Stats: 3,154,615 members, 7,823,683 topics. Date: Friday, 10 May 2024 at 01:18 PM

Travelling To Canada Part 11 - Travel (110) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Travelling To Canada Part 11 (912737 Views)

Peace Mass Bus Travelling To Abuja Involved In Fatal Accident,Many Dead(photos) / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 / Travelling To Canada Part 10 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (107) (108) (109) (110) (111) (112) (113) ... (405) (Go Down)

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Nobody: 11:33am On Oct 10, 2016
Riddeek:

Of course! Check the department website of the sch u want to apply to, like in my case ECE, most ECE dept accept students from Computer science, physics... Though according to them ur GPA must be "strong" for them to admit you...

Though i know some schs in canada that don't accept people for M.Eng except they are working for a company and the company sponsors them to sch, therefore their final project will ne something that such company recommends or needs.

You can apply for MAsc, you have better chances, depending on ur final undergraduate results especially the last 2 yrs.
please am trying to pay my application fee.what
does an international bank transfer in canadian
dollars mean .do i need a domiciliary account?
the other options are MasterCard/visacard
Issued in usd . what does this mean?

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by vinci500: 11:34am On Oct 10, 2016
Can't wait bro, I think you should start organizing a welcome party smiley, that's if you're still in PG of course smiley
Gymme:
Congrats bro. Hopefully see you soon in PG.

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Riddeek: 12:46pm On Oct 10, 2016
vinci500:
Can't wait bro, I think you should start organizing a welcome party smiley, that's if you're still in PG of course smiley

Lol... Make una turn am to rite oooo
Una go do my own next yr by the grace of God

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Riddeek: 12:48pm On Oct 10, 2016
supergata:

Why don't you use master card/visa card to pay your fees online?
I think other means usually attract extra charges (not in all cases though)
When you get there you'll sort urself out with an account.
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Riddeek: 12:50pm On Oct 10, 2016
My bad!!!
I think the above is for when you are paying your school application fee for admission

Pls which "application fee" are you referring to?
Admission? Visa? Etc
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by ezenwa28: 1:27pm On Oct 10, 2016
Hello house,please help me i dd online submission since july 27th, i hve not recieved any mail for medical.... what might be d cause please reply me
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by expertman(m): 1:38pm On Oct 10, 2016
Any one going for MSC Uni of Saskatchewan or U Of T?

want to know if deposit tuition is required and off course if GRE is required.

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by lawmerchant: 2:11pm On Oct 10, 2016
Applying for Canadian Study Permit in the US while holding a US visitor visa

Recently, there have been debates in this forum as to whether the above is possible. The answer is YES. There are two ways to do this:

First, you can go to Visa Application Center (VAC) in Los Angeles and file an application in person (including biometrics). VAC is the US equivalent of VFS in Nigeria. VAC has two offices: New York (processes visiting visas) and Los Angeles (processes study permits). The application process is pretty straightforward and you can find details about VAC processing of study permits here: https://www.csc-cvac.com/en-us/selfservice/cvac_docs_forms_checklists

Secondly, you can file an online study permit using your US address. When CIC sends you a request for biometrics, you can visit any Application Support Center (ASC) operated by the US Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) close to where you live and give your biometrics. They will forward your biometrics information to CIC. https://egov.uscis.gov/crisgwi/go?action=offices.type&OfficeLocator.office_type=ASC

If you receive a request to submit your passport to the Visa Office, you can also use the services of VAC. You can send the passport to VAC by courier for onward transmission to the Visa Office: https://www.csc-cvac.com/en-us/selfservice/cvac_application_processing

As a matter of personal opinion, you stand better chances of securing a study permit from US than from Accra. For many reasons - first, visa officers in third world countries have a very negative bias against visa applicant, and the high level of desperation among the applicants tend to feed this negative bias.

Secondly, (and this is strictly personal opinion), visa offices seem to have certain quota of study permit they can issue, with the great number of applications from Nigeria, I bet you great number of applications tend to get refused for some awful reasons (even when these applications appear solid). On the other, Americans are not really that interested in studying in Canada so if there is any quota for visa offices in the US (which ideally should be higher than the quota allocated to Nigeria), they don’t get to fill them that easily.

So if you have a US visa, consider applying when in US and reduce the pressure in Accra. More so, if the “hunters” in Accra visa office has learnt to shoot without missing, the “birds” in Nigeria should also learn to fly without perching. Best of luck in your next application.

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Dannylng(m): 2:15pm On Oct 10, 2016
martineinstein:
did u add any certificate that shows relationship btw u and ur half uncle?

