Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. - Travel (170) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Travel › Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. (769890 Views)
1 2 3 ... 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 ... 222 Reply (Go Down)
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Babyvet: 4:33am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Originalsly:please tell him ohh, correctional office job is not the most prestigious job in the country. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 4:34am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Originalsly:Have you ever visited a jail or prison or just hearsay and what you watch on tv because all you are referring to is Hollywood scene. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 4:35am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Babyvet:Is not prestigious to you but it is to others. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Babyvet: 4:35am On Aug 09, 2018 |
abbeyboy2o15:No its not. Ca is a high cost living state, so 65,000 is not big pay. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 4:38am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Babyvet:You are right. I meant applying for corrections jobs. Tbh, I didnt know that corrections officers made the amount of money I saw on the site. I knew that was decent pay. But like you said it is subjective, based on the cons. But based on the "perks", I understand somewhat why it would be considered a trend. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 4:38am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Babyvet:Budget for 1 inmate multiple by thousand in prision, jail, detention because the three are different entities. You would see how expensive it is. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Babyvet: 4:40am On Aug 09, 2018 |
abbeyboy2o15:I have never heard of it being prestigous from anyone.. Professions with low entry level requirements are usually not prestigious. Sometimes prisons are the biggest source of employment for a town but that does not make it prestigious. Its either you don't live here or your fresh of the boat, to think that working in prison is prestigious. Like I said decent pay and benefits, but stress level is very high, long hours , physical job and can be very dangerous, nothing prestigious about such conditions. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 4:40am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Originalsly:Sorry to derail temporarily, when you have time, do you mind answering my NY related questions on your thread? Thank you. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Babyvet: 4:43am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Backfornow:I think it good job if your young and in decent shape. I can't imagine doing such job at 60. Like I said, good job as a stepping stone to do something else, |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 4:47am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Babyvet:You live in your own world, anything that rock your imaginary world. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 4:49am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Babyvet:There are more than 30 agencies to choose from, you pick what suit your taste when some are paying 6,500 to 7000 any one who like can go to where they pay 2,500 and 3,000. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 4:51am On Aug 09, 2018 |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Babyvet: 4:51am On Aug 09, 2018 |
abbeyboy2o15:no you live in your own world. I live in the real world. You must also think that working at mcdonalds is also prestigious right. You have to call a spade a spade. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 4:52am On Aug 09, 2018 |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 4:54am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Babyvet:Anyhow you don't have a clue about this issue. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 4:54am On Aug 09, 2018 |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 4:57am On Aug 09, 2018 |
abbeyboy2o15:I get your point, that prestige could be considered subjective. But when you are ranking prestige and power within the civil servant sector, there is a hierachy system. That is factual and cant be denied. As for Hollywood portrayal, it is dramatized to a degree but it is based on fact. Prison is composed of some of the following in society, murders, drug dealers, pedophiles, rapists, and just mentally unstable etc. Imagine all these people forced together with no freedoms, being told when to eat, sleep, etc and none of them want to be there. Its not glamorous in any way but it takes a special kind of person to do it daily. And some people could find it rewarding like my ex co-worker's wife. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 4:58am On Aug 09, 2018 |
After academy and you are done with what is called POST Basic you can earn more than 6,000 before tax, a retired deputy is still taking home 8k, so is not a job for many . So what is your prestigious job . |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Babyvet: 4:58am On Aug 09, 2018 |
abbeyboy2o15:a deputy probation officer is different from a regular correctional officer that we have been talking about. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 5:00am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Babyvet:Well, Im praying and saving that I will not be doing my own job at 60. Tbh |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 5:00am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Backfornow:There to get a first hand experience first, am giving you my full time experience not Hollywood movie or hearsay evidence, and you cannot compare California pay with those Midwest stay, price comparison is wide just look at housing cost for example. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 5:02am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Backfornow:At the age of 60 most CO are Sergeant or Commander, not the officers you see on your streets no matter the state. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Babyvet: 5:02am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Backfornow:LoL, that's true. I don't want to be doing mine either at 60 |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 5:05am On Aug 09, 2018 |
abbeyboy2o15:Ok sir. Can I ask why you attempted to debunk me in the first place and even after all the other testimonials and evidences you keep persisting with this. I don't know if you dont understand what we are talking about or you just want to be right. In any case, I will admit defeat. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 5:06am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Backfornow:If people don't commit crimes nobody is going to put them to jail. Judge this real case, a man of 51 years old in Medocino put fire on 6,000 hectares of land burning houses, business, wildlife and so . Are you going to pat him in the back or punish for arson. The incident is the going on. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Babyvet: 5:07am On Aug 09, 2018 |
abbeyboy2o15:Look, I'm not going to argue with you. I have lived here for a long time and have learned not too take things at face value. If think the job is prestigious job, then you can do it and also recommend your family/ friends to do the job as well it since they are hiring. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 5:07am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Backfornow:Maybe you are the one no understanding my point, we are explaining issues here for people to get the necessary information simple as abc. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Originalsly: 5:07am On Aug 09, 2018 |
abbeyboy2o15:Never visited a prison.... not a Hollywood fan. Hearsay....no. I mix a whole lot...job allows me to... and not just hi and bye. On Corrections..... my work mate. ..not fellow employee in the same company...work mate...a Corrections officer...quit...because of the 'horrors'. I know a few others.... all thugged out... if you see them coming....you'll cross the street without first looking...when you hear some of the things they say. ..you'll wonder if they had heart surgery and the surgeon forgot to reinstall the heart. They are stone cold. Stuff I learn from the streets....other stuff I learn from documemtaries. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 5:12am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Babyvet:You can live here for zillion years not my problem, I work LEO no biggy if your work place is not paying well change it . When you use high school diploma to enter a job expect low pay too. Or you want them to pay high school, degree holder, PhD employees same ways. What I notice is some Nigerian don't want to move forward educationally here so only then have the reason for that they prefer 10,11,12 dollars job. |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by abbeyboy2o15(m): 5:14am On Aug 09, 2018 |
Originalsly:Go there by yourself not by watching documentaries, see it real time it is free in most state just book an appointment with them . |
| Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Babyvet: 5:32am On Aug 09, 2018 |
abbeyboy2o15:First, if your educated, your school system has failed you because basic reading and comprehension you lack. Me and backfornow were talking about correctional officers and you were talking about a probation officer. Both jobs have different requirement, job descriptions and pay. I never stated people of various degrees should be paid the same. I do not prefer 10 or 12 job and I do not earn such pay. Nobody is saying that anyone should come to this country to earn minimum wage or little more than that. No you stop posting false salaries and learn how the American system works and know the difference before gross income and take home. Better be careful, not everything that glitters is gold. |
The Adventures Of A Village Scholar In Germany • Getting A Green Card By Adjustment Of Status: My Yankee Experience • Naija to Yankee Thoughts And Experiences • 2 • 3 • 4
General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 5 • Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. • Giving Birth In Canada