Stats: 3,151,733 members, 7,813,413 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 12:01 PM

Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? - Family (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Family / Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? (34857 Views)

Is Marriage Really The Answer? / Early marriage advantages {for Women And Men} Must Read / What Can I Do To Let My Wife Wake Up Early? (2) (3) (4)

Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Atlantian: 9:57pm On Jul 03, 2015
There is no end to responsibilities in this world. So, getting married early introduces you to a world of responsibilities and till old age, there is no end in sight. I advise people to enjoy their youth and singlehood till a very very ripe age before joining the marriage wagon. Cos, the thing called marriage, no be beans oh. And till old age, na so so responsibilities full your head.

Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Neplusultra(f): 9:58pm On Jul 03, 2015
Very very advisable and advantageous! Marry on time, Have kids on time, grow together with them! Omotola is an example.
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by freeage7(m): 9:59pm On Jul 03, 2015
Joromi1:
It's a Nigerian phenomenon that when you marry at a very young age, you'll avoid the stress and pain of raising your kids at old age. If that is only reason then the idea is useless because one needs to be mature and financially strong enough before taking decisions towards that
Oya dey there. Wait from now till eternity. u won wait till u get money like Dangote abi? Ur name na sorry.

Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Nobody: 9:59pm On Jul 03, 2015
Joromi1:
It's a Nigerian phenomenon that when you marry at a very young age, you'll avoid the stress and pain of raising your kids at old age. If that is only reason then the idea is useless because one needs to be mature and financially strong enough before taking decisions towards that

BASE ON MY OWN OPINION.

TO MARRY AT A VERY YOUNG AGE IS THE BEST. YOU KNOW WHY?

1. THE TWO OF YOU WILL KNOW EACH OTHER DEEP DOWN

2. YOU WORK THINS OUT TOGETHER LIKE TEAM WORK

3. MUCH MORE RESPECT FOR EACH OTHER

4. SEX WILL BE SWEETER LIKE NEVER BEFORE

5. YOU WILL BE ENVY FROM SINGLE OLD LADIES

6. YOU WILL GET GOOD JOB IN TIME

7. YOU WILL SHINE AMONG THE SINGLES

8. MORE EXPERIENCE

9. BLABLABLABLABLABLBLABLABAKBA

10. BLA BLABLABLABLABLABLABLAABLABLABLABLABALBALBALBABALBALBA.

Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by fozliaam1o: 9:59pm On Jul 03, 2015
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by freeage7(m): 10:03pm On Jul 03, 2015
Atlantian:
There is no end to responsibilities in this world. So, getting married early introduces you to a world of responsibilities and till old age, there is no end in sight. I advise people to enjoy their youth and singlehood till a very very ripe age before joining the marriage wagon. Cos, the thing called marriage, no be beans oh. And till old age, na so so responsibilities full your head.
Bro, are u scared of commitment and responsibility? Abi u still won to dey sample?
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Karleb(m): 10:06pm On Jul 03, 2015
Why the rush? undecided
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Chrismeral: 10:08pm On Jul 03, 2015
Personal opinion.
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Atlantian: 10:12pm On Jul 03, 2015
freeage7:

Bro, are u scared of commitment and responsibility? Abi u still won to dey sample?
I dey sample dem bro. Tonight I am calling in 2. Hahahahaaha We die with nothing oh. Not even pikin. I must enjoy first.
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by freeage7(m): 10:16pm On Jul 03, 2015
Atlantian:
I dey sample dem bro. Tonight I am calling in 2. Hahahahaaha We die with nothing oh. Not even pikin. I must enjoy first.

Ehya! Oh nice gan. But sample with caution oh. The lord is ur strength. Eku sampling

Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by RJayson(m): 10:18pm On Jul 03, 2015
Age aint maturity, shey davido no be young boy with kid, wizkid, olamide...so what are we saying
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by kinmarax: 10:20pm On Jul 03, 2015
coogar:

even when he doesn't have the means & the emotional maturity to sustain that marriage? no wonder the revolving doors of poverty never left nigeria.

