Stats: 3,152,993 members, 7,817,944 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 11:32 PM

Question For Believers - Religion (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Question For Believers (8538 Views)

Is It The Will Of God For Believers To Fall Sick? / WEALTH: Who Did God Create Wealth For, Believers Or Unbelievers? / Question For Believers And Non Believers (2) (3) (4)

Re: Question For Believers by Nobody: 6:44pm On Jan 31, 2015
Dolemite:

He could have still used both methods, using supernatural means once in the while doesn't hinder Evangelists from moving, the book of Revelation was communicated through supernatural means, doesn't make sense to me relying on one method man: a corruptible, weak, slow, inefficient method to spread a message supposedly so important it could save lives, if you had the sure for cancer it would be wicked of you to use door to door method to spread the word, when one internet post can save MILLIONS...see what I mean?
There are many hypothetical situations like God could have chosen to speak from heaven directly to everyone to hear and believe his salvation plan but He didn't. He could as well write on the sky the names of all false religions and false prophets but He didn't. Why because He is God. He has chosen to redeem mankind through His son and he has chosen the method to bring the message of salvation to the Gentiles. He need not consult you on His methods because He is God. His ways are not our ways.

Re: Question For Believers by Pr0ton: 6:48pm On Jan 31, 2015
Mcowubaba:
Dnt Question, just believe, Repent nd be SAVED, leave all dis facts, reasoning, science, it will only lead u to doom, I know what I am talking abt...

Confirm! grin
Re: Question For Believers by Pr0ton: 6:56pm On Jan 31, 2015
Mcowubaba: remember law of Inertia, 1 of Newtons laws of motion whic states that an object remains in a particular postion/motion unless external forces distort it, Same is applicable to humans, a Human remains in a Godly way of life nd practise except the devil (external force) distorts the person...

Mehhnn. You got me cracking my ribs grin grin
Re: Question For Believers by Mcowubaba: 7:06pm On Jan 31, 2015
Pr0ton:

Mehhnn. You got me cracking my ribs grin grin
lol...dnt break ur ribs ooo..u need itcheesy
Re: Question For Believers by Dolemite(f): 8:16pm On Jan 31, 2015
delastbishop:

There are many hypothetical situations like God could have chosen to speak from heaven directly to everyone to hear and believe his salvation plan but He didn't. He could as well write on the sky the names of all false religions and false prophets but He didn't. Why because He is God. He has chosen to redeem mankind through His son and he has chosen the method to bring the message of salvation to the Gentiles. He need not consult you on His methods because He is God. His ways are not our ways.

Yea, but you see that's a cop out and you know it, any Tom Dick and Harry can come up with that very defense for their invented god, what should separate Christianity from other man made religions should be a clear concise answer to questions like these should they arise from the very Bible, but it doesn't exist, which hints/shows/proves that Christianity is just another man made religion.
Re: Question For Believers by mikkyword(m): 6:41am On Feb 01, 2015
Dolemite:
I just finished reading Things fall apart (great book) and I just thought to myself, If God really does exists, why did he not reveal himself without the use to Caucasian evangelists, I mean why didn't the white people come to Africa to find 'savages' locals worshiping Jesus, why didn't God send angels to spread his word? Why didn't Okonkwo Ebubedike experience the burning bush telling him about Yahwe and his mighty powers, same goes for Muslims, without Arabs seems like Allah is powerless, same with God, it makes no sense that it has NEVER been recorded that locals experienced Christianity years before a white man stepped into their land.

your questions have answers. I can't say much hers. contact me on bbm for detail
Re: Question For Believers by johnydon22(m): 9:16am On Feb 01, 2015
mikkyword:

your questions have answers. I can't say much hers. contact me on bbm for detail
lol na style u wan take collect her pin?... abeg answer the question here where all of us deh make we see... chai nawa ooo
Re: Question For Believers by frank317: 11:26am On Feb 01, 2015
johnydon22:
lol na style u wan take collect her pin?... abeg answer the question here where all of us deh make we see... chai nawa ooo

Ya... I thought the same too. The chick actually sha.... Even some pastors wouldn't mind having her
Re: Question For Believers by johnydon22(m): 11:52am On Feb 01, 2015
frank317:

Ya... I thought the same too. The chick actually sha.... Even some pastors wouldn't mind having her
yeah she's beautiful and an atheist too... i think its gonna work bera between we atheists...lmao...!!!
Re: Question For Believers by yinkeys(m): 11:15am On Mar 03, 2015
@dolemite I need to see you. Are you up to the challenge Miss good girl
Re: Question For Believers by Dolemite(f): 1:08pm On Mar 03, 2015
yinkeys:
@dolemite I need to see you. Are you up to the challenge Miss good girl

Why? grin
Re: Question For Believers by yinkeys(m): 8:33pm On Mar 03, 2015
Dolemite:

Why? grin
To rub minds with my newly found friend. That's all wink
Re: Question For Believers by leke12(m): 9:25pm On Mar 03, 2015
Let me just chip in this: religion whatsoever is man made. And its usually based on the beliefs of a given tribe or group of people headed by a 'spiritual master or leader' about how God is,how God ought to be and how God should be. Political leaders have use religion over centuries to promote their crusades and tribal superiority. Evidence from the Roman empire,the Arabs,British,Indians and chinese. Unfortunately Africans were left out because of inferiority complex that's has been submerging this race 1000s of yrs ago. the real sense is that there is one supreme Diety(creator) or supreme God which is neither male nor female and you can worship IT in anyway u want or deem fit. Most people who practice their do so because they were born into the family or it fits into their ideology about God. Just like we have diff languages and tribes,religion should be seen as that.
Re: Question For Believers by frisby: 10:56am On Mar 12, 2015
People.
Everyone has the freedom to believe whatever he wants.
Live ur life as you see fit.

None of us have been to the afterlife, and those who have are not exactly tweeting their experiences, get what I mean? They're busy being dead.

If u decide on a path, then for happiness' sake thread it to the end. And find out for urself if u made the right call or not ( whether u'll have the chance to regret ur actions/inactions is a separate matter entirely)

So what am I saying?
I find it absolutely childish to pick a path, and then come back to call the other man lazy/blind/deluded/brainless.

Being an unbeliever does not make you sophisticated or even smart. It simply means u are incapable of believing in anything else other than what you can see, feel, hear and touch. You choose to believe in "matter" as you know it.
So if some others choose to see past their noses, to believe outside of the scientifically convenient, then let them do the extra work.

The path they ve chosen dictates that they should share the message of unconditional love to everyone. So what they do, they do not do out of spite. They are obeying what is to them, a supreme command.

Our existence and purpose is a lot more complex than the human mind can comprehend, believer and non-believer alike.
And anyone who claims to know all the answers is only the bigger fool.

And as a correction to some of the believers who may come upon this thread.
Being a believer doesn't mean being stupid. Doesn't mean worshiping your pastors or priests, they are human. No human is superior to another. Your General Overseer isn't better than you are. So stop swallowing their words hook, line and sinker. You are called to believe just one thing : that jesus lives, that he is God, and that it is only by believing in his sacrifice that you are made clean. Ur fastings, vigils, speaking in tongues CANNOT save you. Not even ur so-called righteous acts.

Just love God and others and believe in jesus. that's all. Study ur bible and teach your pastors the truth.

As for your question @DOlemite: someone already answered you. It's God's supreme choice. It means they do not have their own reasons. God doesn't have to explain himself to anyone.

You seem smart.
If your enquiries are free of spite and resentment, and you can afford an open mind. Then you may learn the truth.

Re: Question For Believers by nelsonoba: 3:13pm On Mar 12, 2015
Dolemite:
I just finished reading Things fall apart (great book) and I just thought to myself, If God really does exists, why did he not reveal himself without the use to Caucasian evangelists, I mean why didn't the white people come to Africa to find 'savages' locals worshiping Jesus, why didn't God send angels to spread his word? Why didn't Okonkwo Ebubedike experience the burning bush telling him about Yahwe and his mighty powers, same goes for Muslims, without Arabs seems like Allah is powerless, same with God, it makes no sense that it has NEVER been recorded that locals experienced Christianity years before a white man stepped into their land.

