Stats: 3,161,594 members, 7,847,510 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 07:19 PM

Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline - Travel (326) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline (816370 Views)

SOWP Applications Via International Students Route Lets Connect Here Please... / Post Your UK Visa Timeline Here! / Joining Me In Canada; Spouse And Child (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (323) (324) (325) (326) (327) (328) (329) ... (388) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by nnamdi346: 9:56am On Jun 27, 2023
Hi guys, I am thinking whether one can go ahead and apply for SOWP/Visitor's Visa for one's dependants before one's passport is returned by VFS (since it has been communicated that the visa has been approved)
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Ennamdee(m): 11:43am On Jun 27, 2023
Sincere apologies sir. Your response here made me check my junk mail, and alas your responses were found therein.

I have responded accordingly.

Thank you

OkukuOne:
I responded to your email message yesterday, and now you are requesting my attention once again. Have you checked your email if i have responded?
Na wa sha...

Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by OkukuOne(m): 1:42pm On Jun 27, 2023
If DHL no longer provides a two-way service, then in my opinion, you should adhere to VFS's return policy. This means that you will only be responsible for paying the courier service fee for the return of your passport to VFS when they notify you that it is ready for pickup.

Good luck!

Princessmay11:
Thank you so much. This is exactly what I did. Except for the fact that DHL said they don’t offer two way courier and I sent it to Abuja. Will it be sent back to Lagos VFS?

Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by OkukuOne(m): 1:46pm On Jun 27, 2023
Certainly, given the situation, I would suggest submitting both bank statements. When it comes to bank statements, it is advisable to choose mybankstatement. This will eliminate any uncertainties that an IRCC representative might have regarding your proof of funds (POF).

Good luck!

sainaF:
Ok please can i explain that the lump sum is a tranfer from my savings to my gtb?
@OkukuOne
Thank you so much for ur help
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by OkukuOne(m): 1:53pm On Jun 27, 2023
Yes, but what is the reason for the urgency? It would be best to wait patiently for the return of the passport. Once you have your spouse's passport in hand, you can proceed with the application. However, I am curious as to why you didn't all apply together initially. If your intention is for your spouse to receive the visa first before applying for a Spouse Open Work Permit (SOWP) and Visitor Visa (VV) for your child, the sudden change in plans should be addressed in your Letter of Intent (LOI) or Statement of Purpose (SOP) to ensure fairness and clarity. These questions should be properly addressed in your LOI/SOP to give you a better chance of success.

Good luck!

nnamdi346:
Hi guys, I am thinking whether one can go ahead and apply for SOWP/Visitor's Visa for one's dependants before one's passport is returned by VFS (since it has been communicated that the visa has been approved)
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by bidemshotbabe: 11:56pm On Jun 27, 2023
My application was refused because of spouse in Canada no employment on code 205(c)(ii)
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by HEADYWORLD: 3:44am On Jun 28, 2023
bidemshotbabe:
My application was refused because of spouse in Canada no employment on code 205(c)(ii)

Is your spouse a student or on work permit?
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Horlamidei(m): 6:43am On Jun 28, 2023
Please my mom mistakenly gave her SIN and Date of Birth to a scammer on call b4 realizing..! Please any advice to give her please embarassed
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by nnamdi346: 10:01am On Jun 28, 2023
OkukuOne:
Yes, but what is the reason for the urgency? It would be best to wait patiently for the return of the passport. Once you have your spouse's passport in hand, you can proceed with the application. However, I am curious as to why you didn't all apply together initially. If your intention is for your spouse to receive the visa first before applying for a Spouse Open Work Permit (SOWP) and Visitor Visa (VV) for your child, the sudden change in plans should be addressed in your Letter of Intent (LOI) or Statement of Purpose (SOP) to ensure fairness and clarity. These questions should be properly addressed in your LOI/SOP to give you a better chance of success.

Good luck!

Thank you very much.

