Stats: 3,147,887 members, 7,798,965 topics. Date: Tuesday, 16 April 2024 at 01:06 PM

The NBA Begins - Sports (1079) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / The NBA Begins (1607818 Views)

Two Nigerian Players In The NBA Finals / Miami Heats Wins The NBA Final / Unbelievable! Kobe Bryant The Nba Player Of The Decade: (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1076) (1077) (1078) (1079) (1080) (1081) (1082) ... (2190) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: The NBA Begins by Roland17(m): 3:48pm On Feb 08, 2019
birdman:

grin . one of LBJ's flaws is he talks too much.

As I am about to receive machine gun fire from Roland17. Wey my own contract biko angry

You be my own person baba. I always appreciate arguments on this thread because they are civil, respectful and devoid of name calling. I learn a great deal from everyone here.

I work in a tenured environment and while I am not tenured, 3 of my career mentors (1 in the academia and 2 in healthcare) are on tenured contracts and in recent past, this has been one of our discussions.

You sure say you fit run a profitable business like this? grin grin
Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 4:12pm On Feb 08, 2019
Roland17:

You be my own person baba. I always appreciate arguments on this thread because they are civil, respectful and devoid of name calling. I learn a great deal from everyone here.

I work in a tenured environment and while I am not tenured, 3 of my career mentors (1 in the academia and 2 in healthcare) are on tenured contracts and in recent past, this has been one of our discussions.

You sure say you fit run a profitable business like this? grin grin

After buying a range rover, purchase Lekki lot and throwing weekend parties, I know profit go still remain tongue

Interesting. Im at the opposite end of being tenured. I stay at a place as long as I feel Im growing technically and the company values my input. Once I sense wahala, I migrate. I have dodged about a dozen plus company wide layoffs this way in 10 years.

I have never really been a money person, but as a side effect of pursuing the next opportunity, I am now making about double what I made a decade ago. The scary part to me is I now realize some of my colleagues were already making that kind of money when I started out. I thought I was doing well then, but I really had no idea.

I feel this is one if the insidious ways even educated minorities fall behind in wealth. For me personally, I realized I was book smart, just not so much when it comes to wealth.

I freely admit I still dont know it all though. Maybe thats why I see Lebrons jumping from team to team in a good way grin...never thot of that before
Re: The NBA Begins by Roland17(m): 4:30pm On Feb 08, 2019
birdman:

After buying a range rover, purchase Lekki lot and throwing weekend parties, I know profit go still remain tongue

Interesting. Im at the opposite end of being tenured. I stay at a place as long as I feel Im growing technically and the company values my input. Once I sense wahala, I migrate. I have dodged about a dozen plus company wide layoffs this way in 10 years.

I have never really been a money person, but as a side effect of pursuing the next opportunity, I am now making about double what I made a decade ago. The scary part to me is I now realize some of my colleagues were already making that kind of money when I started out. I thought I was doing well then, but I really had no idea.

I feel this is one if the insidious ways even educated minorities fall behind in wealth. For me personally, I realized I was book smart, just not so much when it comes to wealth.

I freely admit I still dont know it all though. Maybe thats why I see Lebrons jumping from team to team in a good way grin...never thot of that before

Insightful perspective there and you are absolutely right about pursuing the next opportunity so as to maximize your most fruitful years. It is important to always be in the know and stay in or ahead of the game. A tenured situation is a big probability in my next career jump, which is going to happen pretty soon and I have spent a lot of time seeking the knowledge/ wisdom of very successful people (my mentors) who are far ahead of me in the industry and in tenured situations.

Suffice to say, when and if it comes, I will be approaching that situation with a lot of knowledge and will make the best decision for my future. Tenured contracts are huge investments for the employer because it covers your career development through academic/ technical advancement for the employee. They come with a lot of perks that a regular situation may never have. You don't have to even worry about being laid off or be without work because that is already covered.

May God guide us in wisdom to make good decisions that help us maximize our skills while rewarding us.

Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 4:46pm On Feb 08, 2019
birdman:

No doubt, Lebron is not a choir boy. Even social crusaders often have selfish interests. I am sure that is the case to some extent with Lebron. Such is the nature of change though...we lionize such people decades later, but everyone has flaws.

The reason I compared to Ali is that in his time, Ali was considered a dumb tool, even by some NOI members. Today more people know him than the founder of NOI. Still, flawed as he was, in the middle of the hype, there was some good change.
My point is this one is not about trying to create any change. This isn't any form of activism in the least. This is pretty much him lashing out about the Pelicans refusal to play ball

Comparing this to Ali's situation is a terribly unfair reach. LeNomad would not get lionized for moaning about a player that secured himself financially with maximum compensation for the first 7 years of his career and does not even want to see out his contractual obligations. This is about guys that simply want to eat their cake and have it. There is nothing remotely radical or revolutionary about this

If you're serious about freedom then sign a qualifying offer after your rookie deal like Porzingis threatened to do. That way we know you're betting on yourself and you mean business

Re: The NBA Begins by donlittle25: 10:15pm On Feb 08, 2019
I have always known niggas on this thread are rich rich, but now i don confirm with my eyes. Awon tech boys. I want to buy section at one of the club this weekend. grin grin grin grin

Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 12:40am On Feb 09, 2019
Lmaooooo if you haven't seen the Lavarr Ball interview on Undisputed you're really missing. If all fathers hyped their kids like Lavarr Ball ehn grin grin
Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 1:21am On Feb 09, 2019
i have never seen a home team so quiet. sixers fans are in adream state rite now, trying to see how this new lineup pans out.