See what someone who claime to be mature is saying. I even hearpeople talk about financial security. My advice is once you get that job or a steady source of income, even at less than 26 years of age, go and marry and leave all the old cargos here that are trying to justify why they are not married at old age. If you marry early, you will use you youthful finance and raise you kids and retire in peac, while these old cargos advising you will use their pension to raise kids. who told you guys married men dont save money. For you information they save more than single people. I got married at the age of 25 that was when I got a job and am even igbo, the acclaimed tribe that marry late. now am 28, and I have 2 children 3 years and 1 year old children. enjoying my youthful income.

Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by mmsen: 10:22pm On Jul 03, 2015
No, it guarantees that you won't know what you are doing.

That you will rush into further bad decisions and that it will be easy for others to influence you.

If you wait, you will most likely have more income, more knowledge and fewer children which often translates to a higher standard of living.
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by lusciouslex: 10:34pm On Jul 03, 2015
It's God that gives kids. So, what if you rush into marriage and the kids do not come? I do not support the idea of a 25years old guy thinking of marriage instead of his career and money making. Why bring kids into the world to suffer? It's rather shameful if a man can't pay his bride's price that his dad will do so just like how he paid his tuition. The best he can do is to 'slightly' be in a relationship as a novice but some have suffered over 10 heartbreaks(failed relationships) @ this age. 32-35 is just ok for a guy to marry. Add 30yrs to this age, I don't see him dying if only he had a healthy lifestyle. Word of advice: females who are your age mates(peers) most likely do not fit into your plans. Again, one must be mature in mind with time to tolerate and accommodate a female, kids.
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Joromi1: 10:35pm On Jul 03, 2015
freeage7:

Oya dey there. Wait from now till eternity. u won wait till u get money like Dangote abi? Ur name na sorry.
I would wait until I'm mentally and financially capable enough. And when I'll take the decision myself, nobody has to force me

Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Joromi1: 10:37pm On Jul 03, 2015
oginni106:
yes
www.tonyhawttalk..com says:
You have time to DISCOVER yourself. The
emphasis is on "discovery" because a lot of
people go through life not knowing who they
really are, the more you wait before getting
married the more you're likely to discover
yourself, your ideal career and generally the type
of life you want.
Perspectives change as we get older. What I
liked and wanted when I was 19 totally changed
when I was in my mid twenties-even though I
could swear say na like this I like my own thing
at 25, I ended up not liking at 27. People change,
give yourself allowance to grow and change.
You have time to be "free". Make decisions
without real consequences. Travel. You can even
afford to live from alert to alert without any
sense of responsibility. Why do you think there's
the term "responsible married man/woman" ? You
can buy anything with your last dime. Sleep over
at your friends house 3 times a week...you no
send anybody. Go on soun, explore!
You grow up. Maturity for some people is not
about age, but with age comes experience and
experience teaches you how to handle life. Your
expectations are more realistic-you don't believe
marriage is about taking selfies, seksing and
living happily ever after. Marriage is not for
children.
Build your future. If you're smart, the time before
you get married is time you can use to focus on
your career, start a business, even it it fails, you
start again all because of point 3. Invest your
self in building and saving for your future
because marriage may "slow you down" career
wise if you're a woman.
You know what you want. Not because you know
it all but because you've had time to discover
yourself, what you like and what you refuse to
deal with (I use the term "refuse" because it's a
choice you're making to deal with something or
not). You basically know yourself and now you
know yourself you know what you who and what
you want in a relationship and marriage.
You are grateful. When you eventually get
married you appreciate it more because you
remember all the times you spent catching
bouquets at all your friends weddings (not that
it's a terrible thing). Single? You've been there,
done that and you are 100% in this phase of life
you're in now. You do not feel like you missed
out on anything.
These are some of the many advantages of
getting married later so if you're still
single...enjoy it while it lasts and appreciate
every season of your life. Let me know if you got
married later and the advantages and
disadvantages you faced in the comments
section.
Bless you
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by damiloladuke: 10:38pm On Jul 03, 2015
I wish oooo