Initially, we applied for our child to accompany us, but unfortunately, the application was denied. One of the reasons highlighted in the GCMS note was the issue of traveling with the child. As a result, we made the decision to proceed without our child in order to improve our chances of approval. I am currently employed full-time in the UK and not actively seeking employment in Canada. However, I require the SOWP (Spousal Open Work Permit) because it has a shorter processing time compared to a visitor's visa. Additionally, having the SOWP would allow me to start working as soon as possible if I decide to join my family in Canada. Furthermore, since my child is under two years old, I anticipate that her visitor's visa will be processed within the same timeframe as mine, making it feasible for her to travel with my spouse by January 2024.
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by nnamdi346: 10:05am On Jun 28, 2023
OkukuOne:

Good luck!

Thank you very much.

Initially, we applied for our child to accompany us, but unfortunately, the application was denied. One of the reasons highlighted in the GCMS note was the issue of traveling with the child. As a result, we made the decision to proceed without our child in order to improve our chances of approval. I am currently employed full-time in the UK and not actively seeking employment in Canada. However, I require the SOWP (Spousal Open Work Permit) because it has a shorter processing time compared to a visitor's visa. Additionally, having the SOWP would allow me to start working as soon as possible if I decide to join my family in Canada. Furthermore, since my child is under two years old, I anticipate that her visitor's visa will be processed within the same timeframe as mine, making it feasible for her to travel with my spouse by January 2024
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by bidemshotbabe: 10:06am On Jun 28, 2023
It was a group application that is pqwp+sowp+sp but his pqwp was approved then transferred sowp+sp to Nairobi office then got a request for employment letter for hubby
HEADYWORLD:

Is your spouse a student or on work permit?

Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by OkukuOne(m): 12:27pm On Jun 28, 2023
Then please furnish the employment letter. Isn't he already employed?

If he is not currently employed, it might pose some challenges unless you can provide proof of funds to demonstrate a certain level of support. Living expenses in Canada can be quite substantial, and bills must be paid.

Good luck!

bidemshotbabe:
It was a group application that is pqwp+sowp+sp but his pqwp was approved then transferred sowp+sp to Nairobi office then got a request for employment letter for hubby
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by OkukuOne(m): 12:31pm On Jun 28, 2023
Kindly wait patiently for her to receive the passport, and once she has it in hand, you can proceed with your application on the same day, as you wish. Normally, one would expect a benchmark of around two months in this situation. However, the decision is yours to make.

Good luck!

nnamdi346:

Thank you very much.

Initially, we applied for our child to accompany us, but unfortunately, the application was denied. One of the reasons highlighted in the GCMS note was the issue of traveling with the child. As a result, we made the decision to proceed without our child in order to improve our chances of approval. I am currently employed full-time in the UK and not actively seeking employment in Canada. However, I require the SOWP (Spousal Open Work Permit) because it has a shorter processing time compared to a visitor's visa. Additionally, having the SOWP would allow me to start working as soon as possible if I decide to join my family in Canada. Furthermore, since my child is under two years old, I anticipate that her visitor's visa will be processed within the same timeframe as mine, making it feasible for her to travel with my spouse by January 2024.
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by nnamdi346: 4:50pm On Jun 28, 2023
OkukuOne:
Kindly wait patiently for her to receive the passport, and once she has it in hand, you can proceed with your application on the same day, as you wish. Normally, one would expect a benchmark of around two months in this situation. However, the decision is yours to make.

Good luck!

Thanks man, do you think we need to show proof of funds for only myself and daughter since her visa has already been approved?
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by OkukuOne(m): 5:46pm On Jun 28, 2023
Certainly, if the proof of funds for her has already been obtained and secured. It is mandatory for all dependents to provide proof of funds In accordance with the request made by IRCC.

Good luck!

nnamdi346:

Thanks man, do you think we need to show proof of funds for only myself and daughter since her visa has already been approved?
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by ianian: 9:27pm On Jun 28, 2023
OkukuOne:
Then please furnish the employment letter. Isn't he already employed?

If he is not currently employed, it might pose some challenges unless you can provide proof of funds to demonstrate a certain level of support. Living expenses in Canada can be quite substantial, and bills must be paid.

Good luck!

