Stats: 3,151,114 members, 7,811,133 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 01:40 AM

A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) - Pets (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Pets / A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) (70432 Views)

See This Little Tortoise I Saw At Our Backyard / I Caught This In Lagos: Is This A Tortoise Or Turtle? / 344-Year-Old Tortoise 'Alagba' Is Dead! Tortoise In Soun Of Ogbomoso Dies (2) (3) (4)

Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Mariangeles(f): 9:39pm On Jul 30, 2022
How did the parrot commit suicide?

As for monkeys, I don't like them.
They're too troublesome.

Pidginwhisper:
Yea they’re very intelligent. I remember when i got it,It wouldn’t show its head out of it’s shell till am gone and would not let me watch it eat till am gone till it became very comfortable around me. I noticed it’s always hyperactive whenever it rains and plays around.

Well I’ve had parrots and a Monkey, one of the parrots killed the other then committed suicide few months later due to loneliness. The money got killed by electrocution after it climbed an high tension pole after robbing a kid off her biscuit. I love animals, especially exotic ones, i find them intriguing.
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by ALLNIGERIANSMAD(m): 9:46pm On Jul 30, 2022
Oblongata:
Must you sell it? Do humanity a favor and donate it to the Zoo close to you…
nigerian zoo? Haba, you must be wicked
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Creamypie(m): 9:50pm On Jul 30, 2022
Danielnino00:
I'm not sure if this is the right section to post this.. Mods,kindly help me move it to the right one.

So, I woke up this morning to find this creature in one of the buckets in the bathroom. My little nephew told me that he found it at our backyard this morning.
We don't know how it got there. Our backyard isn't bushy,neither is our area. Although there's some swampy land behind our compound,and it's possible that the heavy rain that's been falling for the past few weeks could have influenced it's migration to our compound.

The problem now is, we are confused on what to do with it.. My mom is talking about keeping it and raising it,but I don't think that's a good idea. A tortoise isn't an ideal pet in my opinion. We don't even know how to take care of it...
I suggested we sell it to a mini zoo that's located not too far from our area, but I'm not sure they would be willing to buy it.

I'm quite confused on what to do... Your advices would be well appreciated. Thank you
I have that exact breed, since 2005 July.... 17 yrs now. It was given to us as gift. Its my best pal.it eats directly from my palm
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by arantess: 9:50pm On Jul 30, 2022
Danielnino00:
I'm not sure if this is the right section to post this.. Mods,kindly help me move it to the right one.

So, I woke up this morning to find this creature in one of the buckets in the bathroom. My little nephew told me that he found it at our backyard this morning.
We don't know how it got there. Our backyard isn't bushy,neither is our area. Although there's some swampy land behind our compound,and it's possible that the heavy rain that's been falling for the past few weeks could have influenced it's migration to our compound.

The problem now is, we are confused on what to do with it.. My mom is talking about keeping it and raising it,but I don't think that's a good idea. A tortoise isn't an ideal pet in my opinion. We don't even know how to take care of it...
I suggested we sell it to a mini zoo that's located not too far from our area, but I'm not sure they would be willing to buy it.

I'm quite confused on what to do... Your advices would be well appreciated. Thank you
While growing up, I knew people who had tortoise as pets

They eat fruits, veggies, plants...
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Pidginwhisper: 10:00pm On Jul 30, 2022
Mariangeles:
How did the parrot commit suicide?

As for monkeys, I don't like them.
They're too troublesome.

By starving itself to death or turning upside down with it claws holding the cage roof or stand and dies that way. If you own a parrots just make sure you give it your attention and treats it like a family. Spend time with it. If you can’t do that don’t buy it. Depression dey kill animals too.

Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Munzy14(m): 10:13pm On Jul 30, 2022
Mariangeles:

"Tortoise pepper soup on my mind" n'elu nwa mbe na a hahu ka nwa-ishi o kwa ya? cheesy
Mbe nwere ike wuru dwarf ruru la 5years o grin grin

My friend clean his fish pond and caught one tortoise..I told him to freeze it and send to me..A ma hu m ihe ji ya..The taste is heavenly.
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Fortune118005(m): 10:24pm On Jul 30, 2022
Danielnino00:

What's the name of the mini zoo and the state/LG its located?
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Josbreed: 10:31pm On Jul 30, 2022
Why would you call it mysterious when you live in the tropics? When you have clearly explained how it got to your vicinity? Like tortoises are strange in Nigeria?
Come on, wise up and flush that idea of mystery from your mind.
Tortoises are not like dogs or pigs or goats that if don't feed dem for days dey break down and die. It can stay for weeks without eating and still be very fine. Just feed it some leaves or waste succulent vegetables. Shikenan!
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by armyofone(m): 10:43pm On Jul 30, 2022
Danielnino00:

I only held it once to take the pictures...

Perhaps you are suggesting that the creature might be carrying some sickness or its appearance is superstitious

Mysterious - no
Carrying germs - yes possibly.
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by armyofone(m): 10:45pm On Jul 30, 2022
Munzy14:

My friend clean his fish pond and caught one tortoise..I told him to freeze it and send to me..A ma hu m ihe ji ya..The taste is heavenly.

