Stats: 3,326,423 members, 8,426,458 topics. Date: Sunday, 14 June 2026 at 10:09 AM

Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) - Travel (895) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralTravelLiving In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) (1326418 Views)

1 2 3 ... 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 ... 971 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Santa2: 2:28pm On Oct 21, 2025
HustlaOfLagos:
Thanks for the reply and the website! Make I dey plan in advance incase I'll still be here. grin

I just checked Locrating, pretty good tool.
I wonder why we dont have basic stuff to help with decision making like this in Nigeria. Everyone wants to build fintech instead of stuff that can help regular folk but I understand it can be difficult as Naija gov doesn't even have access to basic stats

Na statistics we go chop? grin
That a fintech unicorn idea you have in your hands grin. You just might be the next paystack or flutterwave.. locratingNg is wait for you to be built smiley
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Lefty500: 10:57am On Oct 22, 2025
bigtt76:
And when the French authorities took it literally by slashing the boats before they left for the waters, the same bits were complaining about human rights, makes you wonder what they want. They prefer legal migration to be cut... people that work and pay tax o, do they think people would leave high paying jobs to be claiming benefits. How dem wan take survive? Now their school fees are going to be raised again due to low international students enrolment 🫣
The elites and the politicians know what they are doing. They don't want to be held responsible for bad decisions and failing infrastructures. So they pitch their people against the immigrants.

Initially, they said the immigrants are the ones taking your jobs, so their folks just relaxed and start claiming benefits.
Now the system is chocked.

Now, it is the immigrant that are taking the benefits. When it's written on their documents that they cannot have access to public fund.

It just baffles me how these politicians attack legal migrants and ignore the illegals one.

Illegal migrants dey enjoy pass legal ones.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by lavida001: 6:10pm On Oct 22, 2025
Gurus in the house and those with bia bia aka Goatee. How Una dey treat and maintain am? Which beard cream or oil will keep it dark and shiny. My beard don grey finish.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by bigtt76(f): 10:10pm On Oct 22, 2025
They can't risk the repercussions in their own citizens when they travel or live in other EU countries. Ordinary queuing up at the airport gates de vex dem how much having to be subjected to other things because they are not part of the ECHR 😂

HustlaOfLagos:
At the bolded, lots of talk about leaving the EHCR already in place

https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/729027

Last week Kemi Badenoch announced that the Conservative Party would take the UK out of the European Convention of Human Rights if they won the next election.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cm283eqje03o

I said on this thread that they will be left with only people who will claim benefits in record numbers if they keep attacking legal migrants.

Time will tell smiley
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by bigtt76(f): 10:15pm On Oct 22, 2025
Really beats me when they keep talking about benefits after I left my high paying job for Naija, spent high to gain specialised knowledge, worked in my chosen career for 5 years on COS then after getting ILR I go no resign begin de claim £300 per week benefit? They must be out of their mind that I will chose to leave on the table millions to be made owning own business with peace of mind ILR brings with it.

Goodenoch:
The bolded is the bit that gets me every time. You think I paid 20k plus upfront for my one year masters (apart from application fee, IHS etc) as part of some grand strategy to sit down waiting for 300 ish pounds per month?

As how nau. What will I do with that?

Of course there are other benefits that people are entitled to but the fundamental point is why on earth would someone who paid such substantial sums be thought to be planning to become reliant on benefits?
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by HustlaOfLagos: 8:41am On Oct 23, 2025
bigtt76:
They can't risk the repercussions in their own citizens when they travel or live in other EU countries. Ordinary queuing up at the airport gates de vex dem how much having to be subjected to other things because they are not part of the ECHR 😂
Want to eat their cake and have it

They think say EU na Nigeria grin
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by HustlaOfLagos: 8:42am On Oct 23, 2025
lavida001:
Gurus in the house and those with bia bia aka Goatee. How Una dey treat and maintain am? Which beard cream or oil will keep it dark and shiny. My beard don grey finish.
Consultation fee - £1,250

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by lavida001: 3:10pm On Oct 23, 2025
HustlaOfLagos:
Consultation fee - £1,250

You don turn owo mi da grin
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by HustlaOfLagos: 8:18pm On Oct 23, 2025
lavida001:
You don turn owo mi da grin
Yes naw

Na UK teach us work grin
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by thaotech: 10:12pm On Oct 24, 2025
jedisco:
Interesting. Had similar discussions a while back. It ended with me asking the bloke why folks aren't chasing Argentinian government debt with 'massive' yields
When I see a country offering 20% in government debt, my initial question is why? Except one catches the tide tide well e.g with the recent naira devaluation and frantic dollar hype followed by high rates and a steady currency, otherwise such moves usually come back to bite. The last time 9ja offered such rates, many forex holders who delved in lost a lot as the naira devalued much more than their gain.

