Stats: 3,160,529 members, 7,843,632 topics. Date: Wednesday, 29 May 2024 at 09:02 AM

Update on developments in Anambra state-photos - Politics (1320) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Update on developments in Anambra state-photos (2097689 Views)

Update On Developments in Ebonyi state (photos) / ABIA STATE: Updates On Developments- Pictures / Update on developments in Anambra state-photos (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1317) (1318) (1319) (1320) (1321) (1322) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by hammer567: 2:07pm On May 14
Unbiased1:

Nothing concern me with Lagos, I don't care what happens in Eko Atlantic. Our focus should be on making Igbo land the number 1 choice destination in Nigeria. If the Federal Government is marginalizing the South East, the Igbo people should not also marginalize themselves by starving their land of investments. If more Igbo men move their business headquarters to Igbo land, it will attract more investors, both local and foreign. Forget about investing in any Ibeno and focus on Igbo land. A
South African business man once built a luxury resort with an artificial lake in South Africa. There is nothing we can't achieve in Igbo land. Stop advicing Ndigbo to move their top tourism investments to other parts of Nigeria, try to learn from history.

Yes, but we need a Seafront.

We need that Deep Seaport in the east and the Seaport.

We are tired of just River port.

We also need partnership and intermarriage with the right people.

If I may ask you, what have we gained from marry Yorubas? Ronu!

I'm a strategic person and I know what is good when I see it.

The BS in Rivers State will end, when we completely sideline that place and ignore them.

In that video, the Ikwerre said, Igbo occupied water front property and it was clear that is why they hate us to the extent of rejecting their Igbo, because of land and property. So he asked him, if the land and property were taken from them by force or stolen? He decline to answer and went quiet.

No problem, on a corporate level we will draw up legally binding documents with AkWA iBOM State and build Ibeno resort.

It is time our people leave Lagos, maybe once they see the sea, they will move.

Holiday resort is usually followed by real estate boom, office space, travel, tourism and development of critical infrastructure, like deep seaports, seaports, railway etc.

If Akwa Ibom will partner us Igbo on that level, like they did during civil war, then it is good morning. It is their state, we are not coming to take it from them.? The venture should be mutually beneficial on the Coast for tourist and investors.

This is the time for it.

Nwanne di na mba

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Unbiased1: 2:50pm On May 14
hammer567:

Yes, but we need a Seafront.

We need that Deep Seaport in the east and the Seaport.

We are tired of just River port.

We also need partnership and intermarriage with the right people.

If I may ask you, what have we gained from marry Yorubas? Ronu!

I'm a strategic person and I know what is good when I see it.

The BS in Rivers State will end, when we completely sideline that place nd ignore them.

In that video, the Ikwerre said, Igbo occupied water front property and it was clear that is why they hate us to the extent of rejecting their Igbo, because of land and property. So he asked him, if the land and property were taken from them by force or stolen? He decline to answer and went quiet.

No problem, on a corporate level we will draw up legally binding documents with AkWA iBOM State and build Ibeno resort.

It is time our people leave Lagos, maybe once they see the sea, they will move.

Holiday resort is usually followed by real estate boom, office space, travel, tourism and development of critical infrastructure, like deep seaports, seaports, railway etc.

If Akwa Ibom will partner us Igbo on that level, like they did during civil war, then it is good morning. It is their state, we are not coming to take it from them.? The venture should be mutually beneficial on the Coast for tourist and investors.

This is the time for it.

Nwanne di na mba

I repeat my previous stance. Forget about Akwa Ibom and focus on Igbo land. If Akwa Ibom wants to build a seaport, that's their business.
Johannesburg is the city with largest economy in Africa but it is landlocked. Igbo land currently does not have a seaport but it is possible to build one in Abia in the future, all we need is money to fund the project. Let our people start looking inwards. If one gaint company builds its headquarter in Onitsha, a 15 or 18-floor structure, other big businesses will start thinking about doing same. All it takes it one person to start. Look at what is happening in Nnewi. Its indigenes are always proud to invest at home. If landmark builds one resort in Oguta and turns Oguta to a major tourism hub, someone like Obi Jackson will move to turn Okija to tourism hub, other business men will also start doing similar things in their respective communities. You can look up "Sun city resort" near Johannesburg. Sun City generates far more money than Landmark in Lagos. Thousands of tourists visit South Africa every year just to enjoy themselves in Sun City. Guess what? Sun City does not have a coast line or beach yet it attracts people from all over the world. So you see, forget about Lagos, Akwa Ibom, Port Harcourt and Calabar, Ndigbo have invested in other parts of Nigeria enough, it's time to think home and home alone.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by ChimaAdeoye: 3:01pm On May 14
Unbiased1:

Nothing concern me with Lagos, I don't care what happens in Eko Atlantic. Our focus should be on making Igbo land the number 1 choice destination in Nigeria. If the Federal Government is marginalizing the South East, the Igbo people should not also marginalize themselves by starving their land of investments. If more Igbo men move their business headquarters to Igbo land, it will attract more investors, both local and foreign. Forget about investing in any Ibeno and focus on Igbo land. A
South African business man once built a luxury resort with an artificial lake in South Africa. There is nothing we can't achieve in Igbo land. Stop advicing Ndigbo to move their top tourism investments to other parts of Nigeria, try to learn from history.

