Stats: 3,167,065 members, 7,867,019 topics. Date: Friday, 21 June 2024 at 09:45 AM

Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional - Webmasters - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Webmasters / Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional (5945 Views)

Please Which SEO Plugin This Blogs Are Using? / News Blogs Are Needed / Please Help.... Hosted Blogs Are Not Showing On Any Of My Browsers (2) (3) (4)

Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by Premiumwriter: 9:36pm On Dec 28, 2017
I've visited a lot of Nigerian blogs and trust me few are worth going through. There are lots of things Nigerian bloggers do that often discredit them even if their ideas are original
www.nairaland.com/attachments/6477656_blogpic_pnga702bcd9f0d1ed3007f0713dfdc01945
1. Unfocused write up
This is one problem I've discovered with most bloggers and believe me as a writer I've come across many. They want to include almost everything about a topic into one particular post and then give it a title that focuses on just one aspect. Example a blog with a title like ' admission list for bsu' any reader that clicks through this type of title is interested in seeing the admission list for bsu, not the school history or how to apply for the school post utme.

2. Long post
Another mistake that makes your blog unprofessional is creating long posts. Most bloggers want to impress readers with long posts but actually it's a huge turn off. Let's be sincere, do you remember the last time you read a whole page of Wikipedia from the beginning to the end? Most of us don't even like opening Wikipedia nowadays because the posts are too long. The same way with your posts- readers will just scroll through it and hit the back button if it is too long. Keep your posts as short and straightforward as possible and you'll have readers moving from one page to the other on your blog

3. Your English doesn't matter as much as you think
Trust me on this one. Most Indian blogs with loads of "RIP english" are way more informative and professional than most Nigerian blogs. Why? Because they always keep their posts as short, clear and informative as possible, no winding sentences just to impress their readers.

4. Ads
I won't even talk much about this. Keep feeling your blog with useless ads and tricking your visitors to click on ads - at the end you'll end up with just a penny while advertisers ends up with the huge pile.

There are many more points that I could have added to this post but I'll leave you with this. Readers please add yours so that bloggers can learn what you like or don't want so that they can improve.

5 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by ekensi01: 9:46pm On Dec 28, 2017
My problem is the ads some people will do it in a way that when you want to download the ads appear and frustrate you.

I don't visit such blog twice no matter how good there post are.

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by BiafraBushBoy(m): 9:56pm On Dec 28, 2017
Nice one. I will implement most of them.
Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by whitebeard(m): 10:12pm On Dec 28, 2017
Fake mews

Fake news

Fake news.

Their fake news has cost me a lot.

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by Finstar: 10:18pm On Dec 28, 2017
I was hoping to read something valuable, turned out to be trash.

14 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by deturla: 12:37am On Dec 29, 2017
Finstar:
I was hoping to read something valuable, turned out to be trash.

LOL.
Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by Nobody: 1:10am On Dec 29, 2017
Because most are broke , hungry and depressed

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by IamShiningStar(f): 6:39am On Dec 29, 2017
Amakavula:
lol! you gat no chill oo

Everybody have turned to blog expert these days! Well the hustle is real, so op more battery to your phone /laptop.
Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by obryneblaque: 7:05am On Dec 29, 2017
Bloggers are known to be a good writers not copy and paste. Nigerians believe that anyone with a blog is a blogger, we need to be Technically trained!

I will create you a blog and trained you how to build a career around it
(Whatsapp: 0-8-1-3-0-7-6-7-3-5-7)

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by tstx(m): 7:06am On Dec 29, 2017
Not all Nigerian blogs are semi rated and unprofessional..

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by datfreshdoc(m): 7:08am On Dec 29, 2017
Amakavula:
lol ... U jux seem to know them... We're in a developing country so i jux think they are developing-bloggers cheesy

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by festwiz(m): 7:11am On Dec 29, 2017
Haha. True for most parts but i disagree with the language not being important. For blogs targeted at certain countries, like mine U.S.A, the language used goes a long way. I agree posts should be comprehensible and not too long since most people have an attention span of 3mins avg.
Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by abumeinben(m): 7:14am On Dec 29, 2017
Same was said about Nigerian music on global relevance years back. It's history today, even though na nonsense Dem dey drop here and there.