If like in this case, the person is relocating, then all good but personally, I'd still hedge my bets.
Chief, I present cephalic sir
I'd really love to get your guidance regarding several pathway considerations if you don't mind.
Can I send a pm?
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by thaotech: 12:40am On Oct 25, 2025
thaotech:
I'd really love to get your guidance regarding several pathway considerations if you don't mind.
Can I send a pm?
Be careful folks, especially people who have contact details in their previous posts. This lowlife tried to impersonate jedisco, claiming he tried to quote my message but anti spam bot prevented him from doing so.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 3:39am On Oct 25, 2025
thaotech:
Can I send a pm?
My brother/sister I greet.

I prefer to have conversations here to preserve my anonymity an make others fit chip in. Alternatively, u fit quote me on a forgotten thread on a remote section of Nairaland
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by jedisco(m): 3:40am On Oct 25, 2025
thaotech:
Be careful folks, especially people who have contact details in their previous posts. This lowlife tried to impersonate jedisco, claiming he tried to quote my message but anti spam bot prevented him from doing so.
Hehe... you see wetin I dey tok.

Aggressive blokes full ground
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by justwise(mod): 10:35am On Oct 25, 2025
jedisco:
Hehe... you see wetin I dey tok.

Aggressive blokes full ground
Exactly why i don't do dm thing, i keep all nairaland related open here
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goke7: 11:58am On Oct 25, 2025
jedisco:
My brother/sister I greet.

I prefer to have conversations here to preserve my anonymity a make others fit chip in. Alternatively, u fit quote me on a forgotten thread on a remote section of Nairaland
dem don dey impersonate you? 😂aaah you have made it in life bruv. Congratulations! Can I have you as mentor? How much is your fee? 😂
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by sharkdodo14: 1:46am On Oct 26, 2025
Good morning everyone, this is quite urgent and would appreciate every help. I need to renew my Nigerian passport latest in December (expires December) but the closest date is in February, how do I navigate this please?
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goodenoch: 7:07am On Oct 26, 2025
bigtt76:
Really beats me when they keep talking about benefits after I left my high paying job for Naija, spent high to gain specialised knowledge, worked in my chosen career for 5 years on COS then after getting ILR I go no resign begin de claim £300 per week benefit? They must be out of their mind that I will chose to leave on the table millions to be made owning own business with peace of mind ILR brings with it.
💯

Just to say it's not 300 per week ó it's 300 PER MONTH.

If you’re single and under 25 £316.98
If you’re single and 25 or over £400.14
If you live with your partner and you’re both under 25 £497.55 (for you both)
If you live with your partner and either of you are 25 or over £628.10 (for you both)

Yes it surprised me too when I found out.

So Joe Public thinks I'm planning that the very day after ILR I'll tell my wife "Honey we have arrived, it's time to stop working and start living off the British state by sharing our free largesse of 600 pounds every month" 🤣
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by bigtt76(f): 8:31am On Oct 26, 2025
Thanks for clarifying the amount. 🤣 £300 na hin de think say go sustain families who are living their lives jejely? They need a rethink and this forms a good storyline to submit as evidence to the consultation they've called on the ILR.

Goodenoch:
💯

If you live with your partner and either of you are 25 or over £628.10 (for you both)

So Joe Public thinks I'm planning that the very day after ILR I'll tell my wife "Honey we have arrived, it's time to stop working and start living off the British state by sharing our free largesse of 600 pounds every month" 🤣
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by bigtt76(f): 8:32am On Oct 26, 2025
Have you tried the contactless option?

sharkdodo14:
Good morning everyone, this is quite urgent and would appreciate every help. I need to renew my Nigerian passport latest in December (expires December) but the closest date is in February, how do I navigate this please?
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Osoderi(m): 8:43am On Oct 26, 2025
Good morning house I am looking for information on applying for UK citizenship by descent for a child born abroad.(Nigeria)

please, If you've gone through this process or know someone who has, please share your experiences. Specifically, what documents were required, and how did you submit the MM1 application? how long did it take the baby to join u in the UK.

Sharing your knowledge will help others who are going through the same process. pls kindly share and advise. Thank you
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by HustlaOfLagos: 9:12am On Oct 26, 2025
Goodenoch:
💯

They also get other benefits which can take it up to £2,000.

