Stats: 3,161,452 members, 7,846,894 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 06:31 AM

Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? - Religion (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? (43324 Views)

Happy Father's Day To All Roman Catholic Church Fathers / Is A Marriage Between A Catholic And Non Catholic Feasible? / Original Sin: The Conflict Between Catholic And Pentecostal. (2) (3) (4)

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by nuelsylves(m): 6:02pm On Apr 02, 2017
Nodogragra4me:

But why dem no dey practice am ......Peter spoke in tongue but your pope no sabi tongue unless his mother tongue ,why?
Why una dey conduct infant baptism even when Jesus baptized at old and mature age?

Did Jesus Christ spoke in tongue? You see, my problem with you guys is worshipping of your pastors rather than Christ himself. You guys always want to be like your pastors rather than Christ. Must Pope speak in tongue? Must everyone speak in tongue? Didn't St. Paul told us in 1 Corinthians12 about the different kinds of gifts of Holy Spirit?

For Infant baptism read this below

Since the New Testament era, the Catholic Church has always understood baptism differently, teaching that it is a sacrament which accomplishes several things, the first of which is the remission of sin, both original sin and actual sin—only original sin in the case of infants and young children, since they are incapable of actual sin; and both original and actual sin in the case of older persons.

Peter explained what happens at baptism when he said, "Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins; and you shall receive the gift of the Holy Spirit" (Acts 2:38). But he did not restrict this teaching to adults. He added, "For the promise is to you and to your children and to all that are far off, every one whom the Lord our God calls to him" (2:39). We also read: "Rise and be baptized, and wash away your sins, calling on his name" (Acts 22:16). These commands are universal, not restricted to adults. Further, these commands make clear the necessary connection between baptism and salvation, a
connection explicitly stated in 1 Peter 3:21: "Baptism . . . now saves you, not as a removal of dirt from the body but as an appeal to God for a clear conscience, through the resurrection of Jesus Christ."

