Stats: 3,152,947 members, 7,817,783 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 07:28 PM

Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System - Health - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System (14542 Views)

How Can I Get Rid Of Mosquitoes? / 5 Types Of People That Easily Attract Mosquitoes / Lady Makes A Collection Of All The Mosquitoes She Has Killed (Pictured) (2) (3) (4)

Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by Nobody: 11:33am On Jul 15, 2018
I use to ask myself what's is the importance of mosquito in the eco system because I find out no matter how you try you can never completely eradicate those annoying little creatures. from my little research here is what I found out:

1.Mosquitoes are prey,and preys are very important in our complex eco system,the mosquitoes larvae in the sea bodies form those slimy greenish stuff that fishes and other aquatic creatures depend/feed on for survival. Everyone knows the importance of fishes in our diet and business. Water bodies would be empty without fishes that feed on larvae.

2.Mosquitoes aids in pollination of plants,they suck plants juices transferring one very tiny pollen from one plant to another. And we all know the importance of cross pollination.

3.Snakes, anthropoids,lizards,frogs,wall geckos etc prey on mosquitoes.

4.They were made to disturb the heck out of us. yes they are about 3500 species of mosquitoes transferring diseases to humans aside malaria there are other countless diseases transferred by mosquitoes.
According to WHO every year more than one million people die from mosquito related illness worldwide. So therefore mosquitoes help in population control. YES!!!!

So what's is the best method in the prevention of mosquito bites. Across the country the cost of mosquito insecticide is becoming unaffordable, aside the price,prolonged usage of insecticide is detrimental to health(I am not De marketing insecticide o). To me the best mosquito prevention method is the use of treated mosquito nets.

Sometimes I also take my time and physically eliminate them with my hands before sleeping.

Keeping the gutters and our environment clean is another way to eliminate mosquitoes.

N.B: Please if you have an idea of where people can get treated mosquito nets,drop the info in the comment section.
Written by me chiomadim

35 Likes 1 Share

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by FreshBoss007: 11:38am On Jul 15, 2018
OP it seems you are a mosquito parasite

33 Likes

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by solodox(m): 11:40am On Jul 15, 2018
chiomadim:
I use to ask myself what's is the importance of mosquito in the eco system because I find out no matter how you try you can never completely eradicate those annoying little creatures. from my little research here is what I found out:

1.Mosquitoes are prey,and preys are very important in our complex eco system,the mosquitoes larvae in the sea bodies form those slimy greenish stuff that fishes and other aquatic creatures depend/feed on for survival. Everyone knows the importance of fishes in our diet and business. Water bodies would be empty without fishes that feed on larvae.

2.Mosquitoes aids in pollination of plants,they suck plants juices transferring one very tiny pollen from one plant to another. And we all know the importance of cross pollination.

4.They were made to disturb the heck out of us. yes they are about 3500 species of mosquitoes transferring diseases to humans aside malaria there are other countless diseases transferred by mosquitoes.
According to WHO every year more than one million people die from mosquito related illness worldwide. So therefore mosquitoes help in population control. YES!!!!

So what's is the best method in the prevention of mosquito bites. Across the country the cost of mosquito insecticide is becoming unaffordable, aside the price,prolonged usage of insecticide is detrimental to health(I am not De marketing insecticide o). To me the best mosquito prevention method is the use of treated mosquito nets.

Sometimes I also take my time and physically eliminate them with my hands before sleeping.

Keeping the gutters and our environment clean is another way to eliminate mosquitoes.

N.B: Please if you have an idea of where people can get treated mosquito nets,drop the info in the comment section.
Written by me chiomadim

I didn't know if I should pray for you or do the exact opposite... Mosquito? ImportAnt to the ecosystem.... Population control� you're being sarcastic I hope else ama ni problem!

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by dominique(f): 5:10pm On Jul 15, 2018
Every single living thing play a vital role in the ecosystem no matter how bad we see them

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by Betakeshi: 5:13pm On Jul 15, 2018
Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by badmrkt(m): 5:13pm On Jul 15, 2018
dominique:
Every single living thing play a vital role in the ecosystem no matter how bad we see them
even cockroaches?

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by linkszelda: 5:14pm On Jul 15, 2018
Fvck mosquitoes
Mosquitoes should go extinct I don't care
Malaria won't kill me

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by Nobody: 5:14pm On Jul 15, 2018
Madam. Who's telling you this crap. Are you an advocate for mosquitoes?

We'll not stop killing them, they're evil. Great men like mungo Park etc were killed by your clients.

In Africa alone mosquitoes have killed more than Ebola and HIV.

Better be careful there, don't be posting things that will make people stone you angry

57 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by ednut1(m): 5:15pm On Jul 15, 2018
Most mosquito nets are labelled treated yet they dont repel anything. Mosquitoes are evil angry, d ones in ajah go chop u thru ur net self

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by Justbeingreal(m): 5:16pm On Jul 15, 2018

I did not read the post cuz I don't think there's any importance... Person can't take breeze in peace or open window...

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by 989900: 5:17pm On Jul 15, 2018
Mosquito fall on you.

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by oyetunder(m): 5:17pm On Jul 15, 2018
lipsrsealed lipsrsealed who cares? deadly benefits...

