Stats: 3,327,284 members, 8,430,183 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 June 2026 at 03:19 AM

Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) - Literature (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentLiteratureWriting Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) (3534 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by llaykorn: 5:20pm On Aug 12, 2015
Through the window,

The wave crashes,
And washes
Stones by time burnt
And ashen.

The world is gray
With flashes of colour.

Thoughts flow upon intangible ink.
Breaths weaved in contemplative silence
The wind blows an unheard melody;
Rustling leaves.

The mind wanders
Gliding with shimmering wings
Liquid crystals
Within streams of frosted fascination
Fog clouds the glass
Painting the world in a spreading blur
As the heavens gently weep
The pitter-patter rises
The light dances
Reflections shiver

A momentary glance stretched to infinity.
Unshed tears fall
Raindrops splash in detached harmonies
Whispered daydreams
Rippling across pools of perspective realities
The glass holds the view captive
The viewer captivated
Soaring through drifting illusions
Freedom or a cage
The words remain unsaid.
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by llaykorn: 5:24pm On Aug 12, 2015
timpaker:
WHEN A DOOR DIES

One eyed Sunday; will
You paddle me on my tears?
I've cried an ocean.
Ah, a haiku is most beautiful, sir, when it is written in bold brown ink. smiley
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by timpaker(m): 5:26pm On Aug 12, 2015
llaykorn:
Ah, a haiku is most beautiful, sir, when it is written in bold brown ink. smiley
You guessed right... But erm... Thanks but it ain't beautiful oooo.. cheesy
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by texanomaly(f): 6:20pm On Aug 12, 2015
timpaker:
You guessed right... But erm... Thanks but it ain't beautiful oooo.. cheesy
It's thought provoking. That is beauty. smiley
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by BzBee: 8:47pm On Aug 12, 2015
Hmm, they said rapture would be fast, sudden, happening faster than a speeding bullet, not giving anyone a chance toatch a breadth. Then what is this? Why do I see angels coming down from the sky picking up people, up, up back to the sky. I'm watching people go up,why am I here observing instead of being carried away by one of those big powerful angels? Omg, it was a dream, just a dream.Breathing softly, I walk to the window, stare to the sky, "O lord, please don't let me be a spectator when you come.Let me be ready, let me go with you when you call the saints".
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by timpaker(m): 11:57am On Aug 13, 2015
texanomaly:
It's thought provoking. That is beauty. smiley
Thanks ma'm.
Yours is awesome too. Your 3rd line is epic shocked!
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by UjSizzle(f): 5:56pm On Aug 15, 2015
Divepen1 any more?
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by EfemenaXY: 9:41pm On Aug 16, 2015
The eerie cries of the seagulls broke her reverie. Looking across the great expanse of water before her, she felt her eyes well up again for the umpteenth time. The bright sun filtering through the open windows did nothing to ease the heaviness in her heart, nor did the salty breeze whipping across her face easy the tightness constricting her chest. She should have been thrown overboard with the rest of them. That would have been so much better than the emptiness she felt searing through the depth of her soul.

It had been three moons. Three faithful moons since crazy Ameya, with her calabash of cowries, darkly outlined eyes, and frightful countenance had stared unblinkingly at her, foretelling an inescapable future. A future she had playfully laughed off. But she wasn't laughing now.

...That which you love so much will be your undoing...

How could it be? Who listened to Ameya's mad rants anyway? Life was full of probabilities but who or what was to say this particular probability would manifest, and manifest itself so?

She loved to trade and was easily the most astute fish trader in the region, born from many seasons of experience shadowing her grandmother, aunts, mother, and female cousins. She had learnt from the best and was quick to spot a bargain. Farming had never been her forte, but she did what she had to do. The cocoyams had to be harvested and no-one was going to do it for her. Yameti suddenly turning up at the farm, offering to help her out so they could get to the fishermen at the riverside, hauling in their new catch didn't seem such a bad idea. It had rained heavily the night before - a freak storm in the middle of the dry season, and the river was nearly bursting its banks. It was bound to bring in lots of fish, something she could sell at the next market day for a killing. Yameti's offer seemed too good to let go.

She had wanted to go back home first for some cowries and beads to trade with the fishermen, but Yameti had offered to lend her the money instead. Time was of the essence, so without mulling it over, she'd quickly set out with her, in the direction of the Great River, missing the calculating smile that spread over her friend's face...

The walk through the newly cleared footpath was brisk, but as they approached the river, she felt the hairs at the back of her neck stand on end. Something wasn't right. Spinning on her heels, she caught a glimpse of Yameti's wrapper as she fled, her shocked cry never quite making it past her lips as she collapsed into a heap, as something exploded at the back of her head.

