Stats: 3,325,489 members, 8,422,307 topics. Date: Monday, 08 June 2026 at 05:27 AM

10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection - Romance - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralRomance10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection (26568 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply (Go Down)

10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op):
As a Nigerian man who got married in his early 20s, I can now look back with clarity and say I wasn’t fully ready. Back then, the pressure to settle down felt real. Family, church, and society made it seem like once you hit 25 and have a good job, marriage and having kids should be your next goal.

With time and experience, I’ve come to see that marrying in your 30s or even early 40s can be a much better decision for a man. If you're in that age range and people are trying to make you feel late, don't let it shake you. In many ways, it might actually be your advantage.

Here are 10 solid reasons why marrying late, for men like me, could make all the difference:

1. You Understand Yourself Better
In your 30s and 40s, you’ve had time to figure yourself out: your values, your habits, your triggers, and what kind of life you actually want. That self-awareness makes it easier to enter a marriage with direction and purpose, not confusion.

This one is the BIGGEST of my reasons for my discussion. In your twenties, you think you know yourself and your desires and as you grow and have more exposures your expectations will change and you may grow to despise what you loved10/15 years ago and are able to make better decisions.

2. You're More Financially Prepared
In your early 20s, you’re usually just starting out. Money is tight, and the demands of marriage can be overwhelming. By your 30s or 40s, you've likely built some income stability, gained work experience, and learned how to manage money, which can reduce stress at home.

3. You’re Emotionally More Mature
When you’re younger, pride and ego get in the way. Older men tend to respond to issues with more calm, they know how to apologize, and they understand that love is not always about feelings but about decisions and sacrifice.

4. You've Lived a Little
Some men who marry young later feel like they missed out on life. Marrying late gives you time to explore, make mistakes, travel, grow, and learn. You go into marriage with fewer regrets and a sense of fulfillment.

5. You Choose a Partner with More Clarity
In your 20s, it's easy to choose based on looks, pressure, or church vibes. Later in life, you know what you want, and you can see red flags early. You choose someone for real compatibility, not just chemistry.

6. Your Communication Skills Are Stronger
With age comes experience. You’ve probably been through disagreements, breakups, and reconciliations. By now, you’ve learned how to listen, explain yourself clearly, and handle conflict with less drama.

7. You Take Responsibility with Less Stress
Responsibility is part of marriage. When you're younger, it can feel heavy and frustrating. But older men tend to carry it better. They know it’s not about showing off; it’s just life.

8. Fewer External Distractions
By your 30s or 40s, your circle is smaller and more mature. Peer pressure fades. You’re less likely to be swayed by noise from friends or social media. That peace helps you focus on your home.

9. You're More Independent from Family Pressure
When you're younger, parents and relatives often have too much say in your personal choices. As an older man, you're more confident in your decisions. You set boundaries and protect your marriage from outside influence.

10. You Appreciate the Relationship More
At this stage in life, you’ve seen failed marriages. Maybe you’ve had your heart broken. So when love comes and it feels right, you treat it with care. You don’t rush, and you don’t take your partner for granted.

Final Thoughts
Getting married in your 30s or 40s doesn’t mean you're behind. For many men, especially in today’s world, it’s when you're finally ready , mentally, emotionally, and financially. If you’re still single and people are calling you late, remind yourself that it’s better to enter marriage prepared than to dive in early and struggle. Marriage is not a race. It’s a long journey. Starting it with the right mindset can make all the difference. Additionally, some of the reasons for early marriages are to start having children, but this is 2025, where having many children is no longer in vogue like it used to be. You are now able to choose the right fit for yourself with a mature mind and good mental clarity.

Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by saviourGeorge: 7:40pm On Aug 03, 2025
Op ur so right
You've made some reasonable points
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op): 7:50pm On Aug 03, 2025
So to explain better, in the early 20s, religion was a big deal for me and it was important to marry someone very religious, now as I mature, I have to come to realize I was only a victim of religious indoctrinations and cannot stand religious women.

