Stats: 3,165,219 members, 7,860,387 topics. Date: Friday, 14 June 2024 at 10:19 AM

Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? - Jobs/Vacancies (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Jobs/Vacancies / Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? (15895 Views)

Can One Get A Government Job Without Connection? / What Is The Implication Of Accepting A Job Without An Employment Letter? / 4 Lessons I Learned From Quitting My Job With No Back-up Plan (2) (3) (4)

Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by Lanretoye(m): 5:27pm On Feb 21, 2016
it's really a difficult one..., i did too but im getting over it,even without another job.
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by missKiffy(f): 5:28pm On Feb 21, 2016
coolhamid:
Have done that so many times , and will continue to do it if my employer misbehaves...
Choi, you get mind
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by LEXYCOM: 5:29pm On Feb 21, 2016
I quit my job without a back up plan last year August.....it hasn't been easy since then staying at home and looking for Job........but I thank God becos next week, am starting a new job.......praise God on my behalf

Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by defash8: 5:29pm On Feb 21, 2016
I did once and within two months I secured another one that is twice the former one. At the time of resigning I got two different ideas on my mind but they are not totally clear but they were dropped after I got the new job. If you are married like me the thought of school fees and other costs will bug you down.
Lest I forget, I was more prayerful at the time of resigning, I have to let Allah (God) take charge & show direction. No two people may have same experience so our submission here might not really be of help, anyway we wish you goodluck.

Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by Nobody: 5:33pm On Feb 21, 2016
I just did! But I didn't quit......I was relieved of my duties.

But Jehovah bu eze! There's hope

Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by aameyah(f): 5:36pm On Feb 21, 2016
Yes, I did.
I had a supportive family and shortly went for my master degree thereafter.

I'm not getting the needed satisfaction from my current job. But I won't walk away just yet because I don't want to be idle.

Sometimes you just have to walk away to get a better deal....

Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by 4C2215131: 5:37pm On Feb 21, 2016
That you should bring up this issue again after yesterday tells me one thing; you're confused and prone to vacillating. Two traits that are very dangerous when it comes to excelling in life. Are you planning on taking a statistic of the number of posts that said nay as opposed to yay before you make your decision? If so, you're not ready for responsibilities. Yes, advice is necessary but when you can't make up your own mind based on proferred advice and introspection, there is a problem.

Make up your mind to quit or not, or do you want the lady to make it up on your behalf by showing you the exit? Why am I being this harsh on you? At your age ( hazarding 20s), you should by now have gotten a grip on certain things. Certain decisions have to be made by yourself, better or worse. You either learn and move on stronger or continue to wallow in regret thus going on a self-pity trip.

The work don tire you, madam dey eye u with bad eye everyday, MOVE! Kill your fear or are you so unqualified that you think you can't secure anew and better job? Did you get this through 'who-know-man'? If not, why are you scared?

You're still young, you can afford to take certain chances now, if it bombs charge it to experience.

I was in your shoes at a certain time. I quit and continued searching. I landed another not long after as I am very determined.

Do you take care of all your bills? If you do, you may stay while searching for obvious reasons but if you don't I don't think your parents will chase you out for being without a job.

Remember, of you're afraid to open your hands, dem go share the ground-nut leave you. Take a stand and face the consequences. Be bold and decisive woman!

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by 4C2215131: 5:37pm On Feb 21, 2016
That you should bring up this issue again after yesterday tells me one thing; you're confused and prone to vacillating. Two traits that are very dangerous when it comes to excelling in life. Are you planning on taking a statistic of the number of posts that said nay as opposed to yay before you make your decision? If so, you're not ready for responsibilities. Yes, advice is necessary but when you can't make up your own mind based on proferred advice and introspection, there is a problem.

Make up your mind to quit or not, or do you want the lady to make it up on your behalf by showing you the exit? Why am I being this harsh on you? At your age ( hazarding 20s), you should by now have gotten a grip on certain things. Certain decisions have to be made by yourself, better or worse. You either learn and move on stronger or continue to wallow in regret thus going on a self-pity trip.

The work don tire you, madam dey eye u with bad eye everyday, MOVE! Kill your fear or are you so unqualified that you think you can't secure anew and better job? Did you get this through 'who-know-man'? If not, why are you scared?

