Stats: 3,147,901 members, 7,799,013 topics. Date: Tuesday, 16 April 2024 at 01:51 PM

Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu (38176 Views)

Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -tinubu / Saraki Vs CCT: Lawyers Flay Senate President / Saraki Vs Tinubu Comparism: Why Overrate Bukola Saraki? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Firefire(m): 12:58am On Sep 25, 2015
By Monsuru Olowoopejo

Apparently reacting over the ongoing trial of the Senate President, Senator Bukola Saraki by the Code of Conduct Tribunal, CCT, leader of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu yesterday said the present administration cannot overlook certain things in its fight against corruption.

Meantime, Tinubu has called on Nigerians to often put God and the nation first in their daily activities, saying “What is missing (in Nigeria) is patriotism, dedication to God and to our people.

Tinubu in an interview after observing his two rakat prayer as part of the activities for the Eid-el-Kabir celebration at the Dodan Barrack praying ground, Obalende area of Lagos State, said that the ongoing anti-corruption war embarked upon by President Muhammadu Buhari will further strengthen the country’s institutions and fast track development.

This came 48 hours after the Saraki appeared before the CCT in Abuja on September 22nd, 2015, claiming that he was not guilty to the charges leveled against him by the tribunal.

According to him, “It is part of nation’s development. We cannot overlook a lot of things. And we cannot personalise a lot of things as if it was vendetta. We have to endure and be patient as we look for justice, equity and a balanced society.”

He stated that to achieve a just and balanced society, the various institutions in the country must be strengthened, adding “if we do not straighten these institutions, how can they work for the development of the nation? If we fail and result to blackmail, how can the nation reverse the decadence that is perceived in our society?”

Cc: Lalasticlala

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2015/09/saraki-vs-cct-we-cant-overlook-a-lot-of-things-tinubu/

16 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Firefire(m): 12:58am On Sep 25, 2015
Interesting...

"He who comes into equity must come with clean hands."

This maxim bars relief for anyone guilty of improper conduct in the matter at hand.

"It operates to prevent any affirmative recovery for the person with “unclean hands,” no matter how unfairly the person’s adversary has treated him or her".

21 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by oloyedayo(m): 1:05am On Sep 25, 2015
My prayer to God is that none of them will be overlooked.

31 Likes

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Ola17: 1:10am On Sep 25, 2015
BAT just made an ambiguous statement. You can interpret it in many contexts.

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by JAMANZE: 1:15am On Sep 25, 2015
THIS IS THE ASIWAJU MASTERLAN TO DETHRONE SARAKI BY ALL MEANS AND GAIN CONTROL OF THE SENATE THEREBY CALLING THE SHOTS SINCE EVEN THE DULLARD CANNOT STOP HIM WITH SUCH POWER. WHEN PDP WAS IN POWER NIGERIAN BELONGED TO AT LESAT 5% OF THE MASSES BUT NOW NIGERIA BELONG TO ONLY BUHARI AND TINUBU

94 Likes 13 Shares

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Firefire(m): 1:18am On Sep 25, 2015
JAMANZE:
THIS IS THE ASIWAJU MASTERLAN TO DETHRONE SARAKI BY ALL MEANS AND GAIN CONTROL OF THE SENATE THEREBY CALLING THE SHOTS SINCE EVEN THE DULLARD CANNOT STOP HIM WITH SUCH POWER. WHEN PDP WAS IN POWER NIGERIAN BELONGED TO AT LESAT 5% OF THE MASSES BUT NOW NIGERIA BELONG TO ONLY BUHARI AND TINUBU

They will all fail in their quest to rule Nigeria from their bedroom.

83 Likes 9 Shares

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by sammyj: 1:22am On Sep 25, 2015
This is food for thought for Saraki who would have gone to Tinubu for training how on to handle issues like this in the future !!! cry

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by JAMANZE: 1:24am On Sep 25, 2015
AMEN
Firefire:

42 Likes 1 Share

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Businessideas: 1:26am On Sep 25, 2015
He is simply saying 'books shall be opened' even after Saraki since he has already gotten his own day at CCT. wink

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Firefire(m): 1:28am On Sep 25, 2015
Businessideas:
He is simply saying 'books shall be opened' even after Saraki since he has already gotten his own day at CCT. wink

I hope his own 'book(s)' is re-open soon ?