Nwanne,

God bless you! God bless Igbo people like you who still reason and are not copycats "follow the bandwagon mentality" like most of our people today.

The generation of Igbos immediately after Nigeria's independence in 1960s thought exactly like the generation of Igbos today. Everything in their own region is undesirable and the only thing they'd like to do is either go up north to drag northern jobs with them or go to Port Harcourt and Lagos to build palatial mansions with absolutely NOTHING in their hometown and places of origin. Then Nigeria happened to them and their properties in the north and other places were either destroyed or confiscated.

After the painful civil war in the 1970s, there emerged a generation of wise Igbo people. Who understood that charity begins at home. Just imagine for a minute if our leaders in the 1970s after the civil war reasoned like this present generation and also abandoned Igboland because the Federal Government and other Nigerians called Igboland "Rebel Territory" Just imagine if there would have been Imo airport, all the industries in Aba, Onitsha and Nnewi. Imagine if we would have secondary schools and universities that enabled most people in this forum now to read and write.

Just imagine what Igboland would have been if the Igbos themselves copied the attitude of the Federal Government and other Nigerians to refuse investing in their own region! That is why i believe that any generation that refused to learn from their history are bound to repeat the same mistakes and suffer the painful consequences of their folly.

Again, i have come to understand that some people must suffer bitter lessons to learn. That is why a feel no pity for the Landmark guy and other Igbos like him dragging other peoples land, while their own remains undeveloped.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Unbiased1: 3:53pm On May 14
ChimaAdeoye:

Nwanne,

God bless you! God bless Igbo people like you who still reason and are not copycats "follow the bandwagon mentality" like most of our people today.

The generation of Igbos immediately after Nigeria's independence in 1960s thought exactly like the generation of Igbos today. Everything in their own region is undesirable and the only thing they'd like to do is either go up north to drag northern jobs with them or go to Port Harcourt and Lagos to build palatial mansions with absolutely NOTHING in their hometown and places of origin. Then Nigeria happened to them and their properties in the north and other places were either destroyed or confiscated.

After the painful civil war in the 1970s, there emerged a generation of wise Igbo people. Who understood that charity begins at home. Just imagine for a minute if our leaders in the 1970s after the civil war reasoned like this present generation and also abandoned Igboland because the Federal Government and other Nigerians called Igboland "Rebel Territory" Just imagine if there would have been Imo airport, all the industries in Aba, Onitsha and Nnewi. Imagine if we would have secondary schools and universities that enabled most people in this forum now to read and write.

Just imagine what Igboland would have been if the Igbos themselves copied the attitude of the Federal Government and other Nigerians to refuse investing in their own region! That is why i believe that any generation that refused to learn from their history are bound to repeat the same mistakes and suffer the painful consequences of their folly.

Again, i have come to understand that some people must suffer bitter lessons to learn. That is why a feel no pity for the Landmark guy and other Igbos like him dragging other peoples land, while their own remains undeveloped.

Landmark na small thing. I feel no pity for any Igbo man whose industry gets demolished in any other part of Nigeria. The reason Igbo land is not one of the top destinations in Nigeria today is because of the Igbo people themselves.
In Nigeria, there is no ethnic group that dispise their home land like the Igbo people. Imagine an Igbo man saying he can't return to the East because of village people but that same Igbo man is building a Factory in Ogun that is the headquarter of ritual killings in Nigeria. I have lived in Ota for 2 years and I have never seen a society as diabolical as what I witnessed in Ogun state yet Igbo people are still going there to invest. Do you know why? The Yoruba people love their land and see their place as the best place to live in Nigeria. To the Yoruba people, Yoruba land is where you should live year in, year out, but to the Igbo people, Igbo land is only good for living in December. The Yorubas have invested so much in media to portray themselves in good light hence, the positive views everyone has about their place.

I picked up a magazine from AirPeace when they started flights from Lagos to Dubai. Could you believe that the magazine showcased tourist destinations in Liberia, Ghana, UAE and London, and for Nigeria, they showcased, Bonny in Bayelsa, Ikogosi in Ekiti, Lagos, Abuja, Kano and Kaduna but nothing from the East. I was so shocked and disappointed at the same time. Despite all the hotels, casinos, restaurants, and clubs that litter Owerri and Awka, Airpeace could not advertise even one city in the East to at least create awareness about the good things in Igbo land. Do you know how many people booked that Airpeace flight and got to read those magazines? That was a very good chance to showcase some Igbo cities to some foreigners.

I told a fellow Igbo guy that I consider the Aku lue uno mantra a shameful one and he was shocked at my conclusion. I have spent a good part of my life in Lagos and I have interacted with people of different ethnicities. I discovered that the average Yoruba investor is always thinking about investing in Lagos, Ogun or Oyo. Go to Lekki and meet some of the Yoruba real estate developers. Once they cover Lagos, Ogun and Oyo, their next point of interest is usually UK or UAE. The average Hausa man is not even interested in building a bungalow in your land talkless of a mansion, they all send their investments back home. Its only the Igbo people that derive joy in their governors going from Lagos to Abuja to beg Ndigbo to invest at home. It is a big shame. I have never seen Yoruba governors begging Yorubas to invest at home, same with the Hausa but the Igbos think in an alternate direction. Soludo had to leave Anambra to Lagos to speak to Igbo business men to invest in Anambra.