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Godmann(m): 6:05pm On Apr 02, 2017
N[quote author=chidiebere2020 post=55192646]SINCE the day Reverend Father Lutz from France stepped his feet on the soil of the ancient city of Onitsha in 1885, the history of the people of Eastern Nigeria has not been the same. Our history changed for the better. I do reflect, from time to time, on the heroism of European missionaries who left the relative comforts of their homes to come to Igboland and the rest of Eastern Nigeria from the 19th Century in order to bring the Good News to our people. Some died on the high seas. Some died of diseases like malaria endemic in the tropics. Some were killed by our people who innocently thought that they were strange and dangerous beings because the Europeans looked totally different from them. Yet, the Christian missionaries persisted because of their immense love of God and humanity. Father Lutz, Bishop Joseph Shannahan, Bishop Joseph Heery and other early missionaries are a perfect example of what the Bible calls agape love, or sacrificial love. May their souls rest in the bosom of the Lord. These authentic men of God did not just bring us the Gospel. They spearheaded the abolition of improper cultural practices like the killing of twins and the”osu” and “ohu” caste system. They brought us modern healthcare. The impressive hospitals they established in places like Onitsha, Ihiala and Adazi, all in Anambra State, several decades ago still provide our people with quality services. The Holy Rosary Hospital at Emekuku, Imo State, and St Luke’s Hospital, Anua, Akwa Ibom State, are among the numerous medical facilities established by the Church in Eastern Nigeria which have been of immense benefit to our people. Many people abandoned by their families and communities because they were afflicted by diseases like leprosy were treated in hospitals like these ones free of charge. I hesitate to imagine what Eastern Nigeria would have been without the Church. If not for Caritas, the Catholic charity, millions of our people would have perished during the civil war due to acute hunger. The Federal Government imposed an economic and food blockade against Eastern Nigeria because, as it argued, “starvation is a legitimate instrument of war”. Caritas cargo planes were strafed relentlessly, day and night. I personally benefitted greatly from the tones of dried milk, corned beef, salt, egg yoke, dried milk and other critical things made available by Caritas. The contribution of the Church to the educational development of Eastern Nigeria remain unparalleled. The missionaries used their limited resources to build schools all over the place, and products of these schools were competing favourably with their counterparts anywhere in the world. Generations of our best teachers, professors, lawyers, medical doctors and other professionals were trained in places like Christ the King College, Onitsha. I am a proud Old Boy of the great CKC. Up to 1970, many of the schools in various places in the Southeast were either established or managed by the Church. Like in other parts of the world, it has always been a thing of pride to associate with a Catholic Church owned or run school. Without the Church, there is no way Eastern Nigeria could have made the stupendous progress it has recorded in education, especially from 1945 when the Second World War came to an end. The Yoruba people of Western Nigeria, for instance, have a historical head start over the Igbo in education principally because major Yoruba towns and cities like Lagos are located on the coast; the white people who brought formal education to Nigeria came through the sea. Yet, within only two decades, the Igbo, to use Professor Chinua Achebe’s language, “had wiped out their educational handicap in one fantastic burst of energy”. By 1965, the Igbo were competing favourably with the Yoruba. In fact, there were more Igbo PhD holders among the Igbo than among the Yoruba, though the Yoruba had more professors. It is regrettable that the government took over Church schools in Nigeria, beginning with, of all places, East Central State (today’s Southeast). The forcible acquisition practically sounded the death knell of sound and solid education throughout the country. Hitherto, we received a kind of education which combined high academic standards with high morals and discipline. This was in line with the tradition of Catholic education everywhere in the world. It is, therefore, with joy that we note that some state governments have begun to return some of these schools to their proprietors. We look forward to having schools like CKC, Onitsha, and College of Immaculate Conception, Enugu, as well as St Patrick’s College, Calabar, return to their days of glory. We also note with delight that the Catholic Church has demonstrated great keenness on the development of higher education, particularly since the liberalisation of the ownership and management of tertiary institutions in Nigeria. It has far more private universities than any organisation. Some of the higher institutions it owns directly or indirectly are Madonna University which is the first private university in the country, Catholic University of Nigeria, Tansian University, St Augustine University, Renaissance University, Bishop Godfrey Okoye University, etc. It does, indeed, gladden the heart that the Catholic Archdiocese of Abuja, which in the mid 1990s established Loyola Jesuit College in Abuja, the most competitive secondary school in Nigeria, is working hard on building a Jesuit university in the Federal Capital Territory. The role of Opus Dei, a prelature of the Church, in the establishment and management of such famous new institutions as The Lagoon Secondary School in Lagos and The White Sands Secondary School, also in Lekki, Lagos, as well as the Pan African University in Lagos, is well appreciated. On the occasion of the 125th anniversary of the Catholic Church, it behoves the three Dioceses in Anambra State to seriously consider starting a famous university in the class of Pan African University, all the more so with the Archdiocese of Abuja about to establish a Jesuit University. After all, each of the dioceses is headed by a scholar of repute. We note with pride that the Church in the Onitsha Archdiocese and the Eastern Nigeria has remained faithful to its principal role: saving souls by reconciling man with his creator through preaching and practising the Good News. There are a lot of big churches everywhere, and many others are springing up rapidly. The churches are always full. Our seminaries, convents and monasteries are full of young men and women eager to serve God with all their being. Our people are the bedrock of Catholicism in every part of Nigeria. Bishop Shannahan described Eastern Nigerians as “natural Catholics”. We gave the Church Blessed Iwene Tansi, the first West African to be beatified. We gave the Church Dominic Cardinal Ekandem and Francis Cardinal Arinze. We produced Rt Rev Godfrey Okoye, the extraordinarily dynamic first Bishop of Enugu Diocese who had earlier served as the Bishop of Port Harcourt and led a holy life. We gave the Church Michael Eneja, the late Bishop of Enugu who led a saintly life right from the time he was in Onitsha as a young priest and inspired a generation of young people into going to the Ministry Mr. Chike MADUEKWE, a lawyer, writes from Anambra

