Stats: 3,153,530 members, 7,819,906 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 06:16 AM

My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos - Politics (12) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos (34302 Views)

Ibrahim Babangida (IBB's) Message To Igbos / Regina: Canada Government sends message to Igbos living in the country / South-west Leaders Caution Igbos Over Peter Obi (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) ... (18) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by Ngozi123(f): 11:06pm On Feb 15, 2018
LaudableXX:

Ok, so that is the spin you want to put on it? Hehehehe..... cheesy

It's not a "spin", it's the truth. Do you dispute this?

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by anibirelawal(m): 11:06pm On Feb 15, 2018
LaudableXX:

Ehn? What are you apologising for? shocked My ethnic group is not bothered by the law. It is only the Igbo that are wailing over this law. Neither are other tribes complaining about it. Or have you heard any Hausa, Tiv, Idoma, Igala, Itsekiri, Edo, Idoma, Bura, Nupe, Efik, Ibibio, Kalabari, Sayawa, Kamberi etc, person resident in Lagos, lamenting over this law?

I didnt mention any particular tribe, but it is "TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN"

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by LaudableXX: 11:11pm On Feb 15, 2018
anibirelawal:
I didnt mention any particular tribe, but it is "TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN"

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by LaudableXX: 11:14pm On Feb 15, 2018
Ngozi123:
It's not a "spin", it's the truth. Do you dispute this?
Madam, it is a spin. Unless Anambra did not collect govt allocations from the centre or the federal govt, in all its' years of existence as a state. Those allocations came from different sources of revenue, generated from different parts of the country. Unless Anambra never had indigenes of other states living within its' borders, and paying taxes to the state govt, only then can we say it is not a spin. undecided

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by oodualover: 11:16pm On Feb 15, 2018
LaudableXX:

See this one! shocked When Anambra and Imo were making Igbo language compulsory for primary and secondary schools, to the extent that if any student failed Igbo, he was denied promotion to the next class, where were you? It wasn't tribalistic then, ba?

When the same Anambra govt made Igbo a mandatory part of a compulsory General Studies course in its state-owned tertiary institutions at 100-level, it was not tribalistic, right? Now Lagos is doing its own, you are shouting tribalism. Just negodu! angry
Not just primary and secondary but even in their universities. They are pathetic hypocrites. Fuvking develish, big-eyed, two-faced, big-headed, hypocritical and useless animals that will always complain of being victimised all the time.
Pathetic stinking animals that always poke their ugly noses into other people affairs, but will complain when when you reciprocate. This same animals that have been blaming us for their inability to actualize Biafra, the pigs that called us unity beggars are the ones that are refusing to mind their business.
I believe the devil created this things known as ibos.

11 Likes 2 Shares

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by Ngozi123(f): 11:21pm On Feb 15, 2018
LaudableXX:

Madam, it is a spin. Unless Anambra did not collect govt allocations from the centre or the federal govt, in all its' years of existence as a state. Those allocations came from different sources of revenue, generated from different parts of the country. Unless Anambra never had indigenes of other states living within its' borders, and paying taxes to the state govt, only then can we say it is not a spin. undecided

How did I know that this was the argument that you were going to make? undecided The Anambra State government has not received a disproportionate amount from the federal coffers compared to what it has put in.

Are you really trying to say that the influence of non-indigenes in Anambra State is comparable to that of Lagos? Seriously?? shocked

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by oodualover: 11:23pm On Feb 15, 2018
hammer6F:
So many people from Lagos go to University like Uniben, Delta State University, Anambra State University.

Do u know how many Northerners and Yorubas are enjoying free education in Imo State University under Okorocha?

Wat if all of them say we want only Urhobo, Igbo, Bini, Ijaw.

Wat type of country are we living in? Wat is all this?
How many Yoruba people attend university in Nigeria talkless of the desolated east. We have many universities here in the west. Since you guys want the zoo to fall, should you not support it since it will futher divide the zoo?
Confused and hypocritical things

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by cKaiser: 11:25pm On Feb 15, 2018
Ngozi123:

Anambra State doesn't have the luxury of benefiting massively from immigration of Nigerians from other states on such a large scale. You're comparing apples to oranges here. If Anambra State was developed by people from across Nigeria, and their resources, on a large scale and still decided to do this then you'd have a point.