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by gagashuffle: 5:18pm On Jul 15, 2018
Op there is no way you can sugar coat it, mosquitoes are terror!

I wonder why Noah had to allow them into the ark.

21 Likes

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by DaFlash: 5:19pm On Jul 15, 2018
This are one of the useless insect I want extinct.

But mother nature keeps us check with population control.

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by oyetunder(m): 5:19pm On Jul 15, 2018
lipsrsealed lipsrsealed who cares? deadly benefits... imagine. The writer is no longer permitted to use bed nets...and sprays hence.

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by guji12(m): 5:23pm On Jul 15, 2018
dominique:
abeg ma hear word.. there no mosquito in Iceland .. Denmark.. Russia.. names go on.. wonder why op just dey lie dey give us

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by deepwater(f): 5:24pm On Jul 15, 2018
Please take it away, I hate mosquitoes.
I blame Noah for allowing them into the ark that year. Juat imagine
Naoh self eh

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by onward4life(m): 5:25pm On Jul 15, 2018
For your (2) importance or advantage of mosquito

chiomadim is like you are wance a *WITCH*
Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by czarina(f): 5:25pm On Jul 15, 2018
Mosquito advocate undecided
Check my profile
Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by SAMBARRY: 5:25pm On Jul 15, 2018
How about cockroach tongue
Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by alex81(m): 5:25pm On Jul 15, 2018
If deyre so important as u claim, y are dey only predominant in Africa Abi na only Africans get population problems?

Not all fishes survive through mosquito's larvae. So d ones dat couldn't should go extinct along with d mosquito's.

As for cross pollination, we have other beautiful insects that are doing a nice job.

mosquito's have no use in ds world other than spread malaria to humans.

#terminate mosquitoes #

Cc:
Chiomadim

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by Mutuwa(m): 5:26pm On Jul 15, 2018
chiomadim:

Written by me chiomadim

Rub natural coconut oil on your skin,and mosquitoes would not come close at all.
Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by Fatherofdragons: 5:28pm On Jul 15, 2018
Which kine useless benefits? this same mosquitoes is killing me here.

sometimes ehhh I just wish I have superpowers so that I can gather all the mosquitoes in this world with my bare hands and kill them all.

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by realmindz: 5:31pm On Jul 15, 2018
Fatherofdragons:
Which kine useless benefits? this same mosquitoes is killing me here.

sometimes ehhh I just wish I have superpowers so that I can gather all the mosquitoes in this world with my bare hands and kill them all.

grin that pix killed it.

BTW, take away all the mosquitoes in the world and the ecosystem will still go on fine

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by spyglaxx: 5:32pm On Jul 15, 2018
Just rub yourself with garlic
Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by nabegibeg: 5:34pm On Jul 15, 2018
chiomadim:

Written by me chiomadim

So this is the message 35000 species send you to deliver to mankind? How are we not sure you are a mosquito incarnate using a smart phone to access the Web

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by whirlwind7(m): 5:37pm On Jul 15, 2018
chiomadim:

1.Mosquitoes are prey,and preys are very important in our complex eco system, the mosquitoes larvae in the sea bodies form those slimy greenish stuff that fishes and other aquatic creatures depend/feed on for survival.

I stopped reading when I got to this part.

The "greenish stuff" you referred to is called algae. They are not produced or formed by mosquito larvae. Algae are actually plants (not animals) The green pigment is from chlorophyll.

Wondering if its worth reading any further now. Your first point spoiled it.

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by Nobody: 5:38pm On Jul 15, 2018
FreshBoss007:
OP it seems you are a mosquito parasite
mosquito is not a parasite
Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by bamdexfarms(m): 5:39pm On Jul 15, 2018
SAMBARRY:
How about cockroach tongue

Cockroaches are farmed in China for their medical purposes.
Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by Agbaletu: 5:40pm On Jul 15, 2018
Whatever mosquitoes are contributing to the ecosystem cannot equate the harm they cause human beings.

Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by MrAnele(m): 5:43pm On Jul 15, 2018
Hnn
Re: Importance Of Mosquitoes In The Eco System by whyteteeth: 5:47pm On Jul 15, 2018
chiomadim:

Written by me chiomadim

Did u say, mosquitoes are those greenish slimy stuff u find in sea bodies? what is sea bodies?? is it the ocean or sea that u refer to as sea bodies instead of water bodies? and BTW, who told u those greenish slimy stuff are mosquitoes larvae, who taught you that? Those are phytoplanktons or simply green algae!!! stop misleading people with your errors!! They form the primary production in aquatic ecosystems. Mosquitoe larvae are primary consumers feeding on phytoplanktons and maybe tiny crustaceans!

DONT TALK ABOUT STUFF YOU KNOW LITTLE OR NOTHING ABOUT. GOOGLE WONT HELP YOU UNLESS YOU ALLOW YOURSELF TO BE TAUGHT BY PEOPLE WHO KNOW IT.!!!

Wrong Time To Fall Sick In Nigeria, As Cost Of Medicines Skyrockets / Tribunal Suspends Kebbi Doctor For Amputating Baby In Womb / 6 Home Remedies For Colds And Coughs In Babies

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 53