Stats: 3,151,606 members, 7,812,986 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 01:25 AM

Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? - Jobs/Vacancies (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Jobs/Vacancies / Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? (38781 Views)

Customer Care Agent Needed In A Pharmacy. No Previous Experience Is Allowed / Can I Be Allowed To Leave My Beard As A Prison Officer / Earn 30% Profit Daily !!! One On One Transaction Is Allowed. (2) (3) (4)

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by Allwility: 12:29pm On Nov 27, 2018
You can keep a beard in the NA but you must have a pass to do so. We call it excuse shave.

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by DaFlash: 12:31pm On Nov 27, 2018
Guyman02:

Not totally correct.
Most naval officers wear beard.
Some soldiers of some countries also spot beards
chemical warfare is not as common on the sea as in the field.
Special forces and special agents tends to keep beards so as to blend in with the civilian population and ethics of the population to trust the occupying forces e.g Iraq, Afghanistan,and other Islamic countries where beards are common with the civics

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by hahn(m): 12:32pm On Nov 27, 2018
DrMuzungu:
There is a very simple technical reason. Gas masks. It is designed to protect you from bio-chemical warware.

Mask is made mostly from rubber. That rubber must stick well to the skin on your face. Moustache won't prevent that. However, a beard will get between the rubber and the facial skin and allow poisons to get in. Once you inhale the poisons, you are done.

Therefore, for the gas mask to work properly, the face should not only be without a beard but clean-shaved. Only then functioning of the mask is 99% guaranteed.

DaFlash:
It all started doing ww1
Due to the chemical warfare
Gas mask couldn't fit in when worn.
So beards are shaved
This as been adopted internationally by all military after ww1.

Just to congratulate you guys and let you know that your comments are the only reasonable ones on the WHOLE thread smiley

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by fashrola(m): 12:34pm On Nov 27, 2018
ChiefAzubuike:
Nigerian navy keep Beards.

Only with a medical report that you have a severe skin irritation when shaving

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by donnie(m): 12:41pm On Nov 27, 2018
DaFlash:
It all started doing ww1
So beards are shaved

Chemical warfare, hmm...
Nigerian army ready for this kind warfare?
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by Neddyogu(m): 12:43pm On Nov 27, 2018
Discipline needs to be maintained in the armed forces. This includes discipline in appearance and grooming of its members. Even in the war front, cleanliness and order is encouraged as much as possible. Officers may keep a moustache if they so desire. My dad still shaves first thing in the morning, old army habit I suppose.

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by DaFlash: 12:44pm On Nov 27, 2018
donnie:

Chemical warfare, hmm...
Nigerian army ready for this kind warfare?
no mind them jare dem just dey do because most countries dey do am.

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by DaFlash: 12:49pm On Nov 27, 2018
hahn:

Just to congratulate you guys and let you know that your comments are the only reasonable ones on the WHOLE thread smiley
zoedew:

Thanks to you for your well researched and educative comment.
thanks for your compliments
We hope this is how nairaland should be.

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by tintingz(m): 12:51pm On Nov 27, 2018
Some Asian countries allow beards in military tho.

Some keep beards for special mission.

While the mask and uniformity is the real answer why soldiers don't keep beards.
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by DaFlash: 12:56pm On Nov 27, 2018
bush112:
what of tattoo pls I need answer asap
don't know much about this but it maybe to prevent gangsterism and to promote displine. My thoughts.
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by hahn(m): 1:01pm On Nov 27, 2018
DaFlash:
thanks for your compliments
We hope this is how nairaland should be.

Unfortunately it is not since most people do not bother to read or research but rather rely on faith and react emotionally to issues

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by elderhimself(m): 1:04pm On Nov 27, 2018
Where is the beards?

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by smalls001: 1:06pm On Nov 27, 2018
ChiefAzubuike:
Nigerian navy keep Beards.
There are conditions for that....
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by Toosure70: 1:48pm On Nov 27, 2018
Meaningless identity.
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by StevenOba: 1:52pm On Nov 27, 2018
Hotfreeze:
Special forces keep beards and they use gas masks too.
The type of gas masks widely in use doesn't allow for beards. However, I believe there are new gas mask that are being made specifically for bearded men e.g Sikh soldiers or special forces stationed in the middle East. A clean shave is associated with youth and vitality also uniformity is a large part of uniformed services so everyone has to be the same.

