Stats: 3,152,138 members, 7,814,988 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 03:52 AM

Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack - Foreign Affairs (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack (23415 Views)

7.5 Earthquake Hits Mexico’s Pacific Coast On Anniversary Of Previous Quakes(Pix / Bomb Attack In Kabul Injures Amrullah Saleh, Afghanista Vice President, Kills 10 / Gas explosion At Atomic Junction In Accra. (2) (3) (4)

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Morphinne: 9:21am On Aug 10, 2022
Ahmback:
As stupid as this may sound, nobody, i repeat, nobody ever talks about the pains caused to U.S Servicemen during the surprise attack on Pearl Harbour. These people were fathers and mother of humans as well. Make una dey sha reason things from both sides nah
Very unpopular opinion. Humans are too reactionary. We often forget the root causes of issues and often tend to make the aggressors the victims. Let’s not forget that the Japanese started it. May God have mercy upon the lost souls but who knows what our world would have become in the hands of Nazi Germany and the imperialist Japanese regime if those bombs weren’t used on them

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by omoyankee3(m): 9:25am On Aug 10, 2022
The most outstanding thing in all these is that Japan could still forgive US

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Danmisra(m): 9:25am On Aug 10, 2022
This was an act of terrorism, why would America nuke Hiroshima and Nagasaki. I don't know but, has any country nuke another country beside America? Just imagine it were another country especially US enemy, the way US will continue to insult, blame, castigate and impose different types of sanction on them

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Selfmotivated: 9:42am On Aug 10, 2022
AlphaTaikun:

Source: https://www.dw.com/en/japan-hiroshima-marks-77th-anniversary-of-the-first-atomic-bomb-attack/a-62730657
Japan buy market by carrying out the Pearl Harbour attack. The whole of Hiroshima was decimated and no crop could grow on it till date...

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by obinna58(m): 9:58am On Aug 10, 2022
USA has always been the terror nation
I've searched for justification of mass murder everywhere on the internet but I couldn't find, theirs is not different, there's no justification for civilian mass murder

A country choose to own a nukes and fight others from even thinking of it.
Took over the media and painted some countries evil, even executing their leaders.

Today usa or Russia has the power to wipe out every human on earth with just one click.

Germany will get there
France will get there
China will get there
North Korea will get there
More countries will be able to do this in the nearest future and believe me if Africa countries start having this power it's a game over.

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by AlphaTaikun: 10:00am On Aug 10, 2022
Richcreed:
To be sincere it was all shade wrong! dropping a newly invented weapon that no one at that time could accurately predict the extent of its carnage and destruction! on civillian population far away from war zone, not once but twice within space of three days! cmmon it was wickedness from the deepest pit of hell! why dropping the second bomb? after such devastating effect of the first one! US used that act to potray themselves as super power, thats all. cant believe some m.ofo are justifying it quoting pearl habour attack, what an excuse!. so USA couldnt locate the military facilities of japan, and bomb it to smittens along with the personnel in retaliation? the devastaing effect of that bomb may take forever to heal, same as the effect of agent orange they used in vietnam.
Actually the German Jew (who later fled to America in the 1930s and became a U.S.citizen), Albert Einstein was a co-creator of the atomic bomb and was involved in the Manhattan Project leading right up to the U.S. becoming the first country with an atomic bomb.

Einstein is on record to have said the atomic bomb can destroy cities so the Americans led by Einstein, President Harry Truman and others knew the destructive effects. This is the reason why Harry Truman is on record to have told Japanese civilians to leave the cities because of the imminent atomic bombing.

1 Share

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by obinna58(m): 10:06am On Aug 10, 2022
omoyankee3:
The most outstanding thing in all these is that Japan could still forgive US
A case of those who do not know pain will never understand true peace

The worst days of peace is better than the best days of war

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Originalsly: 10:24am On Aug 10, 2022
Ahmback:

But the killing of US men is justified, right? Bushmeat!
To think the U.S weren't even fighting the war cause they saw it as european tribal shit.

The US was unofficially involved in the war when Pearl Harbour was bombed. The Pearl Harbour bombing was used to officially declare war on Japan.

On trying to justify dropping two nukes on Japan... why weren't the
nukes dropped on Germany to end the war early?
I'm hoping for a reasonable response to this question.