In the 20s, I thought I love kids like everyone in my society, as I grew and matured, i realized that was not the case.

In the 20s, I believed the biggest quality to date and marry a lady is virginity and her spirituality. I have come to realize these are totally wrong criterias. You see where I am going?

I also believed premarital sex was a sin, and the only way to satisfy the raging of my youthful hormones was to get married. As I grew and matured, I realized two consenting adults can have sex as many times as they want, and nothing is sinful about it.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op): 7:59pm On Aug 03, 2025
Also, unconsciously and without realizing it, we are in constant competition in our society, like the first to graduate, the first to marry, the first to have kids. In hindsight and looking back, I realized these things are meaningless as we all have our separate lives to live, so to a greater extent, these needs to be first always drives people into early marriages.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Demigod22: 8:40pm On Aug 03, 2025
My two elder brothers married late, one married mid 40s and the second early 40s. I have personally resolved not to marry that late, even though they had children before marriage.

Agreeing with your point, I will consider marriage in my mid 30s, at this point,my goals and personal growth comes before any thing else.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op): 8:49pm On Aug 03, 2025
Demigod22:
My two elder brothers married late, one married mid 40s and the second early 40s. I have personally resolved not to marry that late, even though they had children before marriage.

Agreeing with your point, I will consider marriage in my mid 30s, at this point,my goals and personal growth comes before any thing else.
Mid 30s is still fine as you have matured, seen life experiences, understand yourself better and, able to make quality life decisions
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op): 8:50pm On Aug 03, 2025
Demigod22:

Your brothers, what are their experiences? Are they happy or regreting about marrying lates?
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by VinnyBaba: 9:50pm On Aug 03, 2025
Kudos to you, OP.👍

Those days, Pple used to laugh at those Igbo Traders that waited till 39,40 yrs before getting married. sad

Now, I discover that those Guys were Wise. cool

In today's Nigeria, you need Solid Financial Backbone and maturity to keep a good marriage. smiley

Many Guys who married at 26,27yrs seem to have Turbulent marriages
and many have Desires to sleep with Young Girls bcus they did not enjoy their youth. undecided undecided
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op): 10:05pm On Aug 03, 2025
VinnyBaba:
Kudos to you, OP.👍

Those days, Pple used to laugh at those Igbo Traders that waited till 39,40 yrs before getting married. sad

Now, I discover that those Guys were Wise. cool

In today's Nigeria, you need Solid Financial Backbone and maturity to keep a good marriage. smiley

Many Guys who married at 26,27yrs seem to have Turbulent marriages
and many have Desires to sleep with Young Girls bcus they did not enjoy their youth. undecided undecided
Most did not even know what they wanted before diving into marriages.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Kalatium(m): 10:10pm On Aug 03, 2025
Nnamdipapa:
As a Nigerian man who got married in his early 20s, I can now look back with clarity and say I wasn’t fully ready. Back then, the pressure to settle down felt real. Family, church, and society made it seem like once you hit 25 and have a good job, marriage and having kids should be your next goal. But with time and experience, I’ve come to see that marrying in your 30s or even early 40s can be a much better decision for a man. If you're in that age range and people are trying to make you feel late, don't let it shake you. In many ways, it might actually be your advantage.

Here are 10 solid reasons why marrying late, for men like me, could make all the difference:

1. You Understand Yourself Better
In your 30s and 40s, you’ve had time to figure yourself out: your values, your habits, your triggers, and what kind of life you actually want. That self-awareness makes it easier to enter a marriage with direction and purpose, not confusion.
This one is the BIGGEST of my reasons for my discussion. In your twenties, you think you know yourself and your desires and as you grow and have more exposures your expectations will change and you may grow to despise what you hated 10 years ago and are able to make better decisions.