Lagos did not beg other people to come into it and eke a living and Lagos State is not holding anybody back from leaving, Lagos has decided on the way to go regarding the language policy. If you feel its too much for you, You can leave peacefully or attend other 100 tertiary institutions that do not have a Yoruba requirement

Anambra forced non Ibos to learn Ibo as General studies and heaven did not fall, Lags requires you to have a credit pass in yoruba before admission

11 Likes 2 Shares

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by LaudableXX: 11:26pm On Feb 15, 2018
Ngozi123:
How did I know that this was the argument that you were going to make? undecided The Anambra State government has not received a disproportionate amount from the federal coffers compared to what it has put in.

Are you really trying to say that the influence of non-indigenes in Anambra State is comparable to that of Lagos? Seriously?? shocked

Anambra has not received... what? shocked How much exactly did Anambra put into the federal coffers, compared to what it received? Let us start with that first. Provide your facts and figures, so we can all check them for authenticity. The issue is not about influence, but the presence of other ethnic groups in Anambra. Do non-indigenes exist in Anambra? Yes or No?

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by cKaiser: 11:27pm On Feb 15, 2018
Ngozi123:

How much is Anambra generating and how much is it putting back into the treasury. Aside the oil producing states, Lagos is the other state that can boast of not receiving more than it is giving to the coffers of the FGN

Lagos as a state generates what is commensurate with what it makes, One of the major non oil revenue of the country is the Ports and the proceeds is shared with other places in the country

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by LaudableXX: 11:32pm On Feb 15, 2018
cKaiser:
How much is Anambra generating and how much is it putting back into the treasury. Aside the oil producing states, Lagos is the other state that can boast of not receiving more than it is giving to the coffers of the FGN

Lagos as a state generates what is commensurate with what it makes, One of the major non oil revenue of the country is the Ports and the proceeds is shared with other places in the country

Guy, you jumped the gun. I was patiently waiting for her to provide facts and figures to substantiate her statement. Hehehe.... grin

At least, the language law has done one thing - the word "non-indigene" is now being used extensively, to identify those who are not the original inhabitants of Lagos. Before now, the only thing everyone was hearing was that they "developed" Lagos, and that it is a no man's land. Can you see how the tunes they are singing, are rapidly changing? sad

11 Likes 2 Shares

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by omonnakoda: 11:33pm On Feb 15, 2018
Ngozi123:

Anambra State doesn't have the luxury of benefiting massively from immigration of Nigerians from other states on such a large scale. You're comparing apples to oranges here. If Anambra State was developed by people from across Nigeria, and their resources, on a large scale and still decided to do this then you'd have a point.
Why not?

Pathetic.
The ugly girl doesn't have the luxury of being fine. Sob sob.

So the fine girl should apologise for being fine
In 1991 Lagos was 5million population same as Kano Kano slightly higher. What has Kano done with all that population.
Abuja has been capital since 1993.

In fact Laos has done better since the capital left and it was governed by its own people and not soldiers.

IN 1998 when Tinubu took over the total annual IGR WAS 12 BILLION NAIRA A YEAR.

If one one your flat ties had been in charge can you tell us Lagos would be the same?

Maybe it would be the Statue capital of the world.

Finally I must remind you of one detail

LAGOS CITY is not the same as Lagos State just like

Enugu
Ondo
Kano
Kaduna
Oyo
Bauchi
So koto

Lagos City was the capital of Nigeria NOT the whole LAGOS STATE.

The people of the state are largely Yoruba and they did not sign up to extinction of their language
The most recent census 2006 put Kano ahead of Lagos what has it done for Kano?

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by oodualover: 11:33pm On Feb 15, 2018
hammer6F:

Indigenes?

Is everybody in LASU now suppose to be Yoruba?

Try hard to fight that African backwardness.

Try Bro!
Their is nothing backward there. If you want to school in Germany, you must study and pass their languge for a year. Even in the USA, Canada, and UK, you must pass english test like TOEFL and IELTS before you can secure admission into their schools. They don't care whether you passed English in WAEC.
You ibos are pathetic hypocrites

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by Ngozi123(f): 11:34pm On Feb 15, 2018
cKaiser:

Lagos did not beg other people to come into it and eke a living and Lagos State is not holding anybody back from leaving, Lagos has decided on the way to go regarding the language policy. If you feel its too much for you, You can leave peacefully or attend other 100 tertiary institutions that do not have a Yoruba requirement

Anambra forced non Ibos to learn Ibo as General studies and heaven did not fall, Lags requires you to have a credit pass in yoruba before admission

You must've missed the part of my post where I said that I don't live nor do I have any plans to live in Lagos undecided.

