Stats: 3,152,972 members, 7,817,855 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 09:18 PM

Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars - Car Talk (132) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars (892540 Views)

What Is With Honda Cars And Their Tyres That Always Cave In. / Maintenance Tips On Cars. / Honda Cars Front Wheel Issue (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (129) (130) (131) (132) (133) (134) (135) ... (433) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by mayor2013: 5:13pm On Nov 19, 2017
embee430:
Please how much can I get a crankshaft and oil pump. My car makes horrible noise from the engine compartment when I accelerate only but sounds okay without pressing on the gas. I was told the oil pump/crankshaft is bad. @luvinhubby @gazzuz

Car: 2008 Honda Accord Coupe (4cyl) Auto tran

Get another engine so as to avoid unnecessary spending
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by Specialist900(m): 9:43pm On Nov 19, 2017
sammywalterz:
Ok do you have any genuin person u can direct me to? And any ideal how much i can get it. Thanks. quote author=Specialist900 post=62475938]apo and zuba are the places to buy from na. Kugbo mechanic doesn't rate with the aforementioned
no o. Even the recent gearbox i changed at Apo for my car na God help me.
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by Autopartz: 10:02am On Nov 20, 2017
sammywalterz:
Please can somebody help me out with somewhere in abuja where I can get a good engine for my 2004 EOD. There are a lot of fake ones at zuba and apo mechanic. I need to replace my engine

Contact 08097772886 (WhatsApp); 09030007004
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by scripted(m): 12:13pm On Nov 20, 2017
fullman:
Please help, my acura MDX check engine light comes on, i scan and dhows p0420. I clear it went but I notice anytime I drive a little long it comes again and i clear and the cycle continues.
Please what's going on.
Cc gazzuz,honmusa,and others.
Call 09030846334 or whatsapp
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by HenryWilliams(m): 9:09pm On Nov 20, 2017
Just got a 2004 Honda Accord V6. The car moves great but I've got a big concern.. All the lights in the dash are lit.. From check engine light to abs. Traction etc.. How do I start tackling each one?
Will post pictures soon.
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by luvinhubby(m): 9:19pm On Nov 20, 2017
HenryWilliams:
Just got a 2004 Honda Accord V6. The car moves great but I've got a big concern.. All the lights in the dash are lit.. From check engine light to abs. Traction etc.. How do I start tackling each one?
Will post pictures soon.
Start with a scan to determine the suspects on the check engine light;

Change the ABS module, the traction and ABS will go off.

And if possible snap and paste 'all' the lights here.
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by HenryWilliams(m): 10:35pm On Nov 20, 2017
Sent. Like is said.. Christmas lights

Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by HenryWilliams(m): 10:37pm On Nov 20, 2017
luvinhubby:

Start with a scan to determine the suspects on the check engine light;

Change the ABS module, the traction and ABS will go off.

And if possible snap and paste 'all' the lights here.

I'll do so first thing tomorrow and list all the codes. If any.
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by davodyguy: 3:05pm On Nov 21, 2017
Hello guys.

My uncles 2010 Honda 4 cyl has just one and only issue, which im thinking around.

MIL on. Scanned it and got P0011 - "A" Camshaft Position - Timing Over-Advanced or System Performance (Bank 1)

History

car bought in 2010, brand New zero mileage from Canada.
Mileage now 94,000.

At cold start, there is this funny PKaaaaa sound once and that's all for the entire day, not until next cold start.

Mechanic decided to work on it. According to the Oyingbo Guy, very experienced. NASCO. luvinhubby might know him at Freeman street, one of those trained in the days of Leventis. He said he would work on the Camshaft, which he did and the noise vanished till today, but code showed up afterwards.

What can we do to remedy the code?
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by Dbkk: 8:13pm On Nov 21, 2017
luvinhubby please what is price for AC compressor & condenser for Honda accord 06 i4..
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by GAZZUZZ(m): 8:40pm On Nov 21, 2017
davodyguy:
Hello guys.

My uncles 2010 Honda 4 cyl has just one and only issue, which im thinking around.

MIL on. Scanned it and got P0011 - "A" Camshaft Position - Timing Over-Advanced or System Performance (Bank 1)

History

Mileage now 94,000.