2. You're More Financially Prepared
In your early 20s, you’re usually just starting out. Money is tight, and the demands of marriage can be overwhelming. By your 30s or 40s, you've likely built some income stability, gained work experience, and learned how to manage money, which can reduce stress at home.

3. You’re Emotionally More Mature
When you’re younger, pride and ego get in the way. Older men tend to respond to issues with more calm, they know how to apologize, and they understand that love is not always about feelings but about decisions and sacrifice.

4. You've Lived a Little
Some men who marry young later feel like they missed out on life. Marrying late gives you time to explore, make mistakes, travel, grow, and learn. You go into marriage with fewer regrets and a sense of fulfillment.

5. You Choose a Partner with More Clarity
In your 20s, it's easy to choose based on looks, pressure, or church vibes. Later in life, you know what you want, and you can see red flags early. You choose someone for real compatibility, not just chemistry.

6. Your Communication Skills Are Stronger
With age comes experience. You’ve probably been through disagreements, breakups, and reconciliations. By now, you’ve learned how to listen, explain yourself clearly, and handle conflict with less drama.

7. You Take Responsibility with Less Stress
Responsibility is part of marriage. When you're younger, it can feel heavy and frustrating. But older men tend to carry it better. They know it’s not about showing off; it’s just life.

8. Fewer External Distractions
By your 30s or 40s, your circle is smaller and more mature. Peer pressure fades. You’re less likely to be swayed by noise from friends or social media. That peace helps you focus on your home.

9. You're More Independent from Family Pressure
When you're younger, parents and relatives often have too much say in your personal choices. As an older man, you're more confident in your decisions. You set boundaries and protect your marriage from outside influence.

10. You Appreciate the Relationship More
At this stage in life, you’ve seen failed marriages. Maybe you’ve had your heart broken. So when love comes and it feels right, you treat it with care. You don’t rush, and you don’t take your partner for granted.

Final Thoughts
Getting married in your 30s or 40s doesn’t mean you're behind. For many men, especially in today’s world, it’s when you're finally ready , mentally, emotionally, and financially. If you’re still single and people are calling you late, remind yourself that it’s better to enter marriage prepared than to dive in early and struggle. Marriage is not a race. It’s a long journey. Starting it with the right mindset can make all the difference. Additionally, some of the reasons for early marriages are to start having children, but this is 2025, where having many children is no longer in vogue like it used to be. You are now able to choose the right fit for yourself with a mature mind and good mental clarity.
This is apt
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Baronthecelebri(m): 5:02am On Aug 04, 2025
God bless you richly for this
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op): 5:26am On Aug 04, 2025
Baronthecelebri:
God bless you richly for this
Uou are welcome.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Peakdesign23(f): 6:31am On Aug 04, 2025
You're on point but there are some people who aren't financially stable in their 30's and 40's and would want kids, even if everything is not working out, some are staying with their parents. What is your advice?
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op): 6:52am On Aug 04, 2025
Peakdesign23:
You're on point but there are some people who aren't financially stable in their 30's and 40's and would want kids, even if everything is not working out, some are staying with their parents. What is your advice?
Are you talking about having a child like without being married/in a relationship while still living with the parents?
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Peakdesign23(f): 8:12am On Aug 04, 2025
Nnamdipapa:
Are you talking about having a child like without being married/in a relationship while still living with the parents?
Yes please
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op):
Peakdesign23:
Yes please
If your parents or family members are willing to support you, I don't see anything wrong if you really love to have a child

You must understand its tough decison that is draining financially and emotionally. Raising a kid by two adults is tasking enough, it will be more complicated if only you have to do the work alone.

In the past, I have always advised single ladies in their late 30s, early to mid 40s who are financially stable to consider getting pregnant and having a chîld.
So nothing wrong with the idea if your famîy members are playing along with you. Not everyone will end up married or in a relationship.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by francisobiabo(m): 6:37pm On Aug 04, 2025
I quite agree with you.... Very apt...