Outsiders are viewing these things, foreign investors are viewing these things. How will they invest in Igbo land if the owners of the land are avoiding their own land. We need to start serious marketing in Igbo land. We have to create an Igbo brand and make Igbo and Igbo land popular. There is no crime happening in Igbo land that does not take place in other parts of Nigeria. The only difference is that, others frequently release good news from their land while Igbos are poor at releasing good news from Igbo land. If 3 people die in Ogun, the news gets 10 thousand interactions, if 1 person dies in Igbo land, the news gets 60 thousand interactions. This is a strategic approach by God-knows-who to always ensure the East is portrayed in bad light and keep the much needed investments away and it's up to us to counter this bad narrative.

We can do that by strictly investing at home. We don't need the traders to relocate, infact we need them to remain in Lagos, Abuja and other Nigerian cities because they will be useful in distributing products made in Igbo land across Nigeria. We also need our media houses to do more in showcasing Igbo land. I am slightly impressed with Afia TV that is doing the promotion already. They are on GoTV and DSTV. We too that have access to social media can do our bit. It's not every time we have to wait for someone to do it, we can also do some of these promotions ourselves on social media. We just have to start.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by hammer567: 4:27pm On May 14
ChimaAdeoye:

Nwanne,

Point of correction, the minute you sell a plot of land and collect money legally it is no longer your land until you return the money you were paid and pay the additiona fee for any property erected on the land.

Second;y, Ndiigbo are not prisoners confined to the inland.

The Igboland has need for deep seaport, seaport and even homeport for cruise ships. The fact that we have the seaports dont mean we cannot have the Riverports.

If well organised, our goods can be loaded from a deep seaport in Akwa Ibom automatically and sent to Riverport somewhere in Abia or Ebonyi and moved by rail to Enugu, Anambra and Imo, to a Dryland port for collection.

The logistics business run by Ndiigbo. A relationship that is fruitful and symbiotic not parasitic.

With the right partnership we can have it all. We need to have an understanding.

Marraige is a contract and partnership. The Akwa Ibom might just be Igbo soulmate and we dont know.

I did not say occupy Uyo, but rather through a well structured investment portfolio we can jointly develop the coast and mutually benefit from our investment. (Joint Venture)

Nothing small, we are talking billions of dollars, well planned coastal resort along the unoccupied length of Ibeno coastal front.

Akwa Ibom State and Ndiigbo via Landmark agreement.

We need options and Lagos need to understand that reclaiming sea to erect towers that we will erect in Ibeno is nothing special, people have them all over the place in other countries. If they are doing Eko Atlantic, we be on the coast in Ibeno.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by hammer567: 5:19pm On May 14
Unbiased1:

Landmark na small thing. I feel no pity for any Igbo man whose industry gets demolished in any other part of Nigeria. The reason Igbo land is not one of the top destinations in Nigeria today is because of the Igbo people themselves.
In Nigeria, there is no ethnic group that dispise their home land like the Igbo people. Imagine an Igbo man saying he can't return to the East because of village people but that same Igbo man is building a Factory in Ogun that is the headquarter of ritual killings in Nigeria. I have lived in Ota for 2 years and I have never seen a society as diabolical as what I witnessed in Ogun state yet Igbo people are still going there to invest. Do you know why? The Yoruba people love their land and see their place as the best place to live in Nigeria. To the Yoruba people, Yoruba land is where you should live year in, year out, but to the Igbo people, Igbo land is only good for living in December. The Yorubas have invested so much in media to portray themselves in good light hence, the positive views everyone has about their place.

I picked up a magazine from AirPeace when they started flights from Lagos to Dubai. Could you believe that the magazine showcased tourist destinations in Liberia, Ghana, UAE and London, and for Nigeria, they showcased, Bonny in Bayelsa, Ikogosi in Ekiti, Lagos, Abuja, Kano and Kaduna but nothing from the East. I was so shocked and disappointed at the same time. Despite all the hotels, casinos, restaurants, and clubs that litter Owerri and Awka, Airpeace could not advertise even one city in the East to at least create awareness about the good things in Igbo land. Do you know how many people booked that Airpeace flight and got to read those magazines? That was a very good chance to showcase some Igbo cities to some foreigners.

I told a fellow Igbo guy that I consider the Aku lue uno mantra a shameful one and he was shocked at my conclusion. I have spent a good part of my life in Lagos and I have interacted with people of different ethnicities. I discovered that the average Yoruba investor is always thinking about investing in Lagos, Ogun or Oyo. Go to Lekki and meet some of the Yoruba real estate developers. Once they cover Lagos, Ogun and Oyo, their next point of interest is usually UK or UAE. The average Hausa man is not even interested in building a bungalow in your land talkless of a mansion, they all send their investments back home. Its only the Igbo people that derive joy in their governors going from Lagos to Abuja to beg Ndigbo to invest at home. It is a big shame. I have never seen Yoruba governors begging Yorubas to invest at home, same with the Hausa but the Igbos think in an alternate direction. Soludo had to leave Anambra to Lagos to speak to Igbo business men to invest in Anambra.