@a40 i thought the same thing! pops is a piece of works, but hes in your corner grin
Re: The NBA Begins by donlittle25: 5:22am On Feb 09, 2019

Re: The NBA Begins by ipledge10(m): 6:33am On Feb 09, 2019
I just stopped talking to one of my closest friends, cos He said he is gonna start Danny Green ahead of Klay Thomson.

Re: The NBA Begins by donlittle25: 6:35am On Feb 09, 2019
How did you meet him? How you make a friend like this?
ipledge10:
I just stopped talking to one of my closest friends, cos He said he is gonna start Danny Green ahead of Klay Thomson.

Re: The NBA Begins by donlittle25: 6:50am On Feb 09, 2019
Buddy Hield is balling like this and NOLA drafted him just two years ago.

Impeccable

Re: The NBA Begins by ipledge10(m): 7:28am On Feb 09, 2019
donlittle25:
How did you meet him? How you make a friend like this?
He actually watches sports a lot, but he can say stupid things to win arguments. The base of the argument is that Klay is top 3 two way shooting guards. He mentioned Oladipo, Butler, Derozan, Danny Green, then put Klay at 5th.
Re: The NBA Begins by Decale: 8:38am On Feb 09, 2019
ipledge10:
He actually watches sports a lot, but he can say stupid things to win arguments. The base of the argument is that Klay is top 3 two way shooting guards. He mentioned Oladipo, Butler, Derozan, Danny Green, then put Klay at 5th.

Block him

You don't need that kind of people around you.

Re: The NBA Begins by Khanben: 9:10am On Feb 09, 2019
Decale:

Block him

Your don't need that kind of people around you.

True talk
Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 10:53am On Feb 09, 2019
birdman:
i have never seen a home team so quiet. sixers fans are in adream state rite now, trying to see how this new lineup pans out.

@a40 i thought the same thing! pops is a piece of works, but hes in your corner grin
Those boys are his retirement plan. He is ready to go to war for them and considering the average reputation of black men being deadbeats and all you can at least respect him for always sticking up for his kids, however obnoxious he might sound

There would be zero heat on Lonzo if he wasn't a lottery pick playing in LA honestly. I think the man is also simply trying to take the heat off his kid or at least that's what he thinks he's doing.

Re: The NBA Begins by aliondo: 4:08pm On Feb 09, 2019
ipledge10:

Re: The NBA Begins by Killrhymz: 7:57pm On Feb 09, 2019
jj reddick is better than danny green but will certainly choose klay over both of them.
Re: The NBA Begins by Khanben: 9:37pm On Feb 09, 2019
Killrhymz:
jj reddick is better than danny green but will certainly choose klay over both of them.

Rating both with the caveat that non of them is not the number one option. Reddick is a liability on defense, and as a shooter he is not that much better than Green, so i will pick D Green ahead of him
Re: The NBA Begins by aliondo: 10:01pm On Feb 09, 2019
A40:
Lmaooooo if you haven't seen the Lavarr Ball interview on Undisputed you're really missing. If all fathers hyped their kids like Lavarr Ball ehn grin grin
Its cool for parents once in a while to hype their kids to instill confidence but i feel when they overdo it,it could bring unnecessary pressure on the kid. I didn't like the way he talked about Luke. No matter what, you gotta respect the coach and allow him exert his principles on the team. I have complained about Coach Donovan sometimes but i still respect him as a coach.

If he is so passionate about his kid, let him take up the Lakers Coaching job.

#MyOwnOpinion
Re: The NBA Begins by SmooshCHN: 10:09pm On Feb 09, 2019
aliondo:

Its cool for parents once in a while to hype their kids to instill confidence but i feel when they overdo it,it could bring unnecessary pressure on the kid. I didn't like the way he talked about Luke. No matter what, you gotta respect the coach and allow him exert his principles on the team. I have complained about Coach Donovan sometimes but i still respect him as a coach.

#MyOwnOpinion
It's called publicity. It's all for content. Is he the first NBA Dad? It's has helped his family financially. It helps the media too so.
Re: The NBA Begins by Khanben: 10:30pm On Feb 09, 2019
SmooshCHN:
It's called publicity. It's all for content. Is he the first NBA Dad? It's has helped his family financially. It helps the media too so.