21 Likes 1 Share

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by temitemi1(m): 1:30am On Sep 25, 2015
Tinubu talking abt corruption cheesy

49 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Firefire(m): 1:30am On Sep 25, 2015
temitemi1:
Tinubu talking abt corruption cheesy

Yeah, everybody forming saint now... cheesy

61 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by vicadex07(m): 1:34am On Sep 25, 2015
Firefire:
Interesting...

"He who comes into equity must come with clean hands."

This maxim bars relief for anyone guilty of improper conduct in the matter at hand.

"It operates to prevent any affirmative recovery for the person with “unclean hands,” no matter how unfairly the person’s adversary has treated him or her".

Yes, tinubu has also passed through this stage which saraki is trying to avoid by all means.

Tinubu was found not guilty of all charges even when it was PDP that was in charge of things.

73 Likes 1 Share

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by eyesofgod: 1:34am On Sep 25, 2015
Jagaban!!! The liberator of our democracy.Though you erred like every statesman, history has forgiven you.Your foot print will remain etched in the sand of

From mouthofgod.

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by vicadex07(m): 1:37am On Sep 25, 2015
Firefire:

But u wailers used to say tinubu was inconsequential in the scheme of things in the political arena to the extent that u touted him as a "local champion".

Are u people now changing your opinion of him again or you're just confused

76 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Firefire(m): 1:39am On Sep 25, 2015
vicadex07:

Yes, tinubu has also passed through this stage which saraki is trying to avoid by all means.

Tinubu was found not guilty of all charges even when it was PDP that was in charge of things.

Bros, take your time to read what transpire during Tinubu's trial.

It would be recalled that the former governor had at the last adjourned date, October 26, declined to either mount the dock or enter his plea to the charge, arguing that he should have been tried in Lagos state where he allegedly committed the said offence. shocked

Arguing through his lead counsel, Chief Wole Olanipekun, SAN, Tinubu had told the tribunal that while he was a governor, “some forms for declaration of assets were brought to him from the Code of Conduct Bureau, at its office in Lagos. The said forms were filled, completed and deposed to at the High Court of Lagos Registry and same duly returned to the CCB in Lagos”, stressing that he did not have any personal dealing with the CCB in Abuja.

Besides, the ex-governor through his team of lawyers comprising of over 15 Senior Advocates of Nigeria, maintained that he “is being accused and/or charged before a Tribunal which is not known to the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, (as amended). (Same Point Saraki Lawyer is rasing ?) grin

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2011/12/tinubu-floors-fg/

25 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by omaniblog(m): 1:41am On Sep 25, 2015
i see

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by vicadex07(m): 1:48am On Sep 25, 2015
Firefire:

What is there to read
In summary, Tinubu floors FG in foreign account charge

18 Likes 1 Share

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Firefire(m): 1:59am On Sep 25, 2015
vicadex07:

What is there to read

In summary, Tinubu floors FG in foreign account charge

The same procedure used by Tinubu to outsmart the court was also applied by Saraki.

But because their was a political vendetta against the later the court is having upper hands.

Yesterday, his refusal to enter the dock, which is necessary before a plea can be entered, marked a clear departure from that experience.

Citing legal authorities, Mr. Olanikpekun objected to the invitation of the tribunal’s chairman, Justice Umar Yakubu for Mr. Tinubu to step into the dock, arguing that until his client was arraigned before the court, he could not be put in the dock.

He told Justice Yakubu, “My lord, with due respect, I will be objecting to the request by the accused to enter the dock. Was it right for the court to command an accused person to go into the dock when he has not been arraigned? Besides, he is challenging the competence of the charge. The objection is on the legality or validity of the charge.”

http://saharareporters.com/2011/10/26/foreign-accounts-former-gov-bola-tinubu-refuses-be-docked-ccb-tribunal

13 Likes

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Firefire(m): 2:12am On Sep 25, 2015
Part of the charges against Tinubu read:

“That you Bola Tinubu, former Governor of Lagos state, being a public officer and listed in part ll of the Fifth Schedule to the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and having subscribed to the oath of office as contained in the Fifth Schedule of the constitution on assumption of office between 1999-2000 and while in office as such, engaged yourself in the operation of several foreign bank accounts.

“That you Bola Tinubu, former Governor of Lagos state, beibg a public officer and listed in part ll of the Fifth Schedule to the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and having subscribed to the oath of office as contained in the Fifth Schedule of the constitution on assumption of office between 1999- 2000 and while in office as such, misinformed Code of Conduct Tribunal by stating in the form CCB1 that you do not have foreign accounts contrary to section 15 (2) of the CCB and T Act, Cap C15, LFN 2004 as amended and punishable under paragraph 18, Fifth Schedule to the 1999 Constitution as amended.”