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by kayfra: 11:35pm On Feb 15, 2018
hammer6F:

Yoruba always starts tribalism in Nigeria but later turn round to pretend it is not dem .

Just imagine forcing Yoruba on non yoruba children like an islamist extremeist forcing islam on non muslim.

Jehovah!

Jehovah has told you to learn Yoruba or go back to your village.

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by oodualover: 11:43pm On Feb 15, 2018
omonnakoda:

No you are the one with such a complex. You accept that YOUR language is dead and buried.
We do not accept this for Yoruba.
We have a vision that one day our kids will learn calculus and quantum mechanics in Yoruba. That they will write programmes in Yoruba. Yes we will completely replace English why? Because we believe in our selves. It is a profound inferiority complex with paranoid delusions of self reference that would believe this targets anyone.

Let me share something that you do not know.

Not so long (1637)ago a guy called Isaac Newton wrote a profound work called the Philosophiae Naturalis Principia Matematica. He was an English man. He wrote itin Latin.

Why?

English was considered backward. The language of instruction in Europe in those days among the elite was French and Latin.

Where is Latin now? And English?

You will still find Latin in anatomy textbooks maybe.

Our vision is based on how far we believe we can take our language. Your spiteful nature makes you think you are the target .

You have surrendered and acquiesced to the idea that English is superior to your language. We will never do that.
Now Every language has a signature homeland or homelands.

Lagos is a Yoruba homeland with an exciting future in media ,radio, cinema and so on. It is going to be massive.

Be happy for us grin

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by cKaiser: 11:44pm On Feb 15, 2018
Ngozi123:
You must've missed the part of my post where I said that I don't live nor do I have any plans to live in Lagos undecided.

So why are you wailing so loud. Lagosians are not complaining, Their reps just passed the law and the people are happy with it

So why is your agbero crying about overload. As long as the state you live doesnt pass such laws you dont have to worry.

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by LaudableXX: 11:47pm On Feb 15, 2018
oodualover:
Not just primary and secondary but even in their universities. They are pathetic hypocrites. Fuvking develish, big-eyed, two-faced, big-headed, hypocritical and useless animals that will always complain of being victimised all the time.
Pathetic stinking animals that always poke their ugly noses into other people affairs, but will complain when when you reciprocate. This same animals that have been blaming us for their inability to actualize Biafra, the pigs that called us unity beggars are the ones that are refusing to mind their business.
I believe the devil created this things known as ibos.
Haba! Guy, you dey harsh, o! shocked Na who vex you today? Don't let them make you offend God, o! cheesy Not all Igbo behave the way you described. sad Like every other tribe, they have the good, bad and ugly. Take am easy. Refrain from those bad names.....not all of them deserve it.

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by oodualover: 11:50pm On Feb 15, 2018
Ngozi123:

Lmao! This is what they call ibotic-akpu logic.

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by oodualover: 11:52pm On Feb 15, 2018
LaudableXX:
Ok, so that is the spin you want to put on it? Hehehehe..... cheesy
That is akpu-logic right there

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by olril17(m): 11:52pm On Feb 15, 2018
hammer6F:
I am an Igbo man, i get fed up very quickly and not into long dragging.

I am happy to park all my things to my village empty handed and start all over again.

But will Yoruba and Hausa allow me keep my life in my village.

If Nigeria cannot work, let Biafrans go peacefully.

you are not making sense...are yorubas holding you from going back to east?

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by LaudableXX: 11:54pm On Feb 15, 2018
oodualover:
That is akpu-logic right there

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by olril17(m): 11:54pm On Feb 15, 2018
Ngozi123:

An inferiority complex is when you feel the need to make the teaching of your language in your state compulsory despite the fact that most people living there can already speak it just to reassert your supposed dominance in said state. I don't really care about this law as I don't and have no plans to live in Lagos but it really reeks of a sense of insecurity on the part of the Yorubas.
nooo...I thought Lagos is no mans land ooo..

