Stats: 3,152,455 members, 7,816,050 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 01:09 AM

Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password - Nairaland / General (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password (24866 Views)

How Did You Come About Your Nairaland Moniker? / How To Change Nairaland Password / Who Is Your Nairaland Person Of The Year(2017) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by Nobody: 3:13pm On Jan 11, 2023
Who ever wants to hack my nairaland account should do it already.. grin

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by symbianDON(m): 3:15pm On Jan 11, 2023
@Seun, thanks for responding promptly
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by Karleb(m): 3:16pm On Jan 11, 2023
Angbakpa:

òpònú

Ni iran di'ran e. Omo ale!

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by PoliteActivist: 3:16pm On Jan 11, 2023
chriskosherbal:
pls we are all in love with this site ....so na to protect our crip remain oo

Seconded. Seun please let any changes or "redesign" be minimal. The site is great just the way it is
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by AngelicBeing: 3:17pm On Jan 11, 2023
sad
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by Obrigardo: 3:19pm On Jan 11, 2023
Sites are moving to web3, NL is still in Fortran 77

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by Deicide: 3:19pm On Jan 11, 2023
Sorry I was actually testing brute force attack on this site. I wouldn't do it again grin eyeh......
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by Obrigardo: 3:20pm On Jan 11, 2023
PoliteActivist:

Seconded. Seun please let any changes or "redesign" be minimal. The site is great just the way it is

Tufiakwa. I'll reject this if I was owner. This can't be the best of nairaland, please.
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by madridguy(m): 3:21pm On Jan 11, 2023
Well noted Seun.
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by danielistics(m): 3:21pm On Jan 11, 2023
nairaland should have upvotes like quora, where better comments are read first. Nairalanders would post rubbish just to be on first page.

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by Obrigardo: 3:22pm On Jan 11, 2023
lapazi:
Implement 2FA Seun!

On which site? grin
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by FuckDModz: 3:22pm On Jan 11, 2023
Seun:
Fellow Nairalanders,

We have observed an ongoing password guessing attack against Nairaland members. The perpetrators have obtained a list of thousands of usernames and passwords from hacked websites & are systematically trying those passwords on Nairaland to take over your accounts.

If you have used your Nairaland username and password on other websites, they may be able to log in to Nairaland as you, mutilate your profile and send spam messages with your name. To prevent this, please change your Nairaland password to a unique password asap.

For the dozens of Nairalanders whose accounts have been affected, you would have gotten an unexpected login notification from Nairaland. All you need to do to secure your account is to logout, reset your password with this form, and correct your mutilated profile.

For those who are affected, we may scramble your password and log you out to force you to change it. Don't be alarmed. Just logout and reset your password with this form to regain access to Nairaland.

We have taken measures to slow the perpetrators down severely, but it's up to you to make sure that your password is secure.

Best Regards,
Seun Osewa.

How about implementing 2fa?
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by Ybholy(m): 3:23pm On Jan 11, 2023
Replace the share button to DISLIKE as that is what it’s meant to be since the share button is not actually sharing the post to anywhere.

I’m serious on this

Like to support

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by Emaprince: 3:23pm On Jan 11, 2023
Seun:
It was a temporary measure to stop profiles from being mutilated. We will undo it shortly.
Oh I see.

I have been trying to update it since 1st January to no avail. Thought it was only me.

Thanks for the info
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by Obrigardo: 3:24pm On Jan 11, 2023
danielistics:
nairaland should have upvotes like quora, where better comments are read first. Nairalanders would post rubbish just to be on first page.

First Seun has to SELL IT
Then the new owners preserve the database while redesigning a new dynamic platform. So much potential NL is wasting remaining this way.
One of the top sites in Nigeria should move with the time, and not acting like it's 4chan.

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by Seun(m): 3:27pm On Jan 11, 2023
Donjazet2:
Seun what do you do about the pro-tinubu bots who open numerous accounts for the sake of generating fake likes on pro tinubu candidates in a guise to manipulate public opinion?

What do you do about the rampant hateful tribal venom being spewed by pro-apc accounts. The ones that tag all opponents chinedu or Emeka and outrightly single out Igbo tribe? How do you tackle this seun?
I've asked people to report them to no avail. I havent received a single report until this one.

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by superintendents(m): 3:29pm On Jan 11, 2023
Seun:
I've asked people to report them to no avail. I havent received a single report until this one.
my guy your boys dey banned people anyhow and dey did'nt check there mails

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by azpekuliar: 3:32pm On Jan 11, 2023
Seun:

Please I want to edit the signature on my profile and it has not been possible. Kindly resolve.

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by Nafizzey(m): 3:34pm On Jan 11, 2023
OK Sir.
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by Shawenzy(m): 3:36pm On Jan 11, 2023
Thank you seun my name sake
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by sixtuso(m): 3:36pm On Jan 11, 2023
They did it to me two years ago, then I was fighting for survival.
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by akajos4real: 3:36pm On Jan 11, 2023
Seun Looks like the HACKER because NAIRALAND have not told us of this development.

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by KingDash: 3:37pm On Jan 11, 2023
Guy I don forget my password oh.. so that doesn’t help here mate
Light78:
Log out every member automatically.

Let the real ones log in
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by OkpaNsukkaisBae(m): 3:40pm On Jan 11, 2023
A day before the world cup final , they logged me out. I come dey wonder no b d same password/ushername wey i dey use since 2018. They repeatedly told me that i should insert the correct password. I think say na joke.
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by Donjazet2: 3:41pm On Jan 11, 2023
Will change password immediately.

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by PoliteActivist: 3:42pm On Jan 11, 2023
Obrigardo:

Tufiakwa. I'll reject this if I was owner. This can't be the best of nairaland, please.

Let's hear your suggestions genius
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by fastanddubious(m): 3:45pm On Jan 11, 2023
Thought he'll mention mods to help him push to fp grin grin

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by DaveHarry(m): 3:45pm On Jan 11, 2023
Protect for what reason
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by IsaacRocks(m): 3:46pm On Jan 11, 2023
Olamilekxy:

Redesign of what ?

Nairaland is a blog site not social media.

grin grin Bruuhh how na, it's a forum. Not a blog nor a social media platform.
Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by DissTroy(m): 3:50pm On Jan 11, 2023
silvoclaira:

Seun, Nairaland needs a Redesign/Rebrand

It will go a long way in giving your platform the attention and credits it deserves in todays SocialMedia world.

Redesign/Rebranding is necessary over these years to ensure you’re capturing the new products, services, members attention.

Nairand's UX is good but the UI has to change. It'd fair better being redesigned to mobile-facing web app.
Dropdown menu, trending feature and related ones.
Integrating Bootstrap should be a start to keeping it lightweight and JAMstack to integrate some APis.
Seun knows this certainly but he downplays what UI does to internet users.

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by plantainbender(m): 3:51pm On Jan 11, 2023
Oil dey ya head!

Light78:
Log out every member automatically.

Let the real ones log in

Re: Password Guessing Attack: Don't Reuse Your Nairaland Password by BadEnglish(m): 3:51pm On Jan 11, 2023
Abeg, nairaland account no get value, na to open another one within two minutes.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

10 Important Things To Pay Attention To In Your 20s / 10 Kinds Of People You Would Find At A Fighting Scene! (PHOTOS) / If Your Voice Is Played To You, Can You Recognize It?