It's gradual, OP, we'll get there.

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by ebig21(m): 7:18am On Dec 29, 2017
they only post pornography and useless articles, watch what this girl is doing, you click on it you see the girl is just licking orange

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by Wesporting: 7:23am On Dec 29, 2017
Thanks OP #Inspired
Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by Ishilove: 7:25am On Dec 29, 2017
You have written mostly crap with few relevant points and shown that you are one of the problems of Nigerian blogging.

Premiumwriter:

1. Unfocused write up
This is one problem I've discovered with most bloggers and believe me as a writer I've come across many. They want to include almost everything about a topic into one particular post and then give it a title that focuses on just one aspect. Example a blog with a title like ' admission list for bsu' any reader that clicks through this type of title is interested in seeing the admission list for bsu, not the school history or how to apply for the school post utme.
You are right on this.

2. Long post
Another mistake that makes your blog unprofessional is creating long posts. Most bloggers want to impress readers with long posts but actually it's a huge turn off. Let's be sincere, do you remember the last time you read a whole page of Wikipedia from the beginning to the end? Most of us don't even like opening Wikipedia nowadays because the posts are too long. The same way with your posts- readers will just scroll through it and hit the back button if it is too long. Keep your posts as short and straightforward as possible and you'll have readers moving from one page to the other on your blog
Now this is premium crap. You shouldn't make these kinds of generalisation because different writing styles appeal to different readers and the bane of today's youths is their very short attention span. It seems they can't read beyond 3 sentences before losing focus, but if it were to be a sexcapade they'd sit down quietly and read 1000 sentences.

Have you read 's blog posts? They are often very long because she is a journalist who heavily researches her topics, compiling data before finally writing them. I first read about Maitatsane and it's links to Boko Haram from . The post was over 20,000 words but I was transfixed from beginning to the end.

You can't tell me her blogging style is irrelevant because she has hundreds of super fans who eagerly wait for her blog posts which are VERY educating.

If what you are writing makes sense then readers will be engaged without noticing the length of the post. Don't ramble and make sure everything you're writing correlates with the subject matter of the post.

You are also wrong about Wikipedia. That you don't go to Wiki doesn't mean others don't so stop with the myopic generalizations. Stop encouraging intellectual laziness

Trust me on this one. Most Indian blogs with loads of "RIP english" are way more informative and professional than most Nigerian blogs. Why? Because they always keep their posts as short, clear and informative as possible, no winding sentences just to impress their readers.
You are contradicting yourself. How can posts be clear when the language they are written in are unclear? Let me use an example here- Viviangist, when she first began blogging wrote her posts in 'RIP English', but later when she improved the readability of her blog posts, she became a harvest ground for copy and paste bloggers, and readers like me actually enjoy reading them now.

Master your language. Don't make your readers struggle to understand because your written language is atrocious.

4. Ads
I won't even talk much about this. Keep feeling your blog with useless ads and tricking your visitors to click on ads - at the end you'll end up with just a penny while advertisers ends up with the huge pile.
I will have to agree with you on this one, but you should control the ads so that they don't disturb and irritate visitors.

You also forgot to add plagiarism, aka 'copy and paste'. It is very unprofessional to lift a work without referencing the source and it seems to be a blogging style in Nigeria.

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by tgmservice: 7:25am On Dec 29, 2017
u are wrong on the point of long post. it depends on niche even google encourages long post for some niche
Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by tgmservice: 7:25am On Dec 29, 2017
u are wrong on the point of long post. it depends on niche even google encourages long post for some niche
Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by Dzeimzb: 7:33am On Dec 29, 2017
If you are a blogger and you wrote this then you are even a problem to the Nigerian blogosphere. How on earth can you say a long post males blog unprofessional. As a professional blog who is not into copy and pasting, you haven't started if you can't write at least 2k words post. Again on Ads, ads has always been the easiest monetization means, whether Nigeria or not, bloggers use it and it doesn't matter whether professionals or not but the main thing is how you restrict the ads

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by vioment: 7:33am On Dec 29, 2017
Op, good point, and i know you said good English doesn't matter. I kinda disagree. It's one thing to speak any way when slanging, but when doing professional things, it is necessary and principled to write or speak correctly, be it in any language. We in naija, have to stop hiding behind, oh it's not my language but can't speak any language correctly.