Somewhere, as though from a far distance, she heard the anguished groans of people beside her. Her body rocked from sided to side as the floor underneath her seemed to move in the dark, damp room, filled with the putrid odour of human excrement. Her ankles and wrists hurt from where the shackles held her firmly to the ground. Suddenly, the room was filled with blinding light as an upper latch door was thrown open. It all happened so fast...being unshackled with the others...dragged out to the upper deck of the ship...a pale skinned man shouting orders as more of his kind swept down on them, haphazardly segregating them into two dysfunctional groups. A final shout from the pale man had his men swoop down on the terror filled struggling captives, throwing them overboard. Without so much a prayer for the drowning captives, he ordered the rest of them be dragged back to the dark hole at the bottom of the ship. That was many days ago. Tired and weak, she had been brought here, force fed to fatten her up for the great sale.

Ameya wasn't so crazy after all.

"Oni-me!" She cried out in anguish for her mother, suddenly understanding the full depth of Ameya's crazy premonition. Only, it wasn't that crazy after all. Betrayal by her best friend.
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by Divepen1(mod): 10:53pm On Aug 16, 2015
UjSizzle:
Divepen1 any more?
There should but not on this thread. But if you want this thread, then I will have to change the pix on the first post.
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by KachiUgo(m): 4:44pm On Aug 17, 2015
EfemenaXY:
The eerie cries of the seagulls broke her reverie. Looking across the great expanse of water before her, she felt her eyes well up again for the umpteenth time. The bright sun filtering through the open windows did nothing to ease the heaviness in her heart, nor did the salty breeze whipping across her face easy the tightness constricting her chest. She should have been thrown overboard with the rest of them. That would have been so much better than the emptiness she felt searing through the depth of her soul.

It had been three moons. Three faithful moons since crazy Ameya, with her calabash of cowries, darkly outlined eyes, and frightful countenance had stared unblinkingly at her, foretelling an inescapable future. A future she had playfully laughed off. But she wasn't laughing now.

How could it be? Who listened to Ameya's mad rants anyway? Life was full of probabilities but who or what was to say this particular probability would manifest, and manifest itself so?

She loved to trade and was easily the most astute fish trader in the region, born from many seasons of experience shadowing her grandmother, aunts, mother, and female cousins. She had learnt from the best and was quick to spot a bargain. Farming had never been her forte, but she did what she had to do. The cocoyams had to be harvested and no-one was going to do it for her. Yameti suddenly turning up at the farm, offering to help her out so they could get to the fishermen at the riverside, hauling in their new catch didn't seem such a bad idea. It had rained heavily the night before - a freak storm in the middle of the dry season, and the river was nearly bursting its banks. It was bound to bring in lots of fish, something she could sell at the next market day for a killing. Yameti's offer seemed too good to let go.

She had wanted to go back home first for some cowries and beads to trade with the fishermen, but Yameti had offered to lend her the money instead. Time was of the essence, so without mulling it over, she'd quickly set out with her, in the direction of the Great River, missing the calculating smile that spread over her friend's face...

The walk through the newly cleared footpath was brisk, but as they approached the river, she felt the hairs at the back of her neck stand on end. Something wasn't right. Spinning on her heels, she caught a glimpse of Yameti's wrapper as she fled, her shocked cry never quite making it past her lips as she collapsed into a heap, as something exploded at the back of her head.

Somewhere, as though from a far distance, she heard the anguished groans of people beside her. Her body rocked from sided to side as the floor underneath her seemed to move in the dark, damp room, filled with the putrid odour of human excrement. Her ankles and wrists hurt from where the shackles held her firmly to the ground. Suddenly, the room was filled with blinding light as an upper latch door was thrown open. It all happened so fast...being unshackled with the others...dragged out to the upper deck of the ship...a pale skinned man shouting orders as more of his kind swept down on them, haphazardly segregating them into two dysfunctional groups. A final shout from the pale man had his men swoop down on the terror filled struggling captives, throwing them overboard. Without so much a prayer for the drowning captives, he ordered the rest of them be dragged back to the dark hole at the bottom of the ship. That was many days ago. Tired and weak, she had been brought here, force fed to fatten her up for the great sale.

"Oni-me!" She cried out in anguish for her mother, suddenly understanding the full depth of Ameya's crazy premonition. Only, it wasn't that crazy after all. Betrayal by her best friend.
Excellent!
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by texanomaly(f): 2:12am On Aug 18, 2015
Are we going to get a new writing prompt?
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by Nobody: 12:55pm On Aug 19, 2015
Divepen1:
I love writing prompts. Here is one for today...