At cold start, there is this funny PKaaaaa sound once and that's all for the entire day, not until next cold start.

Mechanic decided to work on it. According to the Oyingbo Guy, very experienced. NASCO. luvinhubby might know him at Freeman street, one of those trained in the days of Leventis. He said he would work on the Camshaft, which he did and the noise vanished till today, but code showed up afterwards.

replace VTec actuator.
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by Specialist900(m): 8:45pm On Nov 21, 2017
davodyguy:
Hello guys.

History

Mileage now 94,000.

exact problem I once reported here. Seems this 2010 accord usually have this problem
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by Specialist900(m): 8:49pm On Nov 21, 2017
Oga Gazzuzz..

Please I normally use Milemaster 5w-30 to service my car but for a while now, Milemaster disappeared. How good is fastron 5w-30

Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by denice1: 9:04pm On Nov 21, 2017
Specialist900:
Oga Gazzuzz..

Please I normally use Milemaster 5w-30 to service my car but for a while now, Milemaster disappeared. How good is fastron 5w-30

If it is the same spec, me think it is good.
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by Flyingman(m): 9:51pm On Nov 21, 2017
Just giving my car(2008 Accord) a checkover yesterday after having a feeling of steering fluid shortage. I noticed that the power steering fluid in the reservoir was spinning heavily and some signs of serious shortage and spilled fluid from the top of the reservoir. No sign of leakage in the pump or rack, just at the base of the reservoir. Is this normal?
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by davodyguy: 10:10pm On Nov 21, 2017
GAZZUZZ:

replace VTec actuator.
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by davodyguy: 10:15pm On Nov 21, 2017
Specialist900:
Oga Gazzuzz..

Too many fake 5w-20 and 30.

Buy from only trusted source. Since milesmaster folded up, I resigned buying from luvinhubby. Though a little expensive, but rest of mind. 90% are fake
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by davodyguy: 10:16pm On Nov 21, 2017
Flyingman:
Just giving my car(2008 Accord) a checkover yesterday after having a feeling of steering fluid shortage. I noticed that the power steering fluid in the reservoir was spinning heavily and some signs of serious shortage and spilled fluid from the top of the reservoir. No sign of leakage in the pump or rack, just at the base of the reservoir. Is this normal?
Does it pump well?
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by davodyguy: 10:18pm On Nov 21, 2017
Specialist900:
exact problem I once reported here. Seems this 2010 accord usually have this problem
8th gen accord Carry's 3 kinds of engines. One out of them is so notorious for that useless sound, from 08-12.

The civic like engine doesn't have that issue
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by luvinhubby(m): 5:54am On Nov 22, 2017
davodyguy:

8th gen accord Carry's 3 kinds of engines. One out of them is so notorious for that useless sound, from 08-12.

The civic like engine doesn't have that issue

Common with 2.4 engines of that range, caused by faulty camshaft actuators.
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by GAZZUZZ(m): 7:08am On Nov 22, 2017
Specialist900:
Oga Gazzuzz..

not a reliable brand
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by HenryWilliams(m): 11:11am On Nov 22, 2017
Morning y'all
Here are the codes pulled from my Accord V6 04.
P0155- O2 sensor heater circuit malfunction B2S1
P0135- Same as above.. B1S1
P2628- O2 sensor pumping circuit trim circuit high B1S1
P2631 - same as above. B2S1.

Also I've got the airbag lights, DRL, TSC, brake lights..Triangle light. ABS. Etc.
It's a nasty Christmas tree..
Any solution?
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by davodyguy: 1:54pm On Nov 22, 2017
luvinhubby:

Common with 2.4 engines of that range, caused by faulty camshaft actuators.

How much now for the actuator?
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by davodyguy: 2:15pm On Nov 22, 2017
HenryWilliams:
Morning y'all
Here are the codes pulled from my Accord V6 04.
P0155- O2 sensor heater circuit malfunction B2S1
P0135- Same as above.. B1S1
P2628- O2 sensor pumping circuit trim circuit high B1S1
P2631 - same as above. B2S1.

The last V6 that i used was Nissan Maxima.

It uses two banks (Bank 1 and Bank 2) each bank has two sensors.
If you have the cash, change all 4, but get the OEM numbers that match, if not you'll be sorry.
Then check that the catalytic converters, upstream and downstream are Ok.