You are right on the money. IMO i also think its because of the publicity that the Lakers made the huge mistake of drafting Lonzo ahead of better developed talents like Tatum, Fox, Donovan, Lauri and even DSJ

Re: The NBA Begins by aliondo: 11:46pm On Feb 09, 2019
SmooshCHN:
Good publicity for just him and the NBA,i guess??and not Lonzo or his brothers
Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 5:16am On Feb 10, 2019
Khanben:

You are right on the money. IMO i also think its because of the publicity that the Lakers made the huge mistake of drafting Lonzo ahead of better developed talents like Tatum, Fox, Donovan, Lauri and even DSJ
That should tell you how poor the talent evaluation is at the Lakers then. If one man's hype machine could make them draft him ahead of better players
Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 5:21am On Feb 10, 2019
Paul George has really elevated his game this year. Absolute monster

aliondo:

#MyOwnOpinion
I'm not a Ball fan but the way Luke uses him at times can be a bit head-scratching. Maybe he is overdoing it but these kids are pretty much his meal ticket so he has to I guess
Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 5:30am On Feb 10, 2019
Man these Celtics looking like the biggest flops of the season low-key. Blew an 18pt lead the other night and a 28pt lead tonight. If the playoffs started today they would have home court

Kyrie is injured. Water is wet

Re: The NBA Begins by etidy: 8:28am On Feb 10, 2019
A40:
Man these Celtics looking like the biggest flops of the season low-key. Blew an 18pt lead the other night and a 28pt lead tonight. If the playoffs started today they would have home court

This is the biggest question about kyrie: Injuries.
His game is so dependent on cutting, dribbling, shooting from impossible angles off the dribble that it places so much pressure on his fragile knees.

As for the Celtics chemistry issues I put some of the blame on brad Stevens, its one thing to be a tactical genius that can extract the best performance from a bunch of mediocre guys, it another to be a great manager of egos and manage a team of very talented players to a championship level. This is why I get annoyed when people disrespect Steve Kerr.
Secondly, a lot is said about how trade rumours are running the Lakers chemistry but no one talks about its influence on the Celtics locker room. You have guys like jaleyn brown, rozier, Hayward, smart and even Tatum who know their days are probably numbered in a celtics uniform.

Re: The NBA Begins by Roland17(m): 1:27pm On Feb 10, 2019
etidy:

His game is so dependent on cutting, dribbling, shooting from impossible angles off the dribble that it places so much pressure on his fragile knees.

As for the Celtics chemistry issues I put some of the blame on brad Stevens, its one thing to be a tactical genius that can extract the best performance from a bunch of mediocre guys, it another to be a great manager of egos and manage a team of very talented players to a championship level. This is why I get annoyed when people disrespect Steve Kerr.
Secondly, a lot is said about how trade rumours are running the Lakers chemistry but no one talks about its influence on the Celtics locker room. You have guys like jaleyn brown, rozier, Hayward, smart and even Tatum who know their days are probably numbered in a celtics uniform.
You are absolutely right on the money regarding Brad but I would not go as far as questioning his ability to manage ego. Brad should raise his hands in culpability for the consecutive losses particularly the on against the Lakers. Brad played the scouting report and was not flexible enough to protect the perimeter because he was more interested in stuffing the driving lanes. More importantly, Rozier should have finished that game.

The loss to the Clippers again brought the demons of the start of the season. We can’t seem to close these games but some can be hinges on Kyrie going down. We are blowing huge leads and I think this tram needs the all star break to calm their nerves. I am happy the injury happened now, rather than later or in the post season. Let’s see what the prognosis is and his timeline. We are keeping Kyrie except he chooses otherwise.
Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 4:42pm On Feb 10, 2019
etidy:

I wouldn't put the entire blame on Stevens. The truth is the younger Celtic players (Rozier,Smart,Brown,Tatum) have all been punching above their weight and have regressed to mean level this season. They are also playing on a shorter rope this year unlike previous ones where Stevens really had no choice.

I had Celtics as the prohibitive favorite in the East when the season started but that prediction don dey shake merely going by how inconsistent they have been all year. Maybe there is still some magical switch or gear they can hit, remains to be seen
Re: The NBA Begins by Nostradamus: 9:38pm On Feb 10, 2019
A40:
He's still so young it feels bad that anybody should be writing him off at this age. I think he has the ability, you see it some nights when he's engaged but these are too few and far between. I always use D'Angelo Russell as an example. A high draft pick traded just after two seasons. A lesser man would be demoralized but he grit his teeth and is dropping a career year, he's younger, smaller than Wiggins and playing for a far worse team yet he isn't using that as an excuse to not ball
you mean Brooklyn nets are worse than timberwolves?? Honestly I don't see that nets team as a bad team.that team is worth above $2b,they play in the big apple also they are playing well this season.people always see Brooklyn nets as a not too respectable team but me I don't see them like that,my opinion is the nets are one of the teams doing well in the league.
Re: The NBA Begins by Nostradamus: 9:40pm On Feb 10, 2019
A40:

please when's will the playoffs start?
Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 10:09pm On Feb 10, 2019
Nostradamus:
please when's will the playoffs start?
April
Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 10:14pm On Feb 10, 2019
Somebody pour Kuzma holy water

(1) (2) (3) ... (1076) (1077) (1078) (1079) (1080) (1081) (1082) ... (2190) (Reply)

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup

Viewing this topic: Roland17(m)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 73