Names and addresses of the banks where the former Governor allegedly operated the foreign accounts were listed on the charge sheet.

Some are as follows;

First Heritage Bank, Country Club Hills, Illinois, USA; Account Name, Bola Tinubu, Account Number-263226700.

Citibank NA New York, USA; Account Name, Bola Tinubu & Compass Finance and Investment Company Ltd; Account Nos-39483134, 39483396, 4650279566, 00400220, 39936383.

Citibank International New York; Account Name, Bola Tinubu.

HSBC, 177 Great Portland Street London WIW 6OJ; Account Name, Sen Bola Tinubu; Account No-71253670, SORT CODE-40-03-15.

HSBC, 177 Great Portland Street London WIW 6OJ; Account Name, Sen. Bola Oluremi Tinubu; Account No-71253670, SORT CODE-40-03-15.

HSBC, 177 Great Portland Street London WIW 6OJ; Account Name, Sen. Bola Tinubu-Money Market; Account No-04320002DN.

HSBC, 177 Great Portland Street London WIW 6OJ; Account Name, Tinubu Habibat Oyindamola (Miss); Account No-1320960111.

HSBC, 177 Great Portland Street London WIW 60J; Account Name, Tinubu Zainab Abisola (Miss); Account No-172447101.

HSBC,177 Great Portland Street London WIW 60J; Account Name, Tinubu Oluremi Shade; Account No-1916667988.

HSBC, 177 Great Portland Street London WIW 6OJ; Account Name, Oluremi Shade Tinubu, Account No-41421522

http://www.pmnewsnigeria.com/2011/10/26/tinubu-challenges-trial-at-conduct-tribunal/

Chief Wole Olanipekun alleged that Tinubu was being persecuted. He further contended that there is a desperation on the part of the Federal Government to deal with the former governor who can rightly be said to be the leader of the opposition in Nigeria.

11 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by disloman(m): 2:39am On Sep 25, 2015
Firefire:
Part of the charges for which Tinubu was trial read:

“That you Bola Tinubu, former Governor of Lagos state, being a public officer and listed in part ll of the Fifth Schedule to the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and having subscribed to the oath of office as contained in the Fifth Schedule of the constitution on assumption of office between 1999-2000 and while in office as such, engaged yourself in the operation of several foreign bank accounts.

“That you Bola Tinubu, former Governor of Lagos state, beibg a public officer and listed in part ll of the Fifth Schedule to the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and having subscribed to the oath of office as contained in the Fifth Schedule of the constitution on assumption of office between 1999- 2000 and while in office as such, misinformed Code of Conduct Tribunal by stating in the form CCB1 that you do not have foreign accounts contrary to section 15 (2) of the CCB and T Act, Cap C15, LFN 2004 as amended and punishable under paragraph 18, Fifth Schedule to the 1999 Constitution as amended.”

Names and addresses of the banks where the former Governor allegedly operated the foreign accounts were listed on the charge sheet.

Some are as follows;

First Heritage Bank, Country Club Hills, Illinois, USA; Account Name, Bola Tinubu, Account Number-263226700.

Citibank NA New York, USA; Account Name, Bola Tinubu & Compass Finance and Investment Company Ltd; Account Nos-39483134, 39483396, 4650279566, 00400220, 39936383.

Citibank International New York; Account Name, Bola Tinubu.

HSBC, 177 Great Portland Street London WIW 6OJ; Account Name, Sen Bola Tinubu; Account No-71253670, SORT CODE-40-03-15.

HSBC, 177 Great Portland Street London WIW 6OJ; Account Name, Sen. Bola Oluremi Tinubu; Account No-71253670, SORT CODE-40-03-15.

HSBC, 177 Great Portland Street London WIW 6OJ; Account Name, Sen. Bola Tinubu-Money Market; Account No-04320002DN.

HSBC, 177 Great Portland Street London WIW 6OJ; Account Name, Tinubu Habibat Oyindamola (Miss); Account No-1320960111.

HSBC, 177 Great Portland Street London WIW 60J; Account Name, Tinubu Zainab Abisola (Miss); Account No-172447101.

HSBC,177 Great Portland Street London WIW 60J; Account Name, Tinubu Oluremi Shade; Account No-1916667988.