Now some reasons for allowing beards might be due to skin condition, religion and blending in. For skin condition you are allowed to keep the beards for 2 weeks and if it grows out full you will be allowed to keep it but with proper trimming. Special forces/ Seals stationed outside of the US especially middle east are allowed to keep beards so they can have easy rapport with the locals nothing scream a foreign soldier like a clean shave.

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by techliteup: 1:56pm On Nov 27, 2018
slim75d:
mustache makes one look like a complete gentleman

beards combined with goatee makes one look like a castrated HE goat especially the northern HE goat

the military wouldn't want to associate itself with the latter
LOL
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by brodalokie: 2:17pm On Nov 27, 2018
slim75d:

beards combined with goatee makes one look like a castrated HE goat especially the northern HE goat

Odysseus ate grass which boosted his libido and aura necessary for the alpha character for sex, yet he had no mustache and gaotee. He is definitely the He-goat personified.
Stop looking down on the goat (He is the lady's man), next in line is dog, while the horse is no more than the rapist.
That said, the reason they can only keep mustache as high ranking officer is to make then look like a gentle businessman unlike the bushy and rough bearded professor or prophet looks...
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by biodunid: 2:26pm On Nov 27, 2018
Hygiene. Lice prevention.

OdikwaRisky:
so how would you explain the buzz cut?
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by Quality20(m): 2:48pm On Nov 27, 2018
But why was d late ojukwu allowed to keep beards while in d military?

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by Nobody: 3:33pm On Nov 27, 2018
eDoctorr:
Please I want a convincing answer to this question especially in Nigerian Army.

I have seen a view number of military personnels with Moustache but you can hardly find a military man keeping beards.

What's your say?

It depends on country. I think military men in Pakistan are allowed to carry both full beard n moustache
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by Raskasal(m): 3:45pm On Nov 27, 2018
DrMuzungu:
There is a very simple technical reason. Gas masks. It is designed to protect you from bio-chemical warware.

Mask is made mostly from rubber. That rubber must stick well to the skin on your face. Moustache won't prevent that. However, a beard will get between the rubber and the facial skin and allow poisons to get in. Once you inhale the poisons, you are done.

Therefore, for the gas mask to work properly, the face should not only be without a beard but clean-shaved. Only then functioning of the mask is 99% guaranteed.

Thank you man. God bless ya
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by Nobody: 3:47pm On Nov 27, 2018
In Navy for instance, you can actually rock your beard with an excuse shave provided you never get to shave ever grin
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by dondavad: 3:55pm On Nov 27, 2018
slim75d:

is my mouth u want 2 hear dat u re talkin rubbish
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by frank043(m): 9:27pm On Nov 27, 2018
Guyman02:

Not totally correct.
Many Naval officers wear beard including Nigeria. Thats Ojukwu spotting a beard in Nigeria Army uniform not as a rebel
Some soldiers of some countries also spot beards including US Marines as shown below

So you can't see *rising sun* on his uniform?
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by lonelydora: 9:37pm On Nov 27, 2018
DaFlash:
It all started doing ww1
So beards are shaved

Exactly. That's why even Safety and Fire Fighting Officers do not keep beards.

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by TheAdvocate(m): 9:46pm On Nov 27, 2018
This is Vice Admiral Murtala Nyako former Chief of Naval Staff and Deputy Chief of Defence Staff

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by TheAdvocate(m): 9:48pm On Nov 27, 2018
This is Ghana's Chief of Naval Staff

Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by vr0xen: 9:48pm On Nov 27, 2018
d last pic, American sniper
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by saintneo(m): 4:47am On Nov 28, 2018
eDoctorr:
Please I want a convincing answer to this question especially in Nigerian Army.

I have seen a view number of military personnels with Moustache but you can hardly find a military man keeping beards.

What's your say?
[img]http://www.informationng.com/2012/10/nigerian-civil-war-ojukwu-gowon-to-blame-for-biafra-starvation-death-toll-us.html/images1-6[/img]
Re: Why Is Beard Not Allowed In Military But Moustache Is Allowed? by Dayodeewon(f): 9:31pm On Nov 28, 2018
I just dey observe.

Lazy Jobless Guys Complaining About The Government,you Need To See This(pics) / Funny Picture Story About Nigerian Graduates / Invite From TGI Group