Stats: 3,324,985 members, 8,419,831 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 12:41 AM

I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsI'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer (17931 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 Reply (Go Down)

Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by Heffalump(m):
Racoon:
You have only embarrassed yourself before a young military officer
He was visibly scared and couldn't go further into the premises from where his movement was halted. He even said "....you would have killed everybody". Those are the words of a coward. grin grin grin
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by AMINDA: 12:39pm On Nov 12, 2025
The intimidator has now been intimidated and cowed into submission. Power pass power.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by PoLItiCoORAclo(m): 12:39pm On Nov 12, 2025
The BULLY has finally been bullied ......Is Karma not wonderful? 😂😂😂
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by MarkNsukkaBread: 12:39pm On Nov 12, 2025
Chickensoup:
Wike just embarrassed himself. The soldier was simply following orders and in the army, orders come first before anything yet see the way wike was talking to the officer. He even told wike that he was following orders and wike called him a fool.
A sensible officer knows there are some orders you don't follow
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by ambale(m): 12:40pm On Nov 12, 2025
Goldrosewine:
Lol, you called him a fool, yes or no? If he could talk to a commissioned officer (with guards and guns) publicly like that, just imagine how he talks to his staff and domestic workers privately. It tells you all you need to know about the generator voice of a man🥲

Gold Rose 🍷
Don't you see how he was hitting those ADCs??

The officer even told him they forwarded the documents to one of the officials that came with him and they denied
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by prinsam30: 12:40pm On Nov 12, 2025
onatisi:
Wike is a complete drunk idiot . So when they gave him that report in the office and told him that soldiers were the ones chasing his workers away , his brains didn't tell him that the first thing to do is to investigate who the officer is and to inform the military authorities instead what his drunk brains told him to do was to carry cameras and Pressman in his convoy to go to the site and do things they could have done in the office without any controversy
Very sensible input from u, that man is just not it, he behaves like a demigod, like he own Nigeria, what a misplaced priority the president has surrounds himself with
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by ceejay80s(m): 12:41pm On Nov 12, 2025
Wike u intimidated urself, u even left with shame, I thought it would have resulted in battle and then u see the power of army
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by ambale(m): 12:41pm On Nov 12, 2025
TotoIsGud4boy:
Point noted. Wike was wrong to speak foul-mouthedly to the navy officer, navy officer was wrong to challenge an FCT minister passively even if he was just following orders he should’ve handled it diplomatically and avoided the escalation that turned into insults
Did you watch the video at all??

At what point, did the guy disrespected Wike, he even showed the officers that were barking respect because of Wike's presence
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by Druss(m): 12:42pm On Nov 12, 2025
Let me understand something. Did Wike go and meet the officer or did the officer go and meet Wike? I could a sworn that the officer was doing his work and Woke Wike rolled up.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by dfrost: 12:43pm On Nov 12, 2025
AZControversial:

There's nothing you could have done. He was representing his Commander-in-Chief.
That officer don use you shine!!!

You're just a political appointee and a lousy civilian if I may add.
Nothing else!!!
A very lousy bloody civilian. If e pain anybody, go Kaduna. Academy need people cheesy
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by Farmsolution: 12:43pm On Nov 12, 2025
Osebanjo:
Intimidated how bro? grin grin It was you actually looking to intimidate the military guys. No matter what, you were not supposed to start an unnecessary argument with an officer just following order. Afterall you are not the c-in-c you are just an appointed mayor of the city. You are doing your duty fine but at least you sabi the drill na.
Can you please keep quiet respectfully?
The illegalities you people love is what is used to cripple you people.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by zoedew: 12:43pm On Nov 12, 2025
OFFICER YERIMA BREACHED THE LAW IN THAT FACEOFF WITH NYESOM WIKE

By Prof. Sebastine Hon, SAN
(Constitutional Lawyer and Author)

Brushing sentiments aside, I hereby condemn in totality the actions of the Naval Officer, A.M. Yerima, who obstructed the FCT Minister from gaining access into that parcel of land, under the guise of ‘obeying superior orders.’ The duty of a junior officer to obey the orders of his superiors, even though strongly upheld in military and paramilitary circles, has its own limitations recognised by no other authority but the Supreme Court of Nigeria. I shall establish this anon.

In the recent case of Onunze vs. State (2023) 8 NWLR (Pt. 1885) 61 at 108 SC, the Supreme Court held emphatically, per Ogunwunmiju, JSC, thus:

“My Lords, the obligation to obey the orders of a superior does not include orders that are palpably illegal or manifestly unjust. Every military or police officer swears an oath upon commissioning. The Oath is not to obey all orders, it is to “preserve”, “protect” and defend the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria against all enemies, foreign and domestic. When an officer obeys palpably illegal orders, they become personally liable for their actions and would be expected to face court martial or official sanction for the wrongdoing.”