HSBC, 177 Great Portland Street London WIW 6OJ; Account Name, Oluremi Shade Tinubu, Account No-41421522

http://www.pmnewsnigeria.com/2011/10/26/tinubu-challenges-trial-at-conduct-tribunal/

Chief Wole Olanipekun alleged that Tinubu was being persecuted. He further contended that there is a desperation on the part of the Federal Government to deal with the former governor who can rightly be said to be the leader of the opposition in Nigeria.
What was the verdict and under whose government?I'm waiting.

19 Likes

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Firefire(m): 3:21am On Sep 25, 2015
disloman:
What was the verdict and under whose government?I'm waiting.

Google is your friend. Use it.

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by aresa: 4:06am On Sep 25, 2015
Firefire:

It would be recalled that the former governor had at the last adjourned date, October 26, declined to either mount the dock or enter his plea to the charge, arguing that he should have been tried in Lagos state where he allegedly committed the said offence. shocked

Arguing through his lead counsel, Chief Wole Olanipekun, SAN, Tinubu had told the tribunal that while he was a governor, “some forms for declaration of assets were brought to him from the Code of Conduct Bureau, at its office in Lagos. The said forms were filled, completed and deposed to at the High Court of Lagos Registry and same duly returned to the CCB in Lagos”, stressing that he did not have any personal dealing with the CCB in Abuja.

Besides, the ex-governor through his team of lawyers comprising of over 15 Senior Advocates of Nigeria, maintained that he “is being accused and/or charged before a Tribunal which is not known to the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, (as amended). (Same Point Saraki Lawyer is rasing ?) grin

Olodo villager, below is what the CCT judge said about Asiwaju Tinubu. He actually praised Asiwaju for good conduct.

The tribunal chairman lauded Tinubu for making himself available throughout the trial, as he said it was not mandatory for the accused challenging jurisdiction of the court to appear before it.

http://www.thisdaylive.com/articles/conduct-tribunal-quashes-charges-against-tinubu/104033/

Village clowns...

19 Likes

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Nobody: 4:11am On Sep 25, 2015
aresa:

Olodo villager, below is what the CCT aid about Asiwaju Tinubu. He actually praised Asiwaju for good conduct.

Village clowns...
Look at who is talking!! To think that this clown few weeks ago was defending Fashola against Tinubu!!! Bunch of low-lifes without any personal opinion

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Nobody: 4:14am On Sep 25, 2015
Firefire:

Curiously no one accused his entourage of supporting corruption then,today some idiots are criticising the honorable senator who went to pay solidarity with Saraki

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Firefire(m): 4:17am On Sep 25, 2015
chukwudi44:

Look at who is talking!! To think that this clown few weeks ago was defending Fashola against Tinubu!!! Bunch of low-lifes without any personal opinion

Ignore that guy, he feeds on corruption.

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by aresa: 4:18am On Sep 25, 2015
chukwudi44:

Oponu villager, when me and you follow discuss your imaginary rubbish? You smoke akpu ni abi wetin?

16 Likes

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by onismate: 5:42am On Sep 25, 2015
oloyedayo:
My prayer to God is that none of them will be overlooked.
indeed he can't overlook that kind of thing with his large okpolo eyes nah.

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Nobody: 5:48am On Sep 25, 2015
aresa:
[s][/s]

Oponu villager, when me and you follow discuss your imaginary rubbish? You smoke akpu ni abi wetin?

Bunch of hypocrite without any personal opinions!!! Tinubu is now back to been a saint because he seemed to jave made up with fashola baa!! Even compared to the crimes fashola was accused of,saraki's alleged sins pales into insignificance!!

Bunch of idiots,oya after ranting in the media and hiring crowds at mosque go and remove him let us see

14 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by RichDad1(m): 5:54am On Sep 25, 2015
Jagaban the slayer. coolcool

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by Nobody: 5:57am On Sep 25, 2015
May almighty Allah bless those that mean well for these country and as for those that want to use us for personal gains,they will never know rest.

Re: Saraki Vs CCT: We Can’t Overlook A Lot Of Things -Tinubu by dejavski(m): 6:32am On Sep 25, 2015
All cases of corruption has to be visited both Old cases and new ones. If not anything that is going on right now to saraki is just witch-hunting angry

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

Photos Of Kwata Junction Flyover, Awka / Photo Of The Day: Young President Goodluck Jonathan / Why Service Chiefs Were At Buhari’s 2019 Next Level Campaign Launch – Presidency

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 80