Read salvage smore at: http://www.vanguardngr.com/2010/12/125-years-of-catholic-church-in-eastern-nigeria/[/quote

Mumu. Before praising White missionaries for coming here to salvage souls, remember to condemn White slave traders that ravaged our land for hundreds of years from 1500 to 18th centuries before the missionaries
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by donbenie(m): 6:07pm On Apr 02, 2017
dokiOloye:
na lie ooo.
Just few in Anambra state.
U hardly find Anglicans in Enugu and Ebonyi who are majorly Catholics.
Imo is like 90% catholics.
Abia is a mixture of presbyterians,Assemblies of God,catholics and others few.
I wonder where you got your statistics from,not only have I seen a lot of Igbos that are Anglicans and many Anglican Church in the East but also in the North 80% of most Anglican Churches are populated by Igbos..
You certainly can't equate the number of Anglican Faithfuls in the East to the likes of the Baptist nor Methodist Churches nor any other denomination bar the Roman Catholics..

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by juman(m): 6:07pm On Apr 02, 2017
Nodogragra4me:

They told you a lie.....who censors the activity of Mbaka and Munso, ede et all ....majority of the Catholic priest will be fish out of water without the Catholic Church because they are not called but just fulfilling family desires ...every calling goes with blessings for empowerment......those with calling but Catholics have found ways of fulfilling their destiny ...e.g. Fr Ozele.....he is a teacher

Mbaka was transferred to another parish. It was a way to censor him.

@bolded
I dont believe their priests cannot stand alone if they have their own churches.
Are the not nigerians like the pastors of the privately owned churches?
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Nodogragra4me(m): 6:07pm On Apr 02, 2017
nuelsylves:

Did Jesus Christ spoke in tongue? You see, my problem with you guys is worshipping of your pastors rather than Christ himself. You guys always want to be like your pastors rather than Christ. Must Pope speak in tongue? Must everyone speak in tongue? Didn't St. Paul told us in 1 Corinthians12 about the different kinds of gifts of Holy Spirit?

Since the New Testament era, the Catholic Church has always understood baptism differently, teaching that it is a sacrament which accomplishes several things, the first of which is the remission of sin, both original sin and actual sin—only original sin in the case of infants and young children, since they are incapable of actual sin; and both original and actual sin in the case of older persons.

Peter explained what happens at baptism when he said, "Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins; and you shall receive the gift of the Holy Spirit" (Acts 2:38). But he did not restrict this teaching to adults. He added, "For the promise is to you and to your children and to all that are far off, every one whom the Lord our God calls to him" (2:39). We also read: "Rise and be baptized, and wash away your sins, calling on his name" (Acts 22:16). These commands are universal, not restricted to adults. Further, these commands make clear the necessary connection between baptism and salvation, a
connection explicitly stated in 1 Peter 3:21: "Baptism . . . now saves you, not as a removal of dirt from the body but as an appeal to God for a clear conscience, through the resurrection of Jesus Christ."

Bread Mark 16:17.... the identity of every believer is .....IN MY NAME , THEY SHALL SPEAK IN NEW TONGUE. Every time you guys rush to name pastors....una no go grow up and see that men are reading and chewing the word and questioning the doctrines of your church ...when it suit you , you say we should worship Jesus when it doesn't you find a new support .....Jesus Christ is our guide and he was baptized at what age?

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by kateskitty(f): 6:08pm On Apr 02, 2017
Godmann:
N
Christ has forgiven white slave traders, move on tongue

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Basic123: 6:13pm On Apr 02, 2017
Sammy07:
Thank God, Yoruba aren't many in Catholic,,,, because if they become a revd father they would have disgrace Christians by raping some sisters and having children...