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by BIGDADDY000(m): 11:14am On Aug 10, 2022
AlphaTaikun:

@Ahmback,

To be brutally honest, it was "kinda justified" because Imperial Japan was proving stubborn even after the Germans had surrendered during WW11. The Japs kept on fighting (and we know that many Nigerian and West African servicemen were on active duty against the Japanese in Burma [now Myanmar]. The Africans in the Colonial Armies fought bravely against the hardened Japanese).

On the other hand, the targets in Hiroshima and Nagasaki had NO MAJOR MILITARY facilities or significance [just like the Allied bombing of civilian targets in Dresden, Germany, popularly called the "fire-bombing of Dresden." Over 100,000 innocent German men, women and children died and were burned and/or partially burned to ashes during the several air-raids on Dresden].

War can be that brutal!

YOU ARE SUCH A KNOWLEDGEABLE, RESPECT SIR!

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by blingxx(m): 11:49am On Aug 10, 2022
Passionate888:
And you didn't hear that some soldiers never wanted to surrender? That the Japanese uses civilians as a human shield? That those places bombed where industrial cities that enhances the Japanese economy and military might

This is true .. infact they did things far worse than that , japanese soldier raped chinese women and tested bio weapons on them far worse than what did Nazi did to the Jew
Japanese soldiers are allowed to surrender or get captured
Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Equity15(m): 11:58am On Aug 10, 2022
Mrkindness:
USA attracted the attacks themselves because they were hungry to enter the war. It was a planned calculated move to justify why they went into the war.
what sort of rubbish did you just spill?
Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Bentizil: 12:04pm On Aug 10, 2022
Passionate888:
And you didn't hear that some soldiers never wanted to surrender? That the Japanese uses civilians as a human shield? That those places bombed where industrial cities that enhances the Japanese economy and military might
Japanese attack on pearl harbour is wrong but US bombing of the civilian population of Hiroshima and Nagasaki killing over 200k civilians is a war crime and not necessary... The Japanese already wanted to surrender but needed the Soviet to act as intermidiary.... The Soviet were the one posting them because of their ambition in the east...

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Nobody: 12:21pm On Aug 10, 2022
Thoughts and prayers with victims may we as a world find peace in our daily lives regardless of where you are

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by AlphaTaikun: 12:25pm On Aug 10, 2022
Danmisra:
This was an act of terrorism, why would America nuke Hiroshima and Nagasaki. I don't know but, has any country nuke another country beside America? Just imagine it were another country especially US enemy, the way US will continue to insult, blame, castigate and impose different types of sanction on them
That cartoon was hilarious... grin

1 Share

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Ahmback(m): 12:32pm On Aug 10, 2022
Originalsly:

The US was unofficially involved in the war when Pearl Harbour was bombed. The Pearl Harbour bombing was used to officially declare war on Japan.

Well Germany didn't attack Pearl Harbour!

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by AlphaTaikun: 12:34pm On Aug 10, 2022
BIGDADDY000:

YOU ARE SUCH A KNOWLEDGEABLE, RESPECT SIR!
@BIGDADDY000,
Thank you for the compliments. I appreciate it.

I grew up reading international history embedded in the large volumes of encyclopedia in my family home library right from the 1970s. This is why it is very critical to encourage our children to read a vast range of books in order to be able to gain a full command of their environments and spot investment opportunities embedded in business or economic cycles.

Thanks again.

All the best. smiley

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Richcreed(m): 12:36pm On Aug 10, 2022
AlphaTaikun:

Actually the German Jew (who later fled to America in the 1930s and became a U.S.citizen), Albert Einstein was a co-creator of the atomic bomb and was involved in the Manhattan Project leading right up to the U.S. becoming the first country with an atomic bomb.

Einstein is on record to have said the atomic bomb can destroy cities so the Americans led by Einstein,
President Harry Truman and others knew the destructive effects. This is the reason why Harry Truman is on record to have told Japanese
civilians to leave the cities because of the imminent atomic bombing.
agree with that , still twas first time such was used, but why not use it on war front, why on innocent civillian population? they could have bombed the jap military base to ashes instead

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Originalsly: 12:57pm On Aug 10, 2022
Ahmback:

Well Germany didn't attack Pearl Harbour!