Nnamdipapa:
If your parents or family members are willing to support you, I don't see anything wrong if you really love to have a child

You must understand as tought decison both financially and emotionally. Raising a kid by two parents is tough and will be more complicated if only you have to do the work. In the past, I have always advised single ladies in their late 30s, early to mid 40s who are financially stable to consider getting pregnant and having a chîld.
So nothing wrong with the idea if your famîy members are playing along with you. Not everyone will end up married or in a relationship.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by tanigororo: 7:10pm On Aug 04, 2025
But it's not easy for a man of 40 to find a suitable partner, most especially if you are a little bit comfortable. You will get lots of options, you start thinking with your head not your heart. Which can be annoying sometimes even to yourself.
In the end you will discover that no girl can have it all
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op): 7:21pm On Aug 04, 2025
tanigororo:
But it's not easy for a man of 40 to find a suitable partner, most especially if you are a little bit comfortable. You will get lots of options, you start thinking with your head not your heart. Which can be annoying sometimes even to yourself.
In the end you will discover that no girl can have it all
At 40, you are supposed to be more mature both emotionallyand financially, understand yourself well and think better so less chances of making mistakes in relationship. You are also supposed to have dated lots of ladies and accumulate real life experiences.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by jmoore(m): 8:24pm On Aug 04, 2025
I will marry a virgin.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by elobrave17: 5:47am On Aug 05, 2025
Op you made some good points but if I should take back the hands of time, I would have married at mid twenties. Nothing beats having kids on time bro. I have seen many men that married late struggle to raise their children at old age.
Dear men please make hay while it shines biko. Them no dey tell person.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op): 8:31am On Aug 05, 2025
elobrave17:
Op you made some good points but if I should take back the hands of time, I would have married at mid twenties. Nothing beats having kids on time bro. I have seen many men that married late struggle to raise their children at old age.
Dear men please make hay while it shines biko. Them no dey tell person.
There is nothing like struggling to raise kids when you are financially and emotionally mature. The people who struggle to raise kids are those who married early or those who chose to have many kids.

The secret formula is to marry late and have one kid.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op): 8:31am On Aug 05, 2025
jmoore:
I will marry a virgin.
Good for you
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Onegai(f):
Whilst there are some good points to this write-up, there are problematic areas as well.

Nobody knows the right time to get married, because there is no right time. Lagos High Court is filled with divorce cases of people who got married in their 20's, 30's and 40's. And I live in an area where I'm surrounded by marriages from men who waited till later to get married and they're not happy either.

I thought I knew myself but the me I am right now, will be different from the me in 10 years' time. Why? Because people aren't static. Life will test you and push you. And in a weird way, the me I am now is similar to the me from my 20's. So as people change, they remain the same.

You're not going become a Responsible man because you hit 42, if that were true there would be no deadbeat dads 😉

You have to work on yourself if you want a good marriage. Especially if you're a man. And that has nothing to do with your age. You have to be honest and look at yourself and ask yourself:
"am I worthy of God giving me my helpmate to love, nurture and cherish or will I destroy her and myself?"

(Most times, almost all of us are not and most of us will forget this halfway through marriage due to anger, resentment and disappointment. A lot of men don't realize how much their part to play in a marriage is and how the success of it depends on them).

Finally, I'll say is this:

Everyone, please be careful of whom gives you advice. People speak from their own experiences, rather than what is biblically sound.

So test whatever you read and learn against God's unchanging Word.

And I'm saying that last line as someone who wasn't a Christian until recently. Even when I wasn't a Christian, I still read the Bible and it made sense from a logical standpoint. Which, compared to other philosophical books and even religious books, is quite hard to beat.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Maeve7: 3:37pm On Aug 05, 2025
I agree. But the biggest disadvantage is that you get to have kids rather late so you might not live long enough to see your grandchildren.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op): 5:30pm On Aug 05, 2025
Maeve7:
I agree. But the biggest disadvantage is that you get to have kids rather late so you might not live long enough to see your grandchildren.
I used to think like that too but this is mental programming from our society which has been ingrained in us from birth. Your happiness or success in life does not depend on having kids early or late. I have kids early and I regret it because I had to spend all my early adulthood tending to kids. I know what I had to give up for this.