You're still young, you can afford to take certain chances now, if it bombs charge it to experience.

I was in your shoes at a certain time. I quit and continued searching. I landed another not long after as I am very determined.

Do you take care of all your bills? If you do, you may stay while searching for obvious reasons but if you don't I don't think your parents will chase you out for being without a job.

Remember, if you're afraid to open your hands, dem go share the ground-nut leave you. Take a stand and face the consequences. Be bold and decisive woman!
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by cescky(m): 5:38pm On Feb 21, 2016
missKiffy:
Like I mentioned in a thread I created yesterday that am thinking of quitting my job, but I don't really have a back up plan, so have you ever quit your job without having a back up plan, and how did it work out for you, did u regret your actions and how long did it take for you to get another job.

Yes I've done it before.... Though am now self employed, but then I had no plan b or you can say God was my plan b..... And my plan b was the reason for refusing to be. A suffer head in my previous employments....I got better jobs yes , even got an oil coy....(tho they folded ) in the long run I found it most coys are the same (frustrate you) so o branched out to self employment and am doing decently well... And the potentials are unlimited.

My suggestions .... Fear is killing humans faster than bullets, but people don't know it. What if u quit and get a huge offer?....what if u play safe and keep making money to get by?....generally my confidence lies in God (and the BELIEF that I wasn't made to suffer)not man hence all the jobs I had in times past that were stressful I quit. Generally humans have more capacity and abilities that they know they posses ts until one pushes himself, he will know what he's capable of ....

Finally success is WITHIN never without
The white man will say success is a mindset
My bible says ALL things are POSSIBLE to ONLY those whom BELIEVE

Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by Adesiji77: 5:39pm On Feb 21, 2016
missKiffy:
Like I mentioned in a thread I created yesterday that am thinking of quitting my job, but I don't really have a back up plan, so have you ever quit your job without having a back up plan, and how did it work out for you, did u regret your actions and how long did it take for you to get another job.

Not an option. There has to be a Plan B no matter how unpalatable it may seem.
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by coolhamid(m): 5:43pm On Feb 21, 2016
missKiffy:

Choi, you get mind
It's not about having mind, it about knowing your self worth... I am into IT and have always equipped myself with latest skills required to survive , if my employer mess up, there are tonnes of employers outside there willing to accept me...
Don't let people mislead you that there are no jobs, there are jobs and people are being employed on a daily basis....
Just know your worth and get the necessary skills required

Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by missKiffy(f): 5:46pm On Feb 21, 2016
Saraha1:
Well in the past when I quit job I always feels frustrated , but for the fisrt time (last year Dec) I quit my job and I never regreted taken such action. Although interms of cash I do feel the negative part of it.
But my rest of mind is 95 percent unlike before.
That is it, it's the fear of being without cash that make most people stay behind, even me
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by missKiffy(f): 5:46pm On Feb 21, 2016
Harmored:
And this one to enter front page
Yels cheesy
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by missKiffy(f): 5:47pm On Feb 21, 2016
jostking:
Yes I did d unthinkable. It was a crazy decision, I suffered, took me 3 month to get anoda job.
Thank God you've gotten another one
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by missKiffy(f): 5:48pm On Feb 21, 2016
Trapnews:
This OP sha....
Lol, wetin I do
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by Sirsinzu(m): 5:49pm On Feb 21, 2016
I think we all have fear of unknown quiting a job doesn't makes yu totally wrong but don't lnow what God has planned for you

Bro also in your shoe but no matter of story it's gonna be a done deal when the time comes
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by missKiffy(f): 5:49pm On Feb 21, 2016
moscobabs:
I have done that before in 2014 and I'm still doing that tomoro.

there are some steps u take and u may never regret it. if u have frustrated from work before . anyway quoting or no quit I have nothing to loose. not every job seeker is hungry
Abi o, I like that

Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by missKiffy(f): 5:49pm On Feb 21, 2016
allanphash7:
Yes
So how did it go
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by seun289(m): 6:04pm On Feb 21, 2016
ikubch:

I did it. It was difficult but I determined to be "on my own" today I wake up 8am, my office is less than 400metres from my home, take my coffee in the morning while watching cnn without a barking order. Liberty is sweet. Just got myself a BMW 5series with my original sweat. "Don't try this at home"

