Stats: 3,325,227 members, 8,420,885 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 01:32 PM

Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) - Health (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralHealthAmina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) (47690 Views)

1 2 3 4 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by teemilo: 11:46am On Jun 01, 2016
I had a terrible reaction to Fansidar in 2007. My whole body was like that of a burn victim. Worst parts were my lady parts. Kai. Get better soon dear.
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by tivta(m): 12:23pm On Jun 01, 2016
corisande:
For the fact that your family doesn't react to septrin does not mean another will not. I've seen quite a number of people who reacted to septrin. Some people react to even pain killers like paracetamol.

I know health care in Nigeria is so expensive that's one of the reasons people self medicate.

I just pray she survives this.
Paracetamol? Jesus that person is an alien (no offense)
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by streetzdreamz(m): 1:02pm On Jun 01, 2016
I dont know what the families of victims of this ailment,severe burns,extreme cancer cases, disabilities and the likes, do stand to gain by keeping em alive and hoping for a miracle,they are better off dead than subjecting em to this much trauma and pain.
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by chizzypresh(f): 1:31pm On Jun 01, 2016
agogoeyo3:
Happy New Month Nairalanders and Happy Birthday to me..... DIVINE HEALING FOR HER IJN!!!
Happy Buffday.... Wullnp
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by Drphemmy4u: 2:33pm On Jun 01, 2016
jhidey08:
bros, this is not about our doctors, it's about us. we're supposed to observe changes in our body after ingesting a drug. I've experienced this same thing b4, about 5-7 months ago. I had malaria and a doctor prescribed Fansida for me, I took it and all those black spots (roughly 5) appeared on different parts of my body, I met a doctor and dey prescribed some allergy drugs 2me. 2months after again, I was coughing and took septrin and those spots started manifesting again. I didn't observe until 2months ago when I was coughing and took septrin again, 30mins afterwards new spots started coming again. it was then dat I observed it was d septrin dat caused it. I guess I was just lucky to have observed Early.
bro u should avoid all sulphur containing drugs then.fansidar is pyrimethamine plus sulphadoxine,septrim is trimethoprim plus sulphamethoxazole. Anytime u visit a doctor,always say u react to sulphonamides manifested as this this and this.
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by jhidey08(m): 2:46pm On Jun 01, 2016
Drphemmy4u:
bro u should avoid all sulphur containing drugs then.fansidar is pyrimethamine plus sulphadoxine,septrim is trimethoprim plus sulphamethoxazole. Anytime u visit a doctor,always say u react to sulphonamides manifested as this this and this.
yeah, that's exactly what I was told. Thanks sha
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by ifymagik(m): 2:47pm On Jun 01, 2016
Behira:
ENDTIME SEPTRIN shocked
ChisoooooooooM! Jookwa
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by MrPIE(m): 3:54pm On Jun 01, 2016
This reminds Me of My NYSC days, I was I'll (fatigue) I wanted to get the normal Amalar or any popular malaria drug, but one of My sabi sabi corp Member no gree Me, she insisted We bought a drug I had no idea about and gave Me the assurance that it had worked "wonders" on Her.
For about four days, I didn't get any better and My urine became reddish, it was really scary. And the funny part of this whole story is, I stopped getting erections, lol! Every Man here would understand that it is a normal phenomenon to be erect once You wake up in the morning, but no, to Me reverse was the case. I became a vegetable in My private region. Na that time I know say this no be play play things any longer. The next morning I knelt down and prayed, prayed up to 30minutes. All of a sudden My thoughts went to the drug We bought, I got the drugs and read from beginning till end, I even tried to read the foreign language on it, lol!
Lo and behold, I was flabbergasted to My findings, I found out that the drug was for the "Epileptic". I was so shocked, I had to inform My fellow coup members in the same compound. They were Mad and ready to devour the Sabi Sabi corp Member.
The moral of this story is, for Us to stop self medication and find time see a Physician/Hospital.
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by Silumi(f): 4:06pm On Jun 01, 2016
This is a pure case of fake drugs, many people have been taking septrin before her with no such effect. Tnk God it didn't kill her oluwa save us from such tins.
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by adekayo1234(m): 4:52pm On Jun 01, 2016
phrankjay:
there is this sense of pride everyone feels if you had a medical condition and a quack tells you to take a particular drug and you reply saying " don't bother, let me go see my doctor he is well trained equipped knowledgeable and friendly" But then how many Nigerians can afford to say that. the economy is now endangered . health insurance scheme is either reserved for the high and mighty or just non functional, doctors and nurses can be so rude that their words at times can destroy another's self esteem. delay in medical attendance can bring death before one is attended to. like I have actually gone to a federal hospital and it took like 2 hours to get my card. YES THEY STILL USE CARDS FOR THE THOUSANDS OF PATIENTS IN THIS COMPUTER AGE. so don't blame me when I take the short cut. if it kills me I died for my country.
you making sense until you reach the last line of your posts. If you die because of self medication, you only have yourself to blame. Every good doctor takes medical history as well as allergies history.

