Stats: 3,151,591 members, 7,812,924 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 10:43 PM

Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria - Nairaland / General - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria (15154 Views)

1960bet And There Funny Ways Of Reversing Our Payouts / What First Came To Your Mind When You First Heard The Phrase "EKO ONI BAJE" / Ways You Can Waste Money Without Realizing It (2) (3) (4)

Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by Seewealth(m): 10:45am On Feb 10, 2013
Some times i like thinking about the period when there was no GSM. i cannot help but laugh about the various ways i communicated to reach family and friends. i was in Imo then and always looked forward to hear that somebody came back from Lagos so that he would take my letters to lagos. that is if i dont want to use post office. that is funny now cos from your phone you can just send text. wao. thank God for this new era. share yours pls.

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by fittty(m): 10:57am On Feb 10, 2013
Is this supposed to be here? undecided

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by franktolk(m): 12:25pm On Feb 10, 2013
It used to be a very funny world then. In nigeria then, few homes had landlines. People used to send letters through the post offices or postal agencies near them, or through a friend or friend's friend ,relatives,drivers,word of mouth etc.
Then few people with telephone in their offices sometimes use the opprtunity to make urgent calls. Those days u'll go and wait for ur calls in a neighbour's'house.and I dont want to forget when we used to que up at NITEL office to make phone calls...
Then came the 090, which was still analog,then the business centres started coming up. Then we had internet coming to life at about 99/2000 , even then u'll have to go into a cafe to check ur mails. Employers then used to send letters to applicants through courier companies before they adopted emails. Its a long flashback into the past ... To be contd

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by Seewealth(m): 3:23pm On Feb 10, 2013
things have really changed. even the internet, i remember i paid somebody to open email address for me. he charged me about N100, i think. chaii.. i fall mugu

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by PrinceNN(m): 3:54pm On Feb 11, 2013
when there was no GSM, we used land lines undecided this kind

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by spywareczar(m): 3:54pm On Feb 11, 2013
Wen I D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ throw stone 4 my babe window grin

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by crackhouse(m): 3:54pm On Feb 11, 2013
how many times will this thread make frontpage

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by begwong: 3:55pm On Feb 11, 2013
We used empty matches boxes to communicate prior to the arrival of GSM tongue

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by greall1: 3:55pm On Feb 11, 2013
Via post office and it take time sometime.
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by kokoye(m): 3:57pm On Feb 11, 2013
Then, if someone simply promised to help put on "Curriculum Vitae" on the Internet, you felt as if you already got a job abroad. lol
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by delors(m): 3:59pm On Feb 11, 2013
I remember when I was at schol then - secondary school and all man don broke die and mumsy never show up for visiting, I would compose a very long letter and send it to my mum in Lagos from Ibadan through the post office...I swear, after 3 months, na me dey always receive the letter for house because school self go don go on vacation...na wah o...I just wonder how I survived then...God noni anyway.

14 Likes

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by Igwe9(m): 4:00pm On Feb 11, 2013
That time na me dey help the old folks around me read or write 'em letters.
what a small world!
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by MEILYN(m): 4:19pm On Feb 11, 2013
wow dat time eeehhh.....tins hard no be small,it wasnt funny den but nw very funny.....hw my dad will send me a very far distance to deliver a msg
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by ad245: 4:24pm On Feb 11, 2013
technology flies
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by akorlade(m): 4:26pm On Feb 11, 2013
I hated those days mumsy had to dictate every passing event in the house from the first to the last day of the month. You there not miss a word cos she will proof read it. Thank God for baba iyabo all she has to do is load #100
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by chinnyonwu(m): 4:30pm On Feb 11, 2013
We de call ourselves for mirror #jujutinZ

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by annastacie: 4:38pm On Feb 11, 2013
i also remember when i read the letters for my dad and then i will even have to break the language into simpler tone for my dad to understand grin grin grin grin grin grin
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by Etumgbe(m): 4:40pm On Feb 11, 2013
If I remember dat time kaiii tear troway my eyes. Writing love letter.
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by OkikiOluwa1(m): 4:41pm On Feb 11, 2013
I use post office & Nitel land lines.
I remembered this Ijebu woman (Màmá Àjà Kejì) that was living in our family house back in the early 90s. She short, fat with big breastt & yansh. Na provisions she dey sell o but her market na imported & too dey expensive. That's why we gave her the nickname 'Mama Imported'. She ll rush down to our apartment to receive calls from her daughter who lives in USA. Atimes she dey receive calls for 1-2hrs. The woman enjoyed our landline phone no be small. When she wan komot, na so she go dey roll bom-bom dey twist give my grandpa signal. Even @ 50something years back then. Heard my grandpa later taught her some bedmatics from the amebos in our street. Eg, Mama Sunday eléwa (beans seller). That woman ehn, her akropo too much. She can use her mouth to destroy a marriage in two weeks.
Exit thread.

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by adefash(m): 5:10pm On Feb 11, 2013
i could remember sending a letter to an aunty in kano sometimes.a week latter,i had to travel to kano.i arrived kano before tue letter.funny!
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by ELgordo(m): 5:24pm On Feb 11, 2013
Men does it really matter The world is advancing simple. . . Why would I be discussin' this This is the dumbest thread I seen all day WTF Plz on to the next one. . .
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by Asis(m): 5:28pm On Feb 11, 2013
Abi?tnk God for advancement
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by labamo07(m): 5:30pm On Feb 11, 2013
We use traditional microphone(olugbohun).....

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by Neldrizzy(m): 5:34pm On Feb 11, 2013
ad245: technology flies
tongue
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by charming4: 5:34pm On Feb 11, 2013
I miss the days of letter writing, that anxiety when you receive a letter and you can't wait to open it.

The reading, from one paragraph to the other.....nothing compares to it.

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by Neldrizzy(m): 5:34pm On Feb 11, 2013
ad245: technology flies
tongue madddd
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by Revolva(m): 5:37pm On Feb 11, 2013
Well me na whistle I dey blow ...up and to dey nak gong up and down some times I dey catch pidgeon and tie paper join d pigeon leg..den allow to fly..haha I love dose dayz
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by Dygeasy(m): 5:38pm On Feb 11, 2013
Igwe.:
That time na me dey help the old folks around me read or write 'em letters.
what a small world!
what is small in that world now? Ehn?
Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by iykemanchi(m): 5:40pm On Feb 11, 2013
Omor! C life bck in de dayz nah wen boiz dey skool dey write ditto
en Dittomatical gramma nah OMG! To whom it may concern en so on...
See wia bois dey use candle en lanten fr mid nite dey write love
Love letters en Pen pals na. If una get telephone en VHS player
Na una big pass fr dat street. Anytim phone ring fr house pple way
Dey pass fr road go hia am. Omor come see ma neigbour wia him dey
Ans telefone nah! If we no video player lik dis ma house go full,
Sometimes self we go lock doors, window en key holes no go do dem!
Write letter fr skool end wif yours lovely son, guy na wen u come
House two months latr ur latter dey enta house, sometime driver
Go talk say wind blow ur latter frm car enta bus.... Sowi don end
Dat topic. Na to wait til nxt visitin day bros.

Re: Funny Ways You Communicated Before GSM Came To Nigeria by GentleNaaz(m): 6:06pm On Feb 11, 2013
umu nne m na umu nna a, na love letter we dy use 2 communicate.

What Is Worse Than Being Broke? / Best HOUSE DESIGN 3D & INTERIORS IN NIGERIAL CALL 08069253261 / I Need Websites Where I Can Buy Mobile Phones,clothings Online Without OTP?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35