PRESIDENT BUHARI MUST READ MY SIGNATURE

YOU SELF MUST READ IF YOU WANNA LAFF TIRE TONIGHT
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Spells(m): 10:38pm On Jul 03, 2015
When a child get married to a child and give birth to a child, who is gonna lead who? Imagin da blind leading da blind... Do da math...early marriage ain't it....
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by biafranqueen: 10:38pm On Jul 03, 2015
sundayslim:
I'm just 24 and I have a well paying job, currently on my MSc. So if I decide to marry next year na crime? Don't talk maturity because age doesn't guarantee that you're mature. Different things can provide various kinds of reactions in different people, depending on so many factors. I feel that the success of any marriage lies in the decision of the parties involved to make it work. Many guys are just afraid of responsibility. Anyone that works for your kind of person, go for it. For me, I have big plans and marrying early is one of them. You're all invited
Wow and your a fine guy at that! If your ready more grease to your elbow, she will bear you beautiful pekin!
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Emasel(m): 10:39pm On Jul 03, 2015
It's very advantageous, in fact I see no disadvantage to it.
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by kinmarax: 10:39pm On Jul 03, 2015
mmsen:
No, it guarantees that you won't know what you are doing.

That you will rush into further bad decisions and that it will be easy for others to influence you.

If you wait, you will most likely have more income, more knowledge and fewer children which often translates to a higher standard of living.

When you talk about more income, I dont really understand that. Let me clarify with these assumptions. For equality sake, we will assume equal opportunity at age 24. Assuming Mr. A and Mr. B finished school at age 24 and at 25, they got a job at the same firm paying same salary, and they grew in ranks at same time. if Mr. A decides to marry at 26 and Mr. B decides to marry at 40, I dont see how Mr. B will have more income. Mr. A will use his early first small salary and be buying mainly pamper and maybe just paying for kindergerten, while Mr. B will be saving, if he wont be chasing women up and down. At age 40, when both should be attaining managerial level, Mr. A children will be finishing scecondary school, while Mr. B will use bulk of his money to throw a lavish wedding, because I cant marry a 40 year old man and do a managing wedding (=shame) and also, he will start buying pampers from what he has saved over the years. By 50, Mr. A children is out of university and Mr. B will still be attending PTA meeting at primary school. Qualiyty of aged sperm should also be considered. Younger sperm produces smarter kids. maybe Mr. B children might eventually graduate with 3rd class

Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by ralph28(m): 10:40pm On Jul 03, 2015
It depends on the persons CHI
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Fourwinds: 10:43pm On Jul 03, 2015
if u are ready at forty marry if it is at 35 fine but never allow anybody to push u into marriage. dey will never be there for u. I do my thing d way I want. no one in my family dare push me into marriage. d first question I will ask dem is if dey have d money for d whole process. if no positive responds., d. person should just shot up

Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Joromi1: 10:47pm On Jul 03, 2015
kinmarax:

When you talk about more income, I dont really understand that. Let me clarify with these assumptions. For equality sake, we will assume equal opportunity at age 24. Assuming Mr. A and Mr. B finished school at age 24 and at 25, they got a job at the same firm paying same salary, and they grew in ranks at same time. if Mr. A decides to marry at 26 and Mr. B decides to marry at 40, I dont see how Mr. B will have more income. Mr. A will use his early first small salary and be buying mainly pamper and maybe just paying for kindergerten, while Mr. B will be saving, if he wont be chasing women up and down. At age 40, when both should be attaining managerial level, Mr. A children will be finishing scecondary school, while Mr. B will use bulk of his money to throw a lavish wedding, because I cant marry a 40 year old man and do a managing wedding (=shame) and also, he will start buying pampers from what he has saved over the years. By 50, Mr. A children is out of university and Mr. B will still be attending PTA meeting at primary school. Qualiyty of aged sperm should also be considered. Younger sperm produces smarter kids. maybe Mr. B children might eventually graduate with 3rd class
So you believe early marriage automatically translates to raising children early? Haven't u seen couples who have been married for 20 years without kids? There's no clear fact to that assumption, sir
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by benjaminiyke(m): 10:48pm On Jul 03, 2015
Joromi1:

I never said late marriage is the best, neither am I disturbed that some people married early. My point is clear.....most early marriages are influenced by parents mainly because they want to see their grandkids, but they use the context of "everything will be done in time and u won't have to struggle in ur old age" to deceive us
in the world we live today you need financial stability for any marriage to survive. So whether you are 25 or 30 it's irrelevant,if you feel you are matured enough to handle the challenges that comes with marriage plus the financially ability to take care of the family... then Go ahead.#ADVICE commit your marriage into God's hands and strive to honor your marital vows. Thanks

Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by oliver003: 10:50pm On Jul 03, 2015
Early marriage have it.iam a good example.,iam 34 with four, 3boys 1girl.my girl she is already in jss 3.so for get abt getting Haven and earth b4 you get married.

Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Fourwinds: 10:50pm On Jul 03, 2015
kinmarax:

false analysis on sperm. who told u dat a man of forty who bore a child at dat age will be. retard. let who dat has d means marry at deir convinience. no one is God hear. dose who marry early die. even before deir children attain age five. who is God here to determine how things run
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by Joromi1: 10:54pm On Jul 03, 2015
benjaminiyke:
in the world we live today you need financial stability for any marriage to survive. So whether you are 25 or 30 it's irrelevant,if you feel you are matured enough to handle the challenges that comes with marriage plus the financially ability to take care of the family... then Go ahead.#ADVICE commit your marriage into God's hands and strive to honor your marital vows. Thanks
Real talk

Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by dadson2009(m): 10:54pm On Jul 03, 2015
I prefer early matria
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by TV01(m): 10:54pm On Jul 03, 2015
Ewuro4:

Hi TV long time, how's family and work?

@bold , Care to develop that into examples (in simple terms too, I'm working so can't really browse synonyms grin)

Holá J, we dey 0, thanks for asking. Just hayfever dey worry us one kind, but it's easing somewhat. How far with the loved ones?

To start, I said all things being equal. So assuming there are no questions of readiness or maturity - which are not necessarily age-dependent anyway.

1. It gives you more leeway in terms of when you start a family - older couples are under more pressure to have children soon. Giving you less time to simply enjoy each other without parenting cares.

2. It actually gives you more scope in the actual size of your family. The younger you marry, the more you are able to have - if you so desire. One of my cousins has six - only because he married at 24 to someone a bit younger. It's unlikely if you marry later.

3. If also forestalls/reduces the risk of fertility issues, and gives more time to deal with them if they do arise.

4. A big one for me is it matures men quick-time. Makes them more focused and responsible - studies show that married men tend to earn more. A marriage dividend so to speak.

5. More energy and time with and for your kids. Before and after they are grown. Which gives you your time together back when you are still a relatively young couple.

6. More likely to have the generation before you around to help, support and advise - and for longer.

I do see some potential benefits in marrying older, but in sum, I don't see them outweighing the advantages of doing it younger.

1. Probably more settled and possibly wealthier
2. Possibly more appreciative and ready to devote time to family and embrace "family man" things

What are your thoughts?

TV

Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by shamecurls(m): 10:55pm On Jul 03, 2015
if u actually have the grace.....its utmost fun getting married early. U will have the pleasure of growing with your kids and watch them turn into what u want them to be as u will have the strength, zeal and morale to do so unlike when u have a 60 year old dad trying to catch up and orientate a gingered and energetic 18 year old kid. It will also take alot burden off u as u will be gain the independence you crave for at an early age as u will have finished your home-work also at an early age. Just like i mentioned, "Grace". you also get to see your wife after all the home-work and she is still bleepable grin. Forget the stories that goes against these facts of mine, they re from peeps who started reading the alphabets from "Z"
Re: Is Early Marriage Really Advantageous? by kinmarax: 10:55pm On Jul 03, 2015
Joromi1:

So you believe early marriage automatically translates to raising children early? Haven't u seen couples who have been married for 20 years without kids? There's no clear fact to that assumption, sir

Its God that give kids. people can marry late and still stay 20 years too no kids. If you marry early, you have more time to keep on trying and ur wife might still be within age. But if you marry late you will have limited time to try, and maybe if you maybe menopause might then be knocking on the door.

Why Getting Married When You Are Struggling Financially Is A Bad Decision! / Mother Who Had Accident, Broken Leg, Breastfeeding Her Baby At The Scene / Kenyan Man Presents A Range Rover To His Wife Inside Traffic (Photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 68