No because there was absolutely nothing to show any sort of relationship
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Dannylng(m): 2:27pm On Oct 10, 2016
Omodollyp:

Thank you, but my sponsor is a woman, if i want to claim her has a relative or distant cousin what documents do i need to back up the claim.

Also will proof of my tuition being paid from her account help.

Do i have to submit my personal account statement or that of my dad alongside my sponsor's own, because i dont have any personal fund.

I don't know any document you could used, if there is any way you can traced it,then fine, maybe voter's card showing you are from the same village COULD do the trick. As for me, I had absolutely nothing so I worded my sponsorship letter in a way that showed long time relationship between me and him and also stated that he has been supporting financially before

Yes proof of tuition will definitely how that your sponsorship is authentic. Don't forget to add the receipt and you could also state that she has paid that to proof her commitment. As for me again ; I did not pay any cent until I got to Canada.

I hope I've tried to answer your question. Any more question plz email me, ill reply faster there

Cheers and remain blessed
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by bjmme: 2:48pm On Oct 10, 2016
@vfs... Canada now,seriously guys want to leave naija......people.many but step by step

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by expertman(m): 3:02pm On Oct 10, 2016
hello bro pls which school did you apply with that didn't request Tuition deposit.

Thanks for ur timr

Dannylng:

I don't know any document you could used, if there is any way you can traced it,then fine, maybe voter's card showing you are from the same village COULD do the trick. As for me, I had absolutely nothing so I worded my sponsorship letter in a way that showed long time relationship between me and him and also stated that he has been supporting financially before

Yes proof of tuition will definitely how that your sponsorship is authentic. Don't forget to add the receipt and you could also state that she has paid that to proof her commitment. As for me again ; I did not pay any cent until I got to Canada.

I hope I've tried to answer your question. Any more question plz email me, ill reply faster there

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by expertman(m): 3:03pm On Oct 10, 2016
hello bro pls which school did you apply with that didn't request Tuition deposit.

Thanks for ur time

Dannylng:

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by expertman(m): 3:04pm On Oct 10, 2016
Abeg which school did they request for tuition Deposit?

vinci500:
Wow....Finally got an MSc admission, time to shoot for a VISA! #We're making progress!
#UNBCJan2017
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Nobody: 4:33pm On Oct 10, 2016
Hello Folks,

This thread is boring this days. I pray God is already intervening.

Expecting testimonies.

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Dannylng(m): 4:49pm On Oct 10, 2016
expertman:

Thanks for ur time

University of Guelph
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by martineverest(m): 5:11pm On Oct 10, 2016
Dannylng:

No because there was absolutely nothing to show any sort of relationship
thanks

are u bearing the same surname with him

I'm in a similar situation and my co-sponsor doesnt use same surname with me
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by BeingGabriel: 5:20pm On Oct 10, 2016
Congrats, man! But, 'waiver' as in..?
vinci500:
It's okay, i applied for a waiver and they granted it. Yes it's a research based course - MSc Biochemistry. You might also want to request for a waiver, you never can tell....
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Riddeek: 5:32pm On Oct 10, 2016
BeingGabriel:

I also asked him the same wen i first read it

Waiver means from the school's assessment he doesn't need to take IELTS/TOEFL, the Dean accepted his proposal that he already has the level of English language required for graduate studies, hence that requirement is "waived" for him.

Though you will need supporting documents for that, from your lecturer(referee) to consent to your English language skills
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by BeingGabriel: 5:35pm On Oct 10, 2016
Oh OK. That's fine.

Quick one: UBC stresses on high GPA, right? @vinci500
Riddeek:

I also asked him the same wen i first read it

Waiver means from the school's assessment he doesn't need to take IELTS/TOEFL, the Dean accepted his proposal that he already has the level of English language required for graduate studies, hence that requirement is "waived" for him.

Though you will need supporting documents for that, from your lecturer(referee) to consent to your English language skills
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by peronpj: 5:39pm On Oct 10, 2016
please i want to apply for MBA foundation in university canada west and the school has agreed to offer me admission but i don't if embassy can give me visa with MBA foundation. please advice me
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by peronpj: 5:39pm On Oct 10, 2016
please i want to apply for MBA foundation in university canada west and the school has agreed to offer me admission but i don't if embassy can give me visa with MBA foundation. please advice me

supergata:
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Nobody: 5:58pm On Oct 10, 2016
May God help us all and our application. It pays to serve God. Praise God.