Septrin is a sulphonamide and as such contains sulphur. Few people in the general population reacts to sulphonamide and sulphur containing drugs including some diuretics, so this is not a case of fake drug but that of type b adverse drug reaction
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by Behira(f): 4:58pm On Jun 01, 2016
ifymagik:
ChisoooooooooM! Jookwa
Jookwa my brother
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by victorious247:
I pray she recovers fast.That is why I prefer suppliments which is what I deal with. We have suppliment for different kinds of things and they don't have side effects because they are natural. So for your suppliments and networking business contact me.
I hope we get updated on the lady's recovery.call or WhatsApp 07064264273
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by prohealth: 6:43pm On Jun 01, 2016
May God have mercy on nigeria
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by Udoks(m): 7:04pm On Jun 01, 2016
FYI

This is not anything specific to 'Septrin' lest some people start feigning allergies to the the drug, or speak ill/less of it's therapeutic effects.

This is a hypersensitivity reaction to a group of drugs called 'Sulfonamides'. There are a lot of drugs under this group. The common ones in our environment are Septrin (which is a combination of trimethoprim and sulfamethoxazole), Fansidar (Sulfadoxine and Pyrimethamine), and some anti-diabetic drugs. Note that they all have 'sulfa'

Approximately 3% of the population have this hypersensitivity as a result of their body makeup. So it's not the same for the most part of any given population. Just a special few are are likely to be affected. Therefore it's not a reason enough to stop the use of a particular drug.

However, it is always advocated that people should shy away from self-medicating as any doctor prescribing any drug to you, especially drugs such as the sulfa-drugs, would know better to ask you for any history of allergies to a particular drug before prescribing. Also the administration of drugs with higher chances of lethal side effects would be more closely monitored and promptly treated in the case of manifestations.

Bottom line, KNOW YOURSELF and medicate wisely (through a doctor).

Peace.. .
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by double0seven(m): 7:53pm On Jun 01, 2016
this is a fucking lie; no allergi reaction to any septrin or common drugs we know, even fake, can burn up a person's skin like this.

think about it, the reaction must start from the inside to outside, so if outside can be burnt like that, that person should not be alive,

big fucking lie; I'm surprised people believe this hook, line and sinker .
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by phrankjay: 9:03pm On Jun 01, 2016
adekayo1234:
you making sense until you reach the last line of your posts. If you die because of self medication, you only have yourself to blame. Every good doctor takes medical history as well as allergies history.

Septrin is a sulphonamide and as such contains sulphur. Few people in the general population reacts to sulphonamide and sulphur containing drugs including some diuretics, so this is not a case of fake drug but that of type b adverse drug reaction
thank you. however the last line is a figure of speech. fact is ignorance is not the problem here let's not sit behind the comfort of our laptops, tablets smart phones etc and talk like everyone can actually live the life of luxury we live. our folks sent us to good schools made good future and now most of us have the luxury to even dream. what about those in makoko slums , karimo , ojota refuse dumps ( no offence to those who made it out of the ghetto ) just trying to make a point here ,
I'm tired of blaming the govt things have been bad the masses have cried out politicians have made promise . we play our role here either with comic relief or otherwise still these enlightenment doesn't get to the grass . so yes if I die I am tired of blaming someone . I gave my life for my country. all these medical terms and their side effect try telling that to the widowed mother of six living in one wooden cubicle with no electricity , water , or clean toilet that sells fresh periwinkles that you use to cook that delicious soup. ( you do know where she gets them don't you? ) food for thought. ONE LOVE. ONE NIGERIA.
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by phrankjay: 9:05pm On Jun 01, 2016
adekayo1234:

thank you. however the last line is a figure of speech. fact is ignorance is not the problem here its not also about fake drugs. let's not sit behind the comfort of our laptops, tablets smart phones etc and talk like everyone can actually live the life of luxury we live. our folks sent us to good schools made good future and now most of us have the luxury to even dream. what about those in makoko slums , karimo , ojota refuse dumps ( no offence to those who made it out of the ghetto ) just trying to make a point here ,
I'm tired of blaming the govt things have been bad the masses have cried out politicians have made promise . we play our role here either with comic relief or otherwise still these enlightenment doesn't get to the grass . so yes if I die I am tired of blaming someone . I gave my life for my country. all these medical terms and their side effect try telling that to the widowed mother of six living in one wooden cubicle with no electricity , water , or clean toilet that sells fresh periwinkles that you use to cook that delicious soup. ( you do know where she gets them don't you? ) food for thought. ONE LOVE. ONE NIGERIA.
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by kayalla(f): 11:01pm On Jun 01, 2016
God help us o. how do u even know wat the medicine is made of, i mean if its not oshodi made.
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by ojac1: 4:39pm On Jun 02, 2016
Whether she self medicated or drug was prescribed by a dr, she wud have still had it.
Michaeluzomam:
https://tori.ng/userfiles/image/2016/may/31/adverse-drug-reaction-2.jpg
https://tori.ng/userfiles/image/2016/may/31/adverse-drug-reaction-1.jpg

According to a Twitter user https://mobile.twitter.com/nazirgaladanchi/status/737550463210389504 who shared the photo on social media, a woman has fallen victim to Stevens-Johnson syndrome (SJS) in Katsina State, after taking Septrin Sulphamethoxazole tablet as the adverse drug reaction turned her to black.

"This is why self medication is usually not recommended. If you report a reaction at a hospital , it is usually written in BOLD in front of ur hospital file so subsequently, no one would prescribe that drug to you.

"Some of us are not told and we don't ask questions at the hospital so we don't know. Next thing we are ill and self medicated and go ahead to get that same drug we react to, unknowingly. Drug use awareness needs serious promotion!," an Instagram user commented on the viral photo.

>>https://uzopedia./2016/06/01/shocking-adverse-drug-reaction-see-what-happened-to-a-lady-after-taking-septrin-in-katsina/
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by ElPhoche(m): 9:00am On Jun 03, 2016
double0seven:
this is a fucking lie; no allergi reaction to any septrin or common drugs we know, even fake, can burn up a person's skin like this.

think about it, the reaction must start from the inside to outside, so if outside can be burnt like that, that person should not be alive,

big fucking lie; I'm surprised people believe this hook, line and sinker .
So chloroquine starts itching from the inside? Anyway, SJS-TENS also affects mucosa like the mouth's and even the Veejay's. When you are ignorant and you brazenly show it to d world, it is a pity. Don't ever think you know it all or you have seen it all. Google up Steven Johnson Syndrome, Toxic Epidermal Necrolysis.
Keep an open mind and learn day by day, new things.
Thanks.
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by red19: 6:19pm On Jun 03, 2016
May God help us.that was how I was prescribed augumentin by a doctor in January,some days after my monthly flow started and instead of the normal four days,I spotted for almost three weeks.I went back to the hospital and met another doc,explained to her and I even suggested it could be as a result of the drug, she said it wasn't.she told me to do a pregnancy test and referred me to a gynecologist.The day I was to see d gynecologist d spotting stopped and I was so glad.Then in may I had similar symptoms to why I went earlier to see doc in January and I decided to take d same drug,when next I saw my flow it continued for weeks that was when I knew it was d drug that was the cause.in essence let's watch our body against drug reactions
Re: Amina Suffers Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Katsina After Taking Septrin (Graphic) by jbblues24(m): 7:10am On May 31, 2019
Suicide would be my way of telling God that I quit. wink
1 2 3 4 Reply

4-Year-Old Girl Suffers Nephrotic Syndrome In Kaduna. PhotoAmina Ibrahim Dies Of Stevens-Johnson Syndrome In Kano After Taking SeptrinStevens Johnson Syndrome (SJS) Is In Nigeria, Kills One, Another Hospitalized234

Ladies, See The Shocking Effect Of Postinor 2 (drug For Prevention Of Pregnancy)HERBAL TEA! Total Cure For Premature Expulsion And Other Erectile Dysfunctions.Old Woman Spotted Picking Used Sanitary Pads From A Refuse Dump. Photos