Also Yoruba sisters will be disgraceful to Christianity because they won't be truthful
literature like movies,they say is the mirror of the society.I have watched countless of igbo nollywood movies where they portray nuns and rev. fathers having homosexual and heterosexual intercourse.I will post 4 of them.They are portraying what happens in igbo society.

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by adegeye38(m): 6:18pm On Apr 02, 2017
It all dates back to colonialism, while the Catholic missionaries targeted the east, the Anglican, cms targeted the west

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Nodogragra4me(m): 6:18pm On Apr 02, 2017
nuelsylves:

Bread Mark 16:17.... the identity of every believer is ....these signs shall follow them that believe or that one no dey your bible ......all your arguement against speaking in tongue na in flesh you can't support your arguement with the scripture ....Jesus no speak in tongue because him na the tongue and him say na when him don go back na the Pentecost and therefore New Testament go start ....until him throwaway him blood , he was only fulfilling prophecy so technically the New Testament start from the acts of the apostle ........you wey no dey worship pastor no sabi anything .... .IN MY NAME , THEY SHALL SPEAK IN NEW TONGUE. Every time you guys rush to name pastors....una no go grow up and see that men are reading and chewing the word and questioning the doctrines of your church ...when it suit you , you say we should worship Jesus when it doesn't you find a new support .....Jesus Christ is our guide and he was baptized at what age?

All the scripture wey you gather no tell you say make you carry small poking go do baptism for am......baptism na the beginning Kpa kpa of your Christian journey...you need to have personal conviction to do am ....no be ritual or religion ...Jesus did it at the age of thirsty and immediately start him ministry......or Peter know pass Jesus.

Repent and be baptized...wet in the liking know ...rise and be baptized.....no for picking wey dey suck Brest ......him no fit rise not to talk of near river for baptizing.....dem not dey carry person for body do am or he get anybody dem carry for body as smally go baptized for your version of the Bible

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by mayowa1111: 6:24pm On Apr 02, 2017
Nbote:
It's exactly d same reason why there are more yorubas in Baptist and White garment churches especially.. because d predominant churches in d south west are white garment churches, Baptist and Apostolic churches.
hummm but we have up to 20 priest in my village in osun state

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Nodogragra4me(m): 6:24pm On Apr 02, 2017
juman:

Mbaka was transferred to another parish. It was a way to censor him.

@bolded
I dont believe their priests cannot stand alone if they have their own churches.
Are the not nigerians like the pastors of the private own churches?

The censor being discussed is majorly around finance.....did he close his adoration ministry? Does he remit his money to the larger Catholic Church and the school he is said to be building in his area of Enugu state , is it answerable to the Catholic Church?

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Mpanyi: 6:31pm On Apr 02, 2017
Nodogragra4me:

Bread Mark 16:17.... the identity of every believer is ....these signs shall follow them that believe or that one no dey your bible ......all your arguement against speaking in tongue na in flesh you can't support your arguement with the scripture ....Jesus no speak in tongue because him na the tongue and him say na when him don go back na the Pentecost and therefore New Testament go start ....until him throwaway him blood , he was only fulfilling prophecy so technically the New Testament start from the acts of the apostle ........you wey no dey worship pastor no sabi anything .... .IN MY NAME , THEY SHALL SPEAK IN NEW TONGUE. Every time you guys rush to name pastors....una no go grow up and see that men are reading and chewing the word and questioning the doctrines of your church ...when it suit you , you say we should worship Jesus when it doesn't you find a new support .....Jesus Christ is our guide and he was baptized at what age?

All the scripture wey you gather no tell you say make you carry small poking go do baptism for am......baptism na the beginning Kpa kpa of your Christian journey...you need to have personal conviction to do am ....no be ritual or religion ...Jesus did it at the age of thirsty and immediately start him ministry......or Peter know pass Jesus.

