Stats: 3,156,829 members, 7,831,693 topics. Date: Saturday, 18 May 2024 at 02:02 AM

See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) - Food (8) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) (43405 Views)

Igbo Soups All Nigerian Tribes Enjoy / Who Is The King Of All Nigerian Soups? (Pictures) / Tired Of Nigerian Food? Join Me. Variety Is The SPICE For The BELLE. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by Exceed15: 3:09pm On Dec 29, 2023
Bitter leaf soup for me . Its highly medicinal too . Kai I love food o.

Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by ROTTWEILER007: 4:05pm On Dec 29, 2023
ademijuwonlo:

That soup sweet die and I am not from Akwa-Ibom but I know how delicious that "reforestation abi na afforestation " is.
lol. Enjoy brođŸ„°

Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by ROTTWEILER007: 4:05pm On Dec 29, 2023
ademijuwonlo:

That soup sweet die and I am not from Akwa-Ibom but I know how delicious that "reforestation abi na afforestation " is.
lol. Enjoy bro

Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by ROTTWEILER007: 4:07pm On Dec 29, 2023
Goddyrichie:
are u from cross river or akwa ibom state if you’re from one of this state that I mention that mean you’re not truly son of d soil
I will choose vegetable soup 10times over to that Afang. Buh am sure it's not your best
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by mariahAngel(f): 4:11pm On Dec 29, 2023
mattbass:

Oga stop abusing afang soup.... Anybody that cook that thing and called it afang soup need to be arrested. Shuuu

patrickmuf:
This picture doesn't rep Afang well.

Mandela27:

This is not the real face of my afang soup

sonnie10:

On behalf of the royal great Efik tribe, with the biggest swag and pride, we denounce this version of Afang soup.

You people are always denouncing when it comes to your soups. undecided

You (all) are too possessive of your soups, and are never impressed or pleased when others make them.
Rest people! It's not that complex.
It's just a couple of proteins, cooked with different leafy vegetables and excess palm oil! smiley
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by mariahAngel(f): 4:19pm On Dec 29, 2023
okoroemeka:
why are you tormenting and torturing poor hungry folks with such graphic pictures,this is pure wickedness for someone that eat bread and mineral for dinner to be seeing this pics,it is insensitive and callous,I just wish I can unsee that egusi soup but alas I will end up this ñight with dreams of soups and pots.

May God supply all you need to eat whatever you want and enjoy life.
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by mariahAngel(f): 4:21pm On Dec 29, 2023
Pinicop:

You're right. Miya means soup, while taushe refers to assorted vegetables.

Good to know. Thanks. cheesy
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by mariahAngel(f): 4:22pm On Dec 29, 2023
AngelicBeing:
Hian , MariahAngel, You have started again to cause my appetite to run haywire with different Nigerian soups, l like and love all the soups especially Ogbono soup with soft Amala or Eko / Agidi tongue

I will never stop, Mr Angelic. grin

Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by mariahAngel(f): 4:27pm On Dec 29, 2023
Beuberry:

I m going to heaven. Na this kind food them dey eat for heaven

Hahahahahaha
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by mariahAngel(f): 4:28pm On Dec 29, 2023
lomprico:

Soup without a name

Na wetin them dey call am be that. undecided
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by Goodnewsforlife: 5:40pm On Dec 29, 2023
Balablue64:
You see that oha with goat meat it goes well with fufu or even igbo garri.
Anytime we kill goat in the village it's always oha season my grandma will prepare it with cold hardrock fufu, ha i missed village food.
I still had it after i traveled to the village last year.
Please flush that efo riro down the toilet thank you.
no wonder they call u people akpu munching gorillas
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by sonnie10: 6:10pm On Dec 29, 2023
mariahAngel:

You (all) are too possessive of your soups, and are never impressed or pleased when others make them.
It's just a couple of proteins, cooked with different leafy vegetables and excess palm oil! smiley
Afang soup is not just the vegetables, the main thing is the blend of all the ingredients. Unless you are taught by an experienced person, its hard to get it right.
The different ingredients must be prepared in specific consistency and be added at specific time.
Even without the complete ingredients, if I show you the one I organized here ( US), you will see the difference.
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by mariahAngel(f): 6:30pm On Dec 29, 2023
sonnie10:

Afang soup is not just the vegetables, the main thing is the blend of all the ingredients. Unless you are taught by an experienced person, its hard to get it right.
The different ingredients must be prepared in specific consistency and be added at specific time.
Even without the complete ingredients, if I show you the one I organized here ( US), you will see the difference.