Ewo! shocked

Anu mbeku - mba nu.
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Munzy14(m): 10:53pm On Jul 30, 2022
armyofone:

Ewo! shocked

Anu mbeku - mba nu.
You are missing a great protein taste.. cheesy
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by delpee(f): 10:54pm On Jul 30, 2022
The best option 8s to donate it to a zoo. You can still watch it grow while giving others the opportunity of seeing a tortoise.
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by micflo28(m): 10:56pm On Jul 30, 2022
Give me let me take it to my shrine and use it to prepare odeshi for my yahoo client
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by lekkie073(m): 11:08pm On Jul 30, 2022
Danielnino00:

that's and African side neck turtle.
I also came across one in 2015 and it has been with me since then.
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by SamOchuko: 11:32pm On Jul 30, 2022
Danielnino00:

You didn’t buy it so why must you sell it? Give it to the zoo for free but return it to the wild if you think the guys at the zoo can’t care for it properly.
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by armyofone(m): 11:35pm On Jul 30, 2022
Munzy14:

You are missing a great protein taste.. cheesy

Mbeku is a cutie and should not be eaten now grin
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Munzy14(m): 11:41pm On Jul 30, 2022
armyofone:

Mbeku is a cutie and should not be eaten now grin
Peace is not an option grin

Operation convert all mbeku to pepper soup cheesy
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by chigoziri2403(m): 11:55pm On Jul 30, 2022
shotuns:
It can be domesticated. I bought three for my son, he nortured them from when they were very small, now over a year and getting bigger. They are really cute and innocent.

even lion and snakes can be domesticated

The natural habitat of the tortoise is in the wild, not in a three bedroom flat
How will you feel if you are put in the acquarium
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by armyofone(m): 12:52am On Jul 31, 2022
Munzy14:

Peace is not an option grin

Operation convert all mbeku to pepper soup cheesy

Lmao grin grin
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by eenai(m): 2:10am On Jul 31, 2022
That's a baby tortoise. It is best to release back to it natural habitat. If you try to domesticate it, it will not fare well. After many years you won't see any change in size and it may eventually die.
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Nelblac1912: 4:08am On Jul 31, 2022
David Francis

Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Belteshazzar1: 4:50am On Jul 31, 2022
If na oyibo people now, Sofia for don get new pet..
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Desusi: 5:55am On Jul 31, 2022
Tortoise? Despite all the stories you have been told about it? A mysterious animal? Must you keep it? Do you know that a lot could be attributed to it.it could be enemies at work,be. Careful.
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Nyanabo(m): 6:37am On Jul 31, 2022
Op, this your tiles e don tey oh ........ We had exactly this copy at our family home. And I was very small then. Like 6-7yrs old.
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Prudoh(m): 7:18am On Jul 31, 2022
MufasaLion:

It can be domesticated.
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Prudoh(m): 7:19am On Jul 31, 2022
Sell it
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Kokaine(m): 1:29pm On Jul 31, 2022
Pidginwhisper:
Yea they’re very intelligent. I remember when i got it,It wouldn’t show its head out of it’s shell till am gone and would not let me watch it eat till am gone till it became very comfortable around me. I noticed it’s always hyperactive whenever it rains and plays around.

Well I’ve had parrots and a Monkey, one of the parrots killed the other then committed suicide few months later due to loneliness. The money got killed by electrocution after it climbed an high tension pole after robbing a kid off her biscuit. I love animals, especially exotic ones, i find them intriguing.
wow. Poor parrot
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Mariangeles(f): 2:33pm On Jul 31, 2022
Pidginwhisper:
By starving itself to death or turning upside down with it claws holding the cage roof or stand and dies that way. If you own a parrots just make sure you give it your attention and treats it like a family. Spend time with it. If you can’t do that don’t buy it. Depression dey kill animals too.

How sad. sad
Who knew parrots are that sensitive.
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Mariangeles(f): 2:35pm On Jul 31, 2022
Munzy14:

Is it a big one? I rizukwala. cheesy
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Munzy14(m): 3:14pm On Jul 31, 2022
Mariangeles:

Is it a big one? I rizukwala. cheesy
Just medium sized...He is doing shakara for me..Maybe he has checked how he go enter park to do waybill, ya wuru Mbe grin grin

On a second thought tortoise you see like this na wicked animal o..Highly carnivorous..Prey on fish...In fact it can pass as it's only meal.
Re: A Mysterious Tortoise Appeared In Our Backyard Today. Advise Needed! (pictures) by Mariangeles(f): 3:19pm On Jul 31, 2022
Munzy14:

Just medium sized...He is doing shakara for me..Maybe he has checked how he go enter park to do waybill, ya wuru Mbe grin grin

On a second thought tortoise you see like this na wicked animal o..Highly carnivorous..Prey on fish...In fact it can pass as it's only meal.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

For real? what a slow poison.

Joachim Chinakwe Who Named His Dog "Buhari" - "My Life Is In Danger" / This Dog Was Killed By This Angry Snake [photo] / A Nigerian Got Bitten By His Snake Pet (Photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 48