*Op, you also made a mistake in saying "feeling" instead of "filling" on the #4 point.

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by Dzeimzb: 7:35am On Dec 29, 2017
Premiumwriter:
I've visited a lot of Nigerian blogs and trust me few are worth going through. There are lots of things Nigerian bloggers do that often discredit them even if their ideas are original
www.nairaland.com/attachments/6477656_blogpic_pnga702bcd9f0d1ed3007f0713dfdc01945
1. Unfocused write up

2. Long post

4. Ads

There are many more points that I could have added to this post but I'll leave you with this. Readers please add yours so that bloggers can learn what you like or don't want so that they can improve.

Guy you need to be flogged for writing this trash. If English doesn't matter, write in Pidgin . Its just good that you didn't include the source of this thrash

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by Nobody: 7:37am On Dec 29, 2017
Copy paste

OMG! see what this lizard is doing

Totoh dikeh & her boobs step out in style

OMG!!! Reno or ffk blasts buhari

They always copy from social media accounts, some even from nairaland

summary
98% of naija blogs are utterly, totally & completely useless

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by VocalWalls: 7:38am On Dec 29, 2017
Nonsense...
Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by AnodaIT(m): 7:39am On Dec 29, 2017
From the OP's opinion on long post, I would assume his interest is education and entertainment blog

"How to" articles on tech blogs needs longer post and believe me, if you are offering a solution, people will read through it.

For instance, this post about how to reduce bounce rate for bloggers records readers' engagement of more than 2 minutes in spite of being "a long post"

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by Revolva(m): 7:42am On Dec 29, 2017
like my blog below
Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by gammarays(m): 7:43am On Dec 29, 2017
ebig21:
they only post pornography and useless articles, watch what this girl is doing, you click on it you see the girl is just licking orange
Hahaha
correct sir. They always post rubbish on their sites just to get traffic.
Omg secondary school girl caught doing it.
Slay queen shuts down internet with huge melons,
Lagos big girl caught giving head and other rubbish with no good impact on our lives.

Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by udemzyudex(m): 7:48am On Dec 29, 2017
Concerning long post, all I can say is don't just write cos you want to make the post long.

Your research, brainstorming and knowledge about the topic will determine if it's going to be a long post or not.

Just make sure you do this things well and have a great knowledge about the topic .
Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by NaijaTechGuy(m): 7:51am On Dec 29, 2017
lol..note that not all Nigerian blogs are unprofessional. Mine definitely isn't.

and besides only long boring posts are not read.
Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by Nobody: 7:56am On Dec 29, 2017
They're mostly unprofessional because a few good bloggers have made it big through blogging and everyone else have suddenly realised their "blogging" talent. Some are just post sensational clickbait headings to generate traffic but with rubbish stories.
Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by jetroolowole(m): 7:59am On Dec 29, 2017
Premiumwriter:
1. Unfocused write up

2. Long post

4. Ads

I do not agree with your admission about long post and it all depends on the quality of the post. Besides that can reduce your bounce rate. By the way I will be launching The Passive Bloggers program to my Income Tutors Group. Visit https:///incometutorsbootcamp/
Re: Why Nigeria Blogs Are Semi-rated And Unprofessional by akeentech(m): 7:59am On Dec 29, 2017
So na only 100 words post good abi?

I Want To Revive My Blog. (how can I Reignite My Passion For Blogging) / Phpmyadmin And Dreamweaver8 Uploading Picture Issues / Top Strategies You Should Use For Massive Traffic Generation

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 56