Outsiders are viewing these things, foreign investors are viewing these things. How will they invest in Igbo land if the owners of the land are avoiding their own land. We need to start serious marketing in Igbo land. We have to create an Igbo brand and make Igbo and Igbo land popular. There is no crime happening in Igbo land that does not take place in other parts of Nigeria. The only difference is that, others frequently release good news from their land while Igbos are poor at releasing good news from Igbo land. If 3 people die in Ogun, the news gets 10 thousand interactions, if 1 person dies in Igbo land, the news gets 60 thousand interactions. This is a strategic approach by God-knows-who to always ensure the East is portrayed in bad light and keep the much needed investments away and it's up to us to counter this bad narrative.

We can do that by strictly investing at home. We don't need the traders to relocate, infact we need them to remain in Lagos, Abuja and other Nigerian cities because they will be useful in distributing products made in Igbo land across Nigeria. We also need our media houses to do more in showcasing Igbo land. I am slightly impressed with Afia TV that is doing the promotion already. They are on GoTV and DSTV. We too that have access to social media can do our bit. It's not every time we have to wait for someone to do it, we can also do some of these promotions ourselves on social media. We just have to start.

I will finish by saying this.

There is individual development which Igbos are known for all over the world.

There is group development, when the fish is impossible for one person.

There is state developmnt at local, state and federal level.

There is community development.

There is regional development.

There is interegional development.

There is partnership.

We need to know which format to adopt and where applicable and when.

Why are Igbo people in Lagos because of the coast.

Let us show them the coast in SE, we did not tell them to start individually investing in Akwa Ibom, they can do that in their villages because we are now in our neighbourhood and made adequate provision to enable them to stay in Igboland. We still have Igbo cities to develop.

However that is not to say those whose industry or lifestyle is on the coast not to invest when the opportunity arise to do so on the coast.

We are trying to move away from Nigeria and move back home, a soft-landing if you like.

Try and understand me.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by ChimaAdeoye: 6:10pm On May 14
hammer567:

Point of correction, the minute you sell a plot of land and collect money legally it is no longer your land until you return the money you were paid and pay the additiona fee for any property erected on the land. grin grin grin

@ the bolded above....lol...

Oga,
You really need to understand that not everyone here is a child. Also, I can already tell you have NEVER bought land anywhere in Nigeria. Otherwise, you would know that land has a maximum of 100 years leases. After which you or your descendants must renew the land lease if the state and the original owners of the land have no objections to renewing another 100 years lease.

You can NEVER own any land PERMANENTLY through land purchase unless you owned it by inheritance.

In case you have never seen the Nigerian Land-use laws on land ownership, biko read it and equip yourself with what the law says. The very first section of the law addresses the issue of permanent land ownership for any land "BOUGHT" or "ACQUIRED" anywhere in Nigeria.

This is the law that gives State Governors the power to issue c-of-o, to demolish your property anywhere within their state or to acquire your land for any project in the state.

It is this law that made it impossible for Buhari to acquire your village and other people's villages and give to Fulanis for RUGA because the State Governor must consent before land in their state is used for any purpose at all. :

https://sterlinghomesltd.com/land-lease-all-you-need-to-know/#:~:text=Section%201%20of%20the%20Land,terms%20not%20exceeding%2099%20years.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by hammer567: 6:20pm On May 14
ChimaAdeoye:

@ the bolded above....lol...

Oga,
You really need to understand that not everyone here is a child. Also, I can already tell you have NEVER bought land anywhere in Nigeria. Otherwise, you would know that land has a maximum of 100 years leases. After which you or your descendants must renew the land lease if the state and the original owners of the land have no objections to renewing another 100 years lease.

You can NEVER own any land PERMANENTLY through land purchase unless you owned it by inheritance.

My brother, if you sell your ancestral land, it is gone.

If you want to be waiting 100 years to collect it back then I will say to you that you know nothing about Land law.

Do you know that if a person occupy land for a continued and uninterrupted period of time less than 100 years the land now belongs to them?

Do you know that the law is vast and many loophole.

Guy if you sell land, it is gone, unless the State Government want to be lawless as we witness in Lagos with Tinubu.

The land they are demolishing have not reach 30 years,.
Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by abuzz33: 7:47pm On May 14
The solution to Igbo resurgence is to build world class cities that have strong service and industrial bases. There are three core cities in igboland. Enugu, Onitsha and Aba. None is inspiring. Go past the space shipped Secretariat building Sullivan built and it's already wearing a forlorn look. Onitsha with it's majestic Niger Bridges and wide expressway then you enter the city and primitive trading everywhere.

The greatness of cities is accumulation of capital both physical and human. Not one Igbo city can boast up to 10 corporations with over 50m in revenue. Not one Igbo city can boast three 10 storey buildings or iconic architecture. This is what happens when you don't have scale and rely on emigration as a strategy.

