Stats: 3,151,891 members, 7,814,009 topics. Date: Wednesday, 01 May 2024 at 12:47 AM

Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car - Car Talk - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car (35116 Views)

12 Reasons To Do A Car VIN Check Before You Buy That Car / Why You Shouldn't Repaint That Car / Before You Buy That Used Car, Look Before You Leap. (2) (3) (4)

Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by valencia25(m): 1:11pm On Sep 21, 2015
Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car:

An average Nigerian with a low budget face this type of dilemma often, most especially the people that want to buy their first car but they don't have that millions of Naira to splash out on a car.

In as much as i hate to disagree, cars are liability and you get to start spending on it immediately you make payment.
Of course you get to spend by fueling the car but it also have its importance.

Back to the Topic, Which Type Of Car Should I Buy?
Ans: Buy something you can maintain even if it means waiting to complete the figures.

Maintenance of a car: is the basic thing every car owner must consider before making payment.
Do a thorough research, ask questions from anonymous mechanics that is not affiliated with the dealer or seller about the type of Car you want to purchase if it's worth it and be very sure you're not going to pay for a car you won't be able to afford its parts.

Are the parts available in the market? This has to come next to maintenance of a car, don't just wake up one day and go for that beauty you found available because you want to drive around like a boss!
Mechanical parts are not to be trusted, the car you park can develop a fault when you restart the ignition. Yes it's that weird.

You must have seen cases of some expensive cars parked and you'd wonder why the owner abandon his/her car on a strange spot.
Unavailable or expensive parts could be the cause. Most times, it's the cause.

That Mechanic around your area can testify to the above.

Fuel consumption: are you that guy or lady that have a specific budget to spend for a certain period of time, please avoid buying a car that consume fuel because you'll realise you're spending above what you've budgeted.

Your road: Although this one might not seem like an excuse but this is what realacars is all about, we're not going to assume all our audience have good roads.

As the case might be, it's not possible. If you fall into this category you really should think about this clue.
Don't force your car to follow that bad roads, cars run with engines and parts. Don't be surprise if your car suffer alignment and shock absorber problem often if you persists.

You can as well get the car but minimize the number of times you force it on that bad road.

There are lots more we will share with our readers subsequently on realacars.com and we'll try as much as possible to publish affordable cars that are in good condition on this webpage.

Source: http://www.realacars.com/2015/09/which-type-of-car-should-i-buy.html

Cc: Marpol

21 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by dominique(f): 1:23pm On Sep 21, 2015
Nuce one. It also depends on the roads you will be driving this car on as well as the distances you will be covering. If you ply on bumpy muddy roads and you feel a low budget naija used car is the ideal option, you'll be spending money of repairs every other week.

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by MrKIZITO(m): 1:24pm On Sep 21, 2015
K
Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by GlorifiedTunde(m): 1:24pm On Sep 21, 2015
Its not he who buys a car that is rich, its he who can maintain it that is. wink wink

26 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by olaolulazio(m): 1:24pm On Sep 21, 2015
Best thread since morning till now!

meanwhile OP, a friend of mine has 130k, can he get a good car with 2extra tyres, alloy rims, extra parts, limited consumption of fuel, power steering and many more?

17 Likes 1 Share

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by tollytexy(m): 1:24pm On Sep 21, 2015
Cars loose value so fast .. I'd rada stick to my bicycle lol grin tongue but OP I hope u ain't posting this to the Nairaland auto section oo make car dealers no use horns swear for u lol

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by dave2meek(m): 1:24pm On Sep 21, 2015
#teamlegedisbenz for nowgringrin

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by osaslord500(m): 1:24pm On Sep 21, 2015
Don't Look At The Body, Look At The Engine

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by Sunexy(m): 1:25pm On Sep 21, 2015
Is dat all??

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by MISSNORA(f): 1:25pm On Sep 21, 2015
Nice info
Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by Nobody: 1:25pm On Sep 21, 2015
Soon be there

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by donTbone(m): 1:25pm On Sep 21, 2015
seriously..this thing make fp sha cheesy

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by MISSNORA(f): 1:26pm On Sep 21, 2015
tollytexy:
Cars loose value so fast .. I'd rada stick to my bicycle lol grin tongue
hmmm mind wat u wish for

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by ozicoblendo: 1:26pm On Sep 21, 2015
Thanks for dis....
Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by Nobody: 1:27pm On Sep 21, 2015
That car
Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by bigv(m): 1:27pm On Sep 21, 2015
Money!

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by chelseabmw(m): 1:27pm On Sep 21, 2015
MISSNORA:

When are you buying your car?

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by sashx(m): 1:27pm On Sep 21, 2015
Car maintenance: bane of Nigerian youths' ability to save

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by kay29000(m): 1:27pm On Sep 21, 2015
Okay. What of if it is bicycle I want to buy? I don't have money for car yet.

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by hemartins(m): 1:27pm On Sep 21, 2015
you buy a car now and you spend almost all ur salary for maintenance.

best advice

don't buy a car if you don't need it or can't maintain it.

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by biggz82: 1:27pm On Sep 21, 2015
OK we hear

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by Mekky05(m): 1:27pm On Sep 21, 2015
Op,thank you for this heads up!

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by Nobody: 1:27pm On Sep 21, 2015
Toyota steals the show in terms of Fuel Economy, Ruggedness, Comfort, Durability and Second hand values cool grin

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by bro4u: 1:28pm On Sep 21, 2015
Well i have two things to consider, they are
(1)That thing that kills somebody when there is an accident must be removed.
(2)There must be a detachable bed, incase you might decide to carry out a surgery on your boo.
Anything short of the above will be unacceptable by me.

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by jazinogold(m): 1:28pm On Sep 21, 2015
what of the things to consider y buying a 3rd hand car?

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by sashx(m): 1:28pm On Sep 21, 2015
GlorifiedTunde:
Its not he who buys a car that is rich, its he who can maintain it that is. wink wink

#fact

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by damton(m): 1:28pm On Sep 21, 2015
Also. If the car is durable and not prone to incessant faults
Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by Seunpaul01(m): 1:29pm On Sep 21, 2015
ok, i will come back to the thread when am ready to buy one.

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by kentochi(m): 1:29pm On Sep 21, 2015
well said

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by obinnajr(m): 1:29pm On Sep 21, 2015
AKUKO

Re: Things You Must Consider Before You Buy That Car by themosthigh: 1:30pm On Sep 21, 2015
[size=18pt]Never drive a better car than your pastor.

Can the car help you get the girl that you deserve.

make sure you ask God to give you a sign to prove that the car is goos.

Nevet buy a car that is more expensive that your tithea[/size]

Is It Possible For A Car Doing 120/km To Overtake Another At The Same Speed? / Urgent Help Needed My Car Is Missing / Midnight Accident On Lagos Ibadan Express Way (photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 39