Stats: 3,152,079 members, 7,814,743 topics. Date: Wednesday, 01 May 2024 at 06:37 PM

ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? - Education (8) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? (25874 Views)

FG v ASUU: Members who joined the strike Not Entitled To Salaries, Court Rules / Emeka Nwajiuba: Striking ASUU Members Shouldn’t Be Paid – Education Minister / IPPIS: No January Salary For Unregistered ASUU Members (photos) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by AlphaStyles(m): 6:21pm On Jul 30, 2022
SIDE HUSTLE
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Xscape047: 7:06pm On Jul 30, 2022
Anuoluwa12345:
Good afternoon sir. Pls I sent you an email not too long. I got it from someone here on NL, based on a thread I opened where I was hoping to connect with writers in NL etc. So the man gave me your email that I shud message etc.. which I have done, I am only mentioning you now so you can notice it, I await your sincere response, thanks in anticipation, God bless you.

Alright...you can contact me on WhatsApp let's begin...have lot of work for writers both male and female

Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Anuoluwa12345(f): 7:24pm On Jul 30, 2022
You can drop your WhatsApp line sir.
Xscape047:

Alright...you can contact me on WhatsApp let's begin...have lot of work for writers both male and female
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by OmoNla99: 7:25pm On Jul 30, 2022
Eddygourdo:
Students who graduate from Nigeria wonder why their qualifications aren't respected outside Nigeria. How can they respect it when they know the state of your educational facilties and funding levels. How will they when they know your lecturers are technically beggars, who live on piece meal to survive.

Face the government and tell them to be up and doing in human capital development. Create world class institutions like the private are doing at public level. Let the common Nigerian have access to good educational standards and watch how the sky would be exceeded in their limit.

As for survival. Alot of them are taking loans because everyone knows the government is only wasting time. The strike will never be called off till all salaries till date are paid.
Nigeria qualifications are well respected in the western world. I can’t tell for the middle eastern countries though.

Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by samuelpeters(m): 7:29pm On Jul 30, 2022
Eddygourdo:
Students who graduate from Nigeria wonder why their qualifications aren't respected outside Nigeria. How can they respect it when they know the state of your educational facilties and funding levels. How will they when they know your lecturers are technically beggars, who live on piece meal to survive.

Face the government and tell them to be up and doing in human capital development. Create world class institutions like the private are doing at public level. Let the common Nigerian have access to good educational standards and watch how the sky would be exceeded in their limit.

As for survival. Alot of them are taking loans because everyone knows the government is only wasting time. The strike will never be called off till all salaries till date are paid.
Quality Education world over is expensive. If we want our universities to be on par with others, school fees and other fees would have to go up.

Though I understand your point.
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by adicious(m): 7:30pm On Jul 30, 2022
Side hustles have been helping out. After the ASUU strike of 2020, I made up my mind never to depend solely on salaries as a lecturer. I opened a Unisex salon and started operating pos spots. Luckily I became an aggregator with Opay and Bankly.
The situation is really bad but I thank God because it would have been worst than this without the second stream of income, especially someone from Abia State University being owed up to 10 months' salary.

Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by osazsky(m): 7:59pm On Jul 30, 2022
Yampotatocarrot:

So, will ASUU accept if government agrees to pay the allowance and not pay them for the months not worked?

Let me hear your reply and decipher something
I hear u,cry me a river..in USA fg pays salaries when union are on strike since he stopped salaries how is dat our biz..he has to pay.its already in d budget foolish fulani man

Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Xscape047: 8:15pm On Jul 30, 2022
Anuoluwa12345:
You can drop your WhatsApp line sir.

Kindly check your email
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Generaloluseye: 8:23pm On Jul 30, 2022
osazsky:
so u see nothing wrong in fg meeting its 2009 agreement..una ehnn..una need beating..imagine a worker still collection close to 100k since 2009 and inflation is 18% .some of u just want to talk

Re they the only ones affected by inflation. It cut across all sectors. Negotiating with them means negotiating with others too
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Anuoluwa12345(f): 8:34pm On Jul 30, 2022
I have checked it, and it's not there.
Xscape047:

Kindly check your email
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Xscape047: 8:35pm On Jul 30, 2022
Anuoluwa12345:
I have checked it, and it's not there.
Send your WhatsApp number let me add u instead
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Anuoluwa12345(f): 8:49pm On Jul 30, 2022
Xscape047:

Send your WhatsApp number let me add u instead
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Xscape047: 9:06pm On Jul 30, 2022
Anuoluwa12345:

Copied you can clean it up

Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Nauttyprof(m): 9:18pm On Jul 30, 2022
Queensee:

Why should they get paid when they are not working?

The only reason why they have not tried to bend and end the strike is because they know they will still pay at the very end.