In the earlier decision of Nigeria Air Force vs. James (2002) 18 NWLR (Pt. 798) 295 at 324 SC, Onu, JSC, delivering the lead judgment of the Supreme Court, held firmly, subjugating military personnel to civilian authority and disparaging obedience to illegal orders, as follows:

“See the case of Pius Nwaogu v. The State (1972) 1 All NLR 149 where it was held, inter alia, that "a soldier is responsible to Military and Civil Law and it is monstrous to suppose that a soldier could be protected when the order is grossly and manifestly illegal. Of course, there is the other proposition that a soldier is only bound to obey lawful orders and is responsible if he obeys an order not strictly lawful.’"

The illegality in that order stems primarily from the fact that no service law of the military permits a serving military officer to mount guard at the private construction site of his boss, especially under suspicious circumstances like this. The retired Naval Officer ought, under the circumstances, to have engaged the civil police, if he suspected likelihood of arson or criminal trespass.

Additionally, Barr. Nyesom Wike is the equivalent of Governor of a State – he being the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja. More importantly, all lands in the FCT Abuja, by section 297(2) of the 1999 Constitution of Nigeria, 1999 as amended, belong to the Federal Republic of Nigeria. By section 302 of the same Constitution, read together with other extant Acts of the National Assembly, the President of Nigeria has delegated all powers with respect to land administration in the FCT Abuja to the Hon. Minister. Going by constitutional and administrative law, therefore, Mr. Wike stood in loco the President of Nigeria and Commander-in-Chief of the Nigerian Armed Forces on that fateful day. Consequently, even if the superior officer were still in service, he would not disobey Mr. Wike or obstruct him from entering the land. This was an affront to the civil authority of Mr. President.

The Minister’s method may be brash; but it is legal and lawful in all respects. Rather, it is the officer who obstructed him that has breached not just the Nigerian Constitution, but also service and extant regulatory laws. For the avoidance of any doubt, section 114 of the Armed Forces Act makes military personnel criminally liable for civil offences. This means the officer in question could be arraigned before a Court Martial for obstructing a public officer from performing his public duties, et cetera.

In conclusion, celebrating the humiliation of Nyesom Wike, simply because he is a ‘big man’ or simply because he is not liked by certain persons begs the real issue here. If such intolerable conduct by the young officer is not punished or is celebrated, this may unleash a reign of terror by the men in khaki against hapless civilians – with a grin or boast that ‘we did it to Wike and nothing happened.’ This is not Nigeria of our dream!
I rest my case here.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by prinsam30: 12:44pm On Nov 12, 2025
MarkNsukkaBread:
Pls stop putting mouth in what u don't know anything about, in military order is order and by the way this is not a bad order
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by shenaazadil: 12:44pm On Nov 12, 2025
Islie:
‘I’m not one to be intimidated’ — Wike speaks after face-off with military personnel over land dispute

https://www.thecable.ng/im-not-one-to-be-intimidated-wike-speaks-after-face-off-with-military-personnel-over-land-dispute/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UM-d3YIOGPk?si=yiBcAtQZjgXr2Nhc
Wike really handled that situation head-on. 💯 It’s good to see a public official standing firm on due process instead of being intimidated by rank or influence. Land issues in Abuja have gotten messy over the years, so enforcing the law equally, whether it’s a top military officer or an ordinary citizen, is the right move.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by dfrost: 12:46pm On Nov 12, 2025
Druss:
Let me understand something. Did Wike go and meet the officer or did the officer go and meet Wike? I could a sworn that the officer was doing his work and Woke Wike rolled up.
Wike rolled up man. It was not needed. Your subordinate told you that brass are on the field and fiam! You're rolled with DSS, and NPF to do what exactly?

I say it again, Wike was fortunate no be army boys, else this would have escalated too fast.

Hitting the DSS guys on the shoulder anyhow? Gosh!!! 🥶😵‍💫🤕🤮
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by shenaazadil: 12:46pm On Nov 12, 2025
Wike really handled that situation head-on. 💯 It’s good to see a public official standing firm on due process instead of being intimidated by rank or influence. Land issues in Abuja have gotten messy over the years, so enforcing the law equally, whether it’s a top military officer or an ordinary citizen, is the right move.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by chipet67(m): 12:46pm On Nov 12, 2025
He even get luck na soldier wey understand English come follow am dey talk. Those ones wey dey only understand "Kai" go first paste am one eye-blurring slap.
You think say everybody na Fubara.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by Fiscus105(m): 12:46pm On Nov 12, 2025
Laple0541:
In as much I think Mr Wike ought to had managed the situation more maturely, I think the impunity of Nigerian military personnels need to be addressed again and again. They always think they are demigods when dealing with civilians. Why should a retired general think he can retain a piece of land even when such land is not procured in a right way?
Meanwhile, the civilian authority should be behaving like demigod Abi?