Housing too - speaking for those with mental health conditions though smiley

It comes with restrictions like not being able to travel for long periods, going to the job centre to "check in" etc. In all, its not worth it and I honestly don't expect someone from Nigeria who has a functioning brain and isnt disabled to go anywhere near it

smiley
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goodenoch: 9:40am On Oct 26, 2025
HustlaOfLagos:
They also get other benefits which can take it up to £2,000.

Housing too - speaking for those with mental health conditions though smiley

It comes with restrictions like not being able to travel for long periods, going to the job centre to "check in" etc. In all, its not worth it and I honestly don't expect someone from Nigeria who has a functioning brain and isnt disabled to go anywhere near it

smiley
I doubt the bolded, unless it's for much larger families than a single person or a couple like we have been saying. I just checked, and even the housing gets netted against the full UC money, based on my (admittedly very brief) checks just now. ETA: There's a benefit cap as well; far less than that - https://www.swindon.gov.uk/info/20013/benefits_and_swindon_money_matters/681/benefit_cap

But yes the summary is as you've said in the last paragraph. I have never seen anyone who came in as a student or SW who's even remotely thinking about benefits as a goal post ILR.

Me wey I dey hustle so me and my madam can retire at 55 na him I go dey aim for UC? Abeg.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goke7: 10:29am On Oct 26, 2025
Goodenoch:
I doubt the bolded, unless it's for much larger families than a single person or a couple like we have been saying. I just checked, and even the housing gets netted against the full UC money, based on my (admittedly very brief) checks just now. ETA: There's a benefit cap as well; far less than that - https://www.swindon.gov.uk/info/20013/benefits_and_swindon_money_matters/681/benefit_cap

But yes the summary is as you've said in the last paragraph. I have never seen anyone who came in as a student or SW who's even remotely thinking about benefits as a goal post ILR.

Me wey I dey hustle so me and my madam can retire at 55 na him I go dey aim for UC? Abeg.
There is a lot of manipulation and fraud going on that makes many folks get so much than the figures quoted. This is why the idea of Digital ID is being introduced, which is also being resisted grin
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by HustlaOfLagos: 11:14am On Oct 26, 2025
Goodenoch:

I honestly don't know about benefits in-depth but residents had £40K saved up in some cases.

Where I used to work, housing alone is about £900- £1K per month, add utilities to it too, around £300...
It's usually - PIP, ESA, UC, housing and those who go to school either have it subsidized and they still collect one money as they attend classes (don't know what this one is called).

Some also work cash in hand jobs lowkey (usually to fund their habit)

Lots going on in this country per benefits LOL
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by HustlaOfLagos: 11:15am On Oct 26, 2025
Goke7:
There is a lot of manipulation and fraud going on that makes many folks get so much than the figures quoted. This is why the idea of Digital ID is being introduced, which is also being resisted grin
Just remembered that they also get one car loan / subsidized car loan stuff.

One of our ex-residents pulled up in a Benz wearing Gucci and a £3K watch and me still dey find school fees

Out of curiosity, how will the digital ID help curb stuff like this? It seems the UK gov will go ahead with implementing the digital ID stuff despite pushback
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Zahra29: 11:29am On Oct 26, 2025
luqken:
Thank you Zahra29 has always. Please can you direct me to a document that provides this clarification. I really appreciate your assistance
You're very welcome.

Apologies for the late response. See below gov link. There are four main requirements to be met for those applying for settlement as dependant children:
- Age Requirement
- Independent Life Requirement
- Care Requirement
- Relationship Requirement

Essentially factors like being under 18 at the time of application, not married or living an independent life, living with parent or parents who are settled or applying for settlement on the same route as the child dependant.

https://www.gov.uk/indefinite-leave-to-remain-family/child-family-visa
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Zahra29:
bigtt76:
Thanks for clarifying the amount. 🤣 £300 na hin de think say go sustain families who are living their lives jejely? They need a rethink and this forms a good storyline to submit as evidence to the consultation they've called on the ILR.
Benefits/public funds are broader and more complex than what is being discussed on this thread.

For example, there are in-work benefits for those who are employed but on a low income and this includes financial support like housing benefit, universal credit and council tax reduction. Many people/families receive this type of financial support to "top-up" their earnings and many migrants on lower incomes will also require/be eligible for this.

There are other types of benefits such child benefit, child care funding etc - which can add up to hundreds of pounds a month- that the vast majority of working families also receive unless you're a very high earner.

Benefits go beyond the stereotypical "sit at home and claim job seekers allowance of £92 a week"
1 2 3 ... 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 ... 971 Reply

Living In The USA - Life Of An Immigrant Part 1Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2)Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2234

Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 8Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21USA Visit Visa Part 3