1. That will be about 13,757cad (1 person) cad right or 17,127cad (2 persons) right? Or which?

2. Anyway, in my case, I have the funds, but I’ve been unemployed since February and I am just worried about my employment status when I apply by November (hopefully after marriage). Does having the POF suffice in lieu of employment?
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by OkukuOne(m): 11:16pm On Jun 28, 2023
ianian:

1. That will be about 13,757cad (1 person) cad right or 13,757cad (2 persons) right? Or which?

The total amount for two dependents is 7,000 CAD, which is made up of 4,000 CAD for the first dependent and 3,000 CAD for the second dependent. If there is only one person to support, the amount needed is 4,000 CAD. It would also be advisable to have some extra funds for unforeseen circumstances, and an additional 2,000 CAD would be sufficient in my opinion.

2. Anyway, in my case, I have the funds, but I’ve been unemployed since February and I am just worried about my employment status when I apply by November (hopefully after marriage). Does having the POF suffice in lieu of employment?

Having stable employment and avoiding idle wandering is crucial for ensuring financial stability. I trust that you understand the importance of this.

Good luck!

Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by ianian: 12:30am On Jun 29, 2023
OkukuOne:

1. thanks for providing these figures

2. Having stable employment and avoiding idle wandering is crucial for ensuring financial stability. I trust that you understand the importance of this.

I am only concerned if being unemployed will affect my SOWP application. (JUST INCASE, you get my concern?) and Yes, I get your point on financial stability, I got laid off from a remote tech job during the mass layoffs in the US though, I am definitely gonna get another and maybe try the STEM draws for the Express entry too.

Thanks for your responses

Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by OkukuOne(m): 1:38am On Jun 29, 2023
it wont as far you have the cash.

Good luck man!

[quote author=ianian post=124096773][/quote]
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by toboblingz: 11:27am On Jun 29, 2023
I want to ask ,
We applied for visit visa , Canada requested for Me and family to send our passport,I intend sending via courier ;
1) For My 5 years old son , which of the consent form am I to fill and submit ?

2) can I make payment for transmission charges through my bank app and print out the payment confirmation to add to the package I want to send to VFS ? or I go to sterling bank to make the payment ?

3) my wife and sons passport expires, and they had to get new ones .can they submit it ?

Please I will appreciate an urgent response as my submission date given has almost elapsed
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by OkukuOne(m): 1:46pm On Jun 29, 2023
toboblingz:
I want to ask ,
We applied for visit visa , Canada requested for Me and family to send our passport,I intend sending via courier ;
1) For My 5 years old son , which of the consent form am I to fill and submit ?

The same consent form utilized for adults can be used.

2) can I make payment for transmission charges through my bank app and print out the payment confirmation to add to the package I want to send to VFS ? or I go to sterling bank to make the payment ?

Certainly, you have the option to make payments through your app. I personally did the same for my own convenience, and I hope you find it convenient as well.

3) my wife and sons passport expires, and they had to get new ones .can they submit it ?

I find this confusing. How can you wait for their passports to expire? Frankly speaking, you will need some form of divine intervention. How can you obtain a new passport before the 30-day deadline for passport submission expires?

Please I will appreciate an urgent response as my submission date given has almost elapsed

Again, you have delayed in finding a solution. Your actions are quite perplexing!

Good luck!

Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by toboblingz: 1:58pm On Jun 29, 2023
[quote author=OkukuOne post=124105924][/quote]

thanks so much for your response sir , I so much appreciate

1) I have already gotten a new passport for my wife and child ,I stated it in my message 🙂

2)if I want to pay through my banking app on my phone , what should I state as reference ? For my payment , then for my wife and sons payment ?

Your response has brought joy to me , I appreciate once more
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Mojeecan: 2:44pm On Jun 29, 2023
Hello gurus in the house. I need your assistance. I got my study permit already and want to apply for sowp and sp for kids.
1. How will ircc know they are my dependants
2. These were the forms that came up imm1295,5257 and 5645. Are they correct cos I saw somewhere on this thread that imm5257SCH1 is required
I need your urgent reply as I have started application
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by OkukuOne(m): 2:46pm On Jun 29, 2023
toboblingz:

thanks so much for your response sir , I so much appreciate

1) I have already gotten a new passport for my wife and child ,I stated it in my message 🙂

i missed it bro. nor vex joor. Please ensure that you submit both the expired passport and the newly obtained one. However, prior to submitting them, it is advisable to send a webform to notify the Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) about the passport's expiration and renewal.

