Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) - Travel (718) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Travel › Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) (1326785 Views)
1 2 3 ... 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 ... 971 Reply (Go Down)
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 9:13pm On Nov 16, 2024 |
Interesting article. Attempts to answer a simple question. Why has something so easy as migration not been cut despite every government of the last 20yrs promising to do so? PM after PM has been slaughtered on this alter yet each succesive one keeps coming for more... Abi na cocaine? Reminds me of a discussion with someone during the last riot - I reminded him that without migration, the UK is in an 'enviable' position where its population would naturally fall. We both wondered why they can't just cut migration to zero and in doing that solve all of our problems The broader objection that I would get from the prime minister and from the chancellor of the exchequer and other ministers, was that if we were going to cut immigration, then we would be actually cutting revenue”. She told us of “one conversation I had along the lines of, ‘Well, Suella, if you want to halve net migration to 300,000, you realise that's going to cost us £3 billion. That's the same as a cut to income tax.’” https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cjr40yxnvzpo
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 9:24pm On Nov 16, 2024*. Modified: 9:56pm On Nov 16, 2024 |
Goke7:Hehe... Na our lady finally.. Her views are not too distant from that of the general populace as regards immigrants. Interaction is part of education and she has also changed her tune with time. Irrespective of what happens in the short term, the seesaw of developed countries seeking immigrants would only get worse until such a time there is a balanced demography between the old and young. I can only hope developing nations pick up and get themselves out of thus quagmire just like China has done |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 9:39pm On Nov 16, 2024 |
Zahra29:Hehe... Zahra my soon to be British compatriot. I'm not 'moving' to Canada perse. Initially going for a stint abi sabbatical. Hoping to enjoy the experience and decide afterwards. Irrespective, I'd still be British. My tax and years of service would not be in vain. Canada has always recognised it needs more migration. How else did they have over 45% of their population to be of British heritage? Despite recent restrictions, they still continue to accept over 1% of their population annually as permanent residents aside others. My going there is to 'join body' with my fellow British compatriots in a sister state- remember Charley is also their monarch. BTW, I need your help with 2 things: 1. Prayers- I'm hoping the move prospers so I dont return soon. Eitherway, I'd complete necessary paperwork so if I decide to return within 3-5yrs, it should be straightforward. 2. Advise- I'm wondering what to do with my house. It's a detached house in the southern part of the country within which I have decent equity. Renting is quite steep. Do you think I should sell and move or rent? |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 9:54pm On Nov 16, 2024*. Modified: 1:26pm On Nov 18, 2024 |
justwise:Interesting. I wonder if this squeal by unis is just the usual British moan (e g winter fuel issue) or if they have really been served breakfast. Time will tell. The govt may look the way of U.S and increase fees more if some go under. Overall, I believe British fees should fully fund British education. I remember a longdrawn argument with Aunty Z where she was quite insistent that the revenue from foreign students was miniscule. '1%' I think she said. Another said foreign students were reducing the 'quality' of British education.. hehe. Who would have thought that when the cow stopped showing up, the butcher would be in dire straits. |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 10:26pm On Nov 16, 2024 |
lavida001:Not really, it has it's pros and cons. Unbridled capitalism or socialism is unviable - every nation needs to find their right mix. Capitalism only helps to accentuate the fact that he who has is more likely to acquire more. It has served America well. For an economy their size, their growth over tha last decade has been remarkable but the time has come for them to look more into distribution of accumulated wealth. One thing that continues to surprise me was how they moved from being the largest importer of crude to a significant exporter. Relative affordability there (aside a few select issues) is also quite good. Look at housing for instance - and compare to the UK