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Omodollyp: 6:22pm On Oct 10, 2016
Dannylng:

Thank you very much. I will definatly be in touch.
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by vinci500: 6:24pm On Oct 10, 2016
I'm sorry I don't understand, are you asking if they requested for tuition deposit?
expertman:
Abeg which school did they request for tuition Deposit?

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by vinci500: 6:26pm On Oct 10, 2016
If you mean UNBC, yes. However I don't know so much about UBC.
BeingGabriel:
Oh OK. That's fine.

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Riddeek: 6:28pm On Oct 10, 2016
BeingGabriel:
Oh OK. That's fine.

Seems you are right about that.

The ECE department states that international students applying for masters in electrical and computer engineering are strongly advised to be in the first class range. Not only that, also they must be in the top 7% of their undergraduate class. This gives an absolute idea on how competitive admission into the dept is. I don't actually blame them, afterall they are mouthed in canada and they are ranked in the top 50 best uni in the world.

You can check the minimum requirements for ur course on the departmental website.

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by vinci500: 6:30pm On Oct 10, 2016
English test waiver.
BeingGabriel:
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by faskare: 6:46pm On Oct 10, 2016
Many thanks Lawmerchant.but in my own case, I have a U.S.and canada TRV want to change status to student permit as I was in canada for almost a month. I applied for student permit, paid the $150 CAD but no place to click to pay for biometrics. Do I still need biometrics? I applied online, can I still go through the U.S.? Kindly assist as I applied on the 14th of Sept.My passport will expire 2018 and my TRV is valid till 2018 while for my daughter,son and wife will expire 2017,2019,2020 respectively

lawmerchant:
Applying for Canadian Study Permit in the US while holding a US visitor visa

Recently, there have been debates in this forum as to whether the above is possible. The answer is YES. There are two ways to do this:

First, you can go to Visa Application Center (VAC) in Los Angeles and file an application in person (including biometrics). VAC is the US equivalent of VFS in Nigeria. VAC has two offices: New York (processes visiting visas) and Los Angeles (processes study permits). The application process is pretty straightforward and you can find details about VAC processing of study permits here: https://www.csc-cvac.com/en-us/selfservice/cvac_docs_forms_checklists

Secondly, you can file an online study permit using your US address. When CIC sends you a request for biometrics, you can visit any Application Support Center (ASC) operated by the US Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) close to where you live and give your biometrics. They will forward your biometrics information to CIC. https://egov.uscis.gov/crisgwi/go?action=offices.type&OfficeLocator.office_type=ASC

If you receive a request to submit your passport to the Visa Office, you can also use the services of VAC. You can send the passport to VAC by courier for onward transmission to the Visa Office: https://www.csc-cvac.com/en-us/selfservice/cvac_application_processing

As a matter of personal opinion, you stand better chances of securing a study permit from US than from Accra. For many reasons - first, visa officers in third world countries have a very negative bias against visa applicant, and the high level of desperation among the applicants tend to feed this negative bias.

Secondly, (and this is strictly personal opinion), visa offices seem to have certain quota of study permit they can issue, with the great number of applications from Nigeria, I bet you great number of applications tend to get refused for some awful reasons (even when these applications appear solid). On the other, Americans are not really that interested in studying in Canada so if there is any quota for visa offices in the US (which ideally should be higher than the quota allocated to Nigeria), they don’t get to fill them that easily.

So if you have a US visa, consider applying when in US and reduce the pressure in Accra. More so, if the “hunters” in Accra visa office has learnt to shoot without missing, the “birds” in Nigeria should also learn to fly without perching. Best of luck in your next application.
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Dannylng(m): 6:52pm On Oct 10, 2016
martineverest:
thanks

are u bearing the same surname with him

I'm in a similar situation and my co-sponsor doesnt use same surname with me

No different surname
Just get a COGENT affidavit of support and sponsorship letter, then pray. Atleast thats what i did

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by martineverest(m): 6:57pm On Oct 10, 2016
Dannylng:

No different surname
Just get a COGENT affidavit of support and sponsorship letter, then pray. Atleast thats what i did
ok,thanks
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by BeingGabriel: 6:58pm On Oct 10, 2016
But UNBC is a small school which offers mostly undergraduate degrees. So, by default, one would think you were talking about UBC.

vinci500:
If you mean UNBC, yes. However I don't know so much about UBC.

(1) (2) (3) ... (107) (108) (109) (110) (111) (112) (113) ... (405)

General German Visa Enquiries Part 3 / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13

Viewing this topic: 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 67