am begging you in the name of God,put an end to this.

Do you know you will still meet somehow,somewhere and you may need each others help?

Also referring to the past of unpleasant things people have done to you is not good. I know it's painful and disheartening. Please let's move on and forget the past (as it is written in the Bible).

God will continue to bless the works of our hands and replenish whatever we must have lost in Jesus' name.

Keep up the good work.

I come in and with peace, thank you and have a great day.

bobkezel:

You are a big fool and slowpoke. You said you were going to expose me, is that an exposure?
Being a teacher earning 30k job is that a crime?
Running after npower does that make me a criminal?
I thought you have something serious to expose. You fool just checked my NL posts and made your useless assumptions.
When you were disturbing on the phone for 30k you didn't know I was a poor guy abi....
Because I didn't give you my one month salary that's why you are this upset and ranting like a mad dog?
Micfoolgray de millionaire.......you are a desperate old fool. Just imagine the way you are disgracing your old age. Ordinary 30k wey I no give you that's why you fool millionaire is having diarrhea of the mouth...
I will not descend so low checking ur post on NL cos I no get money so I'm hustling to make it and praying to God as you asked me to....
Shameless he goat...
Na thunder go fire you finally, foolish he goat..

One day we shall know who's truly a millionaire, foolish beggar.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Badgers14: 7:27am On Sep 30, 2021
n3xt:

1. Low maintenance

What is this material made of?

Also any update on longetivity? Lifespan.

How well did they fare in 5 - 10 years ( if you have the data).
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by n3xt(m): 7:36am On Sep 30, 2021
Badgers14:

UC92:

What is the material composition of this particular one?

Material: Fiber Cement.

Longevity: Minimum 30 years according to the manufacturer (Etex)
https://www.etexgroup.com/

Data? Check out how Nigerite products have faired over the years.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Jasobry: 8:09am On Sep 30, 2021
n3xt:

I guess this can replace my proposed use of brick tiles for exterior

1. Low maintenance

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Badgers14: 8:12am On Sep 30, 2021
n3xt:

Material: Fiber Cement.

Longevity: Minimum 30 years according to the manufacturer (Etex)
https://www.etexgroup.com/

Data? Check out how Nigerite products have faired over the years.

Interesting..

But one thing though is having an idea and another thing is execution of that idea..

I fear that many of our very beloved artisan would not have the patience or technical know how to execute this to near perfection.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Badgers14: 8:15am On Sep 30, 2021
n3xt:

1. Low maintenance

Thanks for sharing this,

It is always nice to entertain thought provoking ideas..

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by n3xt(m): 8:29am On Sep 30, 2021
Badgers14:

Interesting..

But one thing though is having an idea and another thing is execution of that idea..

I fear that many of our very beloved artisan would not have the patience or technical know how to execute this to near perfection.

I agree completely. That’s exactly the job I’m paid to do.

I’m currently managing a very complex situation in a build.
Two sets of artisans. One is extremely good. The other is average and the client has commissioned them both.

I told the client one will work at the back whole the other will handle the approach of the building.

On my current job, I’m currently working with the designer of this particular project below on the exterior cladding. So it’s really not a job for everyone.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Rexology: 8:33am On Sep 30, 2021
What
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by hslbroker2(m): 8:52am On Sep 30, 2021
Proposed 5 Bedroom duplex design, call us through our signature for your drawings

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by walexProjects(m): 8:57am On Sep 30, 2021
MEP all the way.....
Contact us for your Approval and Construction Services Drawing Today....

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Badgers14: 8:59am On Sep 30, 2021
n3xt:

I agree completely. That’s exactly the job I’m paid to do.

I’m currently managing a very complex situation in a build.
Two sets of artisans. One is extremely good. The other is average and the client has commissioned them both.

I told the client one will work at the back whole the other will handle the approach of the building.

On my current job, I’m currently working with the designer of this particular project below on the exterior cladding. So it’s really not a job for everyone.

If you would be kind enough to update us when you are done with your current current project using this siding/claddings..

Like a side by side comparison between this and screeding , painting?

All costs included...

This cladding/sidings are a beauty to behold at least looking at the picture you posted...

Methinking if we can get this done to near perfection and a bit cheaper, why not give it a shot?

But do you know if there's a company where one can pay and they supply both the materials and labor for installation?