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by Ngozi123(f): 11:55pm On Feb 15, 2018
cKaiser:

As of 2016, Anambra State generated 14.8 billion, this has likely increased in the past year. In the first quarter of last year, it received 1.8 billion from the federal government. Take of that what you will.

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by Ngozi123(f): 11:57pm On Feb 15, 2018
omonnakoda:

[s]Why not?

Pathetic.
The ugly girl doesn't have the luxury of being fine. Sob sob.

So the fine girl should apologise for being fine
In 1991 Lagos was 5million population same as Kano Kano slightly higher. What has Kano done with all that population.
Abuja has been capital since 1993.

In fact Laos has done better since the capital left and it was governed by its own people and not soldiers.

IN 1998 when Tinubu took over the total annual IGR WAS 12 BILLION NAIRA A YEAR.

If one one your flat ties had been in charge can you tell us Lagos would be the same?

Maybe it would be the Statue capital of the world.

Finally I must remind you of one detail

LAGOS CITY is not the same as Lagos State just like

Enugu
Ondo
Kano
Kaduna
Oyo
Bauchi
So koto

Lagos City was the capital of Nigeria NOT the whole LAGOS STATE.

The people of the state are largely Yoruba and they did not sign up to extinction of their language
The most recent census 2006 put Kano ahead of Lagos what has it done for Kano?

Didn't read... again. grin

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by olril17(m): 11:57pm On Feb 15, 2018
Ngozi123:

you are very stupd..your gnashing of teeth never start...potopoto drinker

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by Ngozi123(f): 11:58pm On Feb 15, 2018
cKaiser:

So why are you wailing so loud. Lagosians are not complaining, Their reps just passed the law and the people are happy with it

So why is your agbero crying about overload. As long as the state you live doesnt pass such laws you dont have to worry.

Isn't the issue here that some Lagosians are complaining about it?

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by LaudableXX: 12:02am On Feb 16, 2018
Ngozi123:
As of 2016, Anambra State generated 14.8 billion, this has likely increased in the past year. In the first quarter of last year, it received 1.8 billion from the federal government. Take of that what you will.

Where is your source? Please post the link and url here, so we can read and verify!

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by cKaiser: 12:03am On Feb 16, 2018
Ngozi123:

Show me evidence of the 14.8bn Anambra generated

Below is what the took from the allocation in September 2017 alone

Abia N4.04 billlion, Adamawa N4.02 billion, Cross River N2.85 billion, Ekiti N2.94 billion, Edo N4.5 billion, Kaduna State N5.4 billion, Kano State N6.8 billion, Lagos state N8.8 billion, Rivers N12.45 billion, and Zamfara, N3.05 billion. Delta got N14.2 billion, Anambra N4.3 billion, Benue N4.2 billion, Borno N4.9 billion, Ebonyi N3.76 billion, Enugu State N4.07 billion, Gombe State N3.39 billion, Nassarawa State N3.74 billion, Imo N3.96 billion and Kogi N4.24 billion.

Read more at: https://www.vanguardngr.com/2017/10/36-states-share-n173-8bn-federation-account-september-graphic-report/

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by cKaiser: 12:04am On Feb 16, 2018
Ngozi123:

Isn't the issue here that some Lagosians are complaining about it?

Democracy is the govt where the majority have their wish. The majority are represented by the House of assembly memeber who made the law

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by Ngozi123(f): 12:05am On Feb 16, 2018
LaudableXX:

Where is your source? Please post the link and url here, so we can read and verify!

It's in pdf format and I don't know how to post a link for that. Google "Nigeria federal revenue allocation" and "Internally generated revenue at state level" and then you'll find the two pdf files.

Re: My Message To Igbos Over The New Language Law In Lagos by Ngozi123(f): 12:08am On Feb 16, 2018
cKaiser:

Democracy is the govt where the majority have their wish. The majority are represented by the House of assembly memeber who made the law

But in democracy, everyone gets to have a say, sparking a healthy debate that's designed to make the country better. If it was just a numbers game then, by default, the North should be ruling this country without any input from Southerners as they are (according to the census) more numerous. Do you agree with that notion?

(1) (2) (3) ... (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) ... (18) (Reply)

How Smuggled Petrol From Nigeria Floods Niger, Cameroon, Benin, Togo / Dr. Ime Umanah Dies Mysteriously / Olisaemeka Akamukalem Dies In Abuja Flood

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 77