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Zahra29: 11:03pm On Nov 16, 2024 |
jedisco:Erm, no. My tune has remained very consistent over time. You might not agree with my views but this is because you don't like them/me (the truth is often a bitter pill to swallow) and not because they are false or misguided. |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Zahra29: 11:15pm On Nov 16, 2024*. Modified: 11:32pm On Nov 16, 2024 |
jedisco:Lol, you do love to talk. Fact is that Canada is no longer as immigration friendly as it used to be and if the Conservatives push Trudeau out as expected, their immigration laws will get a lot tighter. The same complaints you've had about the UK, its people,policies and govt, are very likely the same complaints you will have in Canada, if not more lol. Happy to help: 1. I pray that your heart's desires are granted. 2. I advise that you pray for wisdom to make the right decision. Shalom ![]() |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Zahra29: 11:30pm On Nov 16, 2024 |
Cyberknight:Touche lol Must be the former I reckon. I've come across a great deal of sophism on this forum so it must be a Naija trait ![]() |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goke7: 2:52pm On Nov 17, 2024 |
jedisco:This also applies to other western countries. Labour mobility is their wealth secret. Any attempt to disrupt will always lead to unfavourable outcomes for their economy. They can bang their heads on the wall it won’t change anything. Like we say in naija if e easy make dem run am! 😜 |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 4:33pm On Nov 17, 2024*. Modified: 9:20pm On Nov 17, 2024 |
Zahra29:Lol.. Regarding option 2, I'd ultimately see what interest rates do. If they're amicable, I'd keep it and possibly add another before my sabbatical as I gather the UK property market relatively primed. True, there's been some changes with their system but by contemporary standards, it's still generous. The main issue is seems is that British-Canadians who have been a historical huge supplier of Canadian migrants are now unable to supply as many new entrants but are strongly opposed to Indian-Canadians taking their position. I love the conservatives- many are capitalists like me and if the UK is pointer, we know where their migration there is ultimately headed. It'd be interesting to know why you chorus the last statement - is it fear of the unknown? It's like saying all equity investors would get same outcome irrespective of what companies/markets they are invested in. There are overarching issues but outcomes are very much different. I don't complain- only point out the effect/drivers of certain moves by my soon-to-be compatriots e.g Brexit which has been a blessing for me and many Nigerians. In my experience, location is a huge driver of attainment. Even in a field as regulated as mine, I know what difference location (even in thesame county) can make. Nationwide its more remarkable as earnings could almost double by switching location while still maintaining thesame or less workload and better QOL. Just like I highlighted the pros and cons of the British and Canadian visit visa system, different nations would come with different challenges. They'd hardly be thesame. |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 4:44pm On Nov 17, 2024*. Modified: 1:24pm On Nov 18, 2024 |
Goke7:Hehe... it's so easy to blame migrants for every issue. A while back, Nigeria blamed Ghanaians - what happened when we chased them away? Now SA are blaming other blacks The difference in the west is that the populace is much richer (i.e less ammenable to bvllsh*t) and with so many social benefits and a free electoral system, no one is going to sit back and see you make them poorer. Good example is the recent winter fuel payments where many rich boomers were really upset over a sum they could easily do without. It's a good example why politicians knowing fully well they'd loose votes on the altar of high migration keep going back for more |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 5:04pm On Nov 17, 2024 |
Congrats to Nigeria and Miss Chidinma Adetshina - (Miss Universe Nigeria, Africa and miss Oceania). The babes beauty dey enter my eye. I remember having the discussion here when she was advised to be 'realistic' and bow to bigots by pulling out and remaining silent. Imiagine where she would have been if she did that. Perhaps feeling suicidal. Nigeria came thru big on this.