Soludo understands the importance of cities as an organizational force. Primitivity has to be weeded out. Organized public transport not Keke, organized business districts not out of control street trading. Big businesses form in organized settings not chaos.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Ttipsy(f): 8:02pm On May 14
abuzz33:
The solution to Igbo resurgence is to build world class cities that have strong service and industrial bases. There are three core cities in igboland. Enugu, Onitsha and Aba. None is inspiring. Go past the space shipped Secretariat building Sullivan built and it's already wearing a forlorn look. Onitsha with it's majestic Niger Bridges and wide expressway then you enter the city and primitive trading everywhere.

The greatness of cities is accumulation of capital both physical and human. Not one Igbo city can boast up to 10 corporations with over 50m in revenue. Not one Igbo city can boast three 10 storey buildings or iconic architecture. This is what happens when you don't have scale and rely on emigration as a strategy.

Soludo understands the importance of cities as an organizational force. Primitivity has to be weeded out. Organized public transport not Keke, organized business districts not out of control street trading. Big businesses form in organized settings not chaos.
you forget Owerri and port harcourt.

Those two cities are extremely well organized and built. Enugu is next. To my mind.
Aba is currently being repositioned.

Soludo acknowledged the chaotic state of cities in his state, and working fervently to improve them.

Your submission about SE cites not giving is actually not true.
Owerri, Enugu, Port Harcourt are great cities well organized, with improved infrastructure and economic activities.

Owerri below!!

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Cjrane2: 8:44pm On May 14
abuzz33:

I think Igbos finally have decent governors who understand that Igboland cannot continue to be a filthy space where governance barely exists.

If you carefully examine the reconstruction of Aba and Onitsha taking place now, you will see a true desire to do away with the culture of chaos, filth, general lawlessness brought about by street trading, Agberos and lawless traffic.

Strict law enforcement and ensuring that criminals do not get away with these little offenses by paying a huge fine is what makes other societies in Europe lawful and habitable. Even when the towns are poor.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Cjrane2: 10:04pm On May 14
ChimaAdeoye:

Nwanne,

You totally nailed it. Today's Igboman is precisely like the immediate post-independence Igboman. Over-confident and unwise.

Who were careless and tactless about everything. The didn't care how others felt when they went into their villages and bought up vast lands for agriculture or housing. As long as they blindly pursued "Profits" and it was profitable to buy their "cheap" lands and build on it. They don't have a care in the world if one tells them about caution and what could be in a country like Nigeria. Like Ojukwu's father who used his Limousine to carry Queen of England free on behalf of Nigeria, you have Air Peace using his planes today to fly Prince harry and Megan around Nigeria for free.

You should expect that unless they retrace their steps very soon, the same deep feelings of jealousy would cause them to face the same backlash as the Igbos in the early 1960s did. Who carried "One Nigeria" for head while others are just laughing at their utter stupidity.

The Landmark thing and what sanwo-Olu is doing in Lagos is just testing the water. Like in the 1960s when they gradually revealed their real plan, their real plan today is also gradually being hatched and it will be manifesting clearly soon for those doubting Thomases to cry like the Igbos of the 1960s that lost everything due to sheer stupidity and over-confidence. Nothing mega as they would stupidly say when everything mega. Just that its kept away from them to maximize the impact. I have also grown tired of crying for them. Anyone who deliberately goes into a pit full of venomous snakes should not be mourned if he is killed by snake bite.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by NwekereNdokl: 10:19pm On May 14
He did not add Owerri because it is a chaotically slum and a glorified village. Owerri is an unplanned glorified ghetto as shown in the pictures that is why mentioned the core and most important Igbo cities . And this explains why most imo indigenes prefer to live in Onitsha, Enugu and Awka .

Uzodimma realized that Owerri is a slum and a glorified village and he is making effort to fix it but Owerri requires to be demolished if imo state ever wish to have a befitting state capital that can compete with Onitsha, Enugu, PH, Awka, Abakaliki and even Aba . Also imo state should ban okada in Owerri because okada is still one of the major means of getting around in Owerri as shown in the pictures.

Imo state is a failed state

Pictures: Owerri

Ttipsy:
you forget Owerri and port harcourt.
Those two cities are extremely well organized and built. Enugu is next. To my mind.
Aba is currently being repositioned.
Uzodimma acknowledged the chaotic state of cities in his state, and working fervently to improve them. Your submission about SE cites not giving is actually not true. , Enugu, Port Harcourt are great cities well organized, with improved infrastructure and economic activities.

Owerri below!!