HenryWilliams:

Also I've got the airbag lights, DRL, TSC, brake lights..Triangle light. ABS. Etc.
It's a nasty Christmas tree..
Any solution?
DRL : change the bulbs and check for blown out fuse
Triangle light: mine always comes on back then when the ABS sensors were bad
ABS: you have 4 different sensors for the 4 sides of the wheel. I changed all 4 of mine with brand new via aliexpress.
Brake light: Could be bulbs, could be master brake, could be the big ABS module at the close to the power steering oil container.

There are special scanners that scans ABS, DRL, Airbag, separate from those that scan Engine and gear.
If you have none, can send you to a guy in Iwaya.

Honda is not a cheap car to maintain. Close your eye and spend money.

I acquired in August a 2008 accord, which I transformed to 2012 model. I spent 550K to transform it.
changed boot, bumper, front grille, all 4 rims, changed the colour as it was very well baked. changed 4 shocks, changed the complete steering, changed all 4 tyres, Abs sensors. The idea was to re-brand the car so it would serve till 2019 before I get rid of it for another car. I like changing cars during election year.

My advise
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by tsiriman(m): 2:26pm On Nov 22, 2017
Please what coolant can I use for my 2013 honda accord Ex?
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by Flyingman(m): 5:17pm On Nov 22, 2017
davodyguy:

Does it pump well?

Yes it does, it only makes noise when the fluid level is low. No sign of leakage in the rack or pump. Just on the reservoir cover and below. The steering turns perfectly. It’s just the rapid spinning and spilling of fluid that’s a concern to me.
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by davodyguy: 6:36pm On Nov 22, 2017
Flyingman:

Yes it does, it only makes noise when the fluid level is low. No sign of leakage in the rack or pump. Just on the reservoir cover and below. The steering turns perfectly. It’s just the rapid spinning and spilling of fluid that’s a concern to me.

why not change the container then?
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by HenryWilliams(m): 6:41pm On Nov 22, 2017
davodyguy:

If you have the cash, change all 4, but get the OEM numbers that match, if not you'll be sorry.

ABS: you have 4 different sensors for the 4 sides of the wheel. I changed all 4 of mine with brand new via aliexpress.
Brake light: Could be bulbs, could be master brake, could be the big ABS module at the close to the power steering oil container.

There are special scanners that scans ABS, DRL, Airbag, separate from those that scan Engine and gear.

I acquired in August a 2008 accord, which I transformed to 2012 model. I spent 550K to transform it.
changed boot, bumper, front grille, all 4 rims, changed the colour as it was very well baked. changed 4 shocks, changed the complete steering, changed all 4 tyres, Abs sensors. The idea was to re-brand the car so it would serve till 2019 before I get rid of it for another car. I like changing cars during election year.

My advise

I'd like to know more about the guy in iwaya. How can I get hold of him? And can you also put me through on the O2 sensors? I scanned it with a portable OBD 2 scanner.. Got some real live data.. Will post it.
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by captainking(m): 6:59pm On Nov 22, 2017
davodyguy:

My advise
Election year got me... I salute you sir..

Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by davodyguy: 9:51pm On Nov 22, 2017
captainking:
Election year got me... I salute you sir..
Drive for two years, then upgrade
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by davodyguy: 9:55pm On Nov 22, 2017
HenryWilliams:

I'd like to know more about the guy in iwaya. How can I get hold of him? And can you also put me through on the O2 sensors? I scanned it with a portable OBD 2 scanner.. Got some real live data.. Will post it.

The scanner the guy uses cost $200 scans power window, recalibrates ECM, throttle body, scans airbag, ABS etc. Its a professional scanner.
Re: Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars by HenryWilliams(m): 10:21pm On Nov 22, 2017
davodyguy:

The scanner the guy uses cost $200 scans power window, recalibrates ECM, throttle body, scans airbag, ABS etc. Its a professional scanner.

Thanks for that.. But what I need to have is the guy's details so I can contact him personally.. I really need to get this whip in shape.

(1) (2) (3) ... (129) (130) (131) (132) (133) (134) (135) ... (433) (Reply)

Maintenance Tips On Cars. / Mercedes Benz Thread / Nasty effects of road accidents (caution very graphic and potentially offensive images)!

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 68