Stats: 3,154,130 members, 7,821,866 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 May 2024 at 08:27 PM

Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) - Travel (447) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) (1183296 Views)

Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) / Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 / Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (444) (445) (446) (447) (448) (449) (450) ... (1007) (Go Down)

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by dupyshoo: 7:37pm On May 21, 2022
The below which I got from this link will provide clarity. https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/1060729/E02724891_-__HC_1118__-_EXPLANATORY_MEMORANDUM__PRINT_.pdf

Appendix Private Life introduces new rules for children, bringing the concession that allows children and young adults to qualify for settlement in 5 years into the rules, and aims to ensure these applicants benefit from simplified immigration rules.
Changes from the provisions in the current rules include:
• A person who arrived in the UK as a child and was subsequently granted
permission to stay based on private life, as either a child who has been resident
for 7 years, or a young adult who meets the half-life test (between the ages of
18 and 25), may be able to qualify for settlement after five years continuous
residence on the private life route. This replaces the requirement for such a
child or young adult to have permission under the private life rules for 10-
years to qualify for settlement;
• Children and young adults will be able to be granted permission for an initial
period of either 30 or 60 months rather than 30 months only at present;
• A child born in the UK who has lived in the UK continuously for 7 years can
qualify for immediate settlement. Such a child may be eligible for citizenship
at 10 years old, so the change will support their journey to citizenship;
• A child born in the UK who has been continuously resident in the UK for less
than 7 years may be added as a dependant to a person on the private life route
in certain circumstances, making it clearer how these children are able to
regularise their immigration status;
• Where a dependent child born in the UK is being granted permission and both
parents have permission in the UK (unless the parent on the private life route
has sole responsibility, or the other parent is a British Citizen/ordinarily
resident or there are compelling and compassionate circumstances), the child
will be granted permission in line with the parent who has shorter leave. This
is a change to the length of leave granted to children born in the UK under Part
8 family provisions but brings consistency with other simplified routes.
• Appendix Private Life is intended to comply with Article 8 of the European
Convention on Human Rights (ECHR) and where a person does not meet
eligibility requirements, we have clarified that they may still be granted on this
route to ensure compliance with Article 8. This will provide transparency for
all users.
• Applicants will need to meet requirements in Appendix Continuous Residence
to qualify for settlement.
• Where a dependent child under 18 is applying, suitable care and
accommodation arrangements must be in place which comply with UK laws

SirWellington:

Its called concession on longer settlement, its meant to come into force in a month or so, you can check it out via google as well. I was even told about it by my wife's midwife before I ran into this material. I stand to be corrected tho, kindly give insights if this is false (which I doubt it is). A deep research if you deem fit, will be necessary.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by SirWellington(m): 7:46pm On May 21, 2022
Gloriouscrown:

hi Sir, i just sent you a pm

I didn't get any, kindly resend, I am at work now so I might not be online until tomorrow, cheers!
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by SirWellington(m): 7:49pm On May 21, 2022
dupyshoo:
The below which I got from this link will provide clarity. https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/1060729/E02724891_-__HC_1118__-_EXPLANATORY_MEMORANDUM__PRINT_.pdf

Appendix Private Life introduces new rules for children, bringing the concession that allows children and young adults to qualify for settlement in 5 years into the rules, and aims to ensure these applicants benefit from simplified immigration rules.
Changes from the provisions in the current rules include:
• A person who arrived in the UK as a child and was subsequently granted
permission to stay based on private life, as either a child who has been resident
for 7 years, or a young adult who meets the half-life test (between the ages of
18 and 25), may be able to qualify for settlement after five years continuous
residence on the private life route. This replaces the requirement for such a
child or young adult to have permission under the private life rules for 10-
years to qualify for settlement;
• Children and young adults will be able to be granted permission for an initial
period of either 30 or 60 months rather than 30 months only at present;
• A child born in the UK who has lived in the UK continuously for 7 years can
qualify for immediate settlement. Such a child may be eligible for citizenship
at 10 years old, so the change will support their journey to citizenship;
• A child born in the UK who has been continuously resident in the UK for less
than 7 years may be added as a dependant to a person on the private life route
in certain circumstances, making it clearer how these children are able to
regularise their immigration status;
• Where a dependent child born in the UK is being granted permission and both
parents have permission in the UK (unless the parent on the private life route
has sole responsibility, or the other parent is a British Citizen/ordinarily
resident or there are compelling and compassionate circumstances), the child
will be granted permission in line with the parent who has shorter leave. This
is a change to the length of leave granted to children born in the UK under Part
8 family provisions but brings consistency with other simplified routes.
• Appendix Private Life is intended to comply with Article 8 of the European
Convention on Human Rights (ECHR) and where a person does not meet
eligibility requirements, we have clarified that they may still be granted on this
route to ensure compliance with Article 8. This will provide transparency for
all users.
• Applicants will need to meet requirements in Appendix Continuous Residence
to qualify for settlement.
• Where a dependent child under 18 is applying, suitable care and
accommodation arrangements must be in place which comply with UK laws

My dear, don't stress yourself jare. It was written in English, those who also form a cardinal part of the economy have spoken, and that's the focus. We thank God for the update, no shaking at all. Cheers!
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by erico2k2(m): 8:09pm On May 21, 2022
justwise:

This immigration change govt introduced is mainly for young adults who were brought here illegally or born here by parents who got no right to live here legally, these young adults have been given the opportunity to legalize their stay because govt can't punish them for a crime committed by their parents

yes this I have come to umderstand.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by milkytins(m): 9:41pm On May 21, 2022
Good evening, all.
Pls, is there anyone here living in Londonderry?
Thanks.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Owoado(m): 10:50am On May 22, 2022
Hello,

Naira is available.
DM if interested

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by nellaluv(f): 12:38pm On May 22, 2022
@Lexusgs430 thanks for the IPTV thingy and your patience I appreciate grin
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Lexusgs430: 12:50pm On May 22, 2022
nellaluv:
@Lexusgs430 thanks for the IPTV thingy and your patience I appreciate.