I know lots of people can source the materials but will have a hard time finding a good installer.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by rotecch77(m): 8:59am On Sep 30, 2021
n3xt:

1. Low maintenance

Yes with that price its not that much
And as you said it’s been in existence for years
If you go to Erric moore tower estate area ( very close to BUILDER Sec ) you will find it on those estate building
Very soon I will need it on this 6 bedroom duplex ( pics attached)

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Person2person(m): 9:13am On Sep 30, 2021
Rexology:
What the POP man designed.
Please which one should i go for between wood kitchen cabinet and block building?

Some of the factors to consider:

Cost: a good quality wooden kitchen cabinet is more expensive than the block type

Flexibility: wooden cabinet is more flexible as the block cabinet is permanent

Asthetics: wooden cabinet is ahead (for me)

Above all... your choice!

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by n3xt(m): 10:02am On Sep 30, 2021
Badgers14:

If you would be kind enough to update us when you are done with your current current project using this siding/claddings..

Like a side by side comparison between this and screeding , painting?

All costs included...

This cladding/sidings are a beauty to behold at least looking at the picture you posted...

Methinking if we can get this done to near perfection and a bit cheaper, why not give it a shot?

But do you know if there's a company where one can pay and they supply both the materials and labor for installation?

I know lots of people can source the materials but will have a hard time finding a good installer.

Sure, I’ll do.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by EgunMogaji2: 10:05am On Sep 30, 2021
hslbroker2:
Proposed 5 Bedroom duplex design, call us through our signature for your drawings

You need to stop this thing. Don’t you know it can be stolen?

Just joking Chief. Please keep on posting, thanks.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by hslbroker2(m): 10:24am On Sep 30, 2021
EgunMogaji2:

You need to stop this thing. Don’t you know it can be stolen?

Just joking Chief. Please keep on posting, thanks.
you are welcome sir

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by longetivity(m): 10:43am On Sep 30, 2021
Badgers14:

bro the word is longevity not longetivity, please stop mentioning my moniker. angry

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Charisdesigns: 10:57am On Sep 30, 2021
n3xt:

1. Low maintenance

Rightly put, please add
5. The best way to emulate wood especially when exposed to harsh weather conditions.

We are using and implementing it on our current build.

Attached is the 3D
Construction started yesterday

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Charisdesigns: 11:01am On Sep 30, 2021
However a normal plaster would come out fine if you get the right people for the job

Attach is a marvelous job done in the estate of our current build.

Meanwhile, who else noticed the sudden love for grey and dove gray color by all and sundry kiss

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by UC92: 11:04am On Sep 30, 2021
hslbroker2:
This will likely pose a problem later on.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by UC92: 11:09am On Sep 30, 2021
Charisdesigns:
However a normal plaster would come out fine if you get the right people for the job

Attach is a marvelous job done in the estate of our current build.

Meanwhile, who else noticed the sudden love for grey and dove gray color by all and sundry kiss
Nice touch.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by n3xt(m): 11:10am On Sep 30, 2021
Charisdesigns:

Rightly put, please add
5. The best way to emulate wood especially when exposed to harsh weather conditions.

We are using and implementing it on our current build.

Attached is the 3D
Construction started yesterday

Nice one bro.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by n3xt(m): 11:19am On Sep 30, 2021
@Charisdesigns

Brise Soleil over the marked area won’t be bad.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by n3xt(m): 11:24am On Sep 30, 2021
Currently doing one on a drab facade.

#BriseSoleil

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by rotecch77(m): 1:24pm On Sep 30, 2021
See Benin long straight roofing wood (about 19ft long)
We are using this for the ongoing project we are handling in Benin

https://www.nairaland.com/6690499/construction-diary-8units-2-3brds/1#106312060

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by obynocute(m): 2:45pm On Sep 30, 2021
Greetings great Elders in the house, please can I use a chain link fence in a portion of a fence area that has high rate of water flow, and this is the second time it's pulling down the fence in that partition.
Secondly can the chain link hold some quantity of sand that is been washed along with the water without affecting the chain link?

Thanks Elders.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by EgunMogaji2: 2:47pm On Sep 30, 2021
rotecch77:
See Benin long straight roofing wood (about 19ft long)
We are using this for the ongoing project we are handling in Benin

https://www.nairaland.com/6690499/construction-diary-8units-2-3brds/1#106312060

I wish manageable quality like this could be found in Ibadan. They’ll at least give me a good start to plane and saw.

Thanks for sharing Sir.

(1) (2) (3) ... (2495) (2496) (2497) (2498) (2499) (2500) (2501) ... (3663) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: fabulous85 and 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 51