Stats: 3,162,738 members, 7,851,539 topics. Date: Wednesday, 05 June 2024 at 10:01 PM

What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) (52802 Views)

Americans Discuss The Good Side Of Nigerians On Twitter. (screenshots) / Image Of A Country: Some Americans Mock Nigeria On Twitter / 25 Interesting Facts About Nigeria And Nigerians (2) (3) (4)

Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by wristbangle: 8:55am On Sep 29, 2017
I am pleased to read hopeful words from some patriotic Nigerians.

I have friends in overseas that tells me about how some white friends of theirs view africa generally aside South Africa, Egypt, Morocco as a typical village without power supply, GSM services, hut mud houses and other basic amenities hence give more derogatory views about Nigeria except for those who have travelled to the country.

Nigerians are good people but the fact that we are plagued with bad government since independence has changed the mentality of the few good ones to compromised and manipulate their way to the top.
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by hanassholesolo: 8:55am On Sep 29, 2017
I hate reading the Opeyemi's part
Look at all those unnecessarily big grammar's they are using? Does this have anything to do with self esteem? Maybe they are trying to appear educated, kai.

Just look at how white people express themselves very coherently, when reading it, it's just so easy in the eyes, but read the ones Nigerians wrote and its just..... awful!

Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by banmee(m): 8:56am On Sep 29, 2017
FSBoperator:
The most annoying thing about Nigerians is that they tend to want to know how others feel about them.

It only takes a highly inferiority complexed being to want to know how other people view him or her.

And thats what this thread is all about.

Guy, you should care what others think about you. Do you know why? Ever heard the term "perception is reality"? No man is an island. If Nigeria was self sufficient and did not need any other country in the world to survive then it wouldn't and shouldn't care what others countries think about her. But we all know that is not the case. Even America and Americans care about what other countries think about them talk less of Nigeria. Even you as an individual do it all the time. Every time you dress up to go out you are doing it so as to impress others and to project a good image. If you were alone in the world you wouldn't give a phuck and probably walk around n.aked.
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by seangy4konji: 8:57am On Sep 29, 2017
who cares how others feelthere is suffering in this land...nothing is working in this laaand...basic amenities is non existence...

dont deceive your self..

it is a great country with oloriburuku leaders and police and decision makers...

it is a cursed country with no love for your fellow neighbours...oppresion is joy to nigerians...accumulating wealth without helping the needy.always wanting other to lick foot before they can help thier family..

show off,bragging,voodoo....no joy...ordinary tap water is not available tthroughout nigeria any more.maybe in ASO ROCK BUT i can assure you its borehole..Rails,1934 setting...No National Airline..Preseidency ha 14 private jetsfew bombardiers and big airbuses but no national airline.if you get sick and go to hospitalwithout a cardyou will die at the receptionno one will attend to you unless you bring physical cash.pensioners slump and die because of no benefits..police and armerd robberd drink gulder and peppersoup together sharing kidnapping funds...

ou senator and lawmakers are the chief comptroller of ashewo joints and aristo(sugar daddy) policy.

useless people generally...only sane few.

Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by breakeven: 8:57am On Sep 29, 2017
Wagasigiungu:
Love this country, hate this country or be indifferent about it, Nigeria is definitely a country with limitless potentials if only we the citizens can be more patriotic.

I believe we are our own worst enemy. I cringed, reading the comments written by some Nigerians on a public and international forum like Quora. It is disheartening that we think so little of ourselves. For once, let's focus on our strengths and ignore our weaknesses.

Here is what some Americans think of our dear country. Some of the comments therein made me blush with pride and joy. Lol

Let the spirit of love, brotherhood and oneness hold sway in this period of our 57th independence anniversary.

Longlive Nigeria!!!!
God bless Nigeria and all Nigerians irrespective of ethnic, religious or political inclinations or affiliations.

Buhari is the one destroying this country with religious and tribal bigotry. The day we will vote a person who can rise up above this sentiments Nigeria will be great
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by banmee(m): 8:59am On Sep 29, 2017
breakeven:

Buhari is the one destroying this country with religious and tribal bigotry. The day we will vote a person who can rise up above this sentiments Nigeria will be great

Buhari is not the problem.
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by balogun16(m): 9:00am On Sep 29, 2017
Zaheertyler:
whites are very foolish... that's why we keep on scamming then everyday.... truth is fuvk corruption... if only we the youths can love ourselves and leave every form of hatred that the old ones have put in us about tribal issues .. then we'll see where this country would be in years to come
I'm Igbo and I believe in one Nigeria
shun religious and inter tribal hatred
happy independence Nigeria
today is not independent day idiot. is it that you don't have calendar at home or home. you are one of those people disgracing this country with less intelligence
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by Nobody: 9:00am On Sep 29, 2017
Fiwayemi:
i decree upon nigeria YOU ARE BLESS IN JESUS NAME.AMEN

Amen
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by banmee(m): 9:01am On Sep 29, 2017
wristbangle:
I am pleased to read hopeful words from some patriotic Nigerians.