Young lady, i would like you to watch this youtube clip from the link below, you will hear the answers to a lot of the questions you ask:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9gzpjzS2GIc&feature=youtube_gdata_player

In addition to the questions that will be answered from the video clip, i will just add these few things;

1) God created man for the primary purpose of having a relationship with him. That relationship is what was lost in the Garden of Eden when the first man sinned against God. This Relationship is not like servant-master thing where the servant must obey because he has no choice but to obey. God gave us a freewill because He does not want us coming to Him as a duty, rather He wants us to come to Him because we love Him and we have seen His love. The reason an atheist like you is still breathing God's oxygen till today despite your disdain for Him is only because God has given all men the right to a free will here on earth. That is why people can insult God and it seems as though nothing happens. But sadly, that free will lasts only while the person is alive here on earth. Cos when your eyes close in death here on Earth, they open somewhere - heaven or hell! But your relationship with God here on earth is what determines where your eyes open when they close here.

2) It takes faith to believe in God, but it takes a whole lot more "faith" to believe there is no God despite all the evidence we see around us!
Imagine the complexity of the human body, the galaxies, the sun, the oceans and the life in them? How could a sane person possibly believe these things all came from "nothing", or that they came from a "big bang"? How can an ordinary explosion cause planets, stars, the earth and humans to appear from no where? does that even sound sensible to you? Even common sense should tell you that if you want to create/build a new house or machine, you need to first sit down and think about it, design it and then build it by yourself based on your design. Why aren't cars and human beings coming into existence when you create an explosion bang today?? So why should the origin of life and the planets be any different?

3) God has revealed Himself to us through the bible, and any question you have about him can be answered if you go through the bible. Yes, sometimes God could reveal Himself to people in dreams and visions and other supernatural occurrences, but the primary way He reveals Himself to man is through His word written in the bible.

If your genuine interest is to really know if God exists or not, you can watch the youtube video clip from the link pasted above, but if your mind is made up, and you believe "God is crap", then do not bother watching it and wait till the day you die and step into "the unknown".
There are no atheists/unbelievers in Hell. Do you know why? It's because once a man dies, his free will comes to an end, and he is taken to judgement to give an account of his life, and when he is thrown into hell for not having a relationship with God, those atheist views of life while he was on earth will disappear from him very fast!
Re: Question For Believers by nelsonoba: 3:28pm On Mar 12, 2015
frank317:
Sometimes I wonder a lot of things too. Its very clear that Christianity, like wise Islam is a sham.

We have been duped for long. The bad news is that we call on Jewish pagan god and believe so much in them like we are being controlled by remote control.

How can a whole creator of the world use such means to spread information about him? How can he chose a tribe among all tribes in the whole world? How can he neglect all his other creations like they didn't exist and spent more than a thousand years interacting with just the Jews? Even when his so called son came, he said nothing about other tribes in Africa and Asia.

I have never been so happy that I have been liberated from the shackles of religion.

If i were God, this is what i'll be thinking after reading this comment; "I created everything, created the earth, created this Franky guy, i gave him a brain to think, i gave him free access to my oxygen which he has never paid for nor does he know how the oxygen came about before he was born, i did all these and then he turns around to question me for doing what i want to do, the way i want to do it? ***well.....thank God, i'm not God***

However, you may need to watch this clip address some of the questions you have on God's existence.
Re: Question For Believers by Sultan5(m): 4:00pm On Apr 14, 2015
Lol i just cant stop laughing.

A very interesting topic i must say op.

But quick question op did you hire that frank guy to police this thread or what. I mean the way he attacks every christian poster is just wow!!!

I mean sometimes he doesnt even have the full picture of the post but he just dive in anyways. Its really amazing and kind of funny to.

Op i like the way you talk can we be friends lol. Seriously though i dont comment on post like this because majority of the athiest are pragmatic @frank lol just kidding dude. Probably because they hate God or something. So whenever any ones supports God they go on all out attack.

I just got to say the guy that said "dont question just believe" should really be working with AY. That was hilarious.

Anyways my point is when you debate(NOT ARGUE) a point, u should do so without emotion, insults but most importantly with a clear head. So you will not read and interprete incorrectly #frank lol. Again just kidding bro, but u really cracked me up.

