Stats: 3,331,125 members, 8,448,809 topics. Date: Monday, 20 July 2026 at 08:53 PM

Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board - Sports (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentSportsCould This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board (2729 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board by spartan117(m): 7:45am On May 31, 2022
ume1000:
tell me in the picture below of what good is a queen if u wish to checkmate either kings with just a single piece
It seems you just started playing chess because that's the only thing that will explain your obsession over knights.

The Queen is the undisputed strongest piece followed by the rook, bishops/knights and then pawns.

Let me give you a hypothetical chess scenario to figure out: In a case where black has just a king and a knight left on the board and white has a king and a queen. Who do you think will win this game?

Take another one: in a case where both black and white have a king and a rook left, and they each have one pawn that can be promoted with their next move. As a chess player which piece would you rather promote those pawns to?

Every amateur/intermediate chess player should be able to answer these questions with ease.
Re: Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board by gbadexy(m): 7:50am On May 31, 2022
The queen is the most powerful but the knight is the most unpredictable.
I always go for the knights first because they cause the most damage that can't be easily anticipated.
Re: Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board by Silver247: 9:09am On May 31, 2022
Please I want to learn how to play chess, who go teach me?
Re: Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board by ume1000(op): 9:47am On May 31, 2022
spartan117:
It seems you just started playing chess because that's the only thing that will explain your obsession over knights.

The Queen is the undisputed strongest piece followed by the rook, bishops/knights and then pawns.

Let me give you a hypothetical chess scenario to figure out: In a case where black has just a king and a knight left on the board and white has a king and a queen. Who do you think will win this game?

Take another one: in a case where both black and white have a king and a rook left, and they each have one pawn that can be promoted with their next move. As a chess player which piece would you rather promote those pawns to?

Every amateur/intermediate chess player should be able to answer these questions with ease.
scenario 1 is a queen /knight

While two is definitely a knight (only a chess expert would understand)
Re: Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board by AlfaSeltzer(m): 10:06am On May 31, 2022
ume1000:
the queen can only target 8 piece at a time same as a knight
Yes, but 28 possible target areas. Knight, only 8.
Re: Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board by AlfaSeltzer(m): 10:14am On May 31, 2022
Ume1000, I would like to play you, dash you another knight but you have no queen.

I will play you 100 times, if you win or draw any, I'll give you 100000 naira. If I win all, you give me same.
Re: Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board by spartan117(m): 10:20am On May 31, 2022
ume1000:
scenario 1 is a queen /knight

While two is definitely a knight (only a chess expert would understand)
Lol grin
Re: Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board by ume1000(op): 9:15pm On May 31, 2022
Silver247:
Please I want to learn how to play chess, who go teach me?
download doctor wolf from playstore
Re: Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board by stankelz: 5:05pm On Jun 01, 2022
ume1000:
Depends on what my opponent has

Sometimes the only way to win a game is to have a knight
Lol, you’re still learning the game obviously.

Queen is the most powerful, no cap
Re: Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board by funkyshade(f): 6:05pm On Jun 01, 2022
Definitely the Queen

I won't even exchange a bishop for a knight on a good day. Every chess player knows two bishops on a chessboard is quite effective than having a bishop and a knight.

I don't mind playing you any day u are gamed. Make I start to dey beat people aside my husband. grin
Re: Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board by Code1115: 9:54am On Jun 02, 2022
AlfaSeltzer:
Put it this way. Let's say you have lost a your knights and your queen but managed to get a pawn to the opponent's end of the board. What would you exchange your pawn for? A knight or a queen?
na Queen nah grin grin,Shey knight get yansh wink wink,Abi you wan collect wotowoto
Re: Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board by chinchum(m): 10:38pm On Jun 04, 2022
ume1000:
tell me in the picture below of what good is a queen if u wish to checkmate either kings with just a single piece
in positional analysis of a game, a pawn may be more useful than a queen at a point in time. Your question belies the point. Critical reasoning is one of the advantages of playing chess. I expect you to understand that if you truly play chess.
Re: Could This Be The Most Powerful Piece In A Chess Board by Silver247: 9:13pm On Jun 06, 2022
ume1000:
download doctor wolf from playstore
Okay thanks boss
1 2 Reply

Tanitoluwa, 8yr Nigerian Whose Family Fled Nigeria, Becoming A Chess Star In USKoulibaly Final Piece In Stratospheric Liverpool Squad’ – Dossena ............Learn To Setup Chess Board234

In 1996, Kanu Nwankwo Was The 6th Best PlayerCheck Out Neymar Jr Iphone 6Cristiano Ronaldo Leaves Fans Stunned With Huge Thigh Muscles