So, when will you make out time to show us all how it's made (the acceptable way)? undecided
Let us learn it once and for all, so that you guys can stop criticizing every time afang is posted online.
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by sonnie10: 7:05pm On Dec 29, 2023
mariahAngel:

So, when will you make out time to show us all how it's made (the acceptable way)? undecided
Let us learn it once and for all, so that you guys can stop criticizing every time afang is posted online.
I am not too good with recipe and cooking narratives but let me try to revile someone secrets.

1) The water leaf must be sliced very tiny and then crumbled with hands. Do not press out the water from it.
The water leaf is the first ingredient in the pot. The foundation of everything else.

2) You need those ingredients with smoked flavor. Smoked fish, smoked cow skin and crayfish. All these will go on top of the water leaf, while the pot is still sitting on the table.

3) Next is your cooked beef and little or no stock. The pot is still not on the stove at this time. Add periwinkles, either shelled or unshelled.

4) The Afang. The most sensitive step. This will make or break the whole process if not done right. It is the highly guided secret. The leaves should not be too dry or too wet. It has to be finely sliced to strings. Do not use blender. Pound it. But don’t over pound. Once the leaves start to stick together, stop pounding.

Now use you hands to crumble them on the other ingredients already in pot. The pot is still on the table.

5) Add your onion, dry pepper, salt and Maggie.

6) Finally, place the pot on the stove at medium fire. When hot (not boiling) add palm oil. Medium pot could take up to half of half bottle of oil. Cover the pot. Stir well after boiling for about 5 mins. Stir again and taste for adequate seasoning. Stir at the end .

7) 15 mins max. Food is ready.

Notice that water was not added at anytime. Do not add water.
One noticeable thing with the one you posted is that they did not “tat” the water leaves. By this I mean plucking off the stem part of the leaves. It’s a no no. You do not want to see that in your Afang soup.

Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by mariahAngel(f): 7:39pm On Dec 29, 2023
sonnie10:

I am not too good with recipe and cooking narratives but let me try to revile someone secrets.

1) The water leaf must be sliced very tiny and then crumbled with hands. Do not press out the water from it.
The water leaf is the first ingredient in the pot. The foundation of everything else.

2) You need those ingredients with smoked flavor. Smoked fish, smoked cow skin and crayfish. All these will go on top of the water leaf, while the pot is still sitting on the table.

3) Next is your cooked beef and little or no stock. The pot is still not on the stove at this time. Add periwinkles, either shelled or unshelled.

4) The Afang. The most sensitive step. This will make or break the whole process if not done right. It is the highly guided secret. The leaves should not be too dry or too wet. It has to be finely sliced to strings. Do not use blender. Pound it. But don’t over pound. Once the leaves start to stick together, stop pounding.

Now use you hands to crumble them on the other ingredients already in pot. The pot is still on the table.

6) Finally, place the pot on the stove at medium fire. When hot (not boiling) add palm oil. Medium pot could take up to half of half bottle of oil. Cover the pot. Stir well after boiling for about 5 mins. Stir again and taste for adequate seasoning. Stir at the end .

One noticeable thing with the one you posted is that they did not “tat” the water leaves. By this I mean plucking off the stem part of the leaves. It’s a no no. You do not want to see that in your Afang soup.

How very interesting! 😀

I've copied and saved it. Thanks. đŸ‘đŸŒ
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by BALLOSKI: 10:50pm On Dec 29, 2023
Balablue64:
Anytime we kill goat in the village it's always oha season my grandma will prepare it with cold hardrock fufu, ha i missed village food.
efo riro down where? Na ment?
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by BALLOSKI: 10:52pm On Dec 29, 2023
brain54:
Which one be miyan tuashe again...?