By the way, have you visited WWW.lite help..

We got a great deal help there.
For some reason, the sound of the ocean wave brought Console to him,and for a minute his problem seemed to disappear at the distant vanishing point, the vague horizon, the promise an escape to a distant land, where wishes come true and dreams are but reality. His sight blurred as he let the ocean view pass for a smoke screen, a canvas on which he painted his dream, for a moment the sound of the wave smashing against the banks disappeared, he could no longer feel the cold breeze of the oceans whisper, his head rested against the window edge, smiling madly a his reality, mocking his present existence, where he was no longer a prisoner in a castle, he dared
to leap through the window into the vast world and embrace his fate. in his reality his fear of height disappeared, he lifted up his sword against the suns rays, catching the light in readiness to conquer the world, slay the water dragon of doubts and rescue his kingdom of dreams. Venture into the vast ocean, against the tides and the odds, against wind and opportunity. A weak cough echoed faintly behind him, violently possessing him the present moment, as tayo woke up from his day dream, his sight fell sharply into the room, betraying his sight of his dream world through the window, across the ocean, as he walked away from the window frame, from the promise of his dreams, into a world where she lay sick. he could hear her struggle for breath and wondered if letting the window wide would help, as he coiled up to her side to give her comfort, her weak hand acknowledged his presence, he could feel her faint pulse.
"son, did i woke" she asked mustering up a smile amist her closed eye lids. Many things of life has faded but her voice never did to his ears.
"no mommy, i have been awake" tayo said, coiling up some more as she pressed him to her side. Tayo felt the deep urge to help, do something, he battled with a feeling of helplessness within himself, all he could do so far was dream and he prayed earnestly that she did the same.
"tell me about your dream" she requested, tayo smiled sheepishly, she could feel his smile lit up the room, his smile warming up her side.
"mommy"was all he could as the window frame came to mind.
"tell me about our dream" she said, but she need not ask again as tayo bursted into a tale of fantasy, captain of industries, lavishing tables and lifestyle, exotic land and princes. His vivid voice made her smile and she dreamt alone with his tale, she tried hard imagining herself in them, she tried conjuring up her own face, in the tale as he fixed them, but a blank space was all her imaginary mind could make.
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by EfemenaXY: 5:44am On Aug 20, 2015
KachiUgo:
Excellent!
Thanks! I've not tapped into my creative side for years. smiley

Avicky: How's this as an appetizer ma'am? Any good? Gosh I feel so rusty!
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by EfemenaXY: 5:53am On Aug 20, 2015
Divepen1:
There should but not on this thread. But if you want this thread, then I will have to change the pix on the first post.
Please don't. The stories on here so far are based on that picture. You can include another picture within this thread, or open up a new thread. The latter's probably the best option.
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by Divepen1(mod): 9:38am On Aug 20, 2015
EfemenaXY:
Please don't. The stories on here so far are based on that picture. You can include another picture within this thread, or open up a new thread. The latter's probably the best option.
Okay....
I've opened another one... I will post the link later
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by avicky(f): 10:10am On Aug 20, 2015
EfemenaXY:
Thanks! I've not tapped into my creative side for years. smiley

Avicky: How's this as an appetizer ma'am? Any good? Gosh I feel so rusty!
How far? Rusty? C'mon grab your system and give us sth worthwhile to read huh
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by Nobody: 1:18pm On Aug 21, 2015
EfemenaXY:

i still do not see both the structural and emotional connotation of the open window, help!.
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by Nobody: 4:04pm On Aug 21, 2015
EfemenaXY:
how have u been ? i've missed u
Re: Writing Prompt 1. (write Anything About The Picture) by EfemenaXY: 2:06pm On Aug 23, 2015
avicky:
How far? Rusty? C'mon grab your system and give us sth worthwhile to read huh
***Gulp! ***

I knew I shouldn't have called you madam. embarassed embarassed

Biko Vicky, still trying to find my feet na. It's been 3 whole years (I think!) cheesy cheesy

lofty900:
how have u been ? i've missed u
Lol! I'm good - you? smiley smiley
1 2 Reply

Writing Prompt: Use The First Line To Continue A StoryWriting Prompt- 10 Random CharacterUse This First Line To Continue A Story: Writing Prompt234

Chitty On Contract And Practical Commercial PrecedentsHow Do You Get To Publish Your Work?THE SLAY KING By Okewale Ifeoluwa (debut Story).