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Treadway: 7:07pm On Nov 17, 2024 |
jedisco:the advise was clear, she took it, and now she is better for it. 'Come back to Naija and contest' worked out fine for her in the end. |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Hwy9: 7:13pm On Nov 17, 2024 |
Please, how can I send/ship items (fragile) to 9ja? |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Datakey: 8:28pm On Nov 17, 2024 |
Datakey: |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by NewT123: 8:41pm On Nov 17, 2024 |
Please what is the best LISA provider to use for first time home buyer and is there a way to max out the 4k in a 12 month period and get government bonus twice in the 12month? |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Samguine: 8:49pm On Nov 17, 2024 |
nlenq:Where is your location? Search for seasonal roles. Most stores/supermarkets are recruiting for Christmas/seasonal roles. Good luck. |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 9:22pm On Nov 17, 2024 |
NewT123:Cash or stock and shares LISA? Moneysaving expert has a good article on LISAs which is updated regularly. Deposit before and after April 6. But note some providers close deposits into investment accounts a few days before the end of the tax year |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by NewT123: 9:42pm On Nov 17, 2024 |
jedisco:Thanks bro, please is Moneybox a good cash Lisa provider to use or I can use anyone? |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 10:38pm On Nov 17, 2024 |
NewT123:I've used Moneybox cash LISA and had no issues with them. Also used DODL S&S LISA. I'm mainly focused on the fees. Most providers would be FCA regulated and deposits upto 85k would be insured. Finally, na u go decide |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by NewT123: 10:56pm On Nov 17, 2024 |
jedisco:Thank you for your response. I appreciate |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by dustydee: 2:26pm On Nov 18, 2024 |
Please does anyone know how to import food items to the UK from Nigeria in commercial quantities? I will appreciate if anyone has a guide to share or point me to where I can find such information. Thank you. |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Zahra29: 4:33pm On Nov 18, 2024 |
There is a debate this afternoon in the House of Commons on an e-motion seeking to reduce the time that foreign healthcare workers in the UK have to wait to qualify for indefinite leave to remain (ILR)from five years to two years: https://commonslibrary.parliament.uk/research-briefings/cdp-2024-0150/ @Jedisco, it's not too late to lobby your MP to support this motion if you haven't already. |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Zahra29: 4:41pm On Nov 18, 2024 |
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c238ngy8mm5o.amp Black men are at a much higher risk for prostate cancer - 1 / 4 versus 1 / 13 for Asian men for example. NHS screening tests are available from the age of 50, but if you have a family history of prostate cancer you should be able to request surveillance tests earlier. Make sure you're registered and up to date with your GP. |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 5:39pm On Nov 18, 2024 |
dustydee:Also need more info on this. The lowest I've got is 7k from Lag. Also need info on sending stuff back. I mean large stuff. Know a few who do but unsure abt the cost-effectiveness |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 5:47pm On Nov 18, 2024 |
Zahra29:Though happy to be proved wrong, I can guestimate how this would end. I'm expecting some virtue signalling detailing all the pros of 'integration' when the real reason is more visa fee and the leverage it affords the government. BTW, I signed the petition a long time ago and received a notification of the debate. The reality is that the time to ILR is more likely to be increased to 7 years than be reduced to 2 yrs. All you need is a few media articles and a new Suellet chorusing how a rising number of these imigrant medics are planning on japa 2.0. On a personal note, I'm not bothered- counting days to be a British compatriot |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 5:52pm On Nov 18, 2024 |
Live link to the parliamentary session https://parliamentlive.tv/Event/Index/4da818c6-6984-4f0a-87d2-df5214973681 |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Zahra29: 6:06pm On Nov 18, 2024 |
jedisco:Lol, what about the many others who still have years to go. They won't increase it to 7 years but they won't reduce it to 2 years either. Even Labour MPs would agree with the Suellas on the flight risk from the care sector. |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by AgentXxx(m): 6:09pm On Nov 18, 2024 |
I have a brother-in-law who is based in Nigeria but engages in export. I can connect you with him. dustydee: |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by BeckyB1(f): 6:23pm On Nov 18, 2024 |
Zahra29:@Zahra greetings 🤗. I have been checking my email but did not see anything. I waited till now not to bother you but... Situation has not changed. Please if you can still help me with advice or links, I would appreciate. Thank you. |
| Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Thegamingorca(m): 12:34am On Nov 19, 2024 |
Zahra29:Did this still happen? |
Living In The USA - Life Of An Immigrant Part 1 • Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) • Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 • 2 • 3 • 4
Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 8 • Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 • USA Visit Visa Part 3
Viewing this topic: gmacnoms(m) and 1 guest(s)