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by ebufa: 10:23pm On May 14
Unbiased1:

I repeat my previous stance. Forget about Akwa Ibom and focus on Igbo land. If Akwa Ibom wants to build a seaport, that's their business.
Johannesburg is the city with largest economy in Africa but it is landlocked. Igbo land currently does not have a seaport but it is possible to build one in Abia in the future, all we need is money to fund the project. Let our people start looking inwards. If one gaint company builds its headquarter in Onitsha, a 15 or 18-floor structure, other big businesses will start thinking about doing same. All it takes it one person to start. Look at what is happening in Nnewi. Its indigenes are always proud to invest at home. If landmark builds one resort in Oguta and turns Oguta to a major tourism hub, someone like Obi Jackson will move to turn Okija to tourism hub, other business men will also start doing similar things in their respective communities. You can look up "Sun city resort" near Johannesburg. Sun City generates far more money than Landmark in Lagos. Thousands of tourists visit South Africa every year just to enjoy themselves in Sun City. Guess what? Sun City does not have a coast line or beach yet it attracts people from all over the world. So you see, forget about Lagos, Akwa Ibom, Port Harcourt and Calabar, Ndigbo have invested in other parts of Nigeria enough, it's time to think home and home alone.

Now you are making sense!! I concur
Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Ttipsy(f): 10:27pm On May 14
NwekereNdokl:
He did not add Owerri because it is a chaotically slum and a glorified village. Owerri is an unplanned glorified ghetto as shown in the pictures that is he mentioned the.cote and most important Igbo cities . And this explains why most imo indigenes prefer to live in Onitsha, Enugu and Awka .

Uzodimma realized that Owerri is a slum and a glorified village and he is making effort to fix it but Owerri requires to be demolished if imo state ever wish to have a befitting state capital that can compete with Onitsha, Enugu, PH, Awka, Abakaliki and even Aba .

Imo state is a failed state

Pictures: Owerri

He did not mention owerri,
I just needed to point it out to him that Igbo land is not actually lagging behind in developmental strives as he thinks.

So what is your problem

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by NwekereNdokl: 10:34pm On May 14
Inferiority complex is the reason why you are everywhere trying to force a glorified village like Owerri on everyone, but the truth is that owerri is never regarded as long as key Igbo cities are concerned. Owerri is a typical glorified village. So I will always shut you up whenever you tries to promote that village.

Owerri is a slum so therefore is not a good example of a progressive city like Awka, Enugu or Onitsha .

Cities are marked with signature infrastructures

Ttipsy:
I just needed to point it out to him that Igbo land is not actually lagging behind in developmental strives as he thinks.
So what is your problem

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by NwekereNdokl: 10:40pm On May 14
Owerri is a glorified village so stop using it as an example for a good place even when millions of imo indigenes are running to Onitsha, Enugu and Awka to live , that’s enough tell you that something is fundamentally wrong with imo state .

This is Owerri you want to force on us .

Ttipsy:

So what is your problem

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Ttipsy(f): 10:42pm On May 14
NwekereNdokl:
Inferiority complex is the reason why you are everywhere trying to force a glorified village like Owerri on everyone, but the truth is that owe is never regarded as long key Igbo cities are concerned. Owerri is a typical glorified village. So I will always shut you up whenever you tries to promote that village.

Owerri is a slum so therefore is not a good example of a progressive city like Awka, Enugu or Onitsha .

Cities are marked with signs infrastructures

j i am not here for arguments with you. The last time I check you are a nuisance.

My comments and pictures here doesn’t refer to you.
?
Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by ebufa: 10:43pm On May 14
abuzz33:

It is left for the government to do the needful by building world class cities and "forming" the huge corporation you are talking about? I am not sure which Igbo economist that worked as a world bank consultant in southeast Asia ( idika kalu or Soludo?) Anyway I am sure Soludo knows about Chaebol corporation like Daewoo and LG and Samsung ,companies that were essentially conceived and birthed by government..........What I am saying is that we business men are like sheep left to graze blindly in the bush...it is left for Soludo to point the way forward! He has the yam and he also has the knife!

The work that man has on his hands is daunting........he is still building gutters and roads , nobody remembers his automobile and pharmaceutical production hubs.................Soludo needs a lot of help to hurry things along but I am not sure he has done enuff to galvanise that much needed help in terms of investment and human capital! Why will Soludo allow Stella okoli to carry the new Emzor factory to otta Ogun state? Give it to Peter Obi sha for getting SAB miller to invest.........though he had some leg with the company prior to him becoming Governor!
Its not all bad but a lot of work needs to be done!

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by hammer567: 10:44pm On May 14
This video was posted last month.

If we want to discuss options some will be getting emotional.

We are all on the same team and we need an alternative option to Lagos.

We dont have to wait for war to demand partnership, their are peace time partnership.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0HLtPn6sGoI

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by NwekereNdokl: 10:46pm On May 14
You are here to deceive yourself that’s why I needed to remind you that we all know that Owerri is a glorified village . Afterwards this is not imo thread where you imo ediots do propaganda and lies to feel good. Na me only fit trolls and nuisances like you . Anuofia you want to tell us about a glorified village like Owerri e dey mad ?

Ttipsy:
j i am not here for arguments with you. The last time I check you are a nuisance. My comments and pictures here doesn’t refer to you.
?

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by hammer567: 10:54pm On May 14
What I want to tell you Igbos now is that whether you arrive first or arrive last, one thing is certain, u will eventually arrive there because you will sniff out every opportunity eventually, it is in your DNA as an Igbo man.

Arriving late after others have taken up residence puts you at a disadvantage and open for assault and the usual area tout treatment.