2)if I want to pay through my banking app on my phone , what should I state as reference ? For my payment , then for my wife and sons payment ?

Trasnmission fee and sms. Ensure to pay each seperately and add to their respective envelopes

Your response has brought joy to me , I appreciate once more

You're welcome, I'm glad I could bring you happiness.

Good luck!
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by OkukuOne(m): 2:53pm On Jun 29, 2023
Mojeecan:
Hello gurus in the house. I need your assistance. I got my study permit already and want to apply for sowp and sp for kids.
1. How will ircc know they are my dependants

For children, last names and must reflect in birth certificates, and for a spouse, please provide a marriage certificate.

2. These were the forms that came up imm1295,5257 and 5645. Are they correct cos I saw somewhere on this thread that imm5257SCH1 is required

Make sure to accurately complete the questionnaire, and the appropriate forms relevant to your situation will be generated. This is the best advice I can offer you.

I need your urgent reply as I have started application

Good luck!
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Mojeecan: 3:37pm On Jun 29, 2023
Thanks really appreciate your timely response
[quote author=OkukuOne post=124107175][/quote]
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Predator188: 12:09am On Jun 30, 2023

Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by OkukuOne(m): 8:18pm On Jun 30, 2023
Predator188:
I also received the email, but it seems quite complex to me.

What about the dependents who holds Open Work Permit (OWP) for Spouse, and Study Permit (SP) for children that will expire same time as the student (spouse)?

If no extension of SP is required for study permit holders, what happens to their dependents that their OWP and SP expire the same time as the SP holder?

We must find a solution to unravel this situation. Although it seems advantageous, the complete implications are not fully comprehensible for all students and their families.

Those who have a clearer understanding can share their knowledge for the purpose of learning.

Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by GloriaBekee: 9:44pm On Jun 30, 2023
Please ooo my seniors!!
What are the processes involved in sowp and visiting visa, the documents involved plzzzzzz

Don’t read and pass abeg

Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by technix: 2:46pm On Jul 01, 2023
You can start by filling the questionnaire on IRCC website first, then a personalized list of documents will be generated.

I am assuming that the sponsor is a student. So, you will additionally need a letter of explanation (SOP), letter of invitation from the sponsor (if the student is already in Canada), proofs of relationship (birth certificates, marriage certificate, pictures, etc), evidence of studentship of sponsor (if the student is already in Canada), evidence of home ties (work leave letter, property, etc.) and proof of fund (bank statements, pay slips, etc.)

GloriaBekee:
Please ooo my seniors!!
What are the processes involved in sowp and visiting visa, the documents involved plzzzzzz

Don’t read and pass abeg
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by ZoeAkorede: 10:45pm On Jul 01, 2023
Hello house,
My wife got her student visa approved
Meanwhile we intended to apply as a family 3, so because of this we answered all the questions as family and presented our documents as it relates to three of us

We use the new portal for her application but unfortunately we submitted her own application alone due to the issue of payment, someone else paid for us and submitted her application without our consent
We thought after her payment it will still give us room to cross check.

now myself and our baby want to apply for SOWP and VV

Can I state in my letter of intent that we were unable to submit our application together as a family even though we intended to

Because we were not familiar with the new portal interface so we submitted her own application instead of three of us
Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by ZoeAkorede: 10:47pm On Jul 01, 2023
Hello house,
My wife got her student visa approved
Meanwhile we intended to apply as a family 3, so because of this we answered all the questions as family and presented our documents as it relates to three of us

We use the new portal for her application but unfortunately we submitted her own application alone due to the issue of payment, someone else paid for us and submitted her application without our consent
We thought after her payment it will still give us room to cross check.

now myself and our baby want to apply for SOWP and VV

Can I state in my letter of intent that we were unable to submit our application together as a family even though we intended to

Because we were not familiar with the new portal interface so we submitted her own application instead of three of us

(1) (2) (3) ... (323) (324) (325) (326) (327) (328) (329) ... (388) (Reply)

DIY Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa - Part 2 / U.S. Non-immigrant Visas: We’re Listening / QATAR AND UAE GENERAL VISA ENQUIRIES Part 3

Viewing this topic: 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 74