Keep the water flowing. And op hehehe sexy op. Oya call me make we rub minds lol.

Sorry say me nor contribute i just want to avoid being misunderstood #frank lol. But seriously though everyone should do what makes dem happy. If being Christian makes you happy dude i say go for it. If being an athiest makes you happy go with it. Life is too short to be confuse,bitter and angry. Dont you agree

One Love Niggaz!!!

Re: Question For Believers by Sultan5(m): 4:11pm On Apr 14, 2015
Dolemite:

Yea, but you see that's a cop out and you know it, any Tom Dick and Harry can come up with that very defense for their invented god, what should separate Christianity from other man made religions should be a clear concise answer to questions like these should they arise from the very Bible, but it doesn't exist, which hints/shows/proves that Christianity is just another man made religion.
Re: Question For Believers by Nobody: 6:48pm On Apr 14, 2015
Mcowubaba:
Dnt Question, just believe, Repent nd be SAVED, leave all dis facts, reasoning, science, it will only lead u to doom, I know what I am talking abt...
I've never seen someone advocate ignorance so flamboyantly cry

Re: Question For Believers by Nobody: 6:52pm On Apr 14, 2015
Was going through this thread and I came across this. Lmao...I have so many 1 liners I don't know where to start grin
These were primitive times, there was no internet, and talking to human beings from the sky was out since the last time He tried it the people died

Re: Question For Believers by Mcowubaba: 8:16pm On Apr 14, 2015
DProDG:

I've never seen someone advocate ignorance so flamboyantly cry
what ignorance am i advocating eh
I said believe the Scripture (Bible)
that is all the evidence u need!!!!...u don't need to come up with science to start analysing the Bible.... Everytin in this world is not Subject to science nd technology, THE HOLY BIBLE is above all manner of science nd technology nd as such- science cannot define CHRISTIANITY....
Peace..
Re: Question For Believers by Nobody: 8:55am On Apr 21, 2015
torchwave:
Like I said, God is not a God of confusion. He wouldn't ask us to go into the world to preach His message while He appears to people all over the world to do that. That would have negated His command to preach the Good News, don't you think? It doesn't make sense to me.

Besides, in their days, there was no internet Paul or Peter could use to spread the Gospel all over the world.

One thing is clear either your god is confused and not so intelligent after all or you are confused.

Dolemite raised a reasonable point here and all you do is deceive yourself, commit the fallacy 'begging the question', use bible to defend bible, 'who does that?'

Nobody is talking about internet or anything, god appeared to abraham why didn't he appear to africans as well, why didn't he send jesus as a black man? He didn't love us so well after all I think,

Religion especially christianity is a white man religion, design by white, book written by white men, used to colonize black nations and took our brothers to slavery (because the bible doesn't see anything bad in keeping slaves), and yet we dumbass africans still take it seriously more than white people nowadays.

I see all the conmen on tv and feel sorry for we africans, and when it comes to some other things like LGBT rights, they claim its a white man culture, it shouldn't be allowed whereas you practice a white mans religion (you even claim you practice it better than they do just by creating so many versions). That's hypocrisy.

Dolemite, feeling you. Move on

Re: Question For Believers by Nobody: 8:57am On Apr 21, 2015
5minsmadness:
If African traditional religion was so powerful why couldn't they withstand Christianity when it came? Why did Jesus come through a lowly maiden and not through a king's household? Why did God not just speak from the sky? These are questions the human mind will continue to ask because it is carnal/worldly and does not think as God thinks. You look around you and see that despite all the scientific advancement around us the world is crumbling instead of getting better. There are wars everywhere, immorality has increased, gays are now kissing in public, rape is the order of the day, almost every food you can eat can cause cancer. Cant you see that nature is rebelling? Cant you see the end all around you? Do you really need a college degree to figure out that the supernatural exists?

I don't really get anything out of your post
Re: Question For Believers by Nobody: 9:04am On Apr 21, 2015
Frank317, longtime, I sight you,
Re: Question For Believers by 5minsmadness: 9:45am On Apr 21, 2015
Peterken05:

I don't really get anything out of your post
That's because you don't want to.
Re: Question For Believers by Nobody: 9:52am On Apr 21, 2015
5minsmadness:

That's because you don't want to.