Wen it's not procure in right way, does Wike has right to forceful takes over, what happens to court of law.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by prinsam30: 12:46pm On Nov 12, 2025
Farmsolution:
Can you please keep quiet respectfully?
The illegalities you people love is what is used to cripple you people.
So the illegalities of ur so called minister is not enough to cripple u too abi, u people will just be defending rubbish
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by dfrost: 12:47pm On Nov 12, 2025
prinsam30:
Pls stop putting mouth in what u don't know anything about, in military order is order and by the way this is not a bad order
Don't argue with people who and their relatives never served. Those stripes are earned. If e easy enter Kaduna.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by Gotocourt: 12:47pm On Nov 12, 2025
OGA, take care of your health. See him holding his waist, see as baba voice mellow 🤣😂😅

Democritus ---Greek philosopher 470-360BC
Leadership centers on the importance of reasonableness, self-control, observation, and prioritizing the common good over personal gain.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by prinsam30: 12:48pm On Nov 12, 2025
shenaazadil:
By calling an officer in uniform a fool right, u people should keep on defending rubbish
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by Fiscus105(m): 12:48pm On Nov 12, 2025
MarkNsukkaBread:
And sensible minister didn't know he shouldn't be like tout in public glare?
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by PDPdestroyer(m): 12:49pm On Nov 12, 2025
The same people who accuse our military of abuse of power against civilians are the ones defending the retired chief of Naval staff over this illegality.
This is nothing but highhandedness and reckless abuse of power, you can’t claim to want a “new Nigeria” and support illegal landgrab, except of course, you’re merely paying lip service.
Wike’s only fault was the condescending manner he spoke to the officer
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by dfrost: 12:49pm On Nov 12, 2025
ambale:
Did you watch the video at all??

At what point, did the guy disrespected Wike, he even showed the officers that were barking respect because of Wike's presence
The only time he raised his voice was when the policeman started talking. Like that was when I saw the chain of command in him.

You dare not talk to your superior.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by Chickensoup: 12:49pm On Nov 12, 2025
MarkNsukkaBread:
That is not for you to decide unless you want court-martial. In the army, you follow until the last order.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by Kalulu44: 12:52pm On Nov 12, 2025
TotoIsGud4boy:
Point noted. Wike was wrong to speak foul-mouthedly to the navy officer, navy officer was wrong to challenge an FCT minister passively even if he was just following orders he should’ve handled it diplomatically and avoided the escalation that turned into insults
But the soldier handle it well, he didn't insult nor shout at Wike. He was just replying him I am not a fool you're calling me.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by prinsam30: 12:53pm On Nov 12, 2025
dfrost:
Don't argue with people who and their relatives never served. Those stripes are earned. If e easy enter Kaduna.
Na so ooo my brother, I av alot service men my family, infact my dad was a retired army office, and my brother is an ACP in the Nigeria police, I was born and brought up in barracks, so if I see people talk anyhow on issues they don't understand I just chook my head
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by zoedew: 12:53pm On Nov 12, 2025
Osebanjo:
Intimidated how bro? grin grin It was you actually looking to intimidate the military guys. No matter what, you were not supposed to start an unnecessary argument with an officer just following order. Afterall you are not the c-in-c you are just an appointed mayor of the city. You are doing your duty fine but at least you sabi the drill na.
Please read the article I just posted on page 2 of this thread. You will have a better understanding of the issues. Wike was wrong though to have referred to the misguided naval chap as a “fool”! Since Wike could have the young man for a son it suggests that Wike talks to his wife and children that way and that is definitely wrong!
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by Pateebartex(m): 12:53pm On Nov 12, 2025
Are you sure Wike is truly a barrister? Hasn't he been telling others to go to court if they're not satisfied? Why did he not summon the said retired general instead of disgracing himself before his son's age mate.
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by oliverhenry660(m): 12:55pm On Nov 12, 2025
“Abuja lands don turn to Avengers assemble — Wike, Navy, Army, Developers… everybody wan claim hero 😂”
“Wike no dey do small wahala — even land dispute turn press conference and motivational speech 😂📢”
Re: I'm Not One To Be Intimidated — Wike Speaks After Face-Off With Military Officer by Adakintroy: 12:56pm On Nov 12, 2025
Osebanjo:
Technically everything is under the minister

He is the governor. All this power play is because ehe is not a Northern.

Imagine telling a governor he can't enter somewhere.
1 2 3 4 5 Reply

"The President Has Intervened", Wike Speaks On Fresh Deal With Fubara (Video)Rivers: Impeachment Is Not Military Coup, I Can Never Be Intimidated - WikeCrowd Bursts Into Laughter As Wike Speaks In 'Tongues', Fires Atiku234

There Is Need To De-congest Lagos And Industrialise The South East - JonathanKalu Gave Obasanjo N100m For 1999 ElectionsOkonjo-Iweala Decorated At MIT Doctoral Hooding Ceremony