At the end of the day, it's the students that will lose. Most people will exceed the age limit of 30, and may not qualify to go and serve because of ASUU strike.

Since they government will still pay, why stop it? When you can pay and do the needful to stop them from going on strike.

You stop their pay thinking that will prevent the strike but we all know it won't
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by riczy(m): 9:36pm On Jul 30, 2022
Queensee:

The only reason why they have not tried to bend and end the strike is because they know they will still pay at the very end.

At the end of the day, it's the students that will lose. Most people will exceed the age limit of 30, and may not qualify to go and serve because of ASUU strike.
ur submission is a hoarse! Its bereft of idea of what d ASUU struggle is all about!

Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by jacobjamie(m): 9:40pm On Jul 30, 2022
sinkhole:
The Federal Colleges of Education are currently on strike and they are still getting their salaries sad
ASUU, NAAT, SSANU and NASU, all went on strike in the Federal Universities, only the salaries of ASUU and NAAT were stopped! Why?
young man ? Why are you saying what u have no clue about ? Seems u don't even know what is going on in your environment ? ASUU , NAAT , SSANU and SANU salaries where all stopped , the whole union .I'm In SSANU so I know what I am talking about
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Anuoluwa12345(f): 10:20pm On Jul 30, 2022
Sure, thanks
Xscape047:

Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by hekola: 10:27pm On Jul 30, 2022
Queensee:

have you forgotten age reduction in nysc?
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Melagros(m): 10:45pm On Jul 30, 2022
obiekunie01:

you mean they stopped their salaries??

GOD THIS DONT ALLOW CALAMITY LIKE APC TO BEFALL THIS COUNTRY EVER AGAIN!
Bible says, he who does not work should not eat. If they want their salaries they should go back to class rooms. Look at how long they kept us at home

And some people still get mind to campaign for the PRO-MAX!
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Dbliz(m): 11:27pm On Jul 30, 2022
Xscape047:

Baba am interested too. Please add me up too. 07041581658
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Engrgibbs: 1:22am On Jul 31, 2022
Realist12:
ASUU should consider the students, are they the only union in the country. In reality all of us knows this lecturers have other gigs dey run asides that they also teach in foreign countries and private universities, I guess that's why they always quick to take their yearly leave all in the name of strike.
The funny thing is we keep letting ASUU get away with this their strike that has become a culture. Its getting boring, We have to put an end to it honestly.
Stop blaming ASUU.. Go and tell FG to honor their agreement with ASUU
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Much2do: 1:41am On Jul 31, 2022
Stop spreading fake news..

No federal university staff is being paid

Don't mind the poster,SSANU and NASU hasn't received salaries for three months now
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Pasima(m): 7:50am On Jul 31, 2022
Sir I am 31 now and I am not interested in risking my life going youth service
Queensee:

Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by whitebeard(m): 1:41pm On Jul 31, 2022
rusher14:

Like where?

If a University cannot sustain itself, what's the point of complaining?

If the lecturers feel they are underpaid, why can't they port to private universities?
undecided u obviously are talking like to just want to rant..it clear u have zero idea how the system works
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by whitebeard(m): 1:44pm On Jul 31, 2022
Realist12:
dumb and backward . ASUU are over stretching the public sympathy they are getting. They know they'd still get their salaries paid . We have to wise up . They keep holding the country to ransome.
ASUU is holding the country backwards and who TF are you to say that...ASUU is holding a whole nigeria ransom...pls I highly suggest that u sit down and review ur statement and make the appropriate correction, cause u should like someone that refuses to think..! Pls don't quote me anymore abeg...I can't stand foolish people. Pls undecided
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by rusher14: 1:47pm On Jul 31, 2022
whitebeard:
undecided u obviously are talking like to just want to rant..it clear u have zero idea how the system works

What system?

Since the lecturers are so brilliant and accomplished, why can't they move to the private universities?

Many private universities abound.

Let them move.
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by whitebeard(m): 3:46pm On Jul 31, 2022
rusher14:

What system?

Since the lecturers are so brilliant and accomplished, why can't they move to the private universities?

Many private universities abound.

Let them move.
avoid me pls
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by sekem: 5:42pm On Aug 25, 2022
Ninisun:
You no know? shocked shocked

If it is, then why is the FG still insisting on No work; no pay policy?

Does it mean that the FG does not know about its own labour laws again or what?
Re: ASUU members, How Do You Cope Without Salary? by Wilson500: 8:58pm On Aug 25, 2022
They should be payed later
They should also suffer like the students
Next time they will think twice before they embark on their annual festival
Rubbish undecided

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (Reply)

Beautiful Pictures Of Faith Academy Goshen(photos) / Struggle To Buy JAMB Form In Maiduguri, Borno State (Photos) / Mmesoma Ejikeme: JAMB Statement On Result Of Anambra Government Enquiry.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58