Lemme be frank with you. It is because it is a product of 5minsmadness as your username implies. I can't see any sense in it.
Re: Question For Believers by 5minsmadness: 10:00am On Apr 21, 2015
Peterken05:

Lemme be frank with you. It is because it is a product of 5minsmadness as your username implies. I can't see any sense in it.
Insults as usual. It gets old after a while I assure you.
Re: Question For Believers by Nobody: 2:49pm On Apr 21, 2015
5minsmadness:

Insults as usual. It gets old after a while I assure you.

I didn't insult you, if you think I do, I'm sorry.

I'm not that kind of person
Re: Question For Believers by 5minsmadness: 3:16pm On Apr 21, 2015
Peterken05:

I didn't insult you, if you think I do, I'm sorry.

I'm not that kind of person
Good to know,
If true then you're like a breath of fresh air around here smiley
Re: Question For Believers by 5minsmadness: 3:35pm On Apr 21, 2015
Peterken05:

One thing is clear either your god is confused and not so intelligent after all or you are confused.

Dolemite raised a reasonable point here and all you do is deceive yourself, commit the fallacy 'begging the question', use bible to defend bible, 'who does that?'

Nobody is talking about internet or anything, god appeared to abraham why didn't he appear to africans as well, why didn't he send jesus as a black man? He didn't love us so well after all I think,

Religion especially christianity is a white man religion, design by white, book written by white men, used to colonize black nations and took our brothers to slavery (because the bible doesn't see anything bad in keeping slaves), and yet we dumbass africans still take it seriously more than white people nowadays.

I see all the conmen on tv and feel sorry for we africans, and when it comes to some other things like LGBT rights, they claim its a white man culture, it shouldn't be allowed whereas you practice a white mans religion (you even claim you practice it better than they do just by creating so many versions). That's hypocrisy.

Dolemite, feeling you. Move on
No bible quotes then.

Since the beginning of time, God has desired to have a chosen race of people all to himself. He started by choosing Adam, then Enoch, Abraham, Moses etc etc and then finally founded a convenant with the Israelites. If anything, Christianity is a Jewish religion and not a 'white man's religion. The 'white men' fought against it for a long time but due to the faith, tenacity and perseverance of the saints, christianity won over the world and became a major world religion. It's not a whiteman's religion to colonise black men, If anything it will be a jewish-originated religion to colonise the world.

God did not appear to our ancestors with the good news because he did not choose them, simple. he has always favoured having special people He can call his own. He is not interested in quantity like the modern day pastor would have us believe but quantity.

There is an ancient legend that says the day Christ was born a voice cried out in the heavens "Pan is dead!" Pan represented all idols and foreign gods. In essence it symbolised the relinquishing of power to the Son of God in the flesh. Anywhere the name of Jesus Christ was going to be carried He would depose and dethrone other gods. And it was so.

There was nothing wrong in keeping slaves those days, but the bible recognised them as people with rights and exhorted that they should be treated fairly and with kindness. Even today we have nannies, househelps, huose cleaners, messengers, drivers etc and people in the lower social strata that we boss around and threaten with loss of their jobs if they stray. Such people carry the 'slave'status' just that we treat them with more respect nowadays; if you see the way some women handle their househelps it is even worse than what slaves suffered in days of old.

The adulteration of the christian faith in modern society is not God's fault but man's. it is not the message's fault but the messengers. Even the bible predicted things like these would happen in the last days when there would be false prophets and wolves in sheep's clothing. Then we as christians shuld be prayerful and steadfast and hold on to the true faith.

At the end of the day the road that leads to salvation is narrow and full of tribulation. Only quality christians will make it through. And that is what God wants, not quantity, but Quality.
Re: Question For Believers by Nobody: 3:47pm On Apr 21, 2015
5minsmadness:

Good to know,
If true then you're like a breath of fresh air around here smiley

Yh, thanks.

Wait, was that suppose to be sarcasm?

Nathaniel Bassey! / The Solemnity Of Christ The King Sunday / Who Can Answer This Question About The Birth Of Jesus

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 83