Stats: 3,160,857 members, 7,844,773 topics. Date: Thursday, 30 May 2024 at 07:32 AM

Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari (45757 Views)

I Was Overthrown In 1984 For Refusing To Devalue The Naira – Buhari / I Won’t Devalue Naira, Buhari Insists / 1 Dollar = 1 Naira: Buhari Approves An Exchange Rate Of N160 To $1 (2) (3) (4)

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by banmee(m): 8:39pm On Feb 05, 2016
PROVACATEUR:
Buhari in the name of God don't blame me in any of this your blame games

But he's right na. The predicament we are in now was caused by every single leader Nigeria has had since independence including Buhari. If you disagree, point to one leader who was above average.

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by tunezvic(m): 8:39pm On Feb 05, 2016
I am no supporter of buhari but I must say the truth, naira devaluation up till date was as result of babangida loan from IMF..

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by petermichaels(m): 8:39pm On Feb 05, 2016
sap and d money he used to sponsor O.I.C. say it all don't say it half.
Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by Nobody: 8:40pm On Feb 05, 2016
Buhari should not try nd call my name oooh hia Shey una dey here I dey talk. I no wan hear my name say I follow cos Nigeria probably
Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by OYAY(m): 8:41pm On Feb 05, 2016
Some folks commenting here are actually the clueless not the president because the president has not folded his arms helplessly on the economic issue but trying to analyse the naira issue and its source of problem we are witnessing today,moreover the piece quoted above were two paragraphs;what led to PMB's statement was not stated which I guess was a question on devaluing the naira which led to the presidents' telling them the genesis of the quagmire we are in today hence I think we should read in between lines and comprehend very well before spewing myopically in an intellectual forum like this..

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by Tex42(m): 8:42pm On Feb 05, 2016
How I wish this blame game by PMB and his cohort will get our derailed economy back on track.

How I wish Buhari's blames will return back to the National treasury/account the billions and trillions of naira stolen by bubu's prays.

How I wish blaming GEJ and IBB would make N1 = $1.

Bubu keeps feeding Nigerians with his body odour and kwaruption tales by moonlight.

Who SAP help!

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by Soreza(m): 8:42pm On Feb 05, 2016
THE TOURIST,THE BLAMER next loading...................

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by vigasimple(m): 8:43pm On Feb 05, 2016
asadike:
This is what we get from an alliance of ndi ofe and ndi ugwu.

what about ndi Ara and okoroawusa.

Nigeria major problem is lack of truth telling, Tribalism and Religion.

Yoruba and Igbo's are the major cause and they turn around and blame each other.
Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by nikkiking(m): 8:43pm On Feb 05, 2016
Who's BUHHHAAAAARI

Somebody tell me pls!

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by tunezvic(m): 8:43pm On Feb 05, 2016
OYAY:
Some folks commenting here are actually the clueless not the president because the president has not folded his arms helplessly on the economic issue but trying to analyse the naira issue and its source of problem we are witnessing today,moreover the piece quoted above were two paragraphs;what led to PMB's statement was not stated which I guess was a question on devaluing the naira which led to the presidents' telling them the genesis of the quagmire we are in today hence I think we should read in between lines and comprehend very well before spewing myopically in an intellectual forum like this..
kudos! Now I know Nigeria is filled with ignorant youth..

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by ishiamu(m): 8:43pm On Feb 05, 2016
olas24u:

Buy Nigeria

Mek I buy nigeria??

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by drss(m): 8:45pm On Feb 05, 2016
StOla:
Buhari is right, except of course we have only teenagers alive in Nigeria who do not remember the glory days of the Nigerian Naira.
What most know about the Naira is that you convert a little dollars or pounds to Naira and it becomes a large amount.

Ignorance is truly a disease and Nigerians have no memory at all.
but buari who truncated democracy in 1983 should not be blamed ba?
dis govt is directionless!

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by olas24u(f): 8:47pm On Feb 05, 2016
ishiamu:

Mek I buy nigeria??

Yes ,that is the way out ?start buying made in Nigeria
Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by StOla: 8:47pm On Feb 05, 2016
lolzzzz:
so he should start blaming someone that left power years back? He should shut and do something. Are you OK?

Must history be disregarded or revised because it isn't appealing to your ears?

I thought you would have provided evidence that Buhari was making a false assertion? If not, then what is your grouse with a factual account of how the Naira came to be so useless?

Do you have a working brain?

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by Nobody: 8:48pm On Feb 05, 2016
This man is only ready for a revenge mission before his death. Imagine, beef of 30 years ago, he's rekindling it today. Naija don enter one chance, no two ways about it.

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by Justicealh3(m): 8:48pm On Feb 05, 2016
I think U feel reize the Death Now 'Bring Our Naira Back (BONB). Mr Blaming somebody.

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by ishiamu(m): 8:48pm On Feb 05, 2016
olas24u:

Yes ,that is the way out ?start buying made in Nigeria

Lolzz
Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by baralatie(m): 8:48pm On Feb 05, 2016
I don't know o but I don't think ibb will like this
Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by abbey621(m): 8:49pm On Feb 05, 2016
Right thinking Nigerians understand greatly what the President is saying. The first colossal decline of the Naira happened in the 1980s and the Naira never recovered again. History is now about to repeat itself with Nigeria needing to borrow just to implement its budget and some fools clamoring for devaluation of the Naira.....Don't we ever learn in this country

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by dabwan123(m): 8:50pm On Feb 05, 2016
End time I'm! End time SAN!! End time Naira!!!
Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by fotadmowmend(m): 8:51pm On Feb 05, 2016
Akon. .... u can put da blame on....
Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by Dagoma: 8:51pm On Feb 05, 2016
Buhari, its about employing your intelligence and experience to solve problems,......not blaming people everyday.

Why are you borrowing 2 billion dollerrs fom them now, just to fund budget?

Funny!

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by musicwriter(m): 8:53pm On Feb 05, 2016
alcmene:
President Muhammadu Buhari on Friday revealed that the Structural Adjustment Programme, SAP, by onetime military President, Ibrahim Badamosi Babagida, IBB, killed the naira.

Speaking with the BBC, Buhari traced the origin of some of the problems facing the country’s currency to IBB’s regime.

IBB had in 1986 and 1988 instituted SAP which is said to have been responsible for the downward trend of the naira.

” I went through the devalue in 1984, its SAP that killed the naira,

“I have asked the Governor of Central Bank and others to sit and see if they can convince me to murder the naira,” Buhari said.

IBB had in 1986 and 1988 instituted SAP which is said to have been responsible for the downward trend of the naira.

SAP is a loan provided by the International Monetary Fund, IMF, and the World Bank to countries facing economic turmoil.

http://dailypost.ng/2016/02/05/ibbs-sap-murdered-nigerian-naira-buhari/?utm_source=dlvr.it_dp1&utm_medium=twitter

Isn't it the same Buhari holding meeting with neo-colonial representative Ms. Christine Lagarde?. Well, I'm glad at least he know the root cause of the fall of the Naira. We were in school back then during IBB's regime, suddenly the Naira lost it's value, unexpectedly. Almost exactly the same thing happening to the Naira right now. Just came back from Benin republic today and money I changed from CFA to Naira suddenly rose and I was given almost 30% more Naira than I should've got just 1 year ago. I couldn't help asking myself how fast the Naira was becoming useless.

World bank and the IMF is a neo-colonial instrument set up after the 2nd world war to profit from third world countries. Once the US tested it's exploitative model on Europe, they discovered it could be targeted at third world countries. Both Europe and the US ganged up to use these institutions to exploit us.

When you tell them white people only aim is to exploit and impoverish African nations you'll see novices here calling you a conspiracy theorist.

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by Horlufemi(m): 8:53pm On Feb 05, 2016
abbey621:
Right thinking Nigerians understand greatly what the President is saying. The first colossal decline of the Naira happened in the 1980s and the Naira never recovered again. History is now about to repeat itself with Nigeria needing to borrow just to implement its budget and some fools clamoring for devaluation of the Naira.....Don't we ever learn in this country

Some people will never think and see past their hatred.

If Buhari succeeds in making one dollar to a naira. They will still wail.

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by wyqay: 8:53pm On Feb 05, 2016
Blaming is not the answer to Nigeria problem.Rather the president should be on ground for the tax ahead.
Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by Nobody: 8:54pm On Feb 05, 2016
https://m./411984005573675?view=permalink&id=794943443944394&refid=18&_ft_=qid.6247896446865216023%3Amf_story_key.794943443944394%3Atl_objid.794943443944394

u can join me on my latest topic
#Scorecard on lucky igbinedion
Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by gurunlocker: 8:55pm On Feb 05, 2016
blaming government..... very soon they will blame our ancestors
Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by mrjangaweed: 8:56pm On Feb 05, 2016
asadike:
This is what we get from an alliance of ndi ofe and ndi ugwu.
as m oooo kiss
Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by drss(m): 8:56pm On Feb 05, 2016
prixm:
Well said Mr President. You hit the nail on the head. You don't have to be an expert in Economics to arrive at that conclusion. Every country that IMF/World Bank sold that dummy to got their economy ruined. We have to wise up to the fact that these institutions may not be sincere in their claim to want to help us achieve greatness. If we have to do business with them at all we do it with our two eyes open. SAP was the beginning of the decline of the value of our Naira, it has not recovered since.
buari is d clueless one here because he doesn't understand economics. devaluation is not a bad thing.

Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by samchem(m): 8:57pm On Feb 05, 2016
He will soon blame his wife's inactiveness for Our draining economy
Re: Blame IBB For The Weak Naira-buhari by osusuallstars: 8:58pm On Feb 05, 2016
you will still vote for him in 2019. nde ara

Boko Haram Kills Nigerian Soldier, Ali In Borno (Photos) / Army Uncovers Boko Haram’s Underground Food Storage / Ambode And Jimi Agbaje Meet At The Experience 2017 (Photo)