Repent and be baptized...wet in the liking know ...rise and be baptized.....no for picking wey dey suck Brest ......him no fit rise not to talk of near river for baptizing.....dem not dey carry person for body do am or he get anybody dem carry for body as smally go baptized for your version of the Bible

You got it all wrong. Except one is baptized he will not enter the kingdom of God and it never at any place exempted kids. You want them to perish? Many things to write but lemme stop here. Finally, you as an adopted child knows almost nothing about your adopted ancestor in comparison with your adopted father and his forefathers to whom family lores, culture, values, norms, laws written and unwritten, traditions, etc were transferred to.

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by vannessa7(f): 6:32pm On Apr 02, 2017
the truth about this question is that Yoruba's are highly religious, even the traditionalist among us believe in God , after the Introduction of Christianity by the missionaries Yoruba's begin a close walk with God sometime to the exclusion of everything living a life of total commitment to God with some abandoning family and money pursuits to seek the face of God, through these communions God began to call them into various ministries backed by Gods power many of these founders were thought to be. insane when they started but with the power of God they developed great ministries, go to prayer mountains all over the nation you will still see many Yoruba's there seeking Gods face some have been there for 10 yrs and some more, they don't think about money or material gain but to seek God daily and one day they will receive the order. to launch out and another great ministry will be born, some don't start churches but they have received a lot of revelations and power by rubbing mind with God, Yoruba's took what they received from the missionary and developed it, and because of the raw power of God most of these new ministries are populated by all tribes in Nigeria, wealth and happiness ate given by God and Yoruba's. just know that if you get God all these things will follow you, Catholic bowing down to and honouring Mary is idolatry, God is jealous and anyone in close walk with Him will realise this, thus few Yoruba's in Catholic. research the foundation of all these Yoruba churches you will see a beginning with someone living a life of total commitment to God while shunning material pursuit, some abandoned lucrative jobs enduring poverty and ridicule, God is always ready to move close to anyone that move close to Him and He reveal His secrets to them.

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Fx55(m): 6:35pm On Apr 02, 2017
xjiggy:
Same reason Igbos are few in Anglican church and Baptist church. The church they came in contact with mostly in the west were the British Baptist and Anglican church. The Igbos on the other hand came in contact with and embraced the Catholic church
There are more Igbo Anglicans than Yoruba... Are we going to argue about that?

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by murphyibiam15(m): 6:37pm On Apr 02, 2017
BabaCommander:
Someone just said it's cus they can't do without women. But OP, when did Roman Catholics became Christians?
Christians started first as catholics...greed made others opt out

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by juman(m): 6:37pm On Apr 02, 2017
Nodogragra4me:

The censor being discussed is majorly around finance.....did he close his adoration ministry? Does he remit his money to the larger Catholic Church and the school he is said to be building in his area of Enugu state , is it answerable to the Catholic Church?

I dont know about that.

But I think he and some others like him that are catholic stars need some sorts of free hand a bit to excel.
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Sammy07: 6:40pm On Apr 02, 2017
Basic123:
virtually all yoruba towns have a Catholic parish just like every town in yoruba land has a central mosque that is always located close to the oba's palace!

Not all Yoruba town...

in my town Ondo town,, the Central mosque is far from palace,,, likewise ogbomosho too
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Sammy07: 6:41pm On Apr 02, 2017
Fx55:
There are more Igbo Anglicans than Yoruba... Are we going to argue about that?

But not in Yoruba states
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Basic123: 6:43pm On Apr 02, 2017
Sammy07:

Not all Yoruba town...

in my town Ondo town,, the Central mosque is far from palace,,, likewise ogbomosho too
Do you know the meaning of "virtually".
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by jonnytad(m): 6:43pm On Apr 02, 2017
It seems you don't knw what you are saying. ..... i lived in lagos and cali and i knw d difference.

brostheo:
They are busy donating money to their f daddies in the Lord, Adeboye and oyedepo

In between ,Yoruba people too like miracles, that na why them Oyedepo ,Tb Joshua they take them do yeye
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Nodogragra4me(m): 6:45pm On Apr 02, 2017
Mpanyi:

You got it all wrong. Except one is baptized he will not enter the kingdom of God and it never at any place exempted kids. You want them to perish? Many things to write but lemme stop here. Finally, you as an adopted child knows almost nothing about your adopted ancestor in comparison with your adopted father and his forefathers to whom family lores, culture, values, norms, laws written and unwritten, traditions, etc were transferred to.