Kids are raised with resources and if you have invested and worked for some time before piling on responsibilities, you will be able to take care of your kids and you can even pay others to help out instead of spending your early adult life being stressed out.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Maeve7: 9:26pm On Aug 05, 2025
Nnamdipapa:
I used to think like that too but this is mental programming from our society which has been ingrained in us from birth. Your happiness or success in life does not depend on having kids early or late. I have kids early and I regret it because I had to spend all my early adulthood tending to kids. I know what I had to give up for this.

Kids are raised with resources and if you have invested and worked for some time before piling on responsibilities, you will be able to take care of your kids and you can even pay others to help out instead of spending your early adult life being stressed out.
I had mine later than the average person and I think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. However, a big disadvantage is that I won’t be there for my kids for as long as those parents who had kids at a younger age.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Nnamdipapa(op): 9:38pm On Aug 05, 2025
Maeve7:
I had mine later than the average person, and I think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. However, a big disadvantage is that I won’t be there for my kids for as long as those parents who had kids at a younger age.
I had kids early, my kids are teenagers now, and they do their things themselves, don't care or think about me except when they need something from me. I prefer to have kids later in life if I do it again. I should prioritize myself over anyone, kids or family.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Demigod22: 8:47am On Aug 06, 2025
Nnamdipapa:
Your brothers, what are their experiences? Are they happy or regreting about marrying lates?
The immediate elder brother seems happier, the wife is submissive and productive and respectful and she's really caring and lovely.

The first born, well I don't spend much time with them but he seems in love.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Demigod22: 8:47am On Aug 06, 2025
Nnamdipapa:
Mid 30s is still fine as you have matured, seen life experiences, understand yourself better and, able to make quality life decisions
Yeah, I agree.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by Maeve7: 10:48am On Aug 06, 2025
Nnamdipapa:
I had kids early, my kids are teenagers now, and they do their things themselves, don't care or think about me except when they need something from me. I prefer to have kids later in life if I do it again. I should prioritize myself over anyone, kids or family.
You have helped me see it from a different perspective. Thank you.
Re: 10 Honest benefits of marrying In late 30s or early 40s - A sober reflection by GloriousGbola: 11:43am On Aug 06, 2025
Nnamdipapa:

it also works the other way - better to have kids when you are young and have energy. also better to have them when you are starting out and dont have that many things they can break

chasing pikins when you are older and have many more responsibilities is stress in itself.
and having money may mean outsourcing the rearing of the children which means you have no real relationship with them

also as a nigerian, knowing yourself and knowing what you want in a woman may not really mean that much

it is in obodo oyibo where the spectrum of marriageable women goes beyond church/mosque babe.

also a unique naija phenomenon - that fun chick, that randy chick , that party girl - it seems they become very religious when they grow older. even the regular chicks same thing. so saying i want to maarry a chick who is not too religious and has a sense of fun may not mean anything in the long run

i was looking through FB and seeing as some absolutely wild chicks i knew back in school are now deeply religious and dropping quran/bible verses was disconcerting

if not for my last born - i would simply know that in the next five -six years my kids would be out of uni and i would be free and have my life for myself
1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply

If You Are A Lady In Your Late 30s And Still Single, Please read This - OpinionGetting Married At 35. Is It Late, Normal Or early For Guys.I'm Only Attracted To Ladies In Their Late 30s And Early 40s234

Kenyan Man Propose To His Boyfriend, Got Engaged (photo)How Do You Convince A Girl Who Told You She Already Has A LoverThe Traditional Marriage Of Two Nairalanders (pic)