I have friends in overseas that tells me about how some white friends of theirs view africa generally aside South Africa, Egypt, Morocco as a typical village without power supply, GSM services, hut mud houses and other basic amenities hence give more derogatory views about Nigeria except for those who have travelled to the country.

Nigerians are good people but the fact that we are plagued with bad government since independence has changed the mentality of the few good ones to compromised and manipulate their way to the top.

You might wanna rethink the bold comment. If Nigerians were good people, your government would not be bad. Bad citizens=Bad government=bad country. This is a fact. Is this not the same country were it's citizens can execute suspects in the streets and nothing will happen? These are the things other countries see that make them to tag you as phucked up people.

Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by martineverest(m): 9:03am On Sep 29, 2017
BackToLife:
Very true! Nigeria would have been the best in Africa if not for tribalism and Hausa/Fulani claiming they are born to rule. The North has ruled Nigeria for almost wooping 40 years out of 58 yrs since Independwnce. Southern and Northern Nigeria are supposed to exchange Presidency equally, but the North... If Fayoshe was to be Hausa, they would have supported him enmasse. They'll even rather prefer and supoort Hausa Cow as President instead of a Southerner. I wish Fayoshe was Igbo, I love igbos for their Unity, they'll ensure he wins. But lo, I see so many stupid Yorubas criticizing Fayose here. Is Buhari better that Fayoshe?!!! Yorubas, una better unite get sense like Igbos and Hausas before is too late for una dumb mofos always pulling one another down. Also, Igbos and Yorubas can team up in this coming election to call the bluff of "The born to rule" Power hungry North once and for all!
smh...I guess fulanis and hausas are also responsible for the massive looting in my region, niget delta.smh
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by Nobody: 9:06am On Sep 29, 2017
After lurking on celebs social media pages NLers have now taken over Quora. SMH
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by FSBoperator: 9:07am On Sep 29, 2017
banmee:

Guy, you should care what others think about you. Do you know why? Ever heard the term "perception is reality"? No man is an island. If Nigeria was self sufficient and did not need any other country in the world to survive then it wouldn't and shouldn't care what others countries think about her. But we all know that is not the case. Even America and Americans care about what other countries think about them talk less of Nigeria. Even you as an individual do it all the time. Every time you dress up to go out you are doing it so as to impress others and to project a good image. If you were alone in the world you wouldn't give a phuck and probably walk around n.aked.

Arrant nonsense.

You are promoting narcissism in place of self confidence.

Self confidence comes with self assurance and you don't need anybody's compliment since you know you are on the right. How do you know you are on the right? Because of good home training and a disciplined outlook on life.

A narcissistic idiot on the other hand needs to be complimented and assured by others - this is not the hallmark of a self confident being.
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by ImaIma1(f): 9:07am On Sep 29, 2017
Nigerians are hardworking people and generally respectful. We are not afraid to try new things and excel.

We just don't have the opportunities here because some people at the top have decided to mind their own bellies.

One day, this recycling of leaders will end and there will be fresh air.
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by FSBoperator: 9:08am On Sep 29, 2017
martineverest:
smh...I guess fulanis and hausas are also responsible for the massive looting in my region, niget delta.smh

I dont know why there are so many frauds claiming ND on this forum or there is a deep self hatred among ND people.

Just look at the rubbish you wrote
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by Basfaq(m): 9:08am On Sep 29, 2017
kodded:

Nigerians are zombies sad sad sad
Aren't your not from Nigeria?
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by martineverest(m): 9:09am On Sep 29, 2017
FSBoperator:

I dont know why there are so many frauds claiming ND on this forum or there is a deep self hatred among ND people.

shud i csll u odoyor or ozuor?
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by Basfaq(m): 9:09am On Sep 29, 2017
kodded:

Nigerians are zombies sad sad sad
Aren't your parents not from Nigeria?
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by koladebrainiac(m): 9:09am On Sep 29, 2017
FSBoperator:
The most annoying thing about Nigerians is that they tend to want to know how others feel about them.

It only takes a high inferiority complexed being to want to know how other people view him or her.

And that's what this thread is all about.
abi oooo i still wonder why Nigerians need other people opinion or subject ourselves to people stereotyping us. common! Nigeria is 0ver 180milion people and not just only that we are over 700 ethnic groups with sharp cultural and religious differences. anyone expecting us to act the same or judge us just because of few people he or she meets should be ashamed. it takes wisdom not just knowledge to be able to understand human behaviours. Even the almighty Sigmund Freud and his psychoanalysis on human behavioural patterns cant conclude on Nigeria behaviours .so they should go and rest abeg

Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by breakeven: 9:09am On Sep 29, 2017
SpComedy:
Quota system should be abolished, let rule of law prevail and justice be uphold..............only then we will start thinking of being great
The Hausa Fulani will never allow a level playing field for everybody. Their existence in Nigeria depend on quota system.

Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by FSBoperator: 9:10am On Sep 29, 2017
martineverest:
shud i csll u odoyor or ozuor?

save it for your mama
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by abbeyty(m): 9:11am On Sep 29, 2017
hanassholesolo:
I hate reading the Opeyemi's part
Look at all those unnecessarily big grammar's they are using? Does this have anything to do with self esteem? Maybe they are trying to appear educated, kai.

Just look at how white people express themselves very coherently, when reading it, it's just so easy in the eyes, but read the ones Nigerians wrote and its just..... awful!

Lol, that is one of Nigeria problems (big grammar). some of them think blowing grammar can their solve problems. you will never see the queen of England blowing unnecessary grammar while making speech. she speaks simple and plain English
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by banmee(m): 9:13am On Sep 29, 2017
FSBoperator:

Arrant nonsense.

You are promoting narcissism in place of self confidence.

Self confidence comes with self assurance and you don't need anybody's compliment since you know you are on the right. How do you know you are on the right? Because of good home training and a disciplined outlook on life.

A narcissistic idiot on the other hand needs to be complimented and assured by others - this is not the hallmark of a self confident being.

And they wonder why they are in the predicament they are in. They won't think nor act the way normal people in normal countries do then turn around and complain when they tag them as phucked up people. Worse is, instead of them to learn and correct their mistakes, they stubbornly dig their heels in, bury their heads in the sand and ignore normalcy. Make una continue. You think it's bad now. Lol. You have no idea what's in store for you all as a people. Smh.

Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by KillerBeauty(f): 9:14am On Sep 29, 2017
The topic says what Americans think about Nigerians but a lot of the people quoted are Nigerians

Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by IdisuleOurOwn(m): 9:17am On Sep 29, 2017
FSBoperator:

A well known fraudster is calling someone a fraud cheesy.
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by IdisuleOurOwn(m): 9:19am On Sep 29, 2017
FSBoperator:

save it for your mama
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by kannymoore(m): 9:19am On Sep 29, 2017
BackToLife:
Very true! Nigeria would have been the best in Africa if not for tribalism and Hausa/Fulani claiming they are born to rule. The North has ruled Nigeria for almost wooping 40 years out of 58 yrs since Independwnce. Southern and Northern Nigeria are supposed to exchange Presidency equally, but the North... If Fayoshe was to be Hausa, they would have supported him enmasse. They'll even rather prefer and supoort Hausa Cow as President instead of a Southerner. I wish Fayoshe was Igbo, I love igbos for their Unity, they'll ensure he wins. But lo, I see so many stupid Yorubas criticizing Fayose here. Is Buhari better that Fayoshe?!!! Yorubas, una better unite get sense like Igbos and Hausas before is too late for una dumb mofos always pulling one another down. Also, Igbos and Yorubas can team up in this coming election to call the bluff of "The born to rule" Power hungry North once and for all!

Then why haven't they supported Atiku who is actually a Fulani and has tried numerous times since Obj's govt to be president nko?

Seems your postulation lacks basis bro.
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by Abudu2000(m): 9:20am On Sep 29, 2017
Of truely we believe in one Nigeria and want that claim to stand let's start by removing all languages and culture so we all can embrace English and put any form or tribal diversities and religious beliefs aside in all our dealings...
Ghana is fast developing not because they have that much resources but because their languages are very few and the tribalism is barely even noticed...in Nigeria vitually everyone would want their own language if given the understanding.....
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by FSBoperator: 9:21am On Sep 29, 2017
IdisuleOurOwn:

A well known fraudster is calling someone a fraud cheesy.

i duped you of your small sense shey?
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by IdisuleOurOwn(m): 9:24am On Sep 29, 2017
FSBoperator:

i duped you of your small sense shey?

I will continue to expose you here if time permits me cheesy.
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by Zaheertyler(m): 9:25am On Sep 29, 2017
balogun16:
today is not independent day idiot. is it that you don't have calendar at home or home. you are one of those people disgracing this country with less intelligence

there is no sense in what you just said
your the one disgracing yourself
sha I no blame you... na nairaland cause because If you see me face to face low self esteem won't make you say a word
have you seen seme border before
not even Lagos
you'll just stay in your village and talk trash

Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by Yinkagbo(m): 9:25am On Sep 29, 2017
BackToLife:

Which stupid fayose you want yoruba to support, if any yoruba would support fayose that wud be only your family abi some idiot on your street.....because fayose has been running his mouth up and down, does that qualify him to be good president, talkless of gaining the heart of yorubas.....? If I may ask you, tell me integrity that he has? We want power back from hausa to yoruba but not for fayose type......
Re: What Some Americans Think Of Nigeria And Nigerians (Screenshots) by kushsy: 9:25am On Sep 29, 2017
hucienda:
"America will know."
Jonathan#tag Deizane @ massive fraud##

Nigerian Senate May Expel DSTV, MTN, Shoprite Over Xenophobic Attacks / Reno Omokri Reacts To Buhari's Appointment Of Yusuf Magaji Bichi As New DSS Boss / Maryam Babangida And Princess Diana At The Tafawa Balewa Square (Throwback Photo

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 71