We are making proposal of how to get ahead and talk to those that matter to put things in place.

Nobody told you to leave your cities, go and read my post.

Aside Aviation, Banking, Movie, Automobile and Spareparts, we can add Tourism.

Tourism gives more money than all the aforementioned combined in Dollars.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zwHPX95fEf0

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by abuzz33: 2:58am On May 15
ebufa:

It is left for the government to do the needful by building world class cities and "forming" the huge corporation you are talking about? I am not sure which Igbo economist that worked as a world bank consultant in southeast Asia ( idika kalu or Soludo?) Anyway I am sure Soludo knows about Chaebol corporation like Daewoo and LG and Samsung ,companies that were essentially conceived and birthed by government..........What I am saying is that we business men are like sheep left to graze blindly in the bush...it is left for Soludo to point the way forward! He has the yam and he also has the knife!

The work that man has on his hands is daunting........he is still building gutters and roads , nobody remembers his automobile and pharmaceutical production hubs.................Soludo needs a lot of help to hurry things along but I am not sure he has done enuff to galvanise that much needed help in terms of investment and human capital! Why will Soludo allow Stella okoli to carry the new Emzor factory to otta Ogun state? Give it to Peter Obi sha for getting SAB miller to invest.........though he had some leg with the company prior to him becoming Governor!

Obi got the message as they say in America and what he did is standard investment promotion. New York campaigned for Amazon to locate there for instance.

But if you are campaigning is it when your city transport is marked by tricycles and mini shuttle buses? There is a reason India gets tiny investment compared to China that went modern completely not accommodating primitivity.

I like what is happening in Enugu because the governor there gets it. He got Germans to design waterworks for him and pipe water from ninth mile to the city. He is building a massive bus terminus. That's city level thinking.

Onitsha meanwhile the trailers and buses coming into the city has been left to the one man touts to organize.

Onitsha goods everywhere but where are the factories? Where is the power for industry?

Designing cities requires vision and thoughtfulness. European cities the iconic symbols of cities are public infrastructure otherwise known as the people's money. New York City. George Washington Bridge, Hoover Tunnel, Subway, Central Park, Grand Central Station, Statue of Liberty, grid pattern of Avenues and roads.

Please name iconic or grand public infrastructure in Igbo cities. Even sculptures are hastily assembled without much thoughtbor quality. In the land of Enwonwu.

Soludo should stop begging Anambrarians to invest and give them many reasons to invest.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by NLegendforte: 10:30am On May 15
ebufa:

True words my brother...........Nobody is coming to save Alaigbo aside her own children! I like the way Soludo and Alex otti are gradually changing the narrative............by the time the road dualization of Amawbia - Ekwuluobia and Nnewi - Amawbia is completed the metamorphosis of Anambra will be clear even to the blind!
Una fon come again. Which road is being dualized in Nnewi.
Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by NLegendforte: 10:43am On May 15
Unbiased1:

You are on point

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Cjrane2: 12:22pm On May 15
ebufa:

What you said made a lot of sense.

The only thing is that you made it sound so simple. If the truth is told, this is the FIRST time in Anambra's history that any attempt has been made by the government to organize Onitsha. I lived in Onitsha all my life, so I know for a fact that the government simply abandoned the city to touts, crazy landlords building on top of gutters, crazy land speculators converting every open space into markets, and the uncontrolled influx of poor youths from all over Nigeria. All these factors combined into a perfect storm that turned Onitsha into a hell hole, a dirty, disorganized, and crime-ridden city. All of us quickly left Onitsha and migrated to Asaba where the presence of governance made it possible for the city to be a lawful habitable place.

You are right that Soludo has a lot of work to do. But at least he has started developing the state with a strategic vision. Most importantly he is keenly aware of the horrible impact of lawlessness, touting and indiscriminate building of illegal markets in stunting the development of a city and indeed the state.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Cjrane2: 12:40pm On May 15
Unbiased1:

You are so correct that I wish i could buy you a bottle of Hero! Yes, Igbo people are always drawn to trending things.

So if the first person who is popular in the community (typically the wealthiest in the village) makes a mistake in investing in Sambisa forest, his entire Umunna and state will follow him to Sambisa forest to do EXACTLY the same trend. Sadly, we have had near idiots as trendsetters in Igboland who did the wrong things and kickstarted a crazy trend of going to drag other peoples land to develop it for them rather than their own Igboland. We must also give kudos to the trend setters in towns like Nnewi and Abriba that kickstarted the trend of building mansions in their villages. A good trend that Igbo people have keyed into.

In fact, the ONLY reason our cities look the way they do is that our 'trend setters" have always gone into other people's villages in Daura to drag their land and develop it for them by force. Thus, the average Igboman would rather just follow a trend than pause to think if it makes sense or not before copying. That is why we have a people with the mindset that prefers to go into a village in Cameroon to drag their land with the people rather than invest in their own state capital.