Hmmm...... so why didn't they drop the bombs immediately after Pearl Harbour was attacked?
Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by AlphaTaikun: 1:13pm On Aug 10, 2022
Originalsly:

@Originalsly,
Germany had her own share of the horrendous fire-bombings of the cities of Dresden and Hamburg in 1945 by the Allied Air forces led by the RAF.

Japan was definitely hit with the atomic bombs on August 6 and 9, 1945 because their military heirachy was proving very stubborn [they permitted the use of kamikazes or the use of suicide plane crashes in warfare] and didn't want to surrender... last but not least, the Japanese are of a different ethnic stock from Asia and not of European descent.

It finally took up to August 15th, 1945 for the Japanese leadership led by Emperor Hirohito to surrender so as to prevent any further plan to bomb Tokyo which is the seat of the Emperor and his family. There was even a coup by some radical Japanese troops [which was foiled] to stop Japan from surrendering. Some of the Japanese military commanders commited suicide according to Japanese traditions as well to avoid surrendering.

These are just my thoughts from reading these facts of history for decades now.

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Passionate888: 1:14pm On Aug 10, 2022
Bentizil:

Japanese attack on pearl harbour is wrong but US bombing of the civilian population of Hiroshima and Nagasaki killing over 200k civilians is a war crime and not necessary... The Japanese already wanted to surrender but needed the Soviet to act as intermidiary.... The Soviet were the one posting them because of their ambition in the east...
So when they finally surrendered, did they use the Russians or they approached the U.S.?

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by AlphaTaikun: 1:25pm On Aug 10, 2022
solasoulmusic:
Thoughts and prayers with victims may we as a world find peace in our daily lives regardless of where you are
@solasoulmusic,
After reading and looking at the vast history and sequence of events on this planet, we can NEVER have physical peace here... we can ONLY have inner peace though.

Most folks who are not yet aware of themselves are trying to grab what belongs to others, and invade into the space of other people. This is a planet of warfare and extremes... of cause-and-effect, good and bad, hot and cold, day and night, male and female, tall and short
Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Bentizil: 1:26pm On Aug 10, 2022
Passionate888:

So when they finally surrendered, did they use the Russians or they approached the U.S.?
It's better to keep quiet when you don't understand what I wrote than trying to form woke...
Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by AlphaTaikun: 2:07pm On Aug 10, 2022
Selfmotivated posr115560177:
Japan buy market by carrying out the Pearl Harbour attack. The whole of Hiroshima was decimated and no crop could grow on it till date...
Honestly, the situation is not funny... But that also helped to reset the brains of the Japanese to become more peaceful and tolerant.

Back in the 1930s and 1940s they engaged in a lot of land grabbing and colonial expansion in Korea and China. Formosa a Portuguese colony [now called Taiwan] was actually handed over by the Chinese to Japan after being defeated by the Japanese.

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Jokerman(m): 2:22pm On Aug 10, 2022
Originalsly:

Hmmm...... so why didn't they drop the bombs immediately after Pearl Harbour was attacked?

The Germans weren't the ones who bombed pearl harbour my brother

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by AlphaTaikun: 2:42pm On Aug 10, 2022
FuckSilly:

You're only being brutally Stu. Peed and not honest.
99% of the bomb victims were innocent civilians.

It's like Nigerian army fighting with a country and the country retaliates by bombing down your state killing you and your entire generation.

HOW IS THAT JUSTIFIED?

SOME DAY, I KNOW JAPAN WILL STILL TAKE THEIR VENGEANCE u USA.... SOME DAY.
What are you GOING on about here dude?

The problem with some of you is that you rush to post, abuse others, and don't read to UNDERSTAND!

Can you learn to read properly and understand that I gave two perspectives to answer the guy's question.

I created this thread to oppose the use of nukes and create awareness about the atomic bombings of the 2 Japanese cities 77 years ago and you have the audacity to utter insults which potrayed you in BAD LIGHT here. I never said in ABSOLUTE TERMS that the atomic bombing was JUSTIFIED!