The Bible says , unless a MAN be born not unless a baby is born again in water and not in basin ....every grown person who can reason for themselves is a man whether man or woman.
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Nobody: 6:45pm On Apr 02, 2017
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by jonnytad(m): 6:45pm On Apr 02, 2017
Yeeepaaa, na bible talk dat one?

murphyibiam15:

Christians started first as catholics...greed made others opt out
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Nodogragra4me(m): 6:47pm On Apr 02, 2017
Mpanyi:

The Bible says , unless a MAN be born not unless a baby is born again in basin ....every grown person who can reason for themselves is a man whether man or woman.
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Fx55(m): 6:47pm On Apr 02, 2017
Sammy07:
But not in Yoruba states
How are Igbos supposed to outnumber Yorubas in their homeland?

I'm talking about the Anglican population nationwide. The Igbo population outnumber the Yoruba. 70% of Yoruba Christians belong to the RCCG and Living Faith Church.
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Sammy07: 6:48pm On Apr 02, 2017
Basic123:
Do you know the meaning of "virtually".
of course,, IT means almost
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Nodogragra4me(m): 6:48pm On Apr 02, 2017
Mpanyi:

The Bible says , unless a MAN be born not unless a baby is born again in basin full of water or sprinkled Or ....every grown person who can reason for themselves is a man whether man or woman.
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Sammy07: 6:50pm On Apr 02, 2017
Fx55:
How are Igbos supposed to outnumber Yorubas in their homeland?

I'm talking about the Anglican population nationwide. The Igbo population outnumber the Yoruba. 70% of Yoruba Christians belong to the RCCG and Living Faith Church.

hmm,,, if it's Anglican population nationwide,,, then I agreed
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by Mpanyi: 6:50pm On Apr 02, 2017
Nodogragra4me:

The Bible says , unless a MAN be born not unless a baby is born again in water and not in basin ....every grown person who can reason for themselves is a man whether man or woman.

Hahaha. Lame argument that fails to fly. Before God we are all the same.

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by sinola(m): 6:53pm On Apr 02, 2017
Nbote:
It's exactly d same reason why there are more yorubas in Baptist and White garment churches especially.. because d predominant churches in d south west are white garment churches, Baptist and Apostolic churches.

average yoruba man cannot practise celibacy....they like women die

Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by tete7000(m): 6:56pm On Apr 02, 2017
ALAYORMII:
The same reason you hardly see a northerner being Catholic

There are northern catholics. Your use of the word 'hardly' does not connotes reality.
Re: Why Are Yorubas Few In The Roman Catholic And Also Few Yoruba Revd Fathers? by 2n2k(m): 6:59pm On Apr 02, 2017
todaynewsreview:
There has been series of argument among folks over the few numbers of Roman Catholic members among the Yorubas. It is a common scenario seeing many Yorubas in denominations like The Redeemed Christian Church of God, Mountain of Fire, Living Faith, "White Garment Group of Churches", CAC, among others and even a good numbers among the Anglicans who are even Priests but the main subject of concern is why are there very few Roman Catholics or Revd Fathers of Yorubas?

If you know any Revd Father that is a Yoruba, you may reference him

I implore oga Seun and lalasticlala to push this thread to front page for more responses.

Thanks.

At bolded. I know one. The head of your Catholic Church in Nigeria and who may possibly become your pope. He is Cardinal John Olorunfemi Onaiyekan. You may google his history if you don't know already.

Shame On Pastors Who Live In Opulence While Church Members Are Broke!! / Bishop Oyedepo: 'What Will Happen If Nigeria Becomes An Islamic Nation' / Photo Of Pastor Chris Oyakhilome In Superman Attire

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 85