Don't think I am familiar with that one. Does it have another name and what part of the country is it peculiar to. And what is the preparation like?

I like all of the soups. I be swallow person normally.

By the way that banga soup replace the catfish with Bush meat, dried meat/fish. I no be really fan of catfish.

Like Oliver Twist I want them all right now.

I don miss all of them o!
North
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by BALLOSKI: 10:53pm On Dec 29, 2023
mariahAngel:
Pic. 10 Ogbono soup

Nigeria sure has a lot of soups.đŸ˜©
I'll stop here.
I feel like taking Ogbono, but I don't take anything that draws.
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by Athemisia: 4:10am On Dec 30, 2023
Yellow and yellow.... How can you forget this special delicacy?....

Owho and Starch..

Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by Athemisia: 4:29am On Dec 30, 2023
Let's I forget....
My special Melon pepper soup (especially with chicken)

Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by aljharem(m): 6:56am On Dec 30, 2023
Egusi is not an igbo food. And I have prove. I have showed it countless times on nairaland
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by aljharem(m): 7:04am On Dec 30, 2023
sassiemyk:

Hahahahahaahha. Ode ni'e... I am a full blooded Yoruba man. And I can bet that u have never left the west all ur life. Egusi na yoruba ke. Find somewhere siddon for back.

You are not yoruba you idiot
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by Esthered: 7:09am On Dec 30, 2023
sonnie10:

Well detailed. My mum and sisters don't cook this method but it's always lovely and we're Ibibio from AKS. Is this method done by CRS people as my mother told me they are well detailed in the kitchen.
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by aljharem(m): 7:11am On Dec 30, 2023
Origin of Egusi

For those that do research and PHD students. I am such you know that the most accurate references are Journals citations

The Egusi type is a non-hard-coat form of L.
siceraria mainly cultivated for the use of its seeds. Egusi
(in Yoruba language) refers to a group of cucurbit species
that produce protein and oil rich seeds

by E. G. Achigan-Dako

http://www.springerlink.com/content/2014006j826u4185/fulltext.pdf
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by aljharem(m): 7:12am On Dec 30, 2023
I have come to realize most Nigerians are illiterates
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by aljharem(m): 7:12am On Dec 30, 2023
On-farm yield potential of local seed watermelon landraces under heat-and drought-prone conditions in Mali

by
AD NANTOUMÉ, JL CHRISTIANSEN

Cucurbit species grown for their seed, including seed-type watermelons, are in several
West African countries popularly called egusi melons. The name originates from the Yoruba
language spoken in Nigeria, Benin and Togo

http://journals.cambridge.org/action/displayAbstract?fromPage=online&aid=8433793

this people are not yoruba or Nigerians but from other countries
The fruit pulp of these cultivars is too bitter for human consumption. In West Africa they are called ‘egusi’, derived from the Yoruba language; in Wolof language (Senegal) they are called ‘beref’. In the Kalahari region, the seeds are considered a delicacy.

Correct citation of this article:
van der Vossen, H.A.M. & Denton, O.A. & El Tahir, I.M., 2004.[/b]

http://database.prota.org/PROTAhtml/Citrullus%20lanatus_En.htm

Egusi is a recent Igbo food
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by Eloquency001: 7:26am On Dec 30, 2023
Balablue64:

Inferiority complex.
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by lomprico(m): 11:09am On Dec 30, 2023
mariahAngel:

Na wetin them dey call am be that. undecided

Before oyibo come teach Dem English, the soup no get name?
Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by Mandela27: 5:25pm On Dec 30, 2023
mariahAngel:

then I think it should have another name,and not afang!

Re: See Variety Of Nigerian Soups. (pictures) by MissJoy29(f): 9:56am On Dec 31, 2023
Ogurube:
Ukazi with achara
As a lover of ukazi & achara soup, I reject this one. Not appealing at all.

My eyes eat soup first

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

Hilda Baci Breaks Guinness World Record For Longest Cooking Marathon / Christmas Stew Got Burnt Because I Was Carried Away By A Movie"caroline Shoes" / See My Homemade Okro Soup With Tilapia Fish

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 48