I've been a member of NL since 2005 with an older moniker and I find this relatively recent behavior of some of you rushing to post without digesting posts to be very UNWISE. NL wasn't like this back in the late 2000s when there was more focussed discussions on issues and many Diasporans frequented here.

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by PharmacyStore: 3:15pm On Aug 10, 2022
Okay this is nice

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by emmy512: 4:42pm On Aug 10, 2022
Bentizil:

Stop trying to justify to justify US terror attack on Hiroshima and Nagasaki, it say a lot of you guys hypocrisy... Hundredth of thousand of people died bro damn...

No amount of pearl harbor attack can make US bombing of civilians in Hiroshima and Nagasaki justified..., Japan was bound to lose against the allied. Couple with Soviet entry, they've no chance...

Say things as it is, US bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki isn't justified and a war crime..
You dont hurt someone with death and dictate to the person how to get his revenge.

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Bentizil: 5:18pm On Aug 10, 2022
emmy512:

You dont hurt someone with death and dictate to the person how to get his revenge.
I hope you say this when it involve another country...
I still maintain that US bombing of the civilian population of Hiroshima and Nagasaki is more of a weappn testing and not necessary....

It's a war crime and should be term so...
Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by tete7000(m): 5:36pm On Aug 10, 2022
Ahmback:
Some say the U.S' attack on Japan wasn't justified! What do u have to say about it?

Japan asked for war, they got it. In war, anything goes, laws and morality are suspended. The brutality with which Japan went with the war before they began to lose ground was unthinkable. Even when they were losing, method like kamikaze attacks highlights how ferocious and brutal those guys were. Japanese will never surrender but would rather fight to death even when it became clear they wouldn't win the war. Americans love life, they wanted to fight and go home, they wanted the war to end but they face a salvage enemy that must be conquered at all cost without further loss of lives already suffered at Saipan, Guidacanal, and many other Japanese islands. Atomic weapon to American at the time in question was just a weapon of choice. May the lives of those Japanese who died rest in peace.

Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Nobody: 5:40pm On Aug 10, 2022
AlphaTaikun:

@solasoulmusic,
After reading and looking at the vast history and sequence of events on this planet, we can NEVER have physical peace here... we can ONLY have inner peace though.

Most folks who are not yet aware of themselves are trying to grab what belongs to others, and invade into the space of other people. This is a planet of warfare and extremes... of cause-and-effect, good and bad, hot and cold, day and night, male and female, tall and short

According to your doctrine yes but as for mine peace is forever ni but come my side na peices
Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Originalsly: 6:44pm On Aug 10, 2022
Jokerman:

The Germans weren't the ones who bombed pearl harbour my brother

Hmmm.... did you read the question?
Re: Japan: Hirosima Marks 77th Anniversary Of The First Atomic Bomb Attack by Originalsly: 7:03pm On Aug 10, 2022
AlphaTaikun:

@Originalsly,
Germany had her own share of the horrendous fire-bombings of the cities of Dresden and Hamburg in 1945 by the Allied Air forces led by the RAF.

Japan was definitely hit with the atomic bombs on August 6 and 9, 1945 because their military heirachy was proving very stubborn [they permitted the use of kamikazes or the use suicide plane crashes in warfare] and didn't want to surrender... last but not least, the Japanese are of a different ethnic stock from Asia and [b]not of European descent. [/b]not of European descent.

It finally took up to August 15th, 1945 for the Japanese leadership led by Emperor Hirohito to surrender so as to prevent any further plan to bomb Tokyo which is the seat of the Emperor and his family. There was even a coup by some radical Japanese troops [which was foiled] to stop Japan from surrendering. Some of the Japanese military commanders commited suicide according to Japanese traditions as well to avoid surrendering.

These are just my thoughts from reading these facts of history for decades now.

I hear you .... the last but not least is the real reason... the Japaneze are not of European descent ....the reason to nuke Japan and not Germany.
Only White Iives matter. We can even look at the present ... Ukrainians fleeing the war zone ... why are they not treated like any other refugees?... not sent to camps....but homes. Again.... I hear you.

King Charles Appoints Rishi Sunak As UK’s Prime Minister / Afghanistan: Airbnb Offers Free Accommodation For 20,000 Refugees / Russia Says It Is Ready To Cut Ties With The European Union

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 67