Stats: 3,152,596 members, 7,816,480 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 11:47 AM

Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why - Phones (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why (38675 Views)

How To Spot A Fake Phone (clone) Of Various Popular Brands - Deschyko / A Nairalander And His Girlfriend Win Lumia Phones From Nokia (Photos) / Don’t Buy Power Bank Before You Read This (2) (3) (4)

Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by adeyemik: 6:50am On Sep 06, 2015
Rottweiler and Bingo are dogs. One is a high end priced breed and the other one is low end priced dog. Infact, you can pick a bingo right on the street and take it home for free.

The creation model of the two dog are the same but there are distinctive attributes that differentiates the two dogs.

OP, you can pump up a bingo, give it all the dietary supplements and high rich proteineous food, it will still be priced low at the market because it is Bingo. Whereas, a Rottweiler that has been on 7 days dry fast would be priced high than the bingo.

Op, you've failed to tell your audience why low end Chinese phone have not been allowed into European and American market except for Huawei? The reason is simple - Quality! Quality!! Quality!!! and the attending health hazards.

It is wrong to use only those thing you can see or told - (phone specs) to compare phone, there are other things that are not obvious to you, that's what the known brands are selling, and why a low specs known brand would be more expensive than a high specs Chinese brand.

OP, a brand new 2015 Chinese brilliance car with a the features of a Toyota Camry 2014, will always be priced lower than a tokunho 2010 Toyota Corolla. The difference is QUALITY.
Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by rocoh(m): 6:59am On Sep 06, 2015
Well China is China. I prefer having a low end phone of the big names than buying the best of these Chinese phone. Perception matters a lot. What disgusts me about Chinese phones is their GUI and their Mtk processors.
Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by loomer: 7:27am On Sep 06, 2015
So make I leave all those ones den buy completely made in China phone?
Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by khalhokage(m): 8:23am On Sep 06, 2015
tomiobj:
if I was a teacher and u wrote this post for me in my exam. I would giv u 2/100. It's nt complete @ all. How would you forget the king when it comes to over-pricing phones. Apple eg the iphone 4 is just a waste of cash

The title says Android, Apple devices don't run on Android.
Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by Macgreat(m): 8:33am On Sep 06, 2015
enjoying my infinix cheesy
Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by zivility: 9:06am On Sep 06, 2015
khalhokage:
By Elroy Chibex

It’s another weekend, a time we pick up an erring part in mobile tech and thrash it out. This article was inspired by a comment from Mobilista Surajudeen, and we explore reasons why you shouldn’t buy low-end smartphones from popular phone brands.

There’s a general misconception people have with mobile phone makers. OK, for instance, If I asked, “What are the best Android phone brands?” The reply I expect to hear would be answers like Samsung, LG, Sony, and HTC. This is true. These aforementioned brands make the best Android phones you can see in the market, but then, there’s a limit to their greatness.

These popular brands make phones people love, but the great experience ends with their high end (and a few mid-range) phones. When it comes to low end devices, the likes of Samsung , LG, HTC and Sony are useless. Yes, you read it right. People buy them with the inner belief they’re getting something great, but trust me, the reverse is the case here.

If you want to buy a cheap Android device, look away from these popular brands because their low end devices are under specced and over priced. An experience with it may leave a bad taste in your mouth. If you must buy any of these popular brands, then save up and buy the very expensive ones. That’s when you know you’ve bought something worth celebrating.

There are many instances: Let’s pick out the Samsung J1. This is a phone released in 2015 but it comes with measly 512 MB RAM, and the price (at the time of writing this) is N20,330. It’s funny when you know you can get a 2 GB RAM Infinix Hot 2 for less or same price. Another case is the Galaxy Star 2 Plus, which Samsung used as a Hero deal during the
Jumia Mobile Megathon. The phone has no 3G, carries just 512 MB RAM, 4GB internal memory and was priced at N17,000.

Outside Samsung, there’s a mid-range Sony device, Xperia M4 Aqua . You can imagine, the 8 GB version of this phone has just 1.26 GB usable memory. Even rooting and hacking cannot save the situation. Imagine shelling N40,000 and being faced with this problem. LG, and HTC are also culprits, when you look at their low-end devices, you see that they’re expensive compared to the offerings of Chinese brands.

If your budget for a new smartphone is at the region of N30,000, then stay away from big name brands. Rather look towards the likes of TECNO, Gionee, Innjoo etc. They offer way better value for money compared to those popular brands you know.

Oya rant your own Happy Weekend folks!!

Source: [url=mobilityarena.com/weekend-rants-dont-buy-cheap-android-phones-from-popular-brandsheres-why/]Mobility[/url]
The best smart phone under 40k is BlackBerry Q5. It has everything and it's Hotspot is flawless. U can get it for 30 - 35k infact. The only thing to contend with is screen size as it comes with keyboard, which some people may prefer.

Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by XKZ(m): 9:17am On Sep 06, 2015
khalhokage:
By Elroy Chibex

These popular brands make phones people love, but the great experience ends with their high end (and a few mid-range) phones. When it comes to low end devices, the likes of Samsung , LG, HTC and Sony are useless. Yes, you read it right. People buy them with the inner belief they’re getting something great, but trust me, the reverse is the case here.

If you want to buy a cheap Android device, look away from these popular brands because their low end devices are under specced and over priced.

Source: [url=mobilityarena.com/weekend-rants-dont-buy-cheap-android-phones-from-popular-brandsheres-why/]Mobility[/url]

The issue of Android devices from 'unpopular' brands arriving with malware pre-installed was not addressed
Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by Emeskhalifa(m): 10:03am On Sep 06, 2015
teeowl:
techno is cheap but it serves me well.

not cheap but affordable sir
Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by AdeojoFolukeC(f): 10:20am On Sep 06, 2015
Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by claycares: 10:53am On Sep 06, 2015
adeyemik:
Rottweiler and Bingo are dogs. One is a high end priced breed and the other one is low end priced dog. Infact, you can pick a bingo right on the street and take it home for free.

The creation model of the two dog are the same but there are distinctive attributes that differentiates the two dogs.

OP, you can pump up a bingo, give it all the dietary supplements and high rich proteineous food, it will still be priced low at the market because it is Bingo. Whereas, a Rottweiler that has been on 7 days dry fast would be priced high than the bingo.

Op, you've failed to tell your audience why low end Chinese phone have not been allowed into European and American market except for Huawei? The reason is simple - Quality! Quality!! Quality!!! and the attending health hazards.

It is wrong to use only those thing you can see or told - (phone specs) to compare phone, there are other things that are not obvious to you, that's what the known brands are selling, and why a low specs known brand would be more expensive than a high specs Chinese brand.

OP, a brand new 2015 Chinese brilliance car with a the features of a Toyota Camry 2014, will always be priced lower than a tokunho 2010 Toyota Corolla. The difference is QUALITY.

You're very correct, I will never buy a no name electronics like Tecno, Infinix, etc they make me look cheap, bad built quality, no security update, and many other issues. Imagine all Tecno and Infinix phones, all models failed the stsgefreight malware exploit, even the companies including Trcno, Infinix and others dont even know about this or they just decided not to make any comments on that. Ignorance is really a epidemic disease that has become endemic. The man in the middle malware has been there for over a year now affecting almost all Tecno and Infinix phones yet no fix. But they spend millions of naira everyday paying social media hype people like the OP to condemn brands that have spent over $100s of billions on mobile tech research because they want to sell cheap, insecure, poorly built devices to ignorant people. Phones they cannot sell in countries where lives have value and the regulators are wirking to protect their people. If it is not panadol e no fit bi like panadol.

Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by bolliejay(m): 12:17pm On Sep 06, 2015
ITbomb:
The best phones to buy are according to your cash are
25k to 30k = Infinix Hot Note Pro, Gionee M2 and Innjoo Note One
20k to 25k = Tecno Boom, Tecno Camon and Infinix Zero
15k to 20k = Infinix Hot 2, Innjoo One, Samsung GT3....
Below 15k = Gionee M2 mini and Innjoo Halo because of their massive 3000mAh battery at only 14k
Compare the two Gionee M2 mini and Innjoo Halo

IT'S ON NOW!!! The Battery War has just begun!
Click here to see which phone last longer |Gionee vs Innjoo| - 3000mAh @ N14k ONLY!

Abeg no spoil my fone.......innjoo one is 28k.
Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by FRANKOXY(m): 4:35pm On Sep 06, 2015
TEAM TECNO. Y6 ALL THE WAY.
Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by tomiobj(m): 11:20pm On Sep 07, 2015
khalhokage:

The title says Android, Apple devices don't run on Android.
Oh sorry, my fault.....i wz reading blindly

Thnk you for not ending my career with an insult grin
Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by tomiobj(m): 11:52pm On Sep 07, 2015
[
Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by khalhokage(m): 4:36am On Sep 08, 2015
tomiobj:

Oh sorry, my fault.....i wz reading blindly

Thnk you for not ending my career with an insult grin

grin Alright
Re: Don’t Buy Cheap Android Phones From Popular Brands,here’s Why by Homeyfav: 8:15pm On Dec 14, 2019
';

Throwback: Specification Of This Sony Ericsson K750i Will Make You Smile(Photo) / How To Retract Whatsapp Messages At Anytime Even After A Week! / In Need Of Joikuspot Premium License Code