However, if by some stroke of luck, somebody of importance does the right thing and invests in the type of infrastructure you mentioned, then it would become a positive trend that will catapult the entire region's development.
Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by GerogeI(m): 12:41pm On May 15
Nice discussion.
Are you guys aware that Emzor is planning to sink some 28 million USD somewhere in Ogun state, tomorrow she will start a media campaign to involve the rest of us when the usual suspects find a sophisticated reason to either take it from her or destroy it.

Governor Soludo should please call that woman and give her free land and a serious advice.

Another visionless one, is Oil Serve (Enerst Azudialor) and the Billions he wasted on a Sky scrapper in the middle of Victoria Island Lagos. OilServe as an oil service company work mainly in PH, Akwaibom, Cross River, Delta and Bayelsa. So sort of craziness made them go over half a thousand miles to build a skyscrapper head office in a place where they have absolutely no business. Hope they are wise to liquidate that asset through a bank loan and invest elsewhere.
Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Cjrane2: 12:55pm On May 15
GerogeI:
Nice discussion.
Are you guys aware that Emzor is planning to sink some 28 million USD somewhere in Ogun state, tomorrow she will start a media campaign to involve the rest of us when the usual perfect a sophisticated reason to either take it from her or destroy it.

Governor Soludo should please call that woman and give her free land and a serious advice.

Nothing to advise anyone. They are usually blind to reason and arrogantly believe that everyone else in the world is very stupid except them. Let them do as they please with their money. They look at profit-margin alone, and NOTHING else matters to them.

Just like you said, when the inevitable fate of what happened to her grandfathers and other silly Igbomen starts happening to her, she should just quietly bear the loss rather than do silly media campaigns to drag us into coming to defend their senseless decisions.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by GerogeI(m): 1:04pm On May 15
Another Anambra Lady, TecnoOil built an LPG gas cylinder Production factory in Epe Lagos, thinking she will sell to major oil retailers.

Till today, the factory is shut and unpatronized. Something that Onitsha traders would have taken to unimaginable levels via their distributed network if they were the original target.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by LOVEALAIGBO: 1:54pm On May 15
GerogeI:
Nice discussion.
Are you guys aware that Emzor is planning to sink some 28 million USD somewhere in Ogun state, tomorrow she will start a media campaign to involve the rest of us when the usual suspects find a sophisticated reason to either take it from her or destroy it.

Another visionless one, is Oil Serve (Enerst Azudialor) and the Billions he wasted on a Sky scrapper in the middle of Victoria Island Lagos. OilServe as an oil service company work mainly in PH, Akwaibom, Cross River, Delta and Bayelsa. So sort of craziness made them go over half a thousand miles to build a skyscrapper head office in a place where they have absolutely no business. Hope they are wise to liquidate that asset through a bank loan and invest elsewhere.

I think you meant NESTOIL not OILSERV.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by ebufa: 2:26pm On May 15
abuzz33:

Obi got the message as they say in America and what he did is standard investment promotion. New York campaigned for Amazon to locate there for instance.

But if you are campaigning is it when your city transport is marked by tricycles and mini shuttle buses? There is a reason India gets tiny investment compared to China that went modern completely not accommodating primitivity.

I like what is happening in Enugu because the governor there gets it. He got Germans to design waterworks for him and pipe water from ninth mile to the city. He is building a massive bus terminus. That's city level thinking.

Onitsha meanwhile the trailers and buses coming into the city has been left to the one man touts to organize.

Onitsha goods everywhere but where are the factories? Where is the power for industry?

Designing cities requires vision and thoughtfulness. European cities the iconic symbols of cities are public infrastructure otherwise known as the people's money. New York City. George Washington Bridge, Hoover Tunnel, Subway, Central Park, Grand Central Station, Statue of Liberty, grid pattern of Avenues and roads.

Please name iconic or grand public infrastructure in Igbo cities. Even sculptures are hastily assembled without much thoughtbor quality. In the land of Enwonwu.

Soludo should stop begging Anambrarians to invest and give them many reasons to invest.

That last sentence in your post "finish work" for me, I could not put it better myself! I was born into a trading family based in Lagos.........I knew when Igbo traders moved to Alaba international and when they moved to Aspamda...........Those 2 markets somewhat sanitized Isale Eko or Lagos island markets......the salutary effects also impacted Iddo bus terminus and Otto markets...............Onitsha needs a dedicated Town Development Authority....the way Otti established one for Aba. Way too many passenger and goods laden heavy commercial vehicles come into the center of onitsha! It just gives the town a near siege mentality........with all the bedlam that follows such traffic.

The second Niger bridge has opened up a complete new axis that soludo can exploit......why not locate a modern bus terminal in that axis like Enugu has designed for the chaotic holy ghost area?
I hear the same planet design coy that did Oshodi terminal is also doing the Enugu one!

We can mandate all luxury buses ,commuter buses ,trailers and semis to offload in the new terminals, we can co locate goods warehouses and storage units in that axis too! Way too many containers are offloaded inside onitsha markets............I dunno, town planning experts in the house can contribute.......I tire sef!

(1) (2) (3) ... (1317) (1318) (1319) (1320) (1321) (1322) (Reply)

Few Pics From Imo State / Abubakar Shekau, Boko Haram Leader Speaks To BBC Hausa, Enjoys Killing People.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 227