Now when you turn your TV on, you go think say you dey Nigeria........... grin cheesy
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Bourne007(m): 12:55pm On May 22, 2022
At 4pm with multi channel on cool

Lexusgs430:

Now when you turn your TV on, you go think say you dey Nigeria........... grin cheesy
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Lexusgs430: 1:08pm On May 22, 2022
Bourne007:
At 4pm with multi channel on cool

All go open eyes like okpomiliki......... Some must rise, others must fall . . . ... cheesy
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by BuildingProject: 1:49pm On May 22, 2022
Lexusgs430:

All go open eyes like okpomiliki......... Some must rise, others must fall . . . ... cheesy

And the TV license man go soon dey knock on people's door now when they hear the sound of Africa magic. Lol
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Lexusgs430: 2:01pm On May 22, 2022
BuildingProject:

And the TV license man go soon dey knock on people's door now when they hear the sound of Africa magic. Lol

Speak to them via the video doorbell........ Just tell them, you're not home...... What they can hear is therapeutic melodies, from your radio to calm your pet parrot.......... cheesy grin

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by kode12: 2:04pm On May 22, 2022
Lexusgs430:

Speak to them via the video doorbell........ Just tell them, you're not home...... What they can hear is therapeutic melodies, from your radio to calm your pet parrot.......... cheesy grin

Comrade off your mic. Why you wan dey give mama charlie and em boys stress grin grin grin
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Lexusgs430: 2:13pm On May 22, 2022
kode12:

Comrade off your mic. Why you wan dey give mama charlie and em boys stress grin grin grin

Nah dem go tire ....... They love to write hopeless weightless threatening letters...... grin
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by mizGene(f): 2:47pm On May 22, 2022
Lexusgs430:

All go open eyes like okpomiliki......... Somoe must rise, others must fall . . . ... cheesy

Sorry to digress but what is "okpomiliki" e joo? cheesy

I've been itching to ask since you used it first...

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by mizGene(f): 2:49pm On May 22, 2022
BuildingProject:

Does Africa magic qualify as live broadcast? I thought that was what they looked out for...
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Lexusgs430: 2:56pm On May 22, 2022
Na so uk be ....... grin

Bunch of clowns. ........ grin

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Lexusgs430: 2:57pm On May 22, 2022
mizGene:

Sorry to digress but what is "okpomiliki" e joo? cheesy

I've been itching to ask since you used it first...

Charging points ........ cheesy
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by mizGene(f): 3:45pm On May 22, 2022
Lexusgs430:

Charging points ........ cheesy
I see cheesy the name be like pesin wey de find trouble...
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by opeoyek: 4:07pm On May 22, 2022
Hello everyone
I need a plug for sending stuffs from Nigeria to the UK.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Estroller: 6:53pm On May 22, 2022

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by kode12: 7:17pm On May 22, 2022
Lexusgs430:

Nah dem go tire ....... They love to write hopeless weightless threatening letters...... grin
Lol. No mind them.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Lexusgs430: 8:02pm On May 22, 2022
kode12:

Lol. No mind them.

With the present high cost of living........ TV licence payments, go suffer am ........ grin
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by kode12: 9:18pm On May 22, 2022
Lexusgs430:

With the present high cost of living........ TV licence payments, go suffer am ........ grin

I support oh. Make dem scrap the nonsense jare.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by missjekyll: 1:07am On May 23, 2022
Lexusgs430:

Ever heard of Abido cream ....... I think it's a Ghanaian wonder skin jelly .......... cheesy

Contains clobetasol which is a steroid. Not to slight you , lexus but this cream is bad news.
Steroids cause paper-thin skin, darkening of skin in patches, diabetes, Hypertension, weak bones, decreased immunity, frequent falls, weight gain especially face and abdomen. You may want to stay away from this.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Lexusgs430: 1:19am On May 23, 2022
missjekyll:

Contains clobetasol which is a steroid. Not to slight you , lexus but this cream is bad news.
Steroids cause paper-thin skin, darkening of skin in patches, diabetes, Hypertension, weak bones, decreased immunity, frequent falls, weight gain especially face and abdomen. You may want to stay away from this.

Not for long term use..... The steroids effect, is the cure for short term relief..........

Clobetasol propionate is a medicine that's used on the skin to treat swelling, itching and irritation. It can help with skin problems such as: eczema, including contact dermatitis. psoriasis.......
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by donald197: 1:38am On May 23, 2022
Hi elders, please I need help regarding info on BRP and IHS for newborn baby in UK to parents on student visa.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by NomzyJust(m): 5:09am On May 23, 2022
nellaluv:
@Lexusgs430 thanks for the IPTV thingy and your patience I appreciate grin

@Lexusgs430 Everyone is thanking you for TV. Do me a solid as well na so I can testify.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Lexusgs430: 5:59am On May 23, 2022
NomzyJust:

@Lexusgs430 Everyone is thanking you for TV. Do me a solid as well na so I can testify.

You know what to do .......... grin
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by LagosismyHome(f): 6:58am On May 23, 2022
SirWellington:

My dear, don't stress yourself jare. It was written in English, those who also form a cardinal part of the economy have spoken, and that's the focus. We thank God for the update, no shaking at all. Cheers!

The irony is that later Human rights will say you can't seperate parent and child and end up giving parents and putting parents worse case on a 10 year path

(1) (2) (3) ... (444) (445) (446) (447) (448) (449) (450) ... (1007)

General Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa Through Skilled Migration. / Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 7 / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 42