I
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by ikubch(m): 6:08pm On Feb 21, 2016
seun289:

I lost ma job last month buh have a vehicle which I can use in conveyin various items..I wud be glad if u cud help me with any link on d supply of pharmaceutical products..kindly reply me via email-seun289@yahoo.com
The market is on the downside now except for some of us who have made lifelong customers. For those coming in. It will require an expertise coupled with patience. I can be your consultant for a token and teach you how to come in. It is wonderful.
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by 41lady(m): 6:14pm On Feb 21, 2016
Yes... I have quit twice.
The first was my boss that made me to quit, we were not in good term because I was pursuing my professioal certificate. After six month he was sack, I petty the man because he has family while I am singular not single because I don't feed anybody except a dog I bought and I get three meals a day from my parent's house.

The second also was my boss, he want me to be sleeping over in the office and work when I didn't sign for security job.He try to convince me to be writing overtime like others, I told him if my salary can't solve my problem, overtime pay can't and he threaten to sack me, I immediately wrote a resignation letter and tender to the HR department and left.

My advice for U, don't quit when U don't have back up keep applying for another one while U r still managing with the situations because is not easy if you don't have another sources of income or haven't save enough especially with this backward change, better to have another job first. But if the job is hindering you from serving GOD, pray U will get another one.

In the case of mine, I don't regret because I was opportune to go out of the country and now studying for my Msc. As a reminder, pls get another "Plan B" first.

Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by missKiffy(f): 6:20pm On Feb 21, 2016
Trapnews:

Seriously?
I can see something is wrong with your brain
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by danla44(m): 6:24pm On Feb 21, 2016
Just do it!
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by vivalavida(m): 6:38pm On Feb 21, 2016
missKiffy:

I once did that dearie. And i spent one full year @ home. Maybe God was trying to teach me something. Exactly a year and two weeks later,i resumed somewhere else and two weeks after i got another offer and left the other place. So babe,biko plan well oo
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by allanphash7(m): 6:41pm On Feb 21, 2016
I just took the decision without confiding in anyone when i realised that have been working in one stupid prominent organization on this country where iwas placed on the same salary scale for over 7yrs have worked , no promotion no increament, task is increasing and the renumeration is not .

So i decided to take my leave volountrily
missKiffy:

So how did it go
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by kunletoks(m): 6:42pm On Feb 21, 2016
If you want to quit your job, please have savings that can take care of your upkeep for at least 6 months.
I know someone who quitted her job and hasn't gotten any job for over a year now.
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by taurus21: 6:47pm On Feb 21, 2016
You need to look yourself in the mirror and ask yourself if you're truly happy. If you can't say yes right away, then it's time for change.

Plan B or not, what will happen will happen. Just stay hopeful.

Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by raf2angel: 6:50pm On Feb 21, 2016
I did....last year November. I secured a particular job and lost my peace of mind. I almost developed HBP..after one month, I left the job without any hope in sight....some jobs are not worth venturing into..

Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by whizcartel(m): 6:50pm On Feb 21, 2016
Hells yeah!!!! left like a boss!
But i have been searching for a job since then.. Hahahahahahahah!!!
but i started my own company. So Its all good.
Re: Have You Ever Quit Your Job Without Having A Back Up Plan? by olu4life(m): 6:53pm On Feb 21, 2016
Well, what works for A might not work for B. Major concern is, do u feel comfortable quittin? Is it for an unreasonable excuse? Or cos u feel u need a better place.

I quit my previous job last year without any plan in view than to increase my pressure in getting a job. I was totally convinced it was time to move on, even though ex-boss was a shithead,but wasn't the reason I quit.

Also, previous job didn't give me privilege to go for other job interviews, always lying of medical health which one can't continually do for a long time. Took the bold step and I never regretted. Even my mind was at peace after quitting.

Like I earlier said, what works for A might not work for B. Do u see urself in a greater plac? Aré you convinced u have to quit?

I took the bold step without telling anyone. And only those close to me knew I was out of job but was so full of high hopes and faith that it's for the better wink

Police Padded Recruitment List With Unqualified Persons –PSC Commissioner / Nexit: Cac Is Not A Criteria For Qualifying For The Cbn Soft Loan / Different Dates Of Birth On IPPIS And BVN. Any Salary Payment Problem ?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 55