Stats: 3,165,243 members, 7,860,551 topics. Date: Friday, 14 June 2024 at 12:28 PM

Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 - Travel (221) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 (953845 Views)

Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 20 / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 17 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (218) (219) (220) (221) (222) (223) (224) ... (920) (Go Down)

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by skull4eva: 1:36pm On Mar 12, 2022
PatrickOkunima:

Bro, please permit me to ask, can't one transfer the funds from GT dom account to an account in Canada?
No you cant except you enter the bank in person withdraw the dollar and now deposit it into ur canadian account even with all the new policies dey might not even do the deposit self
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by skull4eva: 1:37pm On Mar 12, 2022
kennyjoy:

Well you might be right about GTBANK coz I don’t know much about them. But for FirstBank ooo. $VisaGold card is $1k a day limit for ATM and 3$ withdrawal charges, POS & WEB are free and the limit is $6k, while First $VisaDebit card is also $1k with 1.5$ withdrawal charges (POS & WEB) are also free too.

What am trying to buttress out is, if you deposit $10k to any of those account, the charges you needed to withdraw everything outside the country is just 30$ & 15$ respectively which still make sense to me rather than carry cash. Like I said earlier not everybody get that nerve to change and carry that kind of money for traveling.
U didnt get my final point even if you can withdraw 1k dollars per day no atm in canada will pay more than 500 dollars per transaction self. Anyway the person can try 1st bank like you said.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by skull4eva: 1:39pm On Mar 12, 2022
Aissy:
first of all thank you for this, when you travelled with that huge amount, did you still show them your bank statement at the border? Or just showed them the cash? I was also thinking of holding some dollars and I don’t know if I show have the rest in naria in my account, since I have to still buy the dollar for my dollar account in black market which will be crazy expensive
i already paid my fees before i left nigeria and i also had funding letter so i didnt even show or declear any cash just my tuition fee receipt and my funding letter.

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by skull4eva: 1:42pm On Mar 12, 2022
Aissy:
first of all thank you for this, when you travelled with that huge amount, did you still show them your bank statement at the border? Or just showed them the cash? I was also thinking of holding some dollars and I don’t know if I show have the rest in naria in my account, since I have to still buy the dollar for my dollar account in black market which will be crazy expensive
But you can show them your statement of account printed with you. After printing the statement withdraw the money and change to dollars. You can withdraw a day after nobody at the point of entry will request to see cash as far as i know.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by skull4eva: 1:42pm On Mar 12, 2022
[quote author=Aissy post=110966604] thank you for this, if I should open a first bank dollar account for this specific benefit, I am still to source for the dollars right?[/quote
Yes very sure 100%
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by skull4eva: 1:43pm On Mar 12, 2022
Aissy:
Thank you very much, and I could show the money in my naria account or it doesn’t matter?
You can show it in naira account

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by AbionaT(f): 1:49pm On Mar 12, 2022
makano:
Hello Abiona

Your previous refused application has to do with you and not your sponsor though, but that doesnt mean you should relent on your sponsor's part in your re-application.. I will advise you get your GCMS notes to really know the concern of the Visa Officer as regards your refused application...

Peace
@Makano, thank you.
GCM NOTE says;
Document submitted show some funds seem available but there are concerns over the source of funds, and If funds would be sufficient and available for the whole course.
I am not satisfied that the proposed study would be a reasonable expense.
Weighing the factors,I am not satisfied that the applicant will adhere to the terms and condition imposed as a temporary resident.

So, my sponsor has sent 10,000 cad for living expenses and send 7,000 cad for part payment of school fees.
I also have some amount in my salary account.
NOTE: My sponsor is into buying and selling in wholesale and retail.( Blade, shaving Bic, lighter.e.t.c)
What documents can I get from her from her business because she did not register the business.
And any other documents I can use to back my application up.
Thank you so much for all your help @Makano and everyone on this platform.
It will end in praise
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Teemie22: 1:58pm On Mar 12, 2022
Hello house. In pof document section, can I upload sponsor’s bank statement, assets n also my personal statement in a single file only or I should include employment history with it? If there’s an arrangement format for additional documents I’d appreciate.

NB: I’m using the new portal. Thanks
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by kweje: 2:02pm On Mar 12, 2022
matthew080:
Thanks kweje
I mailed you

I have replied you.

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by PatrickOkunima(m): 2:04pm On Mar 12, 2022
skull4eva:

No you cant except you enter the bank in person withdraw the dollar and now deposit it into ur canadian account even with all the new policies dey might not even do the deposit self

Okay. Thanks for your response.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by dbeautyful: 2:08pm On Mar 12, 2022
Hi buchito,

Did you use the NSE or normal route?
buchito1:

https://portal-portail.apps.cic.gc.ca/signin?lang=en
Use this link up here to Sign Up ��
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
https://ircc.canahttps://portal-portail.apps.cic.gc.ca/signin?lang=enda.ca/visit-visiter/en/get-account-ircc-portal/

Then use this second link to register.

I used the New Portal and got my PPR in 1 month and 26days.

I guess the New Portal is the real deal.

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by WiZiggy: 2:14pm On Mar 12, 2022
How about doing Gic, on arrival to Canada, you are given 2k cad. The rest are shared Tru the remaining months of your 1st year
Aissy:
Thank you very much, and I could show the money in my naria account or it doesn’t matter?

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Saidat006: 2:43pm On Mar 12, 2022
I have been following this thread for a while,I want to apply for nova Scotia college and for me to pay the application money I need to have a credit card with my address on it.can somebody please help me out on this.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Toceenay(m): 2:50pm On Mar 12, 2022
lionlee216:

I catch u
grin cheesy Daddy wa
I dey loyal bamí
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by makano: 2:51pm On Mar 12, 2022
Thanks KennyJoy..

Appreciate
kennyjoy:

Oh sorry about that boss,

Get well soon.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by makano: 2:54pm On Mar 12, 2022
Amen..

I am back to do what I know how to do best..

Thanks Kweje .

Appreciate
kweje:

Sorry to hear about your health. Glad you are okay now. Stay strong. It was obvious you were not on the last couple of pages.

God bless you as you assist people on this journey.

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by makano: 2:54pm On Mar 12, 2022
Thanks Themmie ..

Appreciate
Themmiee21:
Perfect healing bro

quote author=makano post=110958852]I have been a little ill...

But I am fine now, thanks for asking

Peace
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Aissy: 2:57pm On Mar 12, 2022
matthew080:
Pls my sister
How much did they charge u then

I really can’t remember at all, it has been awhile. But you can check how much they charge before completing the payment
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by makano: 2:57pm On Mar 12, 2022
Hello Walex

Yes, its very reasonable especially when the child is still in his very tender age..

Just make sure she convinces the Visa Officer well enough..

Peace
walexing2003:
Thank you @makano.

My wife got an offer from Seneca for PSW starting January 2023. [b]We plan that she would go with our son while i remain in Nigeria to increase her home ties [/b]and also continue with my job before i later join. I hope this works.

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Aissy: 3:01pm On Mar 12, 2022
skull4eva:

But you can show them your statement of account printed with you. After printing the statement withdraw the money and change to dollars. You can withdraw a day after nobody at the point of entry will request to see cash as far as i know.
This is seems to be a best option now, thank you so much. I can print out then even do PTA and leave the rest in my account . Have a good day
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by kweje: 3:05pm On Mar 12, 2022
Please can anyone share their input on this?
@makano you can help answer this?

kweje:
Hello House, please

For someone going for a 4year University Bsc program and fees is 18,100 Cad, a year. How much should be shown on POF? I know the rule says 1yr tuition & living expense, but the new portal asks for total duration fees.

So what should be Nigerian bank balance on POF. 4yrs tuition or the IRCC rule of 1year tuition…

Note, 1st semester fees already paid even though the school does not ask for deposit.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Somidotun5(f): 3:23pm On Mar 12, 2022
Okay thank you
makano:
Hello Somidotun

1. There are no approved number of pages for SOP, personally I have seen applicant get their PPR with just a page of SOP and 12 pages of SOP.. The goal is for you to be able to convince the Visa Officer of your genuine intention to study In Canada based on your prior situation..

2. Any one below the age of 18 will get the consent of parent or guardian..

Peace
Peace
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Forwardxxx: 3:35pm On Mar 12, 2022
Yes you can but most people don’t do it cos of the transfer charge. One can explore that option if the charge is not a problem.

Everybody dey find way to save money.

PatrickOkunima:

Bro, please permit me to ask, can't one transfer the funds from GT dom account to an account in Canada?
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by PatrickOkunima(m): 3:47pm On Mar 12, 2022
Forwardxxx:
Yes you can but most people don’t do it cos of the transfer charge. One can explore that option if the charge is not a problem.

Everybody dey find way to save money.

Okay. Thanks.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by WiZiggy: 4:13pm On Mar 12, 2022
Welcome boss, trust you are better in health now? God's protection!
makano:
Amen..

I am back to do what I know how to do best..

Thanks Kweje .

Appreciate
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by kiari: 4:14pm On Mar 12, 2022
Hello everyone, Please who has gotten admission with Humber college? Is there a group on whatsapp or telegram? Thank you.

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Lekiboboe: 4:31pm On Mar 12, 2022
Nkem292:
@lekiboboe
Pls, I’m a new applicant. Pls will I get masters with second class upper. Preferably school that don’t require GMAT. Thanks guru in the house help.
Yes...you you should, that's the minimum requirement, but it varies. Apart from the typical 2.1 requirement, most Canadian Universities will require you to have a strong GPA in your last two years in the University e.g your 400L and 500L.

There are cases whereby some 2.1 dont get admission,and some get it based on their application packaging which makes them competitive e.g Cold mailing a Prof. they share same research interests with (if it's a thesis-based Masters) and securing them before applying for the admission, submitting a well-detailed Academic CV, Strong SOP - Statement of Purpose (also known as Letter of Intent, Letter of Motivation), Personal Statement, Cover Letter etc. You can check the Admission Requirements of a grad program you wanna apply to for details on that.

GRE/GMAT is usually program specific in some Canadian universities, most especially Finance Related program e.g Accounting, Business Administration, Banking (NONSTEM)

Are you a graduate of a Finance related program (NONSTEM) or you are a Science/Engineering graduate (STEM)?

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Marike2: 5:44pm On Mar 12, 2022
Hello everyone!
Haven't been on this thread for years now!��. The hustle is really real!!
So I have been following this thread as per Japa plans and Plan B things as Naija is really "Fine"....�

I sincerely need guidance as a first time applicant for Study Permit. Still reading the various info from diff sources, but I know NL is the best!

1) Pls what are my chances of getting a study permit despite my age (mid-40), educational and work gaps (over 10yrs) ,though running my own biz since then?

2) Is it possible to move with my family at once or BETTER to go alone, style down then apply for them to join me?

I would appreciate responses that can guide me in taking this MAJOR decision!

Thank you ���
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by BECKY6240: 6:14pm On Mar 12, 2022
Please what's the best means to pay application fees for school.
Please help a sister bike ooo
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by walexing2003: 6:19pm On Mar 12, 2022
Thank you

makano:
Hello Walex

Yes, its very reasonable especially when the child is still in his very tender age..

Just make sure she convinces the Visa Officer well enough..

Peace
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Marike2: 6:26pm On Mar 12, 2022
technix:
You don't need to have 10m for 4-6 months. The 4-6 month statement is to allow the VO understand your cash flow.

Let's assume the required amount by IRCC is 12m, you only need to have this 12m by the time you submit your statement of account. It doesn't matter if you had just 6m a month before.

If you sell the asset, please try to get a proof that you sold it (e.g. receipt, transfer of ownership, etc.). Then attach the evidence, and explain in your LOE that the lump sum came from the sale of your asset.

Pls what is the estimated budget for a family of 4? 1 principal applicant for study permit, spouse and 2 kids?

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Princessswank: 6:53pm On Mar 12, 2022
Okay, thank you

BeejayB:

No I didn’t.. I wasn’t going to leave the airport and I didn’t stand up to 24 hours there

(1) (2) (3) ... (218) (219) (220) (221) (222) (223) (224) ... (920)

Studying In Finland (free Tuition